$59 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 17, 2014 Check-out: Nov 20, 2014

Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

3 stars
2701 E. Fowler Avenue, Tampa, FL 33612
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
153 reviews
Beautiful Place, Excellent Price

It was a last minute reservation, we got a GREAT price, beautiful room very clean and comfy. Great... See full review

  • Rosane
  • Aug 16, 2014
great location

Great location for the busch gardens amusement park and the yuengling brewery. Shopping was good.... See full review

  • joeee
  • May 26, 2014
Kid-themed suites and pirate ship water park near Busch Gardens
The Clarion near Busch Gardens is just minutes from Tampa’s theme park. The property sits close to the pools and water slides at Adventure Island and the famous roller coaster, SheiKra at Busch Gardens. Kids enjoy themed suites with bunk beds and the hotel provides free transportation to and from nearby theme parks. The hotel is also situated close to the University of South Florida, Moffitt Cancer Center, Shriners Children Hospital and Veterans Hospital. Enjoy casual meals at TGI Fridays located next door.
Highlights
  • Free full hot breakfast
  • Themed kid suites with bunk beds
  • Pirate ship water park
Rooms

The hotel offers 406 guest rooms and a special Kidsuite (walk-in basis) with a partitioned area that houses a bunk bed, plus single bed and TV equipped with cable and HBO. Rooms with one king or two double beds include bathtub, in-room coffee maker and hairdryers by request. Free high-speed wireless Internet is available throughout the hotel.

Features

Dive into the free-form outdoor pool or watch the kids delight in the Pirate Ship water park. The property offers a free full hot buffet breakfast, including eggs, bacon, sausage, cereal, toast, coffee, tea and juice. Find on-site dining options including TGI Fridays restaurant. The hotel has laundry facilities onsite, a business center and offers free transportation to and from nearby theme parks and hospitals. 

Transportation
  • Free shuttle to and from Busch Gardens, Adventure Island and nearby hospitals
  • Tampa International Airport (20 minutes)
  • St. Petersburg/Clearwater Airport (50 minutes)
Local Attractions
  • Busch Gardens
  • Adventure Island
  • Museum of Science and Industry
  • Florida Aquarium
  • Historic Ybor City (night clubs, movies, shopping, dining)
  • University of South Florida
  • Raymond James Stadium
  • Lowry Park Zoo
  • Gulf Coast Beaches
  • Disney World and many other Orlando attractions (about an hour)
Business
  • Business center
  • Conference and banquet facilities
Policies & Fees
  • Pets are allowed (fees apply)

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

28.0544 -82.4294
Nearby airports
TAMPA INTERNATIONAL AIRPORT, (TPA), 15.00, MI, SW;
Area description
City Center, I-75 at Exit 265

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Clarion Hotel & Conference Center also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • WiFi
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Heated pool
Exercise gym
Disco
Picnic area/tables
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
Business center
Guest laundromat
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
FAX
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Outdoor parking
Truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Ramp access to buildings
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Telephone
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Sofa bed
Iron

Nearby points of interest

  • University of South Florida Botanical Gardens: 0.4 mi
  • Tampa Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Busch Gardens: 1.3 mi
  • Adventure Island: 1.3 mi
  • Sun Dome: 1.4 mi
  • Museum of Science and Industry: 1.6 mi
  • Grand Prix Fun Center: 2.1 mi
  • Lettuce Lake Park: 3.4 mi
  • Tampa Lowry Park Zoo: 3.9 mi
  • Ybor City State Museum: 6.4 mi
  • Ybor City: 6.4 mi
  • Al Lopez Park: 6.6 mi
  • Steinbrenner Field: 7 mi
  • Morris Bridge Park: 7 mi
  • Raymond James Stadium: 7.1 mi
  • University of South Florida Botanical Gardens: 0.4 mi
  • Tampa Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Busch Gardens: 1.3 mi
  • Adventure Island: 1.3 mi
  • Sun Dome: 1.4 mi
  • Museum of Science and Industry: 1.6 mi
  • Grand Prix Fun Center: 2.1 mi
  • Lettuce Lake Park: 3.4 mi
  • Tampa Lowry Park Zoo: 3.9 mi
  • Ybor City State Museum: 6.4 mi
  • Ybor City: 6.4 mi
  • Al Lopez Park: 6.6 mi
  • Steinbrenner Field: 7 mi
  • Morris Bridge Park: 7 mi
  • Raymond James Stadium: 7.1 mi
  • Tampa Union Station: 7.2 mi
  • The David A. Straz Center for the Performing Arts: 7.4 mi
  • Glazer Children's Museum: 7.5 mi
  • Tampa Museum of Art: 7.5 mi
  • Florida Museum of Photographic Arts: 7.6 mi
  • Florida Aquarium: 7.7 mi
  • SS American Victory Mariners' Memorial and Museum Ship: 7.7 mi
  • Tampa Port Authority: 7.7 mi
  • Henry B. Plant Museum: 7.8 mi
  • ST PETE TIMES FORUM: 7.8 mi
  • Tampa Bay Times Forum: 7.8 mi
  • Tampa Bay Historical Center: 7.9 mi
  • Tampa Convention Center: 8 mi
  • Hyde Park: 8.7 mi
  • The Upper Tampa Bay Trail: 9 mi
  • Tampa Bay Downs: 13.3 mi
  • Tampa Electric Manatee Viewing Center: 18.2 mi
  • Sunshine Skyway Bridge: 28.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (153)

