$59 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 17, 2014 Check-out: Nov 20, 2014

Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

3 stars
2701 E. Fowler Avenue, Tampa, FL 33612
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
153 reviews
Beautiful Place, Excellent Price

It was a last minute reservation, we got a GREAT price, beautiful room very clean and comfy. Great... See full review

  • Rosane
  • Aug 16, 2014
great location

Great location for the busch gardens amusement park and the yuengling brewery. Shopping was good.... See full review

  • joeee
  • May 26, 2014
Kid-themed suites and pirate ship water park near Busch Gardens
The Clarion near Busch Gardens is just minutes from Tampa’s theme park. The property sits close to the pools and water slides at Adventure Island and the famous roller coaster, SheiKra at Busch Gardens. Kids enjoy themed suites with bunk beds and the hotel provides free transportation to and from nearby theme parks. The hotel is also situated close to the University of South Florida, Moffitt Cancer Center, Shriners Children Hospital and Veterans Hospital. Enjoy casual meals at TGI Fridays located next door.
Highlights
  • Free full hot breakfast
  • Themed kid suites with bunk beds
  • Pirate ship water park
Rooms

The hotel offers 406 guest rooms and a special Kidsuite (walk-in basis) with a partitioned area that houses a bunk bed, plus single bed and TV equipped with cable and HBO. Rooms with one king or two double beds include bathtub, in-room coffee maker and hairdryers by request. Free high-speed wireless Internet is available throughout the hotel.

Features

Dive into the free-form outdoor pool or watch the kids delight in the Pirate Ship water park. The property offers a free full hot buffet breakfast, including eggs, bacon, sausage, cereal, toast, coffee, tea and juice. Find on-site dining options including TGI Fridays restaurant. The hotel has laundry facilities onsite, a business center and offers free transportation to and from nearby theme parks and hospitals. 

Transportation
  • Free shuttle to and from Busch Gardens, Adventure Island and nearby hospitals
  • Tampa International Airport (20 minutes)
  • St. Petersburg/Clearwater Airport (50 minutes)
Local Attractions
  • Busch Gardens
  • Adventure Island
  • Museum of Science and Industry
  • Florida Aquarium
  • Historic Ybor City (night clubs, movies, shopping, dining)
  • University of South Florida
  • Raymond James Stadium
  • Lowry Park Zoo
  • Gulf Coast Beaches
  • Disney World and many other Orlando attractions (about an hour)
Business
  • Business center
  • Conference and banquet facilities
Policies & Fees
  • Pets are allowed (fees apply)

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

28.0544 -82.4294
Nearby airports
TAMPA INTERNATIONAL AIRPORT, (TPA), 15.00, MI, SW;
Area description
City Center, I-75 at Exit 265

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Clarion Hotel & Conference Center also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • WiFi
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Heated pool
Exercise gym
Disco
Picnic area/tables
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
Business center
Guest laundromat
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
FAX
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Outdoor parking
Truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Ramp access to buildings
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Telephone
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Sofa bed
Iron

Nearby points of interest

  • University of South Florida Botanical Gardens: 0.4 mi
  • Tampa Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Busch Gardens: 1.3 mi
  • Adventure Island: 1.3 mi
  • Sun Dome: 1.4 mi
  • Museum of Science and Industry: 1.6 mi
  • Grand Prix Fun Center: 2.1 mi
  • Lettuce Lake Park: 3.4 mi
  • Tampa Lowry Park Zoo: 3.9 mi
  • Ybor City State Museum: 6.4 mi
  • Ybor City: 6.4 mi
  • Al Lopez Park: 6.6 mi
  • Steinbrenner Field: 7 mi
  • Morris Bridge Park: 7 mi
  • Raymond James Stadium: 7.1 mi
  • University of South Florida Botanical Gardens: 0.4 mi
  • Tampa Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Busch Gardens: 1.3 mi
  • Adventure Island: 1.3 mi
  • Sun Dome: 1.4 mi
  • Museum of Science and Industry: 1.6 mi
  • Grand Prix Fun Center: 2.1 mi
  • Lettuce Lake Park: 3.4 mi
  • Tampa Lowry Park Zoo: 3.9 mi
  • Ybor City State Museum: 6.4 mi
  • Ybor City: 6.4 mi
  • Al Lopez Park: 6.6 mi
  • Steinbrenner Field: 7 mi
  • Morris Bridge Park: 7 mi
  • Raymond James Stadium: 7.1 mi
  • Tampa Union Station: 7.2 mi
  • The David A. Straz Center for the Performing Arts: 7.4 mi
  • Glazer Children's Museum: 7.5 mi
  • Tampa Museum of Art: 7.5 mi
  • Florida Museum of Photographic Arts: 7.6 mi
  • Florida Aquarium: 7.7 mi
  • SS American Victory Mariners' Memorial and Museum Ship: 7.7 mi
  • Tampa Port Authority: 7.7 mi
  • Henry B. Plant Museum: 7.8 mi
  • ST PETE TIMES FORUM: 7.8 mi
  • Tampa Bay Times Forum: 7.8 mi
  • Tampa Bay Historical Center: 7.9 mi
  • Tampa Convention Center: 8 mi
  • Hyde Park: 8.7 mi
  • The Upper Tampa Bay Trail: 9 mi
  • Tampa Bay Downs: 13.3 mi
  • Tampa Electric Manatee Viewing Center: 18.2 mi
  • Sunshine Skyway Bridge: 28.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (153)

