$127 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 14, 2015 Check-out: Jan 15, 2015

Plaza Beach Hotel Beachfront Resort

3 stars
4506 Gulf Blvd, St. Pete Beach, FL 33706
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
77 reviews
Awesome value for location

Nice cozy hotel right along the beach with courteous staff. There are games and happy hour deals... See full review

  • JF travels
  • Dec 8, 2014
Great Beachfront Hotel

When we arrived early in the morning, we were a little worried that it was another... See full review

  • cdawn31
  • Oct 17, 2014
Plaza Beach Hotel Beachfront Resort is a Key West style resort on the tropical island of St Pete Beach. St Pete Beach is famous for its sugar white beaches and the Plaza Beach Resort is situated directly on the beach with a large beachside pool. Imagine yourself relaxing in the pool while watching a breathtaking orange/purple sunset melt into the Gulf of Mexico.

All rooms are spacious studio apartments with full kitchen; great for large families, couples or the business traveler who wants all the amenities of home. Best of all hotel has No Surprise Resort Fees, Enjoy everything the Plaza Beach Resort has to offer at no additional cost. Hotel really mean it: FREE Beach Cabanas, FREE Beach/Pool Towels, FREE Wireless Internet, FREE Shuffleboard, FREE 4-hole Mini-Golf, FREE Human-size Chess, FREE BBQ Area, FREE Business Center, FREE Fitness Room, FREE parking and FREE Fishing off of hotel private piers just across the street.

Resort is Family Owned and Operated, and has been since 1988. The family is still very active in the day to day operations, on property daily, with a great friendly staff ready to assist you with a genuine Florida vacation. Members of Superior Small Lodging Association and Approved by AAA for Quality and Standards, resort is one of only a handful of resorts in Florida that has received the Green Lodging seal from the State of Florida for hotel effort in conserving and recycling.

St Pete Beach is a 6-mile island and the Plaza Beach Resort is directly in the center of the island. Everything is in walking distance, the grocery store, restaurants and shopping are just across the street. As well as Deep Sea Fishing, Parasailing, Jet Skiing, Dolphin Cruises, Sunset Cruises and many different island cruises visiting the nearby islands. Best of all hotel is only 30 minutes from Busch Gardens and 90 minutes from Disney and all the Orlando Parks. Try us, and see for yourself why so many people return to the Plaza Beach Hotel Beachfront Resort.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Plaza Beach Hotel Beachfront Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Plaza Beach Hotel Beachfront Resort Rooms

