$79 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Feb 5, 2015 Check-out: Feb 6, 2015

Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

3 stars
2701 E. Fowler Avenue, Tampa, FL 33612
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
158 reviews
Perfect getaway

The staff and the room were perfect.. Was very convienent being close to work and close to places... See full review

  • Steph rock
  • Nov 15, 2014
Beautiful Place, Excellent Price

It was a last minute reservation, we got a GREAT price, beautiful room very clean and comfy. Great... See full review

  • Rosane
  • Aug 16, 2014
Kid-themed suites and pirate ship water park near Busch Gardens
The Clarion near Busch Gardens is just minutes from Tampa’s theme park. The property sits close to the pools and water slides at Adventure Island and the famous roller coaster, SheiKra at Busch Gardens. Kids enjoy themed suites with bunk beds and the hotel provides free transportation to and from nearby theme parks. The hotel is also situated close to the University of South Florida, Moffitt Cancer Center, Shriners Children Hospital and Veterans Hospital. Enjoy casual meals at TGI Fridays located next door.
Highlights
  • Free full hot breakfast
  • Themed kid suites with bunk beds
  • Pirate ship water park
Rooms

The hotel offers 406 guest rooms and a special Kidsuite (walk-in basis) with a partitioned area that houses a bunk bed, plus single bed and TV equipped with cable and HBO. Rooms with one king or two double beds include bathtub, in-room coffee maker and hairdryers by request. Free high-speed wireless Internet is available throughout the hotel.

Features

Dive into the free-form outdoor pool or watch the kids delight in the Pirate Ship water park. The property offers a free full hot buffet breakfast, including eggs, bacon, sausage, cereal, toast, coffee, tea and juice. Find on-site dining options including TGI Fridays restaurant. The hotel has laundry facilities onsite, a business center and offers free transportation to and from nearby theme parks and hospitals. 

Transportation
  • Free shuttle to and from Busch Gardens, Adventure Island and nearby hospitals
  • Tampa International Airport (20 minutes)
  • St. Petersburg/Clearwater Airport (50 minutes)
Local Attractions
  • Busch Gardens
  • Adventure Island
  • Museum of Science and Industry
  • Florida Aquarium
  • Historic Ybor City (night clubs, movies, shopping, dining)
  • University of South Florida
  • Raymond James Stadium
  • Lowry Park Zoo
  • Gulf Coast Beaches
  • Disney World and many other Orlando attractions (about an hour)
Business
  • Business center
  • Conference and banquet facilities
Policies & Fees
  • Pets are allowed (fees apply)

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Clarion Hotel & Conference Center also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • WiFi
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Heated pool
Exercise gym
Disco
Picnic area/tables
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
Business center
Guest laundromat
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
FAX
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Outdoor parking
Truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Ramp access to buildings
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Telephone
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Sofa bed
Iron

Nearby points of interest

  • University of South Florida Botanical Gardens: 0.4 mi
  • Tampa Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Busch Gardens: 1.3 mi
  • Adventure Island: 1.3 mi
  • Sun Dome: 1.4 mi
  • Museum of Science and Industry: 1.6 mi
  • Grand Prix Fun Center: 2.1 mi
  • Lettuce Lake Park: 3.4 mi
  • Tampa Lowry Park Zoo: 3.9 mi
  • Ybor City State Museum: 6.4 mi
  • Ybor City: 6.4 mi
  • Al Lopez Park: 6.6 mi
  • Steinbrenner Field: 7 mi
  • Morris Bridge Park: 7 mi
  • Raymond James Stadium: 7.1 mi
  • University of South Florida Botanical Gardens: 0.4 mi
  • Tampa Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Busch Gardens: 1.3 mi
  • Adventure Island: 1.3 mi
  • Sun Dome: 1.4 mi
  • Museum of Science and Industry: 1.6 mi
  • Grand Prix Fun Center: 2.1 mi
  • Lettuce Lake Park: 3.4 mi
  • Tampa Lowry Park Zoo: 3.9 mi
  • Ybor City State Museum: 6.4 mi
  • Ybor City: 6.4 mi
  • Al Lopez Park: 6.6 mi
  • Steinbrenner Field: 7 mi
  • Morris Bridge Park: 7 mi
  • Raymond James Stadium: 7.1 mi
  • Tampa Union Station: 7.2 mi
  • The David A. Straz Center for the Performing Arts: 7.4 mi
  • Glazer Children's Museum: 7.5 mi
  • Tampa Museum of Art: 7.5 mi
  • Florida Museum of Photographic Arts: 7.6 mi
  • Florida Aquarium: 7.7 mi
  • SS American Victory Mariners' Memorial and Museum Ship: 7.7 mi
  • Tampa Port Authority: 7.7 mi
  • Henry B. Plant Museum: 7.8 mi
  • ST PETE TIMES FORUM: 7.8 mi
  • Tampa Bay Times Forum: 7.8 mi
  • Tampa Bay Historical Center: 7.9 mi
  • Tampa Convention Center: 8 mi
  • Hyde Park: 8.7 mi
  • The Upper Tampa Bay Trail: 9 mi
  • Tampa Bay Downs: 13.3 mi
  • Tampa Electric Manatee Viewing Center: 18.2 mi
  • Sunshine Skyway Bridge: 28.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (158)

Ratings and reviews for Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
158 out of 158
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.1
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.3

63% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
mom45
Business
Jacksonville, fl
Jan 1, 2012

family getaway

carpets need cleaning and room had a musty smell Had to spray fabreze to advoid allergies

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jangueo24
Business
Dallas,tX
Nov 28, 2011

Family Vacation

I had a great vacation and the hotel our stayed was fabulous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
AmyD
Business
Palm Bay, FL, USA
Aug 15, 2011

WORST STAY

Beware when you book this dive. bottom line, poor customer service, poor accomodations (complete with spiders and had to use body weight to close the door), the hotel ran out of essentials (towels), had to ask for a coffee pack for the room and clean out the coffee maker, the AC did not cool and sounded as if an airplane was in the room, advertized wi-fi did not work. on the positive, good pool and close to VA hospital. Here is the full story. We arive with our pre-paid confirmation. At this point we are ready to check in and go see childrens g-pa in the VA hosptial (criticaaly ill). The staff put us in a room, we notice tv not working. We call, the front desk say they will send someone up. We unpack for a family of 4. They call back 30 minutes later to say, they have to move us (the room should not have been used-per maint. man). We get our second room, This was suposed to be a non-smoking room- smelled like smoking, now ph doesn't work, had to use my cell ph to call the front desk. Now we are being moved to our 3rd room, that has been 'thoroughly checked' by staff, 1st thing on the bed, my son says-thinking it is neat, 'mommy look a spider', and when I pulled out the dresser drawer it fell apart. ok it is ~830 pm at this point. too late to go see g-pa. we have been there ~3 hrs waiting to get settled, at no time did they offer to get us a meal, or upgrade the reservation. in fact it was a down grade. So we kill the spider, call maint. get the bug and dresser issue addressed. The next day, after visiting g-pa we come back for me to make lunch for the kids, microwave doesn't work. seriously!. call down they bring up a new one. While there, housekeeping wants us to leave before they will clean. as we re-enter she tells us there are not enough towels, she left us one and said she would return. After another visit with g-pa and incoming relatives, we go visit gravesite of another relative. we get back about 10 pm. go to bed. get up and relealize no towels, long story short after an hour and a half and 3 calls they finally tell us there are none and we need to wait for the dryer to finish. for a time we should have been stress free in our arrangements, it was the worst ever. I did ask for the manager-none on site or available. The supervisor said he left a message for the manager to call me when they came in on Monday-no call. I called there the manager was unavailable. Then called corporate, there is a procedure, I am currently in process....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Daytona Beach, FL
Aug 11, 2011

A really nice clean hotel with friendly

This hotel was very clean, a wonderful pool for the children and a big beautiful separate pool for the adults, the hot free breakfast buffet was wonderful and had a wide selection. The hotel staff was very nice and very fast room service. I would recommend this to any one and the price is very resonable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

All the attractions were very close to the hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
fammom
Business
hollywood, fl
Aug 8, 2011

WORST $80/night I've ever spent!!!

WORST $80/night I've ever spent!!! We stayed at this hotel because we went to Busch Gardens. This hotel was not clean, very old and outdated. The beds were so uncomfortable. The comforter around the edges was so dirty. The carpet was disgusting scary to walk barefooted. The bathroom was so tiny one person could barely fit. Plumbing problems my feet were taking a bath while I shower (gross). People smoking and hanging out of their hotel rooms. There were only 2 towels and we try to order more towels we were told we need to look for the security and front desk was not able to contact him because he has no radio. (really security with no radio) wow! We waited and waited until we found someone. The cleaning crew didn't change our bed sheets and left their trash on top of our dressers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Palm Bay Fl
Jun 27, 2011

great perks

This hotel has great perks. free breakfast. two pools "heated" bar and tgi fridays in hotel. We love being close to Busch Gardens and MOSI, plus it's walking distance to TIA'S (Great mexican) staff is top notch and want to please. worth every penny.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
springbreakfamily
Business
Grand Rapids, MI
Apr 30, 2011

Great Stay

The location was great. We just needed somewhere to stay for two nights before we could get into our condo on the beach. The rooms were OK, but the pool was awesome!!! The kid splash pad was not heated, so that was disappointing - it was too cold for the kids to play in. The continental breakfast was great too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lot's of food, shopping right across the street and within driving distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cape Coral, FL
Apr 6, 2011

Bed Bugs

Upon arrival we found that this was a motel, with the drive up and park by your room. The lobby looked nice, and we were given meal tickets for breakfast. When we went to park by our room, we had to drive through a pond that was a flooded lot. When we entered the room, it smelled moldy. The furniture was outdated and the TV was from the 1980's. When my husband took a shower, I sat down on the bed, to find a small black bug sitting with me. After pulling back the covers, I found several other bugs. We packed our bags and checked out. DON'T STAY HERE

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wisconsin
Apr 3, 2011

One night only

We thought the outside of the hotel and the lobby were beautiful. The people at the front desk were very helpful and courtious. The free breakfast was ok,just your basic eggs,toast,meats, potatoes, and cereals. But we were not very impressed by the room. The bathroom was very small,the way some of the furniture was set-up was awkward and didnt make sense. The door didnt have a good seal around it so you could see light coming in from outside. Glad we were only there for onr night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Busch Gardens was very close to the hotel. only a 10 minute drive which was nice.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Northern Virginia
Apr 2, 2011

Clarion Tampa

The room was run-down and even if it was clean, it gave a feeling of being dirty. Stairwell was dark and smelled of cigarette smoke. I did not feel safe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Lots of good places to eat.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top