$69 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 4, 2015 Check-out: Jan 5, 2015

Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

3 stars
2701 E. Fowler Avenue, Tampa, FL 33612
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
157 reviews
Perfect getaway

The staff and the room were perfect.. Was very convienent being close to work and close to places... See full review

  • Steph rock
  • Nov 15, 2014
Beautiful Place, Excellent Price

It was a last minute reservation, we got a GREAT price, beautiful room very clean and comfy. Great... See full review

  • Rosane
  • Aug 16, 2014
Kid-themed suites and pirate ship water park near Busch Gardens
The Clarion near Busch Gardens is just minutes from Tampa’s theme park. The property sits close to the pools and water slides at Adventure Island and the famous roller coaster, SheiKra at Busch Gardens. Kids enjoy themed suites with bunk beds and the hotel provides free transportation to and from nearby theme parks. The hotel is also situated close to the University of South Florida, Moffitt Cancer Center, Shriners Children Hospital and Veterans Hospital. Enjoy casual meals at TGI Fridays located next door.
Highlights
  • Free full hot breakfast
  • Themed kid suites with bunk beds
  • Pirate ship water park
Rooms

The hotel offers 406 guest rooms and a special Kidsuite (walk-in basis) with a partitioned area that houses a bunk bed, plus single bed and TV equipped with cable and HBO. Rooms with one king or two double beds include bathtub, in-room coffee maker and hairdryers by request. Free high-speed wireless Internet is available throughout the hotel.

Features

Dive into the free-form outdoor pool or watch the kids delight in the Pirate Ship water park. The property offers a free full hot buffet breakfast, including eggs, bacon, sausage, cereal, toast, coffee, tea and juice. Find on-site dining options including TGI Fridays restaurant. The hotel has laundry facilities onsite, a business center and offers free transportation to and from nearby theme parks and hospitals. 

Transportation
  • Free shuttle to and from Busch Gardens, Adventure Island and nearby hospitals
  • Tampa International Airport (20 minutes)
  • St. Petersburg/Clearwater Airport (50 minutes)
Local Attractions
  • Busch Gardens
  • Adventure Island
  • Museum of Science and Industry
  • Florida Aquarium
  • Historic Ybor City (night clubs, movies, shopping, dining)
  • University of South Florida
  • Raymond James Stadium
  • Lowry Park Zoo
  • Gulf Coast Beaches
  • Disney World and many other Orlando attractions (about an hour)
Business
  • Business center
  • Conference and banquet facilities
Policies & Fees
  • Pets are allowed (fees apply)

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Clarion Hotel & Conference Center also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • WiFi
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Heated pool
Exercise gym
Disco
Picnic area/tables
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
Business center
Guest laundromat
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
FAX
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Outdoor parking
Truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Ramp access to buildings
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Telephone
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Sofa bed
Iron

Nearby points of interest

  • University of South Florida Botanical Gardens: 0.4 mi
  • Tampa Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Busch Gardens: 1.3 mi
  • Adventure Island: 1.3 mi
  • Sun Dome: 1.4 mi
  • Museum of Science and Industry: 1.6 mi
  • Grand Prix Fun Center: 2.1 mi
  • Lettuce Lake Park: 3.4 mi
  • Tampa Lowry Park Zoo: 3.9 mi
  • Ybor City State Museum: 6.4 mi
  • Ybor City: 6.4 mi
  • Al Lopez Park: 6.6 mi
  • Steinbrenner Field: 7 mi
  • Morris Bridge Park: 7 mi
  • Raymond James Stadium: 7.1 mi
  • University of South Florida Botanical Gardens: 0.4 mi
  • Tampa Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Busch Gardens: 1.3 mi
  • Adventure Island: 1.3 mi
  • Sun Dome: 1.4 mi
  • Museum of Science and Industry: 1.6 mi
  • Grand Prix Fun Center: 2.1 mi
  • Lettuce Lake Park: 3.4 mi
  • Tampa Lowry Park Zoo: 3.9 mi
  • Ybor City State Museum: 6.4 mi
  • Ybor City: 6.4 mi
  • Al Lopez Park: 6.6 mi
  • Steinbrenner Field: 7 mi
  • Morris Bridge Park: 7 mi
  • Raymond James Stadium: 7.1 mi
  • Tampa Union Station: 7.2 mi
  • The David A. Straz Center for the Performing Arts: 7.4 mi
  • Glazer Children's Museum: 7.5 mi
  • Tampa Museum of Art: 7.5 mi
  • Florida Museum of Photographic Arts: 7.6 mi
  • Florida Aquarium: 7.7 mi
  • SS American Victory Mariners' Memorial and Museum Ship: 7.7 mi
  • Tampa Port Authority: 7.7 mi
  • Henry B. Plant Museum: 7.8 mi
  • ST PETE TIMES FORUM: 7.8 mi
  • Tampa Bay Times Forum: 7.8 mi
  • Tampa Bay Historical Center: 7.9 mi
  • Tampa Convention Center: 8 mi
  • Hyde Park: 8.7 mi
  • The Upper Tampa Bay Trail: 9 mi
  • Tampa Bay Downs: 13.3 mi
  • Tampa Electric Manatee Viewing Center: 18.2 mi
  • Sunshine Skyway Bridge: 28.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (157)

Ratings and reviews for Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
157 out of 157
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.1
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.3

62% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Holiday Special
Fort Myers, FL
Dec 27, 2012

Convenient!