Sleeps up to 2 - Deluxe Efficiency Suite
Deluxe Efficiency Suite Sleeps up to 2
One king bed or Two singles beds. Courtyard view or Garden view. Completely Renovated rooms offering Wireless high-speed Internet (complimentary), 37inch Plasma television, Cable television service. Premium television channels. DVD player (complimentary movie library). Direct-dial phones. Voicemail. Free local calls. Full Kitchen. Stovetop. Microwave. Full-sized refrigerator/freezer. Coffee/tea maker. Kitchen linens/place settings (dishtowels, sponges, etc) Individually controlled Air Conditioning, Non-Smoking Room. Exterior-corridor. Sitting area outside room.
Max occupancy in this room is 2 people, we are unable to accommodate more than 2 people in this room
Sleeps up to 4 - Deluxe Efficiency Suite
Deluxe Efficiency Suite Sleeps up to 4
Two queen beds. Courtyard view or Garden view. Completely Renovated rooms offering Wireless high-speed Internet (complimentary), 37inch Plasma television, Cable television service. Premium television channels. DVD player (complimentary movie library). Direct-dial phones. Voicemail. Free local calls. Full Kitchen. Stovetop. Microwave. Full-sized refrigerator/freezer. Coffee/tea maker. Kitchen linens/place settings (dishtowels, sponges, etc) Individually controlled Air Conditioning, Non-Smoking Room. Exterior-corridor. Sitting area outside room.
Max occupancy in this room is 4 people, we are unable to accommodate more than 4 people in this room
Sleeps up to 6 - Deluxe Efficiency Suite
Deluxe Efficiency Suite Sleeps up to 6
Two queen beds and one sofa bed. Courtyard view or Garden view. Completely Renovated rooms offering Wireless high-speed Internet (complimentary), 37inch Plasma television, Cable television service. Premium television channels. DVD player (complimentary movie library). Direct-dial phones. Voicemail. Free local calls. Full Kitchen. Stovetop. Microwave. Full-sized refrigerator/freezer. Coffee/tea maker. Kitchen linens/place settings (dishtowels, sponges, etc) Individually controlled Air Conditioning, Non-Smoking Room. Exterior-corridor. Sitting area outside room.
Max occupancy in this room is 6 people, we are unable to accommodate more than 6 people in this room
Sleeps up to 2 - Superior Gulf View Suite
Superior Gulf View Suite Sleeps up to 2
One king bed or Two singles beds. Gulf view alongside hotel. Completely Renovated rooms offering Wireless high-speed Internet (complimentary), 37inch Plasma television, Cable television service. Premium television channels. DVD player (complimentary movie library). Direct-dial phones. Voicemail. Free local calls. Full Kitchen. Stovetop. Microwave. Full-sized refrigerator/freezer. Coffee/tea maker. Kitchen linens/place settings (dishtowels, sponges, etc) Individually controlled Air Conditioning, Non-Smoking Room. Exterior-corridor. Sitting area outside room.
Max occupancy in this room is 2 people, we are unable to accommodate more than 2 people in this room
Sleeps up to 4 - Superior Gulf View Suite
Superior Gulf View Suite Sleeps up to 4
Two queen beds. Courtyard view or Garden view. Completely Renovated rooms offering Wireless high-speed Internet (complimentary), 37inch Plasma television, Cable television service. Premium television channels. DVD player (complimentary movie library). Direct-dial phones. Voicemail. Free local calls. Full Kitchen. Stovetop. Microwave. Full-sized refrigerator/freezer. Coffee/tea maker. Kitchen linens/place settings (dishtowels, sponges, etc) Individually controlled Air Conditioning, Non-Smoking Room. Exterior-corridor. Sitting area outside room.
Max occupancy in this room is 4 people, we are unable to accommodate more than 4 people in this room
Sleeps up to 6 - Superior Gulf View Suite
Superior Gulf View Suite Sleeps up to 6
Two queen beds and one sofa bed. Courtyard view or Garden view. Completely Renovated rooms offering Wireless high-speed Internet (complimentary), 37inch Plasma television, Cable television service. Premium television channels. DVD player (complimentary movie library). Direct-dial phones. Voicemail. Free local calls. Full Kitchen. Stovetop. Microwave. Full-sized refrigerator/freezer. Coffee/tea maker. Kitchen linens/place settings (dishtowels, sponges, etc) Individually controlled Air Conditioning, Non-Smoking Room. Exterior-corridor. Sitting area outside room.
Max occupancy in this room is 6 people, we are unable to accommodate more than 6 people in this room

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Room service
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Tropicana Field: 7.3 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
500 square feet game room available.