Ratings and reviews for Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
153 out of 153
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.1
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
2.9
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.3

61% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Steve100
Business
Chicago
Sep 10, 2012

Important to have very modest expectations

This is a large economy priced property within short distance of Univ of Florida. To be in any way satisfied, in my opinion, is to set your expectations relative to price. As trade off for low price, you can expect very low quality environment; old and broken furniture and light fixtures, broken phone, rusty old bath hardware, discolored yellow water coming from sink and shower, foul dank smell in room, dirty old carpet. Next time, I would spend more and expect more. Would never return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Univ of Florida

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Wyzo
Business
Atlanta, GA
Aug 12, 2012

Our Experience

We arrived around 10 p.m. on Tuesday, 8/7, checked in and went to our room. It had an odor, but we were too tired to go to the lobby to get our room changed, but did get it changed the following day to a very nice clean room. We also had a reservation for Wed-Fri, but due to an emergency, had to check out on Thursday and go back home. Location of hotel was very convenient for us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jaguar Julie
Business
Jacksonville, FL
Jul 29, 2012

Great 1st visit to Bush Gardens & 1st stay at a Clarion

We had a great time. The hotel & staff were very nice. We will be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Make sure you pay attention to the movie start times. The staff at the movie theater down from the hotel was very rude and not helpful at all.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Everett D
Business
Vero Beach, Fla.
Jul 29, 2012

Just don't stay there!!!

First of all, not like the pix. very run down, second staff unhelpful and plain nasty, the shuttle to Bush Gardens not til 10:00 am. I am sorry to say this is in no way a 3 star more like a 1 star if that!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Don't eat there!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sawadee
Business
Jacksonville Fl
Jul 26, 2012

Average family getaway

The bed is soggy and old because it hurts my back , needs a new replacement. The Hotel facility is kind of old, the bathtub, the commode won't drain easily and the curtain is so flimsy that when you take shower the water drips on the floor. Overall, its an average hotel for the price you pay, the pool is clean and the location is convenient to restaurants, mall and only 5-minutes away from main attractions and 20-minutes away from the Hard Rock Cafe casino. SUper WiFi connection.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
debbie from ocala
Business
Ocala, FL
Jul 19, 2012

Not bad

the hotel was nice the room was clean but we were disappointed about the use of the shuttle to Busch Gardens. the main reason we booked there was so that we would be able to shuttle to the park; however, the shuttle only runs at 10 am and 5:30 pm. the park opens at 9 and closes at 10. You would waste half your day by not being able to return to your hotel when you wanted.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Will and Kim
Business
Jacksonville fl
Jul 15, 2012

Not what you'd expect!

Hotel was more like motel 6 than a clarion. The best part of the hotel by far is its lobby. Room wasn't bad just not what you'd expect for the name, advertised a high def flat screen tv yet had an old school tube tv. Room was a little dirty especially bathroom. Kids running around outside rooms knocking on doors and being extremely loud at 3:00 am and staff never put a stop to it. However if you're only interested in being close to Busch gardens then this is the place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
diplomat727
Business
palm bay florida
Jul 12, 2012

GREAT PLACE TO RELAX

Love this place for location and price. Great for being next to Busch Gardens. Pool is aways nice and clean. Free breakfast. Only bad thing is the closed the pool bar. but liquer store across street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Tia's next door. great tex mex

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
g flores
Business
rockford, IL
Jun 26, 2012

not worth it

I checked in and upon arriving at the room, i encounter with a room not clean as it should, carpet was not cleaned, walls have foot prints, bath tub really old and stained not to mention, bed covers were stained with some sort of liquid, i went back to lobby and ask for the room to get cleaned and bed covers changed, theire response was "I will get someone to do it right away" i went out to get some cleaning supplies and disinfectant spray (i took about 1hr and 30min) when i got back to the room i found it the same way it was when i left, i had to go to the lobby for the second time and this time they changed me to another room, and when i opened the room it was in a very similar condition to the first, but this time i did not find any (love stains?) on the bed covers, at this point i knew even if i asked for a different room it would be just the same, so i had to clean every single item in the room before i used it, and i had to spend about $30 worth of cleaning supplies and a pair of bed sheets. I would not recomend this hotel to anyone specially if they bring a baby or child with them, this place is not worth the $$

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Busch gardens and adventure island are about 1 1/2 milles from hotel, closest beaches are about an hour and a half from hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DBaby
Business
West Palm Beach, FL
Jun 22, 2012

Ehh needs work.

The room appeared to have that "I am a used room" feeling with spots on the furniture etc. the location was a decent distance from where I needed to be. It was extremely convenient to have that TGI Friday's attached. The amenities were nothing special. I felt restricted on the channels I was able to watch. Checking in I only saw one staff member and it was in the middle of the day, I guess they only staff as much as the flow of traffic requires, but it also indicates that not many people are attracted to the hotel. In the end you get what you pay for. Next time I will pay more for something better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top