$90 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 28, 2014 Check-out: Aug 29, 2014

Plaza Beach Hotel Beachfront Resort

3 stars
4506 Gulf Blvd, St. Pete Beach, FL 33706
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
75 reviews
Great Beach

Need new mattresses. Can't take beach furniture to the waters edge. Pool area and patio has NO... See full review

  • Seville nurse
  • Jul 12, 2014
Exactly What We Wanted

We wanted to get away to a beautiful beach for a few days. We wanted a hotel on the beach, with a... See full review

  • mileszs
  • Apr 29, 2014
Plaza Beach Hotel Beachfront Resort is a Key West style resort on the tropical island of St Pete Beach. St Pete Beach is famous for its sugar white beaches and the Plaza Beach Resort is situated directly on the beach with a large beachside pool. Imagine yourself relaxing in the pool while watching a breathtaking orange/purple sunset melt into the Gulf of Mexico.

All rooms are spacious studio apartments with full kitchen; great for large families, couples or the business traveler who wants all the amenities of home. Best of all hotel has No Surprise Resort Fees, Enjoy everything the Plaza Beach Resort has to offer at no additional cost. Hotel really mean it: FREE Beach Cabanas, FREE Beach/Pool Towels, FREE Wireless Internet, FREE Shuffleboard, FREE 4-hole Mini-Golf, FREE Human-size Chess, FREE BBQ Area, FREE Business Center, FREE Fitness Room, FREE parking and FREE Fishing off of hotel private piers just across the street.

Resort is Family Owned and Operated, and has been since 1988. The family is still very active in the day to day operations, on property daily, with a great friendly staff ready to assist you with a genuine Florida vacation. Members of Superior Small Lodging Association and Approved by AAA for Quality and Standards, resort is one of only a handful of resorts in Florida that has received the Green Lodging seal from the State of Florida for hotel effort in conserving and recycling.

St Pete Beach is a 6-mile island and the Plaza Beach Resort is directly in the center of the island. Everything is in walking distance, the grocery store, restaurants and shopping are just across the street. As well as Deep Sea Fishing, Parasailing, Jet Skiing, Dolphin Cruises, Sunset Cruises and many different island cruises visiting the nearby islands. Best of all hotel is only 30 minutes from Busch Gardens and 90 minutes from Disney and all the Orlando Parks. Try us, and see for yourself why so many people return to the Plaza Beach Hotel Beachfront Resort.

Hotel Map

27.7206 -82.7398
Area served
Tampa Bay Beaches, Clearwater, St. Petersburg.
Nearby airports
Tampa International Airport
St. Pete/ Clearwater Airport
Supershuttle services the area.
Area description
Located in the heart of St. Pete Beach, the Plaza Beach Hotel Beachfront Resort is located directly on the beach and within walking distance to shopping, restaurants and area attractions.
The Plaza Beach Hotel Beachfront Resort is
10 minutes from downtown St. Pete and Tropicana Field
30 minutes from Clearwater
35 minutes from Raymond James Stadium
40 minutes from Busch Gardens
90 minutes from Disneyworld Theme Parks.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Plaza Beach Hotel Beachfront Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Plaza Beach Hotel Beachfront Resort Rooms

