$59 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 12, 2015 Check-out: May 15, 2015

Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

3 stars
View map of 2701 E. Fowler Avenue, Tampa, FL 33612

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
167 reviews
Perfect getaway

The staff and the room were perfect.. Was very convienent being close to work and close to places... See full review

  • Steph rock
  • Nov 15, 2014
Beautiful Place, Excellent Price

It was a last minute reservation, we got a GREAT price, beautiful room very clean and comfy. Great... See full review

  • Rosane
  • Aug 16, 2014
Kid-themed suites and pirate ship water park near Busch Gardens
The Clarion near Busch Gardens is just minutes from Tampa’s theme park. The property sits close to the pools and water slides at Adventure Island and the famous roller coaster, SheiKra at Busch Gardens. Kids enjoy themed suites with bunk beds and the hotel provides free transportation to and from nearby theme parks. The hotel is also situated close to the University of South Florida, Moffitt Cancer Center, Shriners Children Hospital and Veterans Hospital. Enjoy casual meals at TGI Fridays located next door.
Highlights
  • Free full hot breakfast
  • Themed kid suites with bunk beds
  • Pirate ship water park
Rooms

The hotel offers 406 guest rooms and a special Kidsuite (walk-in basis) with a partitioned area that houses a bunk bed, plus single bed and TV equipped with cable and HBO. Rooms with one king or two double beds include bathtub, in-room coffee maker and hairdryers by request. Free high-speed wireless Internet is available throughout the hotel.

Features

Dive into the free-form outdoor pool or watch the kids delight in the Pirate Ship water park. The property offers a free full hot buffet breakfast, including eggs, bacon, sausage, cereal, toast, coffee, tea and juice. Find on-site dining options including TGI Fridays restaurant. The hotel has laundry facilities onsite, a business center and offers free transportation to and from nearby theme parks and hospitals. 

Transportation
  • Free shuttle to and from Busch Gardens, Adventure Island and nearby hospitals
  • Tampa International Airport (20 minutes)
  • St. Petersburg/Clearwater Airport (50 minutes)
Local Attractions
  • Busch Gardens
  • Adventure Island
  • Museum of Science and Industry
  • Florida Aquarium
  • Historic Ybor City (night clubs, movies, shopping, dining)
  • University of South Florida
  • Raymond James Stadium
  • Lowry Park Zoo
  • Gulf Coast Beaches
  • Disney World and many other Orlando attractions (about an hour)
Business
  • Business center
  • Conference and banquet facilities
Policies & Fees
  • Pets are allowed (fees apply)

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Clarion Hotel & Conference Center also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • WiFi
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Heated pool
Exercise gym
Disco
Picnic area/tables
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
Business center
Guest laundromat
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
FAX
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Outdoor parking
Truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Ramp access to buildings
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Telephone
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Sofa bed
Iron

Nearby points of interest

  • University of South Florida Botanical Gardens: 0.4 mi
  • Tampa Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Busch Gardens: 1.3 mi
  • Adventure Island: 1.3 mi
  • Sun Dome: 1.4 mi
  • Museum of Science and Industry: 1.6 mi
  • Grand Prix Fun Center: 2.1 mi
  • Lettuce Lake Park: 3.4 mi
  • Tampa Lowry Park Zoo: 3.9 mi
  • Ybor City State Museum: 6.4 mi
  • Ybor City: 6.4 mi
  • Al Lopez Park: 6.6 mi
  • Steinbrenner Field: 7 mi
  • Morris Bridge Park: 7 mi
  • Raymond James Stadium: 7.1 mi
  • University of South Florida Botanical Gardens: 0.4 mi
  • Tampa Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Busch Gardens: 1.3 mi
  • Adventure Island: 1.3 mi
  • Sun Dome: 1.4 mi
  • Museum of Science and Industry: 1.6 mi
  • Grand Prix Fun Center: 2.1 mi
  • Lettuce Lake Park: 3.4 mi
  • Tampa Lowry Park Zoo: 3.9 mi
  • Ybor City State Museum: 6.4 mi
  • Ybor City: 6.4 mi
  • Al Lopez Park: 6.6 mi
  • Steinbrenner Field: 7 mi
  • Morris Bridge Park: 7 mi
  • Raymond James Stadium: 7.1 mi
  • Tampa Union Station: 7.2 mi
  • The David A. Straz Center for the Performing Arts: 7.4 mi
  • Glazer Children's Museum: 7.5 mi
  • Tampa Museum of Art: 7.5 mi
  • Florida Museum of Photographic Arts: 7.6 mi
  • Florida Aquarium: 7.7 mi
  • SS American Victory Mariners' Memorial and Museum Ship: 7.7 mi
  • Tampa Port Authority: 7.7 mi
  • Henry B. Plant Museum: 7.8 mi
  • ST PETE TIMES FORUM: 7.8 mi
  • Tampa Bay Times Forum: 7.8 mi
  • Tampa Bay Historical Center: 7.9 mi
  • Tampa Convention Center: 8 mi
  • Hyde Park: 8.7 mi
  • The Upper Tampa Bay Trail: 9 mi
  • Tampa Bay Downs: 13.3 mi
  • Tampa Electric Manatee Viewing Center: 18.2 mi
  • Sunshine Skyway Bridge: 28.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Overall score