I was not looking for anything fancy for a one night stay. But this place beat my expectations. In all my hotel room was perfect. The check in and check out was quick and convenient. The breakfast was great. Our room was clean, no problems.There's so many stores you can think of just cross from each other. I would definitely stay here again for our next visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Will and Kim
Business
Jacksonville fl
Jul 15, 2012

Not what you'd expect!

Hotel was more like motel 6 than a clarion. The best part of the hotel by far is its lobby. Room wasn't bad just not what you'd expect for the name, advertised a high def flat screen tv yet had an old school tube tv. Room was a little dirty especially bathroom. Kids running around outside rooms knocking on doors and being extremely loud at 3:00 am and staff never put a stop to it. However if you're only interested in being close to Busch gardens then this is the place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
diplomat727
Business
palm bay florida
Jul 12, 2012

GREAT PLACE TO RELAX

Love this place for location and price. Great for being next to Busch Gardens. Pool is aways nice and clean. Free breakfast. Only bad thing is the closed the pool bar. but liquer store across street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Tia's next door. great tex mex

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
g flores
Business
rockford, IL
Jun 26, 2012

not worth it

I checked in and upon arriving at the room, i encounter with a room not clean as it should, carpet was not cleaned, walls have foot prints, bath tub really old and stained not to mention, bed covers were stained with some sort of liquid, i went back to lobby and ask for the room to get cleaned and bed covers changed, theire response was "I will get someone to do it right away" i went out to get some cleaning supplies and disinfectant spray (i took about 1hr and 30min) when i got back to the room i found it the same way it was when i left, i had to go to the lobby for the second time and this time they changed me to another room, and when i opened the room it was in a very similar condition to the first, but this time i did not find any (love stains?) on the bed covers, at this point i knew even if i asked for a different room it would be just the same, so i had to clean every single item in the room before i used it, and i had to spend about $30 worth of cleaning supplies and a pair of bed sheets. I would not recomend this hotel to anyone specially if they bring a baby or child with them, this place is not worth the $$

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Busch gardens and adventure island are about 1 1/2 milles from hotel, closest beaches are about an hour and a half from hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DBaby
Business
West Palm Beach, FL
Jun 22, 2012

Ehh needs work.

The room appeared to have that "I am a used room" feeling with spots on the furniture etc. the location was a decent distance from where I needed to be. It was extremely convenient to have that TGI Friday's attached. The amenities were nothing special. I felt restricted on the channels I was able to watch. Checking in I only saw one staff member and it was in the middle of the day, I guess they only staff as much as the flow of traffic requires, but it also indicates that not many people are attracted to the hotel. In the end you get what you pay for. Next time I will pay more for something better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Drummadadd
Business
SW Florida
Jun 18, 2012

Mold

Mold in bathroom along the tub. Paint peeling off molding in bathroom. Room needed a fresh coat of paint. Very rude staff at check in. One plate, served breakfast, don't go hungry. Room had mold odor. AC worked very well! Pillows were comfortable. "Kid area" near pool is for kids under 5 looks better in pictures than actually is. Hotel is a great location, close to attractions, shopping and eating estabilishments.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Professor Stone
Business
Fort Pierce Florida
Jun 18, 2012

It was nice

It was ok for an overnight stay. There were things in the room that were falling apart. The rooms need to be updated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Busch Gardens Visitor
Business
Vero Beach, FL
Jun 13, 2012

Clarion Hotel

The staff was very friendly and efficient. They let us checkin early without any extra charge! The hotel is across the street from a shopping center with a lot of amenities to choose from. We picked the hotel because it stated there was a shuttle to Busch Gardens, the shuttle only ran twice a day: 10am and 5 pm so we had to pay to park anyway. The breakfast buffet (free with the room!!) was good one day and not the next even though the same items were served. The hotel has two pools that looked nice and one was designed specifically for kids. The room had a microwave and fridge which was nice, but the room was crowded -- we had 4 people and a dog -- it was like walking through pathways to get around the room just to get ready to go out. The hotel is old and the room reflected that.. The only problem we had was with other guests who were partying outside our room until after midnight when we called the front desk to complain, they responded within 5 minutes to quiet the partiers. Overall a good value. I would use this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Brooksgirl
Business
Baltimore MD
May 23, 2012

Quick trip

Hotel staff was very helpful.The room had a terrible moldy smell.The carpet apparantly needed to be cleaned,entire room needed to be aired out.Thank goodness, I was only there for one night,would not recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Decent mall and other shops right across the street.Lots of dinning choices in the area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Alexa col
Business
New york
May 23, 2012

Ok family vacation

It was good but I asked for a non smoking room found an ashtray in the room went to front desk and they told me it wasn't smoking room but my year and a half is allergic to smoke and got really sick.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ski TaHOE a Fer
Business
New Jersey
May 20, 2012

NEVER AGAIN! BLaHHHHHHGGGHHHHAaa!

The room had the ambiance of a half way house It smelled of wet dog, mold, and carcass. I would rathe stay in a prison. Just standing in the room made me feel dirty. If this is the kind of experience you are looking for, then this is for you. I would give this a zero star but because the coffee sausage and potatoes at breakfast were good, I will give a one star and hope that the kitchen wasn't as filthy as my room or I'll be dead by tonight and this will be my last post.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Bush gardens

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top