Dining

Gigi's Italian Restaurant
Famous Pizza
Since 1967, hotel has specialized in serving thin crispy brick oven pizza. Hotel secret is in hotel fresh dough, zesty sauce, blend of cheeses and the freshest of ingredients available.
Beach Buns and Burgers
Casual Dining with Hawaiian Surfer Dcor. Famous for large pound burgers served with homemade fries or tater tots. Beach Buns and Burgers also offers healthy choices such as vegetarian items, fresh salads, sandwiches, tasty seafood and even offers Homemade Polish Pierogi. Comfortable outdoor patio available to enjoy the beautiful Florida weather. If you have a hefty appetite take on the famous burgers challenges: Big Kahuna (21 ounces burger) Extreme Kahuna (32 ounces burger) and Island Monster (50 ounces burger). Finish any of the challenge burgers and get your picture up on the Hall of Fame wall. This is where locals hang out enjoying $2.00 pints of beer and wings with several unique seasonings. Located on Gulf Blvd, just across the street from the Tradewinds Sandpiper and Alden Beach Resort.
Blue Fugu
Their chefs will prepare your dinner right at the Teppan Yaku table to please both the eyes and the palate. The menu features sushi and other Japanese delights of meats and seafoods.
Silas' Steakhouse & Bayside Bar
Traditional Steakhouse.
Bella Habana
Cuban cuisine with fresh market seafood. Shredded pork, black beans and rice, chorizo, and sweet plantains.
Agave
Mexican Restaurant.
Beverly's La Croisette
Favorite local spot known for their breakfasts and lunch at the corner of Corey Avenue and Gulf Blvd. in St. Pete Beach.
Cafe Luna
Open seven days a week for dinner. Pizza, seafood, steak. Moderate casual. Beer & wine only. No entertainment.
Crabby Bill's Seafood
Feature local favorites like grouper and other favorites from around the country. If it's seafood hotel probably serve it. Casual dining over looking the Gulf of Mexico. Roof top Tiki Bar weather permitting. St Petersburg Beach favorite since 1993. Great sunsets , large parties are no problem. Happy hour until 6pm nightly. Located on the Beach between Tradewinds resort & The historic Don Cesar Hotel on St Petersburg Beach.
Dockside Dave's Grill
Batter Fried Grouper Sandwich along with Dave's red ripe "Maters" - It's what made hotel so famous!

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (77)

Ratings and reviews for Plaza Beach Hotel Beachfront Resort

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
29 out of 77
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.4

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Plaza Beach Hotel Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Catwmn2x
Business
Burlington VT
Dec 3, 2014

A very pleasant surprise ....

We are long time visitors to St Pete Beach but never at this time of year. We had been in Ft Lauderdale for a week and needed a last minute place to stay on St Pete. We have passed Plaza Beach Hotel many times but never really paid attention to it. I booked the hotel online and when we arrived we were very pleasantly surprised! From the very friendly front desk staff to the perfectly heated pool to the life size chess game to the awesome colored Adirondack beach chairs and loungers. Oh, and the beach hammocks were super popular for a nice sun nap. They have a "happy hour" with free beer and wine everyday. Too many amenities to mention. Repeat visitors get a discount. We loved the small quaint feel of the place. Only four end rooms face the water. Our room faced what was called the courtyard and was pleasant. I personally wouldn't want a room looking out to the parking lot but really with only 39 rooms, all are just steps to the private beach and larger beautiful St Pete Beach. OH... And there is Ricks Reef beach bar right at the pool area with super cheap drink prices. The location is perfect with easy walk to Publix, Walgreen's, many restaurants and beach walk to the Don (now Loews). We'll be back!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Bonefish grill has amazing food and if you make your reservations online you get an instant coupon for 15% off your dinner bill. Not cheap but worth the price.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Beach Hotel Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
cdawn31
Business
Wisconsin
Oct 17, 2014

Great Beachfront Hotel

When we arrived early in the morning, we were a little worried that it was another "hole-in-the-wall" motel due to the outside decor of the place. Boy were we wrong! For the low price that was offered, we had an amazing, clean room within a minute from the ocean shoreline. The room had a kitchenette, large flat screen TV, fridge, comfortable beds, couches, and a VIEW. It was everything you would need in a room for a longer duration of stay! Also, the staff was extremely nice and helpful. As I had mentioned, we arrived early in the morning. I had phoned in to see if we could check into our hotel early and the guy at the front desk said that we would be first priority as soon as they could get the room cleaned. This, by far, was one of the best rooms I have ever stayed in! Don't be fooled by the hole-in-the-wall look; it's amazing!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Beach Hotel Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Debbietkd
Business
Ellicott City, Maryland
Aug 10, 2014