Sleeps up to 2 - Deluxe Efficiency Suite
Deluxe Efficiency Suite Sleeps up to 2
One king bed or Two singles beds. Courtyard view or Garden view. Completely Renovated rooms offering Wireless high-speed Internet (complimentary), 37inch Plasma television, Cable television service. Premium television channels. DVD player (complimentary movie library). Direct-dial phones. Voicemail. Free local calls. Full Kitchen. Stovetop. Microwave. Full-sized refrigerator/freezer. Coffee/tea maker. Kitchen linens/place settings (dishtowels, sponges, etc) Individually controlled Air Conditioning, Non-Smoking Room. Exterior-corridor. Sitting area outside room.
Max occupancy in this room is 2 people, we are unable to accommodate more than 2 people in this room
Sleeps up to 4 - Deluxe Efficiency Suite
Deluxe Efficiency Suite Sleeps up to 4
Two queen beds. Courtyard view or Garden view. Completely Renovated rooms offering Wireless high-speed Internet (complimentary), 37inch Plasma television, Cable television service. Premium television channels. DVD player (complimentary movie library). Direct-dial phones. Voicemail. Free local calls. Full Kitchen. Stovetop. Microwave. Full-sized refrigerator/freezer. Coffee/tea maker. Kitchen linens/place settings (dishtowels, sponges, etc) Individually controlled Air Conditioning, Non-Smoking Room. Exterior-corridor. Sitting area outside room.
Max occupancy in this room is 4 people, we are unable to accommodate more than 4 people in this room
Sleeps up to 6 - Deluxe Efficiency Suite
Deluxe Efficiency Suite Sleeps up to 6
Two queen beds and one sofa bed. Courtyard view or Garden view. Completely Renovated rooms offering Wireless high-speed Internet (complimentary), 37inch Plasma television, Cable television service. Premium television channels. DVD player (complimentary movie library). Direct-dial phones. Voicemail. Free local calls. Full Kitchen. Stovetop. Microwave. Full-sized refrigerator/freezer. Coffee/tea maker. Kitchen linens/place settings (dishtowels, sponges, etc) Individually controlled Air Conditioning, Non-Smoking Room. Exterior-corridor. Sitting area outside room.
Max occupancy in this room is 6 people, we are unable to accommodate more than 6 people in this room
Sleeps up to 2 - Superior Gulf View Suite
Superior Gulf View Suite Sleeps up to 2
One king bed or Two singles beds. Gulf view alongside hotel. Completely Renovated rooms offering Wireless high-speed Internet (complimentary), 37inch Plasma television, Cable television service. Premium television channels. DVD player (complimentary movie library). Direct-dial phones. Voicemail. Free local calls. Full Kitchen. Stovetop. Microwave. Full-sized refrigerator/freezer. Coffee/tea maker. Kitchen linens/place settings (dishtowels, sponges, etc) Individually controlled Air Conditioning, Non-Smoking Room. Exterior-corridor. Sitting area outside room.
Max occupancy in this room is 2 people, we are unable to accommodate more than 2 people in this room
Sleeps up to 4 - Superior Gulf View Suite
Superior Gulf View Suite Sleeps up to 4
Two queen beds. Courtyard view or Garden view. Completely Renovated rooms offering Wireless high-speed Internet (complimentary), 37inch Plasma television, Cable television service. Premium television channels. DVD player (complimentary movie library). Direct-dial phones. Voicemail. Free local calls. Full Kitchen. Stovetop. Microwave. Full-sized refrigerator/freezer. Coffee/tea maker. Kitchen linens/place settings (dishtowels, sponges, etc) Individually controlled Air Conditioning, Non-Smoking Room. Exterior-corridor. Sitting area outside room.
Max occupancy in this room is 4 people, we are unable to accommodate more than 4 people in this room
Sleeps up to 6 - Superior Gulf View Suite
Superior Gulf View Suite Sleeps up to 6
Two queen beds and one sofa bed. Courtyard view or Garden view. Completely Renovated rooms offering Wireless high-speed Internet (complimentary), 37inch Plasma television, Cable television service. Premium television channels. DVD player (complimentary movie library). Direct-dial phones. Voicemail. Free local calls. Full Kitchen. Stovetop. Microwave. Full-sized refrigerator/freezer. Coffee/tea maker. Kitchen linens/place settings (dishtowels, sponges, etc) Individually controlled Air Conditioning, Non-Smoking Room. Exterior-corridor. Sitting area outside room.
Max occupancy in this room is 6 people, we are unable to accommodate more than 6 people in this room

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Room service
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Tropicana Field: 7.3 mi

Dining

Gigi's Italian Restaurant
Famous Pizza
Since 1967, hotel has specialized in serving thin crispy brick oven pizza. Hotel secret is in hotel fresh dough, zesty sauce, blend of cheeses and the freshest of ingredients available.
Beach Buns and Burgers
Casual Dining with Hawaiian Surfer Dcor. Famous for large pound burgers served with homemade fries or tater tots. Beach Buns and Burgers also offers healthy choices such as vegetarian items, fresh salads, sandwiches, tasty seafood and even offers Homemade Polish Pierogi. Comfortable outdoor patio available to enjoy the beautiful Florida weather. If you have a hefty appetite take on the famous burgers challenges: Big Kahuna (21 ounces burger) Extreme Kahuna (32 ounces burger) and Island Monster (50 ounces burger). Finish any of the challenge burgers and get your picture up on the Hall of Fame wall. This is where locals hang out enjoying $2.00 pints of beer and wings with several unique seasonings. Located on Gulf Blvd, just across the street from the Tradewinds Sandpiper and Alden Beach Resort.
Blue Fugu
Their chefs will prepare your dinner right at the Teppan Yaku table to please both the eyes and the palate. The menu features sushi and other Japanese delights of meats and seafoods.
Silas' Steakhouse & Bayside Bar
Traditional Steakhouse.
Bella Habana
Cuban cuisine with fresh market seafood. Shredded pork, black beans and rice, chorizo, and sweet plantains.
Agave
Mexican Restaurant.
Beverly's La Croisette
Favorite local spot known for their breakfasts and lunch at the corner of Corey Avenue and Gulf Blvd. in St. Pete Beach.
Cafe Luna
Open seven days a week for dinner. Pizza, seafood, steak. Moderate casual. Beer & wine only. No entertainment.
Crabby Bill's Seafood
Feature local favorites like grouper and other favorites from around the country. If it's seafood hotel probably serve it. Casual dining over looking the Gulf of Mexico. Roof top Tiki Bar weather permitting. St Petersburg Beach favorite since 1993. Great sunsets , large parties are no problem. Happy hour until 6pm nightly. Located on the Beach between Tradewinds resort & The historic Don Cesar Hotel on St Petersburg Beach.
Dockside Dave's Grill
Batter Fried Grouper Sandwich along with Dave's red ripe "Maters" - It's what made hotel so famous!

