$49 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 10, 2014 Check-out: Sep 11, 2014

Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

3 stars
2701 E. Fowler Avenue, Tampa, FL 33612
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
148 reviews
Beautiful Place, Excellent Price

It was a last minute reservation, we got a GREAT price, beautiful room very clean and comfy. Great... See full review

  • Rosane
  • Aug 16, 2014
great location

Great location for the busch gardens amusement park and the yuengling brewery. Shopping was good.... See full review

  • joeee
  • May 26, 2014
Kid-themed suites and pirate ship water park near Busch Gardens
The Clarion near Busch Gardens is just minutes from Tampa’s theme park. The property sits close to the pools and water slides at Adventure Island and the famous roller coaster, SheiKra at Busch Gardens. Kids enjoy themed suites with bunk beds and the hotel provides free transportation to and from nearby theme parks. The hotel is also situated close to the University of South Florida, Moffitt Cancer Center, Shriners Children Hospital and Veterans Hospital. Enjoy casual meals at TGI Fridays located next door.
Highlights
  • Free full hot breakfast
  • Themed kid suites with bunk beds
  • Pirate ship water park
Rooms

The hotel offers 406 guest rooms and a special Kidsuite (walk-in basis) with a partitioned area that houses a bunk bed, plus single bed and TV equipped with cable and HBO. Rooms with one king or two double beds include bathtub, in-room coffee maker and hairdryers by request. Free high-speed wireless Internet is available throughout the hotel.

Features

Dive into the free-form outdoor pool or watch the kids delight in the Pirate Ship water park. The property offers a free full hot buffet breakfast, including eggs, bacon, sausage, cereal, toast, coffee, tea and juice. Find on-site dining options including TGI Fridays restaurant. The hotel has laundry facilities onsite, a business center and offers free transportation to and from nearby theme parks and hospitals. 

Transportation
  • Free shuttle to and from Busch Gardens, Adventure Island and nearby hospitals
  • Tampa International Airport (20 minutes)
  • St. Petersburg/Clearwater Airport (50 minutes)
Local Attractions
  • Busch Gardens
  • Adventure Island
  • Museum of Science and Industry
  • Florida Aquarium
  • Historic Ybor City (night clubs, movies, shopping, dining)
  • University of South Florida
  • Raymond James Stadium
  • Lowry Park Zoo
  • Gulf Coast Beaches
  • Disney World and many other Orlando attractions (about an hour)
Business
  • Business center
  • Conference and banquet facilities
Policies & Fees
  • Pets are allowed (fees apply)

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

28.0544 -82.4294
Nearby airports
TAMPA INTERNATIONAL AIRPORT, (TPA), 15.00, MI, SW;
Area description
City Center, I-75 at Exit 265

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Clarion Hotel & Conference Center also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • WiFi
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Heated pool
Exercise gym
Disco
Picnic area/tables
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
Business center
Guest laundromat
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
FAX
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Outdoor parking
Truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Ramp access to buildings
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Telephone
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Sofa bed
Iron

