$69 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 23, 2014 Check-out: Jul 24, 2014

Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

3 stars
2701 E. Fowler Avenue, Tampa, FL 33612
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
211 reviews
great location

Great location for the busch gardens amusement park and the yuengling brewery. Shopping was good.... See full review

  • joeee
  • May 26, 2014
Awesome hotel

I stayed here in October 13 and when I was coming back to Tampa again for a class I chose to stay... See full review

  • Pixiemh1
  • May 3, 2014
Kid-themed suites and pirate ship water park near Busch Gardens
The Clarion near Busch Gardens is just minutes from Tampa’s theme park. The property sits close to the pools and water slides at Adventure Island and the famous roller coaster, SheiKra at Busch Gardens. Kids enjoy themed suites with bunk beds and the hotel provides free transportation to and from nearby theme parks. The hotel is also situated close to the University of South Florida, Moffitt Cancer Center, Shriners Children Hospital and Veterans Hospital. Enjoy casual meals at TGI Fridays located next door.
Highlights
  • Free full hot breakfast
  • Themed kid suites with bunk beds
  • Pirate ship water park
Rooms

The hotel offers 406 guest rooms and a special Kidsuite (walk-in basis) with a partitioned area that houses a bunk bed, plus single bed and TV equipped with cable and HBO. Rooms with one king or two double beds include bathtub, in-room coffee maker and hairdryers by request. Free high-speed wireless Internet is available throughout the hotel.

Features

Dive into the free-form outdoor pool or watch the kids delight in the Pirate Ship water park. The property offers a free full hot buffet breakfast, including eggs, bacon, sausage, cereal, toast, coffee, tea and juice. Find on-site dining options including TGI Fridays restaurant. The hotel has laundry facilities onsite, a business center and offers free transportation to and from nearby theme parks and hospitals. 

Transportation
  • Free shuttle to and from Busch Gardens, Adventure Island and nearby hospitals
  • Tampa International Airport (20 minutes)
  • St. Petersburg/Clearwater Airport (50 minutes)
Local Attractions
  • Busch Gardens
  • Adventure Island
  • Museum of Science and Industry
  • Florida Aquarium
  • Historic Ybor City (night clubs, movies, shopping, dining)
  • University of South Florida
  • Raymond James Stadium
  • Lowry Park Zoo
  • Gulf Coast Beaches
  • Disney World and many other Orlando attractions (about an hour)
Business
  • Business center
  • Conference and banquet facilities
Policies & Fees
  • Pets are allowed (fees apply)

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

28.0544 -82.4294
Nearby airports
TAMPA INTERNATIONAL AIRPORT, (TPA), 15.00, MI, SW;
Area description
City Center, I-75 at Exit 265

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Clarion Hotel & Conference Center also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • WiFi
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Heated pool
Exercise gym
Disco
Picnic area/tables
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
Business center
Guest laundromat
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
FAX
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Outdoor parking
Truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Ramp access to buildings
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Telephone
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Sofa bed
Iron

Nearby points of interest

  • University of South Florida Botanical Gardens: 0.4 mi
  • Tampa Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Busch Gardens: 1.3 mi
  • Adventure Island: 1.3 mi
  • Sun Dome: 1.4 mi
  • Museum of Science and Industry: 1.6 mi
  • Grand Prix Fun Center: 2.1 mi
  • Lettuce Lake Park: 3.4 mi
  • Tampa Lowry Park Zoo: 3.9 mi
  • Ybor City State Museum: 6.4 mi
  • Ybor City: 6.4 mi
  • Al Lopez Park: 6.6 mi
  • Steinbrenner Field: 7 mi
  • Morris Bridge Park: 7 mi
  • Raymond James Stadium: 7.1 mi
  • University of South Florida Botanical Gardens: 0.4 mi
  • Tampa Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Busch Gardens: 1.3 mi
  • Adventure Island: 1.3 mi
  • Sun Dome: 1.4 mi
  • Museum of Science and Industry: 1.6 mi
  • Grand Prix Fun Center: 2.1 mi
  • Lettuce Lake Park: 3.4 mi
  • Tampa Lowry Park Zoo: 3.9 mi
  • Ybor City State Museum: 6.4 mi
  • Ybor City: 6.4 mi
  • Al Lopez Park: 6.6 mi
  • Steinbrenner Field: 7 mi
  • Morris Bridge Park: 7 mi
  • Raymond James Stadium: 7.1 mi
  • Tampa Union Station: 7.2 mi
  • The David A. Straz Center for the Performing Arts: 7.4 mi
  • Glazer Children's Museum: 7.5 mi
  • Tampa Museum of Art: 7.5 mi
  • Florida Museum of Photographic Arts: 7.6 mi
  • Florida Aquarium: 7.7 mi
  • SS American Victory Mariners' Memorial and Museum Ship: 7.7 mi
  • Tampa Port Authority: 7.7 mi
  • Henry B. Plant Museum: 7.8 mi
  • ST PETE TIMES FORUM: 7.8 mi
  • Tampa Bay Times Forum: 7.8 mi
  • Tampa Bay Historical Center: 7.9 mi
  • Tampa Convention Center: 8 mi
  • Hyde Park: 8.7 mi
  • The Upper Tampa Bay Trail: 9 mi
  • Tampa Bay Downs: 13.3 mi
  • Tampa Electric Manatee Viewing Center: 18.2 mi
  • Sunshine Skyway Bridge: 28.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (211)