Ratings and reviews for Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
153 out of 153
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.1
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
2.9
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.3

61% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Palm Bay Fl
Jun 27, 2011

great perks

This hotel has great perks. free breakfast. two pools "heated" bar and tgi fridays in hotel. We love being close to Busch Gardens and MOSI, plus it's walking distance to TIA'S (Great mexican) staff is top notch and want to please. worth every penny.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
springbreakfamily
Business
Grand Rapids, MI
Apr 30, 2011

Great Stay

The location was great. We just needed somewhere to stay for two nights before we could get into our condo on the beach. The rooms were OK, but the pool was awesome!!! The kid splash pad was not heated, so that was disappointing - it was too cold for the kids to play in. The continental breakfast was great too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lot's of food, shopping right across the street and within driving distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cape Coral, FL
Apr 6, 2011

Bed Bugs

Upon arrival we found that this was a motel, with the drive up and park by your room. The lobby looked nice, and we were given meal tickets for breakfast. When we went to park by our room, we had to drive through a pond that was a flooded lot. When we entered the room, it smelled moldy. The furniture was outdated and the TV was from the 1980's. When my husband took a shower, I sat down on the bed, to find a small black bug sitting with me. After pulling back the covers, I found several other bugs. We packed our bags and checked out. DON'T STAY HERE

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wisconsin
Apr 3, 2011

One night only

We thought the outside of the hotel and the lobby were beautiful. The people at the front desk were very helpful and courtious. The free breakfast was ok,just your basic eggs,toast,meats, potatoes, and cereals. But we were not very impressed by the room. The bathroom was very small,the way some of the furniture was set-up was awkward and didnt make sense. The door didnt have a good seal around it so you could see light coming in from outside. Glad we were only there for onr night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Busch Gardens was very close to the hotel. only a 10 minute drive which was nice.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Northern Virginia
Apr 2, 2011

Clarion Tampa

The room was run-down and even if it was clean, it gave a feeling of being dirty. Stairwell was dark and smelled of cigarette smoke. I did not feel safe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Lots of good places to eat.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
syracuse ny
Mar 29, 2011

Nice clean friendly& reasonable!

Good!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Would use again.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Markroy53
Business
Rio de Janeiro
Mar 28, 2011

You Get What You Pay For

I needed a hotel near my sister's house in Lutz, Florida [...] It is rather old, and not all that well maintained. I think that they cater mostly to families on vacation going to Busch Gardens which is nearby. It is not up to my standard of Choice Hotels, having come from the GEM hotel in Chelsea right before this. But, the price was right, so for two nights it worked out for us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
vacafiend
Business
Jacksonville FL
Mar 21, 2011

Busch Gardens Clarion

Awesome Breakfast, awesome lobby, cool pool. Unfortunately we were given a smoking room and the smoking rooms are not taken care of as well as the rest of the hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Busch Garden

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
A stop in Tampa
Business
Ocala, Fl
Mar 21, 2011

Older rooms...

It was out dated and not as clean as I would like. The pool area was nice and if the kids were with it would have been nice there for them. But again, I wasn't happy with the way it was kept and had a ... peculiar smell!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Close to I-275 and Bush Gardens...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Augusta, GA
Mar 20, 2011

Hotel needs a makeover

The front desk staff was very helpful when I checked in. The front desk and lobby areas were very modern and looked very well kept. However that is where the nice ends. The room that I had was clean but showed obvious signs of aging. The paint on the walls was chipped in many areas. The carpeting was horrible, very old and should be replaced. The room had a mildew smell to it and the air conditioner either really, really worked or it didn't. The doors did not seem to shut very well and I was told by some Tampa residents that it was not in the best of neighborhoods. Even more reason for the doors to shut properly. As I was checking in there were several people who came to the desk to inform staff of a/c and plumbing problems. That made me even more leary of the choice I made. If you are jusst looking to stay overnight it might be okay but any longer and I would reconsider.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Visit the downtown area, especially Harbour Island. Very nice area and Jackson's restaurant was the best!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top