2.7 / 5
5.01.0
26 out of 167
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3.5
Comfort:
2.9
Location:
3.6
Value:
3.2

58% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
macs12
Business
atlanta
Aug 22, 2014

good location

Very good hotel, I like it I will use theirs services again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Great

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Scarface jrl
Business
Semmes al
Jul 10, 2014

Had to to go to a meeting

The first room after 2 hr a/c quit working had to get a new room in the am was not fun but made my meeting all good going back on the 7-20-2014 for a pre biffing on a big job

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pixiemh1
Business
Florida
May 3, 2014

Awesome hotel

I stayed here in October 13 and when I was coming back to Tampa again for a class I chose to stay here again. Everyone is nice and professional. Deborah at the front desk goes above and beyond! Despite the distance to the class I still chose to stay here. It is convenient to everything and there is more than enough restaurants close by. When we return to Tampa this is my first choice. The pools are great the large one is heated although my 6 year old preferred the pirate pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
very very very unhappy
Business
tampa, fl
Nov 22, 2013

late check-out

i needed later than 12 check out....no compromise......was staying there for med reasons and was waiting on results from hospital....as a choice member, i thought that was part of my bens...they said because of housekeeping, 12 was the latest!!!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Dancer12
Business
Orlando, FL
Sep 30, 2013

You get what you pay for

Considering I only needed to rest my head for one night, the hotel was fine. It's quite a bit older looking than what you see in the pictures. The free continental 'breakfast' was horrible. Completely inedible. Thank goodness there were several restaurants and fast foods nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Dave Fast Biz traveler
Business
San Antonio, Texas
Apr 8, 2013

The Pictures online are deceiving

The room was dirty, the maid staff did as little as possible to clean the room.The work out room had a treadmill that was broken, the entire belt was torn and laying on the floor (rather than removing it from the room or putting a sign on it, it just sits in the room broken. By the way the work out room smells like old, mildewing, stains on walls, pressure washing the walkways would be nice, the beds sag in to the point of feeling the box spring underneath, breakfast was a mad house with one server each morning trying to help everyone at one time, hair and dust and trash in the corners of the room, behind bed, furniture is worn out, tv screen was dark, alarm clock was broken, no hot tub by the pool even though it says pool and spa, the maid left me a note telling me that she cannot touch personal items so she did not make the bed which ONLY had a few items of clothing at the foot of the bed(could have easily made the bed with the 3 items of clothing on the bed. , I would have walked away from my pre paid hotel fees and paid again to stay at a another hotel, but since it was just me and my business associate we stayed since there is no way to get a refund when you pre-pay you are just a hostage to your hotel once you arrive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JTF Tvlr
Business
Washington, DC, USA
Mar 6, 2013

Over Rated High Crime Area

Cannot recommend. Too many disappointments and poor experiences.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Travelling Man 53
Business
Victorville, CA
Feb 15, 2013

Last night in Tampa

Arrived late at night and left by 4am the next morning, so had no chance to experience the hote, breakfast, etc. Room was clean but more like a motel set up with noise from outside surrounding area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

THought it ws closer to the airport by the info I read

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Brandon...
Business
Memphis
Oct 29, 2012

For the price

It's all you could really expect. Couldve been better. Could've been a lot worse. Breakfast was decent also

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Wyzo
Business
Atlanta, GA
Aug 12, 2012

Our Experience

We arrived around 10 p.m. on Tuesday, 8/7, checked in and went to our room. It had an odor, but we were too tired to go to the lobby to get our room changed, but did get it changed the following day to a very nice clean room. We also had a reservation for Wed-Fri, but due to an emergency, had to check out on Thursday and go back home. Location of hotel was very convenient for us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top