$83 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 1, 2014 Check-out: Dec 4, 2014

Plaza Beach Hotel Beachfront Resort

3 stars
4506 Gulf Blvd, St. Pete Beach, FL 33706
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
74 reviews
Great Beachfront Hotel

When we arrived early in the morning, we were a little worried that it was another... See full review

  • cdawn31
  • Oct 17, 2014
Great Price & Great Staff!

I was bummed that only 4 rooms were ocean view with balconies. But the staff, other guests, and... See full review

  • Niki C.
  • Sep 20, 2014
Plaza Beach Hotel Beachfront Resort is a Key West style resort on the tropical island of St Pete Beach. St Pete Beach is famous for its sugar white beaches and the Plaza Beach Resort is situated directly on the beach with a large beachside pool. Imagine yourself relaxing in the pool while watching a breathtaking orange/purple sunset melt into the Gulf of Mexico.

All rooms are spacious studio apartments with full kitchen; great for large families, couples or the business traveler who wants all the amenities of home. Best of all hotel has No Surprise Resort Fees, Enjoy everything the Plaza Beach Resort has to offer at no additional cost. Hotel really mean it: FREE Beach Cabanas, FREE Beach/Pool Towels, FREE Wireless Internet, FREE Shuffleboard, FREE 4-hole Mini-Golf, FREE Human-size Chess, FREE BBQ Area, FREE Business Center, FREE Fitness Room, FREE parking and FREE Fishing off of hotel private piers just across the street.

Resort is Family Owned and Operated, and has been since 1988. The family is still very active in the day to day operations, on property daily, with a great friendly staff ready to assist you with a genuine Florida vacation. Members of Superior Small Lodging Association and Approved by AAA for Quality and Standards, resort is one of only a handful of resorts in Florida that has received the Green Lodging seal from the State of Florida for hotel effort in conserving and recycling.

St Pete Beach is a 6-mile island and the Plaza Beach Resort is directly in the center of the island. Everything is in walking distance, the grocery store, restaurants and shopping are just across the street. As well as Deep Sea Fishing, Parasailing, Jet Skiing, Dolphin Cruises, Sunset Cruises and many different island cruises visiting the nearby islands. Best of all hotel is only 30 minutes from Busch Gardens and 90 minutes from Disney and all the Orlando Parks. Try us, and see for yourself why so many people return to the Plaza Beach Hotel Beachfront Resort.

Hotel Map

27.7206 -82.7398
Area served
Tampa Bay Beaches, Clearwater, St. Petersburg.
Nearby airports
Tampa International Airport
St. Pete/ Clearwater Airport
Supershuttle services the area.
Area description
Located in the heart of St. Pete Beach, the Plaza Beach Hotel Beachfront Resort is located directly on the beach and within walking distance to shopping, restaurants and area attractions.
The Plaza Beach Hotel Beachfront Resort is
10 minutes from downtown St. Pete and Tropicana Field
30 minutes from Clearwater
35 minutes from Raymond James Stadium
40 minutes from Busch Gardens
90 minutes from Disneyworld Theme Parks.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Plaza Beach Hotel Beachfront Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Plaza Beach Hotel Beachfront Resort Rooms

