$127 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 14, 2015 Check-out: Jan 15, 2015

Plaza Beach Hotel Beachfront Resort

3 stars
4506 Gulf Blvd, St. Pete Beach, FL 33706
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
77 reviews
Awesome value for location

Nice cozy hotel right along the beach with courteous staff. There are games and happy hour deals... See full review

  • JF travels
  • Dec 8, 2014
Great Beachfront Hotel

When we arrived early in the morning, we were a little worried that it was another... See full review

  • cdawn31
  • Oct 17, 2014
Plaza Beach Hotel Beachfront Resort is a Key West style resort on the tropical island of St Pete Beach. St Pete Beach is famous for its sugar white beaches and the Plaza Beach Resort is situated directly on the beach with a large beachside pool. Imagine yourself relaxing in the pool while watching a breathtaking orange/purple sunset melt into the Gulf of Mexico.

All rooms are spacious studio apartments with full kitchen; great for large families, couples or the business traveler who wants all the amenities of home. Best of all hotel has No Surprise Resort Fees, Enjoy everything the Plaza Beach Resort has to offer at no additional cost. Hotel really mean it: FREE Beach Cabanas, FREE Beach/Pool Towels, FREE Wireless Internet, FREE Shuffleboard, FREE 4-hole Mini-Golf, FREE Human-size Chess, FREE BBQ Area, FREE Business Center, FREE Fitness Room, FREE parking and FREE Fishing off of hotel private piers just across the street.

Resort is Family Owned and Operated, and has been since 1988. The family is still very active in the day to day operations, on property daily, with a great friendly staff ready to assist you with a genuine Florida vacation. Members of Superior Small Lodging Association and Approved by AAA for Quality and Standards, resort is one of only a handful of resorts in Florida that has received the Green Lodging seal from the State of Florida for hotel effort in conserving and recycling.

St Pete Beach is a 6-mile island and the Plaza Beach Resort is directly in the center of the island. Everything is in walking distance, the grocery store, restaurants and shopping are just across the street. As well as Deep Sea Fishing, Parasailing, Jet Skiing, Dolphin Cruises, Sunset Cruises and many different island cruises visiting the nearby islands. Best of all hotel is only 30 minutes from Busch Gardens and 90 minutes from Disney and all the Orlando Parks. Try us, and see for yourself why so many people return to the Plaza Beach Hotel Beachfront Resort.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Plaza Beach Hotel Beachfront Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Plaza Beach Hotel Beachfront Resort Rooms

Sleeps up to 2 - Deluxe Efficiency Suite
Deluxe Efficiency Suite Sleeps up to 2
One king bed or Two singles beds. Courtyard view or Garden view. Completely Renovated rooms offering Wireless high-speed Internet (complimentary), 37inch Plasma television, Cable television service. Premium television channels. DVD player (complimentary movie library). Direct-dial phones. Voicemail. Free local calls. Full Kitchen. Stovetop. Microwave. Full-sized refrigerator/freezer. Coffee/tea maker. Kitchen linens/place settings (dishtowels, sponges, etc) Individually controlled Air Conditioning, Non-Smoking Room. Exterior-corridor. Sitting area outside room.
Max occupancy in this room is 2 people, we are unable to accommodate more than 2 people in this room
Sleeps up to 4 - Deluxe Efficiency Suite
Deluxe Efficiency Suite Sleeps up to 4
Two queen beds. Courtyard view or Garden view. Completely Renovated rooms offering Wireless high-speed Internet (complimentary), 37inch Plasma television, Cable television service. Premium television channels. DVD player (complimentary movie library). Direct-dial phones. Voicemail. Free local calls. Full Kitchen. Stovetop. Microwave. Full-sized refrigerator/freezer. Coffee/tea maker. Kitchen linens/place settings (dishtowels, sponges, etc) Individually controlled Air Conditioning, Non-Smoking Room. Exterior-corridor. Sitting area outside room.
Max occupancy in this room is 4 people, we are unable to accommodate more than 4 people in this room
Sleeps up to 6 - Deluxe Efficiency Suite
Deluxe Efficiency Suite Sleeps up to 6
Two queen beds and one sofa bed. Courtyard view or Garden view. Completely Renovated rooms offering Wireless high-speed Internet (complimentary), 37inch Plasma television, Cable television service. Premium television channels. DVD player (complimentary movie library). Direct-dial phones. Voicemail. Free local calls. Full Kitchen. Stovetop. Microwave. Full-sized refrigerator/freezer. Coffee/tea maker. Kitchen linens/place settings (dishtowels, sponges, etc) Individually controlled Air Conditioning, Non-Smoking Room. Exterior-corridor. Sitting area outside room.
Max occupancy in this room is 6 people, we are unable to accommodate more than 6 people in this room
Sleeps up to 2 - Superior Gulf View Suite
Superior Gulf View Suite Sleeps up to 2
One king bed or Two singles beds. Gulf view alongside hotel. Completely Renovated rooms offering Wireless high-speed Internet (complimentary), 37inch Plasma television, Cable television service. Premium television channels. DVD player (complimentary movie library). Direct-dial phones. Voicemail. Free local calls. Full Kitchen. Stovetop. Microwave. Full-sized refrigerator/freezer. Coffee/tea maker. Kitchen linens/place settings (dishtowels, sponges, etc) Individually controlled Air Conditioning, Non-Smoking Room. Exterior-corridor. Sitting area outside room.
Max occupancy in this room is 2 people, we are unable to accommodate more than 2 people in this room
Sleeps up to 4 - Superior Gulf View Suite
Superior Gulf View Suite Sleeps up to 4
Two queen beds. Courtyard view or Garden view. Completely Renovated rooms offering Wireless high-speed Internet (complimentary), 37inch Plasma television, Cable television service. Premium television channels. DVD player (complimentary movie library). Direct-dial phones. Voicemail. Free local calls. Full Kitchen. Stovetop. Microwave. Full-sized refrigerator/freezer. Coffee/tea maker. Kitchen linens/place settings (dishtowels, sponges, etc) Individually controlled Air Conditioning, Non-Smoking Room. Exterior-corridor. Sitting area outside room.
Max occupancy in this room is 4 people, we are unable to accommodate more than 4 people in this room
Sleeps up to 6 - Superior Gulf View Suite
Superior Gulf View Suite Sleeps up to 6
Two queen beds and one sofa bed. Courtyard view or Garden view. Completely Renovated rooms offering Wireless high-speed Internet (complimentary), 37inch Plasma television, Cable television service. Premium television channels. DVD player (complimentary movie library). Direct-dial phones. Voicemail. Free local calls. Full Kitchen. Stovetop. Microwave. Full-sized refrigerator/freezer. Coffee/tea maker. Kitchen linens/place settings (dishtowels, sponges, etc) Individually controlled Air Conditioning, Non-Smoking Room. Exterior-corridor. Sitting area outside room.
Max occupancy in this room is 6 people, we are unable to accommodate more than 6 people in this room

