$69 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 23, 2014 Check-out: Jul 24, 2014

Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

3 stars
2701 E. Fowler Avenue, Tampa, FL 33612
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
211 reviews
great location

Great location for the busch gardens amusement park and the yuengling brewery. Shopping was good.... See full review

  • joeee
  • May 26, 2014
Awesome hotel

I stayed here in October 13 and when I was coming back to Tampa again for a class I chose to stay... See full review

  • Pixiemh1
  • May 3, 2014
Kid-themed suites and pirate ship water park near Busch Gardens
The Clarion near Busch Gardens is just minutes from Tampa’s theme park. The property sits close to the pools and water slides at Adventure Island and the famous roller coaster, SheiKra at Busch Gardens. Kids enjoy themed suites with bunk beds and the hotel provides free transportation to and from nearby theme parks. The hotel is also situated close to the University of South Florida, Moffitt Cancer Center, Shriners Children Hospital and Veterans Hospital. Enjoy casual meals at TGI Fridays located next door.
Highlights
  • Free full hot breakfast
  • Themed kid suites with bunk beds
  • Pirate ship water park
Rooms

The hotel offers 406 guest rooms and a special Kidsuite (walk-in basis) with a partitioned area that houses a bunk bed, plus single bed and TV equipped with cable and HBO. Rooms with one king or two double beds include bathtub, in-room coffee maker and hairdryers by request. Free high-speed wireless Internet is available throughout the hotel.

Features

Dive into the free-form outdoor pool or watch the kids delight in the Pirate Ship water park. The property offers a free full hot buffet breakfast, including eggs, bacon, sausage, cereal, toast, coffee, tea and juice. Find on-site dining options including TGI Fridays restaurant. The hotel has laundry facilities onsite, a business center and offers free transportation to and from nearby theme parks and hospitals. 

Transportation
  • Free shuttle to and from Busch Gardens, Adventure Island and nearby hospitals
  • Tampa International Airport (20 minutes)
  • St. Petersburg/Clearwater Airport (50 minutes)
Local Attractions
  • Busch Gardens
  • Adventure Island
  • Museum of Science and Industry
  • Florida Aquarium
  • Historic Ybor City (night clubs, movies, shopping, dining)
  • University of South Florida
  • Raymond James Stadium
  • Lowry Park Zoo
  • Gulf Coast Beaches
  • Disney World and many other Orlando attractions (about an hour)
Business
  • Business center
  • Conference and banquet facilities
Policies & Fees
  • Pets are allowed (fees apply)

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • WiFi
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Heated pool
Exercise gym
Disco
Picnic area/tables
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
Business center
Guest laundromat
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
FAX
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Outdoor parking
Truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Ramp access to buildings
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Telephone
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Sofa bed
Iron

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Clarion Hotel & Conference Center also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Hotel Map

28.0544 -82.4294
Nearby airports
TAMPA INTERNATIONAL AIRPORT, (TPA), 15.00, MI, SW;
Area description
City Center, I-75 at Exit 265

Nearby points of interest

  • University of South Florida Botanical Gardens: 0.4 mi
  • Tampa Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Busch Gardens: 1.3 mi
  • Adventure Island: 1.3 mi
  • Sun Dome: 1.4 mi
  • Museum of Science and Industry: 1.6 mi
  • Grand Prix Fun Center: 2.1 mi
  • Lettuce Lake Park: 3.4 mi
  • Tampa Lowry Park Zoo: 3.9 mi
  • Ybor City State Museum: 6.4 mi
  • Ybor City: 6.4 mi
  • Al Lopez Park: 6.6 mi
  • Steinbrenner Field: 7 mi
  • Morris Bridge Park: 7 mi
  • Raymond James Stadium: 7.1 mi
  • University of South Florida Botanical Gardens: 0.4 mi
  • Tampa Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Busch Gardens: 1.3 mi
  • Adventure Island: 1.3 mi
  • Sun Dome: 1.4 mi
  • Museum of Science and Industry: 1.6 mi
  • Grand Prix Fun Center: 2.1 mi
  • Lettuce Lake Park: 3.4 mi
  • Tampa Lowry Park Zoo: 3.9 mi
  • Ybor City State Museum: 6.4 mi
  • Ybor City: 6.4 mi
  • Al Lopez Park: 6.6 mi
  • Steinbrenner Field: 7 mi
  • Morris Bridge Park: 7 mi
  • Raymond James Stadium: 7.1 mi
  • Tampa Union Station: 7.2 mi
  • The David A. Straz Center for the Performing Arts: 7.4 mi
  • Glazer Children's Museum: 7.5 mi
  • Tampa Museum of Art: 7.5 mi
  • Florida Museum of Photographic Arts: 7.6 mi
  • Florida Aquarium: 7.7 mi
  • SS American Victory Mariners' Memorial and Museum Ship: 7.7 mi
  • Tampa Port Authority: 7.7 mi
  • Henry B. Plant Museum: 7.8 mi
  • ST PETE TIMES FORUM: 7.8 mi
  • Tampa Bay Times Forum: 7.8 mi
  • Tampa Bay Historical Center: 7.9 mi
  • Tampa Convention Center: 8 mi
  • Hyde Park: 8.7 mi
  • The Upper Tampa Bay Trail: 9 mi
  • Tampa Bay Downs: 13.3 mi
  • Tampa Electric Manatee Viewing Center: 18.2 mi
  • Sunshine Skyway Bridge: 28.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (211)