Nearby points of interest

  • University of South Florida Botanical Gardens: 0.4 mi
  • Tampa Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Busch Gardens: 1.3 mi
  • Adventure Island: 1.3 mi
  • Sun Dome: 1.4 mi
  • Museum of Science and Industry: 1.6 mi
  • Grand Prix Fun Center: 2.1 mi
  • Lettuce Lake Park: 3.4 mi
  • Tampa Lowry Park Zoo: 3.9 mi
  • Ybor City State Museum: 6.4 mi
  • Ybor City: 6.4 mi
  • Al Lopez Park: 6.6 mi
  • Steinbrenner Field: 7 mi
  • Morris Bridge Park: 7 mi
  • Raymond James Stadium: 7.1 mi
  • University of South Florida Botanical Gardens: 0.4 mi
  • Tampa Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Busch Gardens: 1.3 mi
  • Adventure Island: 1.3 mi
  • Sun Dome: 1.4 mi
  • Museum of Science and Industry: 1.6 mi
  • Grand Prix Fun Center: 2.1 mi
  • Lettuce Lake Park: 3.4 mi
  • Tampa Lowry Park Zoo: 3.9 mi
  • Ybor City State Museum: 6.4 mi
  • Ybor City: 6.4 mi
  • Al Lopez Park: 6.6 mi
  • Steinbrenner Field: 7 mi
  • Morris Bridge Park: 7 mi
  • Raymond James Stadium: 7.1 mi
  • Tampa Union Station: 7.2 mi
  • The David A. Straz Center for the Performing Arts: 7.4 mi
  • Glazer Children's Museum: 7.5 mi
  • Tampa Museum of Art: 7.5 mi
  • Florida Museum of Photographic Arts: 7.6 mi
  • Florida Aquarium: 7.7 mi
  • SS American Victory Mariners' Memorial and Museum Ship: 7.7 mi
  • Tampa Port Authority: 7.7 mi
  • Henry B. Plant Museum: 7.8 mi
  • ST PETE TIMES FORUM: 7.8 mi
  • Tampa Bay Times Forum: 7.8 mi
  • Tampa Bay Historical Center: 7.9 mi
  • Tampa Convention Center: 8 mi
  • Hyde Park: 8.7 mi
  • The Upper Tampa Bay Trail: 9 mi
  • Tampa Bay Downs: 13.3 mi
  • Tampa Electric Manatee Viewing Center: 18.2 mi
  • Sunshine Skyway Bridge: 28.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (148)

Ratings and reviews for Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
148 out of 148
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.1
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
2.9
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.3

61% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dos Gorros
Branson, MO, USA
Jan 12, 2013

Tampa on a Shoestring

Our room was clean, staff were friendly and the location was great. The king-size bed was quite comfortable too. We took advantage of the free breakfast most mornings: bacon, scrambled eggs, potatoes, grits, cereal, juice.etc. The heated pool was never crowded and very relaxing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Naples, FL
Aug 18, 2010

Excellent Price, Good Location

We stayed at this hotel when we went to Busch Gardens. The price and location to Busch Gardens is why we chose this hotel. The staff was very friendly, the rooms clean and large. You can walk to TGIFridays or a chinese buffet located on either side of the hotel or you can walk across the street to a plaza that holds at least 4 restaurants.If you wish to travel for dinner there are many restaurants in short driving distance. There is a breakfast buffet in the hotel and when you check in they give you coupons so you dont have to pay, unfortunately, we didnt care for buffet. The lounge was not open when we were there, probably due to it being off season. We would definately stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
donosroadtrip
Wellington, FL
Jul 17, 2010

Clarion Hotel Tampa USF

Stayed for USF incoming freshman orientation. About 1 mile drive from campus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Unimpressed Nurse
Spokane, WA
Jul 13, 2010

Okay but wouldn't stay again

We chose this hotel mainly because of the location and the pictures on the website...little did we know that this was a very bad location in town and the pictures were completely false. Walking into the lobby it was absolutely beautiful and walking out to the pool we found to have the same reaction. However, the room was tiny, the smell once entering the room was absolutely overwhelming. The harsh smell of some sort of cleaning agent was so thick you could taste it; and this smell didn't fade until the day we left (a week later). The bed linens had stains on them and we did not feel comfortable sleeping on them. We actually drove to the nearest Walmart and bought sheets to sleep on during our stay. Our tv remote didn't work, the channels would only go down as well as the volume; but even that didn't last long and it stopped working all together. Half of the lights didn't work in the room and the tub in the bathroom was clogged within four days. We were not impressed with the continental breakfast. There were only three real choices of eggs, meat and pancakes and then a few cereal choices...not a large buffet as described by the website. Luckily we did not have to be in our room that often and had many activities that took up the majority of our day. We had a bad feeling in our gut about leaving our stuff in our room so we kept the do not disturb sign in the door whenever we left. If you can spend a little extra money I would definitely stay somewhere else and research the area to see if it is safe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a Chilis as well as a TGI Fridays within a short walking distance from this hotel.