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Room service
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Tropicana Field: 7.3 mi

Dining

Gigi's Italian Restaurant
Famous Pizza
Since 1967, hotel has specialized in serving thin crispy brick oven pizza. Hotel secret is in hotel fresh dough, zesty sauce, blend of cheeses and the freshest of ingredients available.
Beach Buns and Burgers
Casual Dining with Hawaiian Surfer Dcor. Famous for large pound burgers served with homemade fries or tater tots. Beach Buns and Burgers also offers healthy choices such as vegetarian items, fresh salads, sandwiches, tasty seafood and even offers Homemade Polish Pierogi. Comfortable outdoor patio available to enjoy the beautiful Florida weather. If you have a hefty appetite take on the famous burgers challenges: Big Kahuna (21 ounces burger) Extreme Kahuna (32 ounces burger) and Island Monster (50 ounces burger). Finish any of the challenge burgers and get your picture up on the Hall of Fame wall. This is where locals hang out enjoying $2.00 pints of beer and wings with several unique seasonings. Located on Gulf Blvd, just across the street from the Tradewinds Sandpiper and Alden Beach Resort.
Blue Fugu
Their chefs will prepare your dinner right at the Teppan Yaku table to please both the eyes and the palate. The menu features sushi and other Japanese delights of meats and seafoods.
Silas' Steakhouse & Bayside Bar
Traditional Steakhouse.
Bella Habana
Cuban cuisine with fresh market seafood. Shredded pork, black beans and rice, chorizo, and sweet plantains.
Agave
Mexican Restaurant.
Beverly's La Croisette
Favorite local spot known for their breakfasts and lunch at the corner of Corey Avenue and Gulf Blvd. in St. Pete Beach.
Cafe Luna
Open seven days a week for dinner. Pizza, seafood, steak. Moderate casual. Beer & wine only. No entertainment.
Crabby Bill's Seafood
Feature local favorites like grouper and other favorites from around the country. If it's seafood hotel probably serve it. Casual dining over looking the Gulf of Mexico. Roof top Tiki Bar weather permitting. St Petersburg Beach favorite since 1993. Great sunsets , large parties are no problem. Happy hour until 6pm nightly. Located on the Beach between Tradewinds resort & The historic Don Cesar Hotel on St Petersburg Beach.
Dockside Dave's Grill
Batter Fried Grouper Sandwich along with Dave's red ripe "Maters" - It's what made hotel so famous!

