$63 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 8, 2015 Check-out: May 11, 2015

Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

3 stars
View map of 2701 E. Fowler Avenue, Tampa, FL 33612

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
162 out of 162
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.1
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.3

62% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
springbreakfamily
Business
Grand Rapids, MI
Apr 30, 2011

Great Stay

The location was great. We just needed somewhere to stay for two nights before we could get into our condo on the beach. The rooms were OK, but the pool was awesome!!! The kid splash pad was not heated, so that was disappointing - it was too cold for the kids to play in. The continental breakfast was great too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lot's of food, shopping right across the street and within driving distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cape Coral, FL
Apr 6, 2011

Bed Bugs

Upon arrival we found that this was a motel, with the drive up and park by your room. The lobby looked nice, and we were given meal tickets for breakfast. When we went to park by our room, we had to drive through a pond that was a flooded lot. When we entered the room, it smelled moldy. The furniture was outdated and the TV was from the 1980's. When my husband took a shower, I sat down on the bed, to find a small black bug sitting with me. After pulling back the covers, I found several other bugs. We packed our bags and checked out. DON'T STAY HERE

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wisconsin
Apr 3, 2011

One night only

We thought the outside of the hotel and the lobby were beautiful. The people at the front desk were very helpful and courtious. The free breakfast was ok,just your basic eggs,toast,meats, potatoes, and cereals. But we were not very impressed by the room. The bathroom was very small,the way some of the furniture was set-up was awkward and didnt make sense. The door didnt have a good seal around it so you could see light coming in from outside. Glad we were only there for onr night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Busch Gardens was very close to the hotel. only a 10 minute drive which was nice.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Northern Virginia
Apr 2, 2011

Clarion Tampa

The room was run-down and even if it was clean, it gave a feeling of being dirty. Stairwell was dark and smelled of cigarette smoke. I did not feel safe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Lots of good places to eat.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
syracuse ny
Mar 29, 2011

Nice clean friendly& reasonable!

Good!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Would use again.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Markroy53
Business
Rio de Janeiro
Mar 28, 2011

You Get What You Pay For

I needed a hotel near my sister's house in Lutz, Florida [...] It is rather old, and not all that well maintained. I think that they cater mostly to families on vacation going to Busch Gardens which is nearby. It is not up to my standard of Choice Hotels, having come from the GEM hotel in Chelsea right before this. But, the price was right, so for two nights it worked out for us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
vacafiend
Business
Jacksonville FL
Mar 21, 2011

Busch Gardens Clarion

Awesome Breakfast, awesome lobby, cool pool. Unfortunately we were given a smoking room and the smoking rooms are not taken care of as well as the rest of the hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Busch Garden

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
A stop in Tampa
Business
Ocala, Fl
Mar 21, 2011

Older rooms...

It was out dated and not as clean as I would like. The pool area was nice and if the kids were with it would have been nice there for them. But again, I wasn't happy with the way it was kept and had a ... peculiar smell!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Close to I-275 and Bush Gardens...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Augusta, GA
Mar 20, 2011

Hotel needs a makeover

The front desk staff was very helpful when I checked in. The front desk and lobby areas were very modern and looked very well kept. However that is where the nice ends. The room that I had was clean but showed obvious signs of aging. The paint on the walls was chipped in many areas. The carpeting was horrible, very old and should be replaced. The room had a mildew smell to it and the air conditioner either really, really worked or it didn't. The doors did not seem to shut very well and I was told by some Tampa residents that it was not in the best of neighborhoods. Even more reason for the doors to shut properly. As I was checking in there were several people who came to the desk to inform staff of a/c and plumbing problems. That made me even more leary of the choice I made. If you are jusst looking to stay overnight it might be okay but any longer and I would reconsider.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Visit the downtown area, especially Harbour Island. Very nice area and Jackson's restaurant was the best!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kimaaa
Business
Tarpon Springs
Mar 12, 2011

Comfortable, beautiful pool

Easy, comfortable, good buffet, and beautiful pool!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top