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
500 square feet game room available.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (75)

Ratings and reviews for Plaza Beach Hotel Beachfront Resort

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
75 out of 75
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Plaza Beach Hotel Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Muncie Travelers
Muncie, IN
May 25, 2009

Old motel that has Florida tacky down

If you are looking for a place to stay that is cheap, clean and located on the beach, then this motel might be a good pick. The motel does not have any of the amenities many expect from a beachfront hotel. The pool is small and uninviting, the decor is tacky with floral and pastel colors and the facilities are old. However, the staff was friendly and the rooms clean. I could see where people either love or hate this motel. If you don't require much and just want a place on the beach that the family can go on a budget, this place might be a great deal, since the rooms are large and they have efficiencies. However, if you enjoy staying in a hotel with some refinement, that offers a relaxing atmosphere with a nice pool and basic amenities, then this place is not for you. I will not return. Orbitz gives this place three stars, but I believe this hotel is similar to other one to two star motels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is a close walk to the Bon Aire Hotel's oceanfront bar, which serves the best hamburgers on the beach. Also, if you want a drink and a great fish sandwich in a dive, old school Florida beach bar, go to Woody's. It is located on 73rd and Sunset Way.

Review of Plaza Beach Hotel Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Minnesota
Mar 4, 2010

stay at another hotel

This was the MOST disappointing experience I have EVER had with a hotel! We did not get the room we reserved (two beds with sofa/bed). They put us in a small room behind the office with one bed and a rollaway bed that barely fit in the tiny room. The desk clerk would not even talk to us and said to come back the next day and talk to the manager, what the ?????Dirty and leftover items in bathroom from a previous guest.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Plaza Beach Hotel Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sassy Frass
Indianapolis, IN, USA
Oct 19, 2011

Disappointed in room

Location was great. Disappointed in the room comfort. Beds .......whew! Lot to be desired, back ache in morning. Of course I am 68 and used to a comfortable bed. The main complaint was the timely cleaning of the room. Being older, we rise early and are back to the room by 1:30 or 2pm to shower and rest before going to dinner. Well the room was never cleaned at that time. One day i told them to forget it and just give us towels. Even with the sign on the door room ready for cleaning....it never happened. The only day it happed with a knock on the door at 10:30 ready to clean, was the day we were checking out. Yes, the cleaning was not timely. My husband was back from playing golf ready to shower and nap and the room was not even cleaned yet. This was a major problem for our lifestyle. We won't be going back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to Leverrocks on Pasadena...Early Bird Special is great.

Review of Plaza Beach Hotel Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
dancingirl11
Merced, CA, USA
Dec 10, 2011

Great Location, Substandard Resort

Pros: The resort is right on the beach. It has a heated outdoor, salt water pool. There is free jug wine and beer every afternoon and free coffee in the morning. Lots of tourist brochures, maps, information in the rec room. The place looks clean and well maintained. The staff is friendly and offers a list of nearby restaurants that they recommend. The rooms have a small sink and a two burner cook top along with the standard fridge, microwave, and coffee maker. The rooms also have a few plates, mugs, and eating utensils. The resort is located across the street from a Walgreens, Publix, CVS and various stores. Cons: This is a remodeled motel originally built in the 50's. Sure the countertop is granite and the floor is tile, but the walls, the ceiling, the windows, the doors, and the musty, smelly air conditioners are old. There is a faint sewage odor that wafted up from the drain in the bathroom sink. When I complained about the musty odors, they sprayed the AC unit with deodorizer. When I complained again, they gave the deodorizer and told me to spray whatever I want. The outside walls are zig-zag to allow each room a small window that faces the sea to catch the breeze. However, when my neighbors are smoking outside their room, the sea breeze blows their smoke right into my room. If the neighbors keep their door ajar to air out their room, their door blocks my window.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There is public trolley that runs up and down the beaches for only $4.50 day pass. If you want to check out the other beaches this is the best way. There is very limited beach access parking since the hotels are built all along the beaches. The few parking spaces available are pay parking.

