$64 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 27, 2015 Check-out: Jul 28, 2015

Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

3 stars
View map of 2701 E. Fowler Avenue, Tampa, FL 33612

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
179 reviews
Weekend getaway

Stayed two nights, enjoyed the facilities, especially the delicious breakfast. See full review

  • alicia k.
  • May 11, 2015
Perfect getaway

The staff and the room were perfect.. Was very convienent being close to work and close to places... See full review

  • Steph rock
  • Nov 15, 2014
The Clarion near Busch Gardens is just minutes from Tampa’s theme park. The property sits close to the pools and water slides at Adventure Island and the famous roller coaster, SheiKra at Busch Gardens. Kids enjoy themed suites with bunk beds and the hotel provides free transportation to and from nearby theme parks. The hotel is also situated close to the University of South Florida, Moffitt Cancer Center, Shriners Children Hospital and Veterans Hospital. Enjoy casual meals at TGI Fridays located next door.
Rooms

The hotel offers 406 guest rooms and a special Kidsuite (walk-in basis) with a partitioned area that houses a bunk bed, plus single bed and TV equipped with cable and HBO. Rooms with one king or two double beds include bathtub, in-room coffee maker and hairdryers by request. Free high-speed wireless Internet is available throughout the hotel.

Property features

Dive into the free-form outdoor pool or watch the kids delight in the Pirate Ship water park. The property offers a free full hot buffet breakfast, including eggs, bacon, sausage, cereal, toast, coffee, tea and juice. Find on-site dining options including TGI Fridays restaurant. The hotel has laundry facilities onsite, a business center and offers free transportation to and from nearby theme parks and hospitals. 

Highlights
  • Free full hot breakfast
  • Themed kid suites with bunk beds
  • Pirate ship water park
Nearby attractions
  • Busch Gardens
  • Adventure Island
  • Museum of Science and Industry
  • Florida Aquarium
  • Historic Ybor City (night clubs, movies, shopping, dining)
  • University of South Florida
  • Raymond James Stadium
  • Lowry Park Zoo
  • Gulf Coast Beaches
  • Disney World and many other Orlando attractions (about an hour)
Business
  • Business center
  • Conference and banquet facilities
Transportation
  • Free shuttle to and from Busch Gardens, Adventure Island and nearby hospitals
  • Tampa International Airport (20 minutes)
  • St. Petersburg/Clearwater Airport (50 minutes)
Policies
  • Pets are allowed (fees apply)

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Clarion Hotel & Conference Center also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • WiFi
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Heated pool
Exercise gym
Disco
Picnic area/tables
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
Business center
Guest laundromat
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
FAX
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Outdoor parking
Truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Ramp access to buildings
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Telephone
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Sofa bed
Iron

Nearby points of interest

  • University of South Florida Botanical Gardens: 0.4 mi
  • Tampa Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Busch Gardens: 1.3 mi
  • Adventure Island: 1.3 mi
  • Sun Dome: 1.4 mi
  • Museum of Science and Industry: 1.6 mi
  • Grand Prix Fun Center: 2.1 mi
  • Lettuce Lake Park: 3.4 mi
  • Tampa Lowry Park Zoo: 3.9 mi
  • Ybor City State Museum: 6.4 mi
  • Ybor City: 6.4 mi
  • Al Lopez Park: 6.6 mi
  • Steinbrenner Field: 7 mi
  • Morris Bridge Park: 7 mi
  • Raymond James Stadium: 7.1 mi
  • University of South Florida Botanical Gardens: 0.4 mi
  • Tampa Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Busch Gardens: 1.3 mi
  • Adventure Island: 1.3 mi
  • Sun Dome: 1.4 mi
  • Museum of Science and Industry: 1.6 mi
  • Grand Prix Fun Center: 2.1 mi
  • Lettuce Lake Park: 3.4 mi
  • Tampa Lowry Park Zoo: 3.9 mi
  • Ybor City State Museum: 6.4 mi
  • Ybor City: 6.4 mi
  • Al Lopez Park: 6.6 mi
  • Steinbrenner Field: 7 mi
  • Morris Bridge Park: 7 mi
  • Raymond James Stadium: 7.1 mi
  • Tampa Union Station: 7.2 mi
  • The David A. Straz Center for the Performing Arts: 7.4 mi
  • Glazer Children's Museum: 7.5 mi
  • Tampa Museum of Art: 7.5 mi
  • Florida Museum of Photographic Arts: 7.6 mi
  • Florida Aquarium: 7.7 mi
  • SS American Victory Mariners' Memorial and Museum Ship: 7.7 mi
  • Tampa Port Authority: 7.7 mi
  • Henry B. Plant Museum: 7.8 mi
  • ST PETE TIMES FORUM: 7.8 mi
  • Tampa Bay Times Forum: 7.8 mi
  • Tampa Bay Historical Center: 7.9 mi
  • Tampa Convention Center: 8 mi
  • Hyde Park: 8.7 mi
  • The Upper Tampa Bay Trail: 9 mi
  • Tampa Bay Downs: 13.3 mi
  • Tampa Electric Manatee Viewing Center: 18.2 mi
  • Sunshine Skyway Bridge: 28.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
179 out of 179
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.1
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.3

62% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jets S.
Business
GA
Jan 23, 2014

Not recommended

No hot water and broken shower nozzle. No wi-fi due to weak signal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Gymnastic Family
Business
Hollywood, FL
Mar 3, 2014

What a terrible hotel

The beds were old and warn. No support at all. Actually felt like sleeping in a hammock. Very old hotel and very poorly maintained. No way a 3 star. Maybe a 1 star at most. Not worth the money. Be ware of this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ryks
Business
Windsor, Ct
Mar 23, 2014