Sleeps up to 2 - Deluxe Efficiency Suite
Deluxe Efficiency Suite Sleeps up to 2
One king bed or Two singles beds. Courtyard view or Garden view. Completely Renovated rooms offering Wireless high-speed Internet (complimentary), 37inch Plasma television, Cable television service. Premium television channels. DVD player (complimentary movie library). Direct-dial phones. Voicemail. Free local calls. Full Kitchen. Stovetop. Microwave. Full-sized refrigerator/freezer. Coffee/tea maker. Kitchen linens/place settings (dishtowels, sponges, etc) Individually controlled Air Conditioning, Non-Smoking Room. Exterior-corridor. Sitting area outside room.
Max occupancy in this room is 2 people, we are unable to accommodate more than 2 people in this room
Sleeps up to 4 - Deluxe Efficiency Suite
Deluxe Efficiency Suite Sleeps up to 4
Two queen beds. Courtyard view or Garden view. Completely Renovated rooms offering Wireless high-speed Internet (complimentary), 37inch Plasma television, Cable television service. Premium television channels. DVD player (complimentary movie library). Direct-dial phones. Voicemail. Free local calls. Full Kitchen. Stovetop. Microwave. Full-sized refrigerator/freezer. Coffee/tea maker. Kitchen linens/place settings (dishtowels, sponges, etc) Individually controlled Air Conditioning, Non-Smoking Room. Exterior-corridor. Sitting area outside room.
Max occupancy in this room is 4 people, we are unable to accommodate more than 4 people in this room
Sleeps up to 6 - Deluxe Efficiency Suite
Deluxe Efficiency Suite Sleeps up to 6
Two queen beds and one sofa bed. Courtyard view or Garden view. Completely Renovated rooms offering Wireless high-speed Internet (complimentary), 37inch Plasma television, Cable television service. Premium television channels. DVD player (complimentary movie library). Direct-dial phones. Voicemail. Free local calls. Full Kitchen. Stovetop. Microwave. Full-sized refrigerator/freezer. Coffee/tea maker. Kitchen linens/place settings (dishtowels, sponges, etc) Individually controlled Air Conditioning, Non-Smoking Room. Exterior-corridor. Sitting area outside room.
Max occupancy in this room is 6 people, we are unable to accommodate more than 6 people in this room
Sleeps up to 2 - Superior Gulf View Suite
Superior Gulf View Suite Sleeps up to 2
One king bed or Two singles beds. Gulf view alongside hotel. Completely Renovated rooms offering Wireless high-speed Internet (complimentary), 37inch Plasma television, Cable television service. Premium television channels. DVD player (complimentary movie library). Direct-dial phones. Voicemail. Free local calls. Full Kitchen. Stovetop. Microwave. Full-sized refrigerator/freezer. Coffee/tea maker. Kitchen linens/place settings (dishtowels, sponges, etc) Individually controlled Air Conditioning, Non-Smoking Room. Exterior-corridor. Sitting area outside room.
Max occupancy in this room is 2 people, we are unable to accommodate more than 2 people in this room
Sleeps up to 4 - Superior Gulf View Suite
Superior Gulf View Suite Sleeps up to 4
Two queen beds. Courtyard view or Garden view. Completely Renovated rooms offering Wireless high-speed Internet (complimentary), 37inch Plasma television, Cable television service. Premium television channels. DVD player (complimentary movie library). Direct-dial phones. Voicemail. Free local calls. Full Kitchen. Stovetop. Microwave. Full-sized refrigerator/freezer. Coffee/tea maker. Kitchen linens/place settings (dishtowels, sponges, etc) Individually controlled Air Conditioning, Non-Smoking Room. Exterior-corridor. Sitting area outside room.
Max occupancy in this room is 4 people, we are unable to accommodate more than 4 people in this room
Sleeps up to 6 - Superior Gulf View Suite
Superior Gulf View Suite Sleeps up to 6
Two queen beds and one sofa bed. Courtyard view or Garden view. Completely Renovated rooms offering Wireless high-speed Internet (complimentary), 37inch Plasma television, Cable television service. Premium television channels. DVD player (complimentary movie library). Direct-dial phones. Voicemail. Free local calls. Full Kitchen. Stovetop. Microwave. Full-sized refrigerator/freezer. Coffee/tea maker. Kitchen linens/place settings (dishtowels, sponges, etc) Individually controlled Air Conditioning, Non-Smoking Room. Exterior-corridor. Sitting area outside room.
Max occupancy in this room is 6 people, we are unable to accommodate more than 6 people in this room

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Room service
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Tropicana Field: 7.3 mi