Review of Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Islander
Business
Pago Pago
Jun 19, 2010

Contrast and disparity

The staff was very professional. However the rooms are old, run down,carpet was not tucked and old, stain on the chair, card key would not always work, fitness room was filthy and not kept up, AC unit very loud. Just as loud as the "tenants". Looks like the hotel has a residentional occupancy. I think the entire physical make-up of the hotel needs to change. The only thing that seperates the customer and an intruder is a glass pane. Does not get you a sense of safety. Breakfast started to late (7am) Need to start atleast 6:30am. I was staying next door at the hyatt and my stay was extended but the Hyatt did not have any rooms available. Overall did not get much restas a result of the above

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
new port richey, fl
May 23, 2010

nice rooms

good location fairly close to tampa general

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Philadelphia, Pa
May 6, 2010

graduation weekend

breakfast was good, but the potatoes were over cooked like they were leftover form another meal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Massachusettes
Apr 23, 2010

Served our purposes very well.

Staff were very accomodating and location of room was very helpful with a toddler. We would return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

We needed a reasonable inexpensive fun place as this was a business trip, but we had a child with us. This place served our purposes perfectly.

Review of Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
angry grammy
florida
Apr 6, 2010

horrible!

I have to say that having traveled all over the US as well as the world, this was the 2nd worst hotel I have ever seen in a supposedly over 3 star rating. The only one that was worse, was so bad that we refused to put our bags down and checked back out! The room was so small wth 2 double beds that we had troule walking around. You had to climb over the toilet to close the bathroom door. The shower curtain was missing and we did not get one until the second night in spite of several requests. The blanket on one of the beds was visibly dirty and so were the walls and carpet, in spite of the fact that they advertised as recently renovated. Our room was not cleaned the second day and we had to call for towels which eventually showed up with the shower curtain after 9 p.m. but no clean wash cloths. we had requested a couch or cot for our grandson because we have physical limitations and cannot share a small bed. this also never arrived. He ended up sleeping on two cushions on the dirty floor the first night and I ended up sleeping half and on the bed with him the next. The free buffet breakfast was out of nearly everything before 8 a.m. even though the line was still very long. What we did get was not very good. Nearly everyone we spoke to in the breakfast area had the same complaints. One couple said they had been there three days visiting a sick family member and even though they were getting back to the hotel late at night, they had to call to get towels etc, which in their case really did not matter much since they also had not had hotwater. They did however get the couch we requested. at the same price we paid. Their bed was just as lumpy and hard as ours though. We swore we could feel the springs! We paid a great deal of money for this trip to Busch gardens but the lack of rest was devastating to the overall enjoyment of our trip. In spite of everything else, the outdoor area was beautiful and judging by the strong smell of chlorine, the pool was clean. But the only thing I can say is dirty dirty dirty, oh, and way overpriced! [...] Because it was spring break, we had no choice but to stay since everything else was booked. After 2 days and 2 sleepless nights, we moved to Orlando to spend a day at Universal Studios. We then stayed at the Best Western at universal and it was clean, beautiful roomy had a couch and king size bed, amazing reasonably priced food,lots of extras, tennis, basketball etc. and kitchenette ALL FOR THE SAME PRICE WE PAID FOR THE CLARION!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Do not book this hotel on orbits...you can pick up a travelers coupon at any rest stop for $49 a night for the same room orbits sells for @79 and believe me the room we got was not even worth $49!

Review of Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York
Mar 30, 2010

Nice Location Near Busch Garden

Its location is ideal for a family's trip to Busch Garden. The Staff is friendly and helpful. Free full breakfast is plus, and the only concern is the room is a little bit tight and small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
T-rice
Brick, NJ
Mar 25, 2010

Spring Training games for Yankees

We went down for Yankees spring traininig. It was horrible weather, so we didnt get the chance to visit the really nice pools. the rooms were okay, need updating, and kinda small.. but the toilet backed up a couple of times. that was a drag, since we were stuck in the room most of the time due to the weather, but they came the first time rather quickly to fix, but the second time, they said their golf cart was stolen and the plunger was on the cart?? there has to be at least 300 rooms at this place..1 plunger? it was reasonably priced and would consider staying there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are a lot of food establishments around.. you wont go hungry, chili's accross the street has 2 for 1 drinks all the time.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search