Ratings and reviews for Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
211 out of 211
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.4

64% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kellie mom to all
Orlando
May 1, 2013

A place to sleep

I just needed a place to sleep for the night. The hotel itself looked nice but rooms need updated and mattress sunk in the middle. They do offer free breakfast but eggs are powder eggs. The staff was very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mormontravelguy
Melbourne, Florida
Apr 29, 2013

Good times

Pool was nice, kid pool was awesome - my 2 year old loved it! Breakfast was pretty good. Key cards kept on getting messed up (That happens everywhere). The only downside were the stairs to get to the second floor. Nasty, smelly, gross stairs. I would stay on the first floor if I had another chance. Really loved the kid pool. Overall it was pretty great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: In Hotel

We ordered pizza from a New York Pizza place. Free delivery and great pizza and cheesy garlic bread! Yummy.

Review of Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Dave Fast Biz traveler
Business
San Antonio, Texas
Apr 8, 2013

The Pictures online are deceiving

The room was dirty, the maid staff did as little as possible to clean the room.The work out room had a treadmill that was broken, the entire belt was torn and laying on the floor (rather than removing it from the room or putting a sign on it, it just sits in the room broken. By the way the work out room smells like old, mildewing, stains on walls, pressure washing the walkways would be nice, the beds sag in to the point of feeling the box spring underneath, breakfast was a mad house with one server each morning trying to help everyone at one time, hair and dust and trash in the corners of the room, behind bed, furniture is worn out, tv screen was dark, alarm clock was broken, no hot tub by the pool even though it says pool and spa, the maid left me a note telling me that she cannot touch personal items so she did not make the bed which ONLY had a few items of clothing at the foot of the bed(could have easily made the bed with the 3 items of clothing on the bed. , I would have walked away from my pre paid hotel fees and paid again to stay at a another hotel, but since it was just me and my business associate we stayed since there is no way to get a refund when you pre-pay you are just a hostage to your hotel once you arrive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
W. Stuenkel
Clarkston, MI
Apr 3, 2013

Needs maintenance

Not good. Trash cans near pool and in stairwell were overflowing. Shower surround was cracked. Disgusting stains on carpet. New granite counter surfaces were nice. Sheets were clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ed the busy traveler
Los Angeles, California
Mar 22, 2013

Comfortable Hotel

Good place for families and business traveler. They have a very nice pool area. I forgot my medications and the hotel staff did all they could to unite me with my medications and I really appreciated their efforts. The front staff is helpful and friendly, I arrived at 1 am and within minutes I was in my room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
SadieGrace
Rhode island
Mar 20, 2013

Just ok

The hotel needs a little updating. There were some raccoons in the stairwell. Not sure if this is usual. Food was not very good. Staff was nice. Convenient to local attractions and the price was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
ANGIE disapointed
punta gorda florida
Mar 10, 2013

NEVER AGAIN

This hotel experience was one of the worst we have ever had. Not only was there a police chase with K-9s in the parking lot at 2:30am. But we were awaken at 8am by the maids having a knock down drag out fight over equiptment. Threats of killing each other and weapons on there person. I call the front desk to inform them and they were NOT surprised and acted as if this happens often but would sens someone ro stop the fight. We had all intentions of staying and letting our children swim ans play, but instead we packes our things and left immediatly! !! STAY AWAY FROM THIS HOTEL

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JTF Tvlr
Business
Washington, DC, USA
Mar 6, 2013

Over Rated High Crime Area

Cannot recommend. Too many disappointments and poor experiences.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
aaron H.
port st. john , fl
Mar 4, 2013

good stay

not a bad place, clean but older. free brekfest was good, staff very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
bvack1
maine
Mar 3, 2013

old and rundown needs to be torn down

old rooms dirty carpets door would not shut all the way tv was was so old i seen beter ones in a dump very shady area did not dare to venture out at nite the only good thing i have to say is that the staff was very good to us

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

across the street

Back to menu Return to top