Dining

Gigi's Italian Restaurant
Famous Pizza
Since 1967, hotel has specialized in serving thin crispy brick oven pizza. Hotel secret is in hotel fresh dough, zesty sauce, blend of cheeses and the freshest of ingredients available.
Beach Buns and Burgers
Casual Dining with Hawaiian Surfer Dcor. Famous for large pound burgers served with homemade fries or tater tots. Beach Buns and Burgers also offers healthy choices such as vegetarian items, fresh salads, sandwiches, tasty seafood and even offers Homemade Polish Pierogi. Comfortable outdoor patio available to enjoy the beautiful Florida weather. If you have a hefty appetite take on the famous burgers challenges: Big Kahuna (21 ounces burger) Extreme Kahuna (32 ounces burger) and Island Monster (50 ounces burger). Finish any of the challenge burgers and get your picture up on the Hall of Fame wall. This is where locals hang out enjoying $2.00 pints of beer and wings with several unique seasonings. Located on Gulf Blvd, just across the street from the Tradewinds Sandpiper and Alden Beach Resort.
Blue Fugu
Their chefs will prepare your dinner right at the Teppan Yaku table to please both the eyes and the palate. The menu features sushi and other Japanese delights of meats and seafoods.
Silas' Steakhouse & Bayside Bar
Traditional Steakhouse.
Bella Habana
Cuban cuisine with fresh market seafood. Shredded pork, black beans and rice, chorizo, and sweet plantains.
Agave
Mexican Restaurant.
Beverly's La Croisette
Favorite local spot known for their breakfasts and lunch at the corner of Corey Avenue and Gulf Blvd. in St. Pete Beach.
Cafe Luna
Open seven days a week for dinner. Pizza, seafood, steak. Moderate casual. Beer & wine only. No entertainment.
Crabby Bill's Seafood
Feature local favorites like grouper and other favorites from around the country. If it's seafood hotel probably serve it. Casual dining over looking the Gulf of Mexico. Roof top Tiki Bar weather permitting. St Petersburg Beach favorite since 1993. Great sunsets , large parties are no problem. Happy hour until 6pm nightly. Located on the Beach between Tradewinds resort & The historic Don Cesar Hotel on St Petersburg Beach.
Dockside Dave's Grill
Batter Fried Grouper Sandwich along with Dave's red ripe "Maters" - It's what made hotel so famous!

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
500 square feet game room available.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (74)

Ratings and reviews for Plaza Beach Hotel Beachfront Resort

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
74 out of 74
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Plaza Beach Hotel Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Oxoboxo
Business
Oakdale, Ct.
Mar 2, 2012

second Valentines day

We were given a one bedroom suite across the street and it was perfect. Happy hour is a must. We met with other visitors and a few regulars.Ray was the regular and nice talking to. The sunsets from the beach were amazing. Can't wait till next Feb. 14th.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Fort Desoto Park. The north beach was one of the best we've seen simply beautiful. There is a 5 dollar fee after 7 a.m. and before 4:30. Gi Gi's Italian restaurant was superb.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Beach Hotel Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Diezel
Business
Orlando Florida
Jan 24, 2012

Excellent Stay... Very Friendly staff

The friendly staff greeted us with a smile and was very helpful in suggesting local business and family owned restaurants. The room was fresh and clean with all the amenities of a studio apartment. Appliances were new and clean. Pool was perfect and beach access could not be any better. Great things to do on property and close enough to other local activities. I will be staying there again soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Italian restaurant across the street. Delivers to the room and is family owned and operated.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Beach Hotel Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
roars
Business
Guelph, ON, Canada
Dec 23, 2011

More that expected

Efficient, courteous and kind staff all the time, nice social hour with plenty of beer from the keg, red and withe wine as well. Very good internet speed, we expected only a room with a bathroom an two queen beds and a TV, with these we would have been more than satisfied, but instead we got a one bedroom suit/apartment with living-room/dinning area 2 flat panel TVs, 18-19 cubic feet fridge with freezer and a small kitchen with all the gadgets necessary to cook anything, stove and microwave. A walk away from small plaza with a Publix Grocery store, CVS, segway rentals, dolphin specialty sail tours, etc. Beautiful beach front, very quiet. No issues at all we will return next time in Tampa

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Ask people first instead of looking for anything on the internet or your GPS, we did and ended driving12 miles looking for a grocery store, when there was one just 100 meters away from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Beach Hotel Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
dancingirl11
Business
Merced, CA, USA
Dec 10, 2011