Ratings and reviews for Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
211 out of 211
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.4

64% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dos Gorros
Branson, MO, USA
Jan 12, 2013

Tampa on a Shoestring

Our room was clean, staff were friendly and the location was great. The king-size bed was quite comfortable too. We took advantage of the free breakfast most mornings: bacon, scrambled eggs, potatoes, grits, cereal, juice.etc. The heated pool was never crowded and very relaxing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Diego, CA
Feb 13, 2011

Just fine...

Nice ammenities, good wifi, super pool area if you have kids, great bed, room was clean, but building is old and walls are thin. Glad that I travel with earplugs and can sleep with them in. Good value. Lots of restaruant choices within walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of choices in walking distance.

Review of Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Coaster junkie
Palm Bay
Feb 13, 2011

worth it

Clarion has alot to offer. it was clean and had nice decor. The pool section is a must .. 2 pools one just for kids and for adults. T.G.I.Fridays in hotel and walking distance to TIA'S a great mexican resturant. This is the best value for the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

ask for room looking onto courtyard or front of hotel.

Review of Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Diego, CA
Feb 13, 2011

Just fine...

Nice ammenities, good wifi, super pool area if you have kids, great bed, room was clean, but building is old and walls are thin. Glad that I travel with earplugs and can sleep with them in. Good value. Lots of restaruant choices within walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of choices in walking distance.

Review of Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Disappointed non smoker
Atlanta
Feb 13, 2011

Booking problems

I booked a double bed, non smoking room. When I arrived, I was told that because I booked through [...], I would not be guaranteed a non smoking room. I ended up with a non smoking Queen bed and the 2 kids had to sleep on the floor. I was given the option to move the second day of my stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Sigon Bay

Review of Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Coaster junkie
Palm Bay
Feb 13, 2011

worth it

Clarion has alot to offer. it was clean and had nice decor. The pool section is a must .. 2 pools one just for kids and for adults. T.G.I.Fridays in hotel and walking distance to TIA'S a great mexican resturant. This is the best value for the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

ask for room looking onto courtyard or front of hotel.

Review of Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Disappointed non smoker
Atlanta
Feb 13, 2011

Booking problems

I booked a double bed, non smoking room. When I arrived, I was told that because I booked through [...], I would not be guaranteed a non smoking room. I ended up with a non smoking Queen bed and the 2 kids had to sleep on the floor. I was given the option to move the second day of my stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Sigon Bay

Review of Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Business on the fly
Business
Jacksonville, Florida
Feb 7, 2011

Just As I expected

This was a business trip. The staff was great. The room was very nice, and the breakfast wasn't bad. Could use a few more computer in the Business center but over all was great for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Business on the fly
Business
Jacksonville, Florida
Feb 7, 2011

Just As I expected

This was a business trip. The staff was great. The room was very nice, and the breakfast wasn't bad. Could use a few more computer in the Business center but over all was great for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
ORLANDO
Feb 5, 2011

U SHOULD GO!

IT WAS AMAZING, EVENTHOUGH WE HAVE SOME PROBLEMS WITH THE CHECK IN ([...]FAULT, THEY SAID) THEY SOLVED THEM. BREAKFAST WAS REALLY GOOD. THE HOTEL IS IN FRONT OF THE SHOPPING & CLOSE TO BUSCH GARDENS

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

BUSCH GARDENS

Review of Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
ORLANDO
Feb 5, 2011

U SHOULD GO!

IT WAS AMAZING, EVENTHOUGH WE HAVE SOME PROBLEMS WITH THE CHECK IN ([...]FAULT, THEY SAID) THEY SOLVED THEM. BREAKFAST WAS REALLY GOOD. THE HOTEL IS IN FRONT OF THE SHOPPING & CLOSE TO BUSCH GARDENS

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

BUSCH GARDENS

Back to menu Return to top