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
500 square feet game room available.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (77)

Ratings and reviews for Plaza Beach Hotel Beachfront Resort

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
77 out of 77
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Plaza Beach Hotel Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Aidaeleven
Business
New Jersey
Jul 22, 2013

Go some place else. You'll be happier

The positives about Plaza Beach: location and the room set-up. The negatives: the amenities are nonexistent. Old worn out bath towels, not beach towels, are available for use on the beach. You have to pay for renting a lounger, an umbrella or anything else that would usually come standard on the beach. The pool area is HORRIBLE. There was a little bar where NO ONE ever worked. There are clear rules posted about food, kids, floats, jumping in the water, etc... and EVERY DAY there were unaccompanied SCREAMING kids at the pool with their floats in the pool. They made a mess everyday; leaving their belongings all over the place. I went to the front desk several times to complain and NOTHING was done. I was told that an employee of the hotel comes around and checks the pool area all the time. That was a lie because I did not see one person, ever come around and check. Several of the other guests were complaining as well. The BBQ area is also a joke. There's no charcoal or any amenities in order to use the BBQ grill. I even contemplated getting charcoal so I lifted the lid of the grill and I was grossed out at how dirty it was. The lobby and the common area was a mess with boxes and junk. There was a tracker trailer parked outside the lobby for a good part of our stay. It looked trashy. Their "happy hour" consisted of a hand full of people crowded around a gallon bottle of wine from 4-5 in this "conference room" which just looked like a storage area for more junk. Our rooms weren't cleaned until very late in the day. We would come back from the beach sometimes at 4:30 and the rooms still wouldn't be cleaned. We asked repeatedly about getting an early clean up but nothing changed and everyday we'd have to leave the room so the maid could do a poor to mediocre job. PS the sheets were too small for the bed and the maid didn't know how to properly make the bed. The only reason the room is a positive is simply because it's relatively modern and somewhat spacious. We asked for an extra key and we were told we had to give a $10 deposit. The website and the video about these resorts are completely misleading. We asked about the fitness room that suppose to be available to us. We were told it was located at the Bayview hotel, their sister resort. We walked over there and it was a BIGGER dump than Plaza Beach. NO ONE works there. There was a sign on the lobby door saying you need to check in at Plaza Beach and... the fitness room which consisted of a treadmill from the 80s and a universal machine from the 70s was locked. It was atrocious. Don't let the smoke and mirrors of any testimonial, website pictures or brochures tell you this place is worth it. Walk up and down the beach and check out all the other great properties there. Their room rates might be a little higher than Plaza Beach but trust me, it's worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Sandbar Bills on the beach. Best burgers in town.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Beach Hotel Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Elly Lou
Business
Kansas City, Kansas
Jul 1, 2013

Great beach getaway

Our overall experience was great; However, there are a few things that would have made our time better- the beds were not comfortable at all and we were constantly having to ask for clean towels, most days room service didn't get to our room until after 2:00 in the afternoon. The location was awesome, we were right on the beach, and the staff was super friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Beach Hotel Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Maxi58
Business
Sweden
Jun 25, 2013

Nice!

Perfect location, Easy access to Beach and restaurants. Serviceminded staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Beach Hotel Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rachael
Business
UK
Jun 18, 2013

Nice 2 day break

After reading lots of reviews I have to say that the Plaza Beach wasn’t quite what I was expecting. I didn’t expect it to be on the main road and also from the reviews expected it to be much bigger. That’s not to say we didn’t have a great time and we would return – I guess sometimes you picture things a certain way and it wasn’t that way. The room itself was lovely with everything you needed plus a safe (bonus). Beds were comfy and the well stocked kitchen, microwave and toaster (my fav for breakfast) were all a plus. The rooms overlooked the car parking area unless you paid extra for the 4 rooms with beach view. At least we could park our car easily in front of our room. The beach and pool area are the hotels real plus points. The beach is gorgeous and has sun loungers for hire if required (we didn’t bother as they were quite expensive $25). The hotel has some wooden chairs near the hotel which are funky but you can’t move these down the wide beach towards the water. The pool is nice, we went on once but was busy with kids having fun so tended to stick to the beach (when it wasn’t raining!). You can get beach towels from the front desk – just need to sign for them. One evening we sat just outside of the pool area under a small covered area watching a thunderstorm for hours and sipping wine – was one of our best evenings. Nobody else was around because of the rain so it felt like our own slice of paradise. The hotel provides you with a list of nearby restaurants which included distance to them driving etc and we went to 2 of the recommended ones. This was a really good idea as we were new to the area and didn’t have a clue what we wanted. The 2 we went to had waterfront (bay) views and were really good. The nearby Publix (supermarket) was also handy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Beach Hotel Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Teacher in need of rest
Business
Nampa, Idaho
Jun 13, 2013

Great Get Away

The staff was very accommodating. They were very friendly and gave us lists of good places to eat that were walking distance or short driving distances from hotel. They had their own laundry and dryer in place. The room was good. The beds probably need a new mattress...little lumpy...but other than that it I would recommend it to people on budgets and with kids. I spoke to several people staying at hotel that have been vacationing in the same location and hotel for several years. They have been very pleased. We were walking distance from the white sandy beach. The pool area was kept clean as well. People were friendly. I would go back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Beach Hotel Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Trish D.
Business
Denver, Colorado
Jun 7, 2013

Fun Place to stay