Great Location, Substandard Resort

Pros: The resort is right on the beach. It has a heated outdoor, salt water pool. There is free jug wine and beer every afternoon and free coffee in the morning. Lots of tourist brochures, maps, information in the rec room. The place looks clean and well maintained. The staff is friendly and offers a list of nearby restaurants that they recommend. The rooms have a small sink and a two burner cook top along with the standard fridge, microwave, and coffee maker. The rooms also have a few plates, mugs, and eating utensils. The resort is located across the street from a Walgreens, Publix, CVS and various stores. Cons: This is a remodeled motel originally built in the 50's. Sure the countertop is granite and the floor is tile, but the walls, the ceiling, the windows, the doors, and the musty, smelly air conditioners are old. There is a faint sewage odor that wafted up from the drain in the bathroom sink. When I complained about the musty odors, they sprayed the AC unit with deodorizer. When I complained again, they gave the deodorizer and told me to spray whatever I want. The outside walls are zig-zag to allow each room a small window that faces the sea to catch the breeze. However, when my neighbors are smoking outside their room, the sea breeze blows their smoke right into my room. If the neighbors keep their door ajar to air out their room, their door blocks my window.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There is public trolley that runs up and down the beaches for only $4.50 day pass. If you want to check out the other beaches this is the best way. There is very limited beach access parking since the hotels are built all along the beaches. The few parking spaces available are pay parking.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Beach Hotel Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Warm Weather Minnesotan
Business
Minnesota, USA
Dec 9, 2011

Great Location!

This hotel was in a really great location, right on the beach! This place had a nice pool, shuffle board, bean bags and was really close to a small shopping mall and tons of restaurants. The rooms weren't amazing and I wouldn't say comfortably fit 6, however they comfortably fit 4 for sure and were decent size. I would stay here again for sure!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Beach Hotel Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
davtxer
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Dec 4, 2011

great family vacation

hotel is in perfect location ,walking distance to beach ,stores ,fishing areas, restaurants,and walgreens 24/7.awsome place been going the for many years,family owned and very professional,happy hour every day (free beer and wine 4pm-5pm),beach towels,fishing gear rental,heated pool,just what you need from this place,highly recommended ,we will be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

crabby bill's seafood restaurant, awesome food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Beach Hotel Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
chitown batman
Business
chicago
Dec 3, 2011

quick getaway

loved the shuffleboard, pool, and cabanas. Room was great. Staff was very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Beach Hotel Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
smileyfish
Business
Tennessee
Nov 9, 2011

Good vacation bargain

I was very pleased with the location, room and friendliness of staff at the Plaza Beach. I did note that there appeared to be more "senior" guests than younger guests, but since I am in the former group, that was fine with me!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Beach Hotel Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sassy Frass
Business
Indianapolis, IN, USA
Oct 19, 2011

Disappointed in room

Location was great. Disappointed in the room comfort. Beds .......whew! Lot to be desired, back ache in morning. Of course I am 68 and used to a comfortable bed. The main complaint was the timely cleaning of the room. Being older, we rise early and are back to the room by 1:30 or 2pm to shower and rest before going to dinner. Well the room was never cleaned at that time. One day i told them to forget it and just give us towels. Even with the sign on the door room ready for cleaning....it never happened. The only day it happed with a knock on the door at 10:30 ready to clean, was the day we were checking out. Yes, the cleaning was not timely. My husband was back from playing golf ready to shower and nap and the room was not even cleaned yet. This was a major problem for our lifestyle. We won't be going back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to Leverrocks on Pasadena...Early Bird Special is great.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Beach Hotel Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minot, ND
Sep 6, 2011

Great Location! Good Price!

The hotel was clean, affordable, and came along with one great location - you can see the ocean from the parking lot. The room was a bit dated and the mattresses were a bit too springy but the kitchenette was a definite bonus for saving time and money. The standard room could have slept 6, which would make it a great fit for a larger family. It's just a block from a great grocery store. We hardly needed our rental car because we were within walking distance from great restaurants and attractions. The room smelled a bit moldy - but even with my mold allergies, my nose didn't run. It must just be the humidity. Overall it was a good room at a good price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out Dolphin Landings for unique boating opportunities that do not cost alot!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top