Great Little Place

Very clean first of all. They also have a green certification for those that are environmentally conscious. Rooms were very nice. Loved having a full kitchenette and being in walking distance to the grocery store. Nicely located on the beach. Suggestion: Ask for a room facing the court yard. Small, clean and friendly. Enjoy your stay - we did. :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Less than two miles away - Try Beverly's for breakfast and Snappers for dinner. :)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Beach Hotel Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cristi's Mom
Business
Knoxville, TN
Jun 1, 2014

Close to ideal

The hotel location is perfect for a family looking to spend time on the beach and grab a boat cruise. Grocery, food, shops, and dolphin cruise are across the street. Hotel is on the beach. The facility is well maintained, neat and quiet. There are not many amenities other than a bar, small putt-putt course and chairs and some toys for preschoolers far inland on the beach. They do have a nice clean saltwater pool but call to see if they provide towels, it did not look like it. There is coffee in the main office but that is all, none is supplied in the room, no continental breakfast. Two washers and dryers are outside with one soda machine. The room had a kitchen and full bath but the ceiling in the bathroom was low so if you are tall (5' 10" ft or more) you will have a hard time getting your head wet in the shower. If you are on the second floor there is no elevator to use. The beach was outstanding - clear, warm water and soft white sand; stingrays swam among the people. Birds went about their business looking for food. The people on the beach were very respectful of the animals as well which made it that much more enjoyable. Shell Island was a great trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Minimize meal cost by purchasing your own food and keeping it in the room. There is a small kitchen with fridge, stove, microwave, pots, pans, toaster, plates, utensils, etc.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Beach Hotel Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fairpam1
Business
Minnesota
Dec 28, 2013

Christmas family getaway

There were five of us, the room was very spacious and clean! Staff was very friendly and helpful. We all loved it, walking distance to stores, restaurants and most importantly right on the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Beach Hotel Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Elly Lou
Business
Kansas City, Kansas
Jul 1, 2013

Great beach getaway

Our overall experience was great; However, there are a few things that would have made our time better- the beds were not comfortable at all and we were constantly having to ask for clean towels, most days room service didn't get to our room until after 2:00 in the afternoon. The location was awesome, we were right on the beach, and the staff was super friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Beach Hotel Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
roars
Business
Guelph, ON, Canada
Dec 23, 2011

More that expected

Efficient, courteous and kind staff all the time, nice social hour with plenty of beer from the keg, red and withe wine as well. Very good internet speed, we expected only a room with a bathroom an two queen beds and a TV, with these we would have been more than satisfied, but instead we got a one bedroom suit/apartment with living-room/dinning area 2 flat panel TVs, 18-19 cubic feet fridge with freezer and a small kitchen with all the gadgets necessary to cook anything, stove and microwave. A walk away from small plaza with a Publix Grocery store, CVS, segway rentals, dolphin specialty sail tours, etc. Beautiful beach front, very quiet. No issues at all we will return next time in Tampa

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Ask people first instead of looking for anything on the internet or your GPS, we did and ended driving12 miles looking for a grocery store, when there was one just 100 meters away from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Beach Hotel Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Warm Weather Minnesotan
Business
Minnesota, USA
Dec 9, 2011

Great Location!

This hotel was in a really great location, right on the beach! This place had a nice pool, shuffle board, bean bags and was really close to a small shopping mall and tons of restaurants. The rooms weren't amazing and I wouldn't say comfortably fit 6, however they comfortably fit 4 for sure and were decent size. I would stay here again for sure!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Beach Hotel Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
davtxer
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Dec 4, 2011

great family vacation

hotel is in perfect location ,walking distance to beach ,stores ,fishing areas, restaurants,and walgreens 24/7.awsome place been going the for many years,family owned and very professional,happy hour every day (free beer and wine 4pm-5pm),beach towels,fishing gear rental,heated pool,just what you need from this place,highly recommended ,we will be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

crabby bill's seafood restaurant, awesome food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Beach Hotel Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
smileyfish
Business
Tennessee
Nov 9, 2011

Good vacation bargain

I was very pleased with the location, room and friendliness of staff at the Plaza Beach. I did note that there appeared to be more "senior" guests than younger guests, but since I am in the former group, that was fine with me!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top