Hotel needs to start fixing condition of Rooms; Poor Housekeeping

Condition of Room was Poor, patch of black mold on ceiling above inside of door. Desk chair was broken and hard as rock. Housekeeping didn't clean until after 4PM. Didn't leave all towels. Breakfast was Tasteless. Nice Pool. Plenty of Restaurants in area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mandee Mom of 2
Business
Tampa, Florida
Mar 20, 2014

One good thing

The pool was great! Unfortunately that was the only good thing. The room was gross, old, dirty, dingy and had 6 foot tall ceilings in the bathroom. It was the smallest hotel room I have ever been in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
AmyD
Business
Palm Bay, FL, USA
Aug 15, 2011

WORST STAY

Beware when you book this dive. bottom line, poor customer service, poor accomodations (complete with spiders and had to use body weight to close the door), the hotel ran out of essentials (towels), had to ask for a coffee pack for the room and clean out the coffee maker, the AC did not cool and sounded as if an airplane was in the room, advertized wi-fi did not work. on the positive, good pool and close to VA hospital. Here is the full story. We arive with our pre-paid confirmation. At this point we are ready to check in and go see childrens g-pa in the VA hosptial (criticaaly ill). The staff put us in a room, we notice tv not working. We call, the front desk say they will send someone up. We unpack for a family of 4. They call back 30 minutes later to say, they have to move us (the room should not have been used-per maint. man). We get our second room, This was suposed to be a non-smoking room- smelled like smoking, now ph doesn't work, had to use my cell ph to call the front desk. Now we are being moved to our 3rd room, that has been 'thoroughly checked' by staff, 1st thing on the bed, my son says-thinking it is neat, 'mommy look a spider', and when I pulled out the dresser drawer it fell apart. ok it is ~830 pm at this point. too late to go see g-pa. we have been there ~3 hrs waiting to get settled, at no time did they offer to get us a meal, or upgrade the reservation. in fact it was a down grade. So we kill the spider, call maint. get the bug and dresser issue addressed. The next day, after visiting g-pa we come back for me to make lunch for the kids, microwave doesn't work. seriously!. call down they bring up a new one. While there, housekeeping wants us to leave before they will clean. as we re-enter she tells us there are not enough towels, she left us one and said she would return. After another visit with g-pa and incoming relatives, we go visit gravesite of another relative. we get back about 10 pm. go to bed. get up and relealize no towels, long story short after an hour and a half and 3 calls they finally tell us there are none and we need to wait for the dryer to finish. for a time we should have been stress free in our arrangements, it was the worst ever. I did ask for the manager-none on site or available. The supervisor said he left a message for the manager to call me when they came in on Monday-no call. I called there the manager was unavailable. Then called corporate, there is a procedure, I am currently in process....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Greatly Disappointed
Business
Richmond, VA, USA
Feb 22, 2012

Extremely Over rated

We had to wait for some time before our room was ready and then there were no windows. Furthermore, the room was not clean (i.e., stains on the carpet, on the chair) it was just very low budget. Some distance away from the airport. Overall, low budget and would not recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

There is a good Jamaican restaurant up the street called the "Jerk Hut." They have a $7.95 buffet lunch special that is to die for! It's also all you can eat and they have everything.

Review of Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
could not run fast enough
Business
glad not to be in Clarion
May 9, 2012

avoid at all cost$

I was horrified at check in. I booked online and followed the instructions to call the hotel with special needs. I did - 3 months in advance! I got to the hotel and not ONE of the request were met. My smoke free room smelled of cheap air freshner with obvious stale smoke and came with an ash tray. The room was unclean. It appeared to have blood drops on the mirror and wall (prior guest bad shaving accident????) The mold growing in the shower. I check out quickly after the asthma attack from the stench of the room. I was horrified that this hotel could be in business. The plus side - the beds were still wrapped in plastic sheeting however dusty .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ski TaHOE a Fer
Business
New Jersey
May 20, 2012

NEVER AGAIN! BLaHHHHHHGGGHHHHAaa!

The room had the ambiance of a half way house It smelled of wet dog, mold, and carcass. I would rathe stay in a prison. Just standing in the room made me feel dirty. If this is the kind of experience you are looking for, then this is for you. I would give this a zero star but because the coffee sausage and potatoes at breakfast were good, I will give a one star and hope that the kitchen wasn't as filthy as my room or I'll be dead by tonight and this will be my last post.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Bush gardens

Review of Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Brooksgirl
Business
Baltimore MD
May 23, 2012

Quick trip

Hotel staff was very helpful.The room had a terrible moldy smell.The carpet apparantly needed to be cleaned,entire room needed to be aired out.Thank goodness, I was only there for one night,would not recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Decent mall and other shops right across the street.Lots of dinning choices in the area.

Review of Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
g flores
Business
rockford, IL
Jun 26, 2012

not worth it

I checked in and upon arriving at the room, i encounter with a room not clean as it should, carpet was not cleaned, walls have foot prints, bath tub really old and stained not to mention, bed covers were stained with some sort of liquid, i went back to lobby and ask for the room to get cleaned and bed covers changed, theire response was "I will get someone to do it right away" i went out to get some cleaning supplies and disinfectant spray (i took about 1hr and 30min) when i got back to the room i found it the same way it was when i left, i had to go to the lobby for the second time and this time they changed me to another room, and when i opened the room it was in a very similar condition to the first, but this time i did not find any (love stains?) on the bed covers, at this point i knew even if i asked for a different room it would be just the same, so i had to clean every single item in the room before i used it, and i had to spend about $30 worth of cleaning supplies and a pair of bed sheets. I would not recomend this hotel to anyone specially if they bring a baby or child with them, this place is not worth the $$

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Busch gardens and adventure island are about 1 1/2 milles from hotel, closest beaches are about an hour and a half from hotel

Back to menu Return to top