$158 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 22, 2015 Check-out: Jan 23, 2015

Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites SAWGRASS MILLS

3 stars
3003 N. University Dr., Sunrise, FL 33322
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
48 reviews
2 Day Business Trip

Front desk extremely professional and helpful in securing transportation to and from business site... See full review

  • bretsc
  • Jul 22, 2014
One night for Sawgrass shooping trip after cruise

This is a really nice hotel although I would say describing it as at Sawgrass as it was a good 15... See full review

  • wicklow1
  • Nov 27, 2013
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Sawgrass Mills. Conveniently located close to major highways and just minutes from the incredible Sawgrass Mills Mall , Miami Dolphins Sun Life Stadium, Florida Panthers BankAtlantic Center, the quaint shops of Las Olas, Sawgrass Corporate Park, cruise ship Port Everglades, and the Sun and Sand of South Florida Beaches. Guests of our Ft. Lauderdale hotel can enjoy an array of area attractions including the Museum of Science and Discovery, the Broward Performing Arts Center, and the Greater Sunrise / Plantation Area. Ft. Lauderdale beach is 20 minutes away, making a fun filled beach excursion part of your Ft. Lauderdale trip. Business travel is convenient at our Sunrise area hotel with Motorola, AT&T, IRS, Cigna, HealthSouth, IBM, McKesson, State Farm and Sawgrass Corporate Park all in our backyard. Our Fort Lauderdale area hotel offers choice amenities including free shuttle within 5 miles of the hotel plus Tramonto Cucina & Trattoria. Other features include free Wifi in Guest rooms and Meeting & Banquet Space, In Room Dining, Fitness Center, Business Center and Tropical Courtyard with Outdoor Pool. We feature our own World Class Soccer Training field and are the “home away from home” for training of many Professional, National and Olympic teams and the official hotel of the NASLs Ft Lauderdale Strikers. We are just 20 minutes from Ft. Lauderdale Airport (FLL), and Miami International Airport (MIA) is just 30 miles away.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites SAWGRASS MILLS also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Car rental desk
Porters
FAX
Overhead projector
White board
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Hairdryer in room
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • BB&T Center: 4.2 mi
  • Office Depot Center: 4.2 mi

Dining

Tramonto Cucina and Tratorria
Tramonto is open daily for Breakfast , Lunch and Dinner. The menu features Italian and International cuisine in an intimate setting. Don't forget to ask about daily specials and desserts! Tramonto features the Holiday Inn Best for Breakfast menu when M
Tramonto Trattoria
After a day of exploring the city, come back to our Ft. Lauderdale hotel near the beach and enjoy a drink at our hotel lounge. Tramonto Trattoria offers you a relaxing atmosphere, three LCD TV's and a variety of drinks to choose from. Enjoy Happy Hour eve

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (48)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites SAWGRASS MILLS

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
48 out of 48
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.5

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites SAWGRASS MILLS

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
new york
Mar 3, 2009

Come back here? Not a chance!

I was in ft lauderdale on business. all i needed was a place to sleep at night, and even that holiday inn couldn't provide for me. i requested two beds and they gave me one. when i questioned them they admit to their mistake and switched me. in the second room the air conditioner wasn't set right. i had to call someone to fix it. i wanted to take a bath, but the tub was filthy and it didn't look like the linen was changed after the previous person... by then i was so tired that i didn't even have strength to call the front desk to complain. and not only that, but they charged me for continental breakfast! where in today's day and age do they charge you for breakfast?? all i can say is that it's a pity because this hotel is in a great location and if i would've had better experience i would go back there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites SAWGRASS MILLS

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Superw
Business
Sunrise Fl
Jul 19, 2012

Dirty and unfriendly

Poor air condition. poor cleaning service, I found a piece of hair in my dinner (the only night that I had dinner at such a Hotel). Unfriendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites SAWGRASS MILLS

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hartford, CT
Apr 23, 2011

Extremely bad hotel

Have used Holiday Inns and Hilton brands for both business and vacation and this one was by far the worst. Basically the air conditioning didn't work and the staff kept sending a serviceman to room to try to reset the unit. This continued for 1.5 days including one sleepless night and the next day I complained to desk manager who switched rooms for me but told me the air conditioning was out for the whole wing!!! So why would I need another room then?? They should have just been honest the day before instead of making me interrupt my vacation for the serviceman. Got my money back and booked at Hilton instead. On top of all that, the shampoo soap, etc was used and the shower curtain was moldy!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Sawgrass Mall

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites SAWGRASS MILLS

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
JELLY M.D.
Business
SAN JUAN,PUERTO RICO
Feb 20, 2011

Total disaster!!!!!!

