$59 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 17, 2014 Check-out: Nov 20, 2014

Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

3 stars
2701 E. Fowler Avenue, Tampa, FL 33612
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
153 reviews
Beautiful Place, Excellent Price

It was a last minute reservation, we got a GREAT price, beautiful room very clean and comfy. Great... See full review

  • Rosane
  • Aug 16, 2014
great location

Great location for the busch gardens amusement park and the yuengling brewery. Shopping was good.... See full review

  • joeee
  • May 26, 2014
Kid-themed suites and pirate ship water park near Busch Gardens
The Clarion near Busch Gardens is just minutes from Tampa’s theme park. The property sits close to the pools and water slides at Adventure Island and the famous roller coaster, SheiKra at Busch Gardens. Kids enjoy themed suites with bunk beds and the hotel provides free transportation to and from nearby theme parks. The hotel is also situated close to the University of South Florida, Moffitt Cancer Center, Shriners Children Hospital and Veterans Hospital. Enjoy casual meals at TGI Fridays located next door.
Highlights
  • Free full hot breakfast
  • Themed kid suites with bunk beds
  • Pirate ship water park
Rooms

The hotel offers 406 guest rooms and a special Kidsuite (walk-in basis) with a partitioned area that houses a bunk bed, plus single bed and TV equipped with cable and HBO. Rooms with one king or two double beds include bathtub, in-room coffee maker and hairdryers by request. Free high-speed wireless Internet is available throughout the hotel.

Features

Dive into the free-form outdoor pool or watch the kids delight in the Pirate Ship water park. The property offers a free full hot buffet breakfast, including eggs, bacon, sausage, cereal, toast, coffee, tea and juice. Find on-site dining options including TGI Fridays restaurant. The hotel has laundry facilities onsite, a business center and offers free transportation to and from nearby theme parks and hospitals. 

Transportation
  • Free shuttle to and from Busch Gardens, Adventure Island and nearby hospitals
  • Tampa International Airport (20 minutes)
  • St. Petersburg/Clearwater Airport (50 minutes)
Local Attractions
  • Busch Gardens
  • Adventure Island
  • Museum of Science and Industry
  • Florida Aquarium
  • Historic Ybor City (night clubs, movies, shopping, dining)
  • University of South Florida
  • Raymond James Stadium
  • Lowry Park Zoo
  • Gulf Coast Beaches
  • Disney World and many other Orlando attractions (about an hour)
Business
  • Business center
  • Conference and banquet facilities
Policies & Fees
  • Pets are allowed (fees apply)

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

28.0544 -82.4294
Nearby airports
TAMPA INTERNATIONAL AIRPORT, (TPA), 15.00, MI, SW;
Area description
City Center, I-75 at Exit 265

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Clarion Hotel & Conference Center also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • WiFi
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Heated pool
Exercise gym
Disco
Picnic area/tables
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
Business center
Guest laundromat
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
FAX
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Outdoor parking
Truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Ramp access to buildings
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Telephone
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Sofa bed
Iron

Nearby points of interest

  • University of South Florida Botanical Gardens: 0.4 mi
  • Tampa Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Busch Gardens: 1.3 mi
  • Adventure Island: 1.3 mi
  • Sun Dome: 1.4 mi
  • Museum of Science and Industry: 1.6 mi
  • Grand Prix Fun Center: 2.1 mi
  • Lettuce Lake Park: 3.4 mi
  • Tampa Lowry Park Zoo: 3.9 mi
  • Ybor City State Museum: 6.4 mi
  • Ybor City: 6.4 mi
  • Al Lopez Park: 6.6 mi
  • Steinbrenner Field: 7 mi
  • Morris Bridge Park: 7 mi
  • Raymond James Stadium: 7.1 mi
  • University of South Florida Botanical Gardens: 0.4 mi
  • Tampa Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Busch Gardens: 1.3 mi
  • Adventure Island: 1.3 mi
  • Sun Dome: 1.4 mi
  • Museum of Science and Industry: 1.6 mi
  • Grand Prix Fun Center: 2.1 mi
  • Lettuce Lake Park: 3.4 mi
  • Tampa Lowry Park Zoo: 3.9 mi
  • Ybor City State Museum: 6.4 mi
  • Ybor City: 6.4 mi
  • Al Lopez Park: 6.6 mi
  • Steinbrenner Field: 7 mi
  • Morris Bridge Park: 7 mi
  • Raymond James Stadium: 7.1 mi
  • Tampa Union Station: 7.2 mi
  • The David A. Straz Center for the Performing Arts: 7.4 mi
  • Glazer Children's Museum: 7.5 mi
  • Tampa Museum of Art: 7.5 mi
  • Florida Museum of Photographic Arts: 7.6 mi
  • Florida Aquarium: 7.7 mi
  • SS American Victory Mariners' Memorial and Museum Ship: 7.7 mi
  • Tampa Port Authority: 7.7 mi
  • Henry B. Plant Museum: 7.8 mi
  • ST PETE TIMES FORUM: 7.8 mi
  • Tampa Bay Times Forum: 7.8 mi
  • Tampa Bay Historical Center: 7.9 mi
  • Tampa Convention Center: 8 mi
  • Hyde Park: 8.7 mi
  • The Upper Tampa Bay Trail: 9 mi
  • Tampa Bay Downs: 13.3 mi
  • Tampa Electric Manatee Viewing Center: 18.2 mi
  • Sunshine Skyway Bridge: 28.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (153)

Ratings and reviews for Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
153 out of 153
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.1
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
2.9
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.3

61% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dos Gorros
Branson, MO, USA
Jan 12, 2013

Tampa on a Shoestring

Our room was clean, staff were friendly and the location was great. The king-size bed was quite comfortable too. We took advantage of the free breakfast most mornings: bacon, scrambled eggs, potatoes, grits, cereal, juice.etc. The heated pool was never crowded and very relaxing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
beach lover kc
Business
winter springs, Florida
Oct 19, 2014

close to busch gardens

Room was nice, needed some paint retouching and bathroom light didn't work properly but for the price was ok. Breakfast was free and okay, staff was very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ShaBaby
Business
Brandon, Florida
Sep 9, 2014

Great Experience

Everyone is always so nice and friendly. They make my family and I feel welcomed each time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mom3kids1night
Business
tampa, fl
Sep 1, 2014

they messed up

I booked a 2 double bed room. They sent in my order with a no preference ...i checked into a king bed for myself and 3 kids. . Not good. The hotel did give me a rollaway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
macs12
Business
atlanta
Aug 22, 2014

good location

Very good hotel, I like it I will use theirs services again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Great

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
MagicalKat
Business
Whitehall Pennsylvania
Aug 22, 2014

Good for the price

This was a last minute booking. It is close to many of the areas destinations, we booked for bish gardens and it certainly was less then a 5 minute drive which was great! The breakfast was good nice hot breakfast and the breakfast staff was great! The pool was good for the kids! The rooms are old and run down and I had to steralize it before using! The area overall was creepy (stay close to the hotel and parks don't wonder off or explore too much!) the mall across the street was great and the many food options were also!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

TGIF is right on the grounds! That was great

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rosane
Business
Tampa Florida
Aug 16, 2014

Beautiful Place, Excellent Price

It was a last minute reservation, we got a GREAT price, beautiful room very clean and comfy. Great location. Would defiantly stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kerri941
Business
Tampa Florida
Aug 4, 2014

my son's 11th birthday

you really can't beat the price of $59 for a hotel with two bed for 3 people. free breakfast,don't forget to get your vouchers when you check in and a pirate ship themed water park& swimming pool. no granite the front entrance is a lot nicer and they do need some upkeep on their hotel rooms. But it was clean and it was very convenient to shopping and to all the parks Mosley Busch Gardens Adventure Island.if you forgot towels for the parks like we did the Dollar General Stores just two blocks to the left CVS 2 blocks to the right.the only fault that I found with our stay at The Clarion Hotel was that they did provide free transportation to and from the parks on every hour now my issue is this that you couldn't check into the hotel until 4 p.m. But yet the very last shuttle to or from any of the parts is 7 p.m.so I check in at 4 does not want you to visit the parks that day unless you go ahead and pay for parking at the parks. This hotel would definitely get a better rating if there check in was 2 p.m. That way is allowed people to actually check in and go visit a park for at least 3 hours on their very first day, but instead my son decided to enjoy there water park for the first day that we were there, and since it was his birthday vacation we allowed him to choose.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
J.a.m
Business
Lynn Haven, FL
Aug 2, 2014

It was only one night

Pros: The proximity to Busch Gardens is excellent. There are also some good food options in the area. I was particularly fond of the coffee/tea/books/vinyl music shop across the street. As far as the hotel itself...in my brief encounters with the staff they were all polite and professional. The bed was comfortable but my sheets had a few "ink" stains. The free hot breakfast option was decent. Seating inside is very limited in the breakfast area but there's a nice patio area by the pool that was comfortable enough to enjoy a meal and talk to friendly strangers. Cons: The fraying carpet looked and smelled like it hadn't been steamed cleaned in a decade. Like EWWW! For real don't take your shoes off. I was welcomed by a prehistoric sized fire ant and a few roaches to the efficiency sized bathroom. So pack shower shoes to double as foot protection and pest control. The task chair had a mysterious black stain on the seat and back cushion. Front desk offered their apologies but told me nothing could be done about my room rate because I prepaid. Final thoughts: For the rate, in this location, in the summertime, it was tolerable for just one night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Purchase Busch Gardens parking and quick queue pass online. Saves about $2-$3 in parking fees. If your party enjoys roller-coasters, the quick queue pass is worth the extra money especially in the summertime.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
britusa
Business
floriad
Jul 25, 2014

Second Time Choice

Had stayed at another hotel the night before, they had a great deal also. Checked out, and decided to stay again, couldn't get in. I'd had the Clarion on my mind, but the rates were bit higher at the time. But, as i had to find a place, i booked again. The rooms again were clean,,bed comfortable, microwave and fridge always handy for both, nice pool, quiet, ok breakfast, at least you have a choice of hot or cold. Would stay again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Alot of convience across the street, Grocery Store, restaurant, mall.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tia Jackie
Business
Tampa, Florida
Jun 24, 2014

Convenient and family friendly!

Location of the hotel is perfect! Plenty of options for eating, stores, and attractions. The kids had a great time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Very convenient, short walk to TGIF for late night dining and supermarket, mall and CVS.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top