Review of Plaza Beach Hotel Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Aidaeleven
New Jersey
Jul 22, 2013

Go some place else. You'll be happier

The positives about Plaza Beach: location and the room set-up. The negatives: the amenities are nonexistent. Old worn out bath towels, not beach towels, are available for use on the beach. You have to pay for renting a lounger, an umbrella or anything else that would usually come standard on the beach. The pool area is HORRIBLE. There was a little bar where NO ONE ever worked. There are clear rules posted about food, kids, floats, jumping in the water, etc... and EVERY DAY there were unaccompanied SCREAMING kids at the pool with their floats in the pool. They made a mess everyday; leaving their belongings all over the place. I went to the front desk several times to complain and NOTHING was done. I was told that an employee of the hotel comes around and checks the pool area all the time. That was a lie because I did not see one person, ever come around and check. Several of the other guests were complaining as well. The BBQ area is also a joke. There's no charcoal or any amenities in order to use the BBQ grill. I even contemplated getting charcoal so I lifted the lid of the grill and I was grossed out at how dirty it was. The lobby and the common area was a mess with boxes and junk. There was a tracker trailer parked outside the lobby for a good part of our stay. It looked trashy. Their "happy hour" consisted of a hand full of people crowded around a gallon bottle of wine from 4-5 in this "conference room" which just looked like a storage area for more junk. Our rooms weren't cleaned until very late in the day. We would come back from the beach sometimes at 4:30 and the rooms still wouldn't be cleaned. We asked repeatedly about getting an early clean up but nothing changed and everyday we'd have to leave the room so the maid could do a poor to mediocre job. PS the sheets were too small for the bed and the maid didn't know how to properly make the bed. The only reason the room is a positive is simply because it's relatively modern and somewhat spacious. We asked for an extra key and we were told we had to give a $10 deposit. The website and the video about these resorts are completely misleading. We asked about the fitness room that suppose to be available to us. We were told it was located at the Bayview hotel, their sister resort. We walked over there and it was a BIGGER dump than Plaza Beach. NO ONE works there. There was a sign on the lobby door saying you need to check in at Plaza Beach and... the fitness room which consisted of a treadmill from the 80s and a universal machine from the 70s was locked. It was atrocious. Don't let the smoke and mirrors of any testimonial, website pictures or brochures tell you this place is worth it. Walk up and down the beach and check out all the other great properties there. Their room rates might be a little higher than Plaza Beach but trust me, it's worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Sandbar Bills on the beach. Best burgers in town.

Review of Plaza Beach Hotel Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Houston, Texas
May 18, 2010

Worst Room

Thought for the price, wouldnt be a bad deal. Was i wrong...........had the worst room in the place. Street front room!!! Noisy, and they had booked a lot of the rooms out that weekend to prom kids. As a family value place it might not be so bad. I will not stay again on a single weekend. Dont think the room pictures are accurate, they arent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of Plaza Beach Hotel Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Waterguru
Amherst, NH
May 8, 2009

Plaza beach hotel is too quiet

Plaza beach hotel is too quiet. This hotel is for the retired and families with small children. Pool doesn't open until 10:00AM. Check out on Sundays is at 10:00 AM. There were no chairs for the beach as it looked in the photos. Very few cabanas on the beach. Pool closed at sunset. It was quiet time after 9:00 PM.There is a $250.00 charge if the room is dirty when you leave. The remotes for the TV are $50.00 if they get lost. The rules were endless.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Accross the street is the Drunken Clam and this is a great place to eat. The people at the bar are great. The food was awsome and the best wings in the area. Live music and lots of fun.

Review of Plaza Beach Hotel Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lucy and Donald
Michigan
Feb 16, 2014

Friendly staff

Room was updated and clean. Had a musty/mold smell. The maid gave us some lysol type spray,but couldn't get rid of the odor. The mattresses were old and needed replacement. The kitchenette was well stocked. Free "happy hour" with beer and wine was a nice way to meet the other guests. Free coffee in the mornings,and a free internet cafe were all very nice touches. Awesome location on the beach!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Plaza Beach Hotel Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ayoib
Pittsburgh
Feb 14, 2014

good but not a resort

Very friendly staff. Property description is a little misleading. This is not a hotel it's more like a motel. Definitely not a resort. Terrific beach location and the chairs and lounges on the beach were an excellent amenity. Nice heated pool. Stayed in a ground floor room and could hear people walking and talking from the room above. Would we stay here again, not sure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Mad Fish restaurant for an early bird dinner was excellent for both price and quality. It was just a very short walk north.

Review of Plaza Beach Hotel Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
missouri
May 29, 2009

rest and surf

this is the place to rest and be on the beach. beds are not so "good" for your back or neck. the staff is nice. If you spend your days on the beACH AND your nights sleeping. this is the spot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top

Change search