WAS A TOTAL DISASTER;THE FIRST DAY WHEN SEE THE SUITE WAS VERY CUTE ,BUT ABOUT 8-9 O'CLOCK TURNER VERY HOT CALLED FRONT DESK AND SENDED TECHNICIAN(!) THAT SAID ALL FIXED..WRONG WORSENED THE HOT SO..CHANGE ROOM AT 1 am!!!!THE OTHER ROOM DOSEN'T HAD SAME FEATURES THAT THE FIRST ONE. CALLED TO FRONT DESK AND PERSONALLY DOWN TO SPEAK TO GENERAL MANAGER THAT DOSEN'T FACE TO ME AND NEVER CLEANED THE ROOM. NO RECOMENDED TO ANYBODY THAT HOTEL.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

SAME AVENUE ALL MALLS ..

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites SAWGRASS MILLS

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Robbie24K
Business
Newport News
Aug 29, 2012

OK for men, Icckky for women.

Older hotel good location away from the beach. Bugs make it iccky but i could live with it for the price. Would i stay again? Probably not. It does have a restaurant and pool but the parking is kinda poor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Sawgrass Mall is the other mall talked about in that comedians bit. Big mall.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites SAWGRASS MILLS

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
RHOckstar
Business
Tallahassee, FL
Oct 11, 2009

i've been to better

I was at this hotel for a conference and the very first night I get there, I see critters on the floor. The restroom in the lobby, the elevator and my room were very hot and humid; I could barely breathe the air INSIDE! I contacted the front desk, but the maintenance guy couldn't fix the problem; so I was moved. I did receive a free breakfast, but the choices were limited.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

If you love to shop, visit Sawgrass Mall. It's amazing!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites SAWGRASS MILLS

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
westlake ohio
Mar 1, 2011

Not so GOOD!!!!!!!!!!!!

When we arrived they gave us the 2nd floor. It smelled like a combination of mold and musty garbage all week . It stunk thru the vents and the air conditioner sounded like a locomotive coming thru the room. The maid never changed the sheets and we stayed there 9 days. I spilled a little gel on them so I know they were not changed. They have no coffee set up there so forget that. Hardly anyone spoke English. The pool is not heated. It seemed as tho the workers were always partying in the hospitality room on the second floor. Find somewhere else to stay.Even the reception was bad for tv all they could say was " So Sorry"!The maid cleaned our room at 6:00 at night

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites SAWGRASS MILLS

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rochester Hills, MI
Mar 30, 2011

Horrible Stay

I stayed at your Holiday Inn-Sunrise location on University Drive and I wasn't that pleased with my stay. Prior to checking in, we requested a fridge for our room and it was either [...] or [...] who said we can have a free upgrade to a King Suite with fridge and microwave included. We first go to our room and notice that it wasn't a king suite and there was no fridge or microwave, so we went back downstairs to switch. After she gave us another room which we then again walked to another floor, and we actually WALKED IN on another couple using that room - and they were NOT happy because one of them was naked changing. This made me also very upset and worried about my stay because who knows if this would happen to our room, and our things would be stolen if another couple got into our room like that and we were not there. We go once again downstairs (with all our luggage still) and once again have to switch. She only said we can have our original room back and that they "were out of all the fridges and microwaves". They then said "maybe we can have a microwave, and we'll see what we can do" - if anything I only wanted a fridge. We asked for towels and they told us it would be 15 minutes for them to bring us some. We had to call again an hour later to remind them two more times. The original girl at the desk was very nice, but another woman didn't see to help us or care about our stay. The TV was also very fuzzy and it was like that for every channel, and there was only about 10 channels working. If anything, if we are promised a king suite with something as little as a fridge, we should at least be able to have that. The customer service line people working should at least inform us that it's only a "request" as we learned - and not say we have an upgrade when we never even got one. We ended up staying at another location with our friends for the remainder of the stay and only stayed two nights out of the planned 6 night stay. After all this hassle, we don't plan to stay here ever again or at any Holiday Inn unless we have some sort of credit on my charge statement.Christina Cojocarichristinaandmarvin[@]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites SAWGRASS MILLS

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Feb 4, 2008

Service

The Holiday Inn was new and nice however upon check in I was given a room out of service. When the TV didn't work I was told someone would come up and lead me to a new room. I waited ten minutes but no one showed up. I called the front desk and they said it would be quicker to come downstairs, get a key and get the new room. Then there was room service. I left a card to have breakfast the following morning only to find the security guard didn't pick it up. I called in an order and was told we are sorry we'll get it to you in twenty minutes. The time came and went and still no breakfast. I canceled the order and they couldn't believe I didn't want to wait for the food. This hotel wants your money and nothing else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

Large mall within a twenty minute drive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites SAWGRASS MILLS

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Nana of twins
Business
Cedarhurst, NY
May 5, 2009

Good location, great price

This hotel was great for our needs, as it was located near my parents'home. The room was wonderful in size, cleanliness and general condition. The restaurant breakfast was okay, not grand, but all I wanted was some cereal,anyway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Hotel provides a free shuttle to a major outlet mall, Saw Grass Mill. There are shops, restaurants and some children's activities (a store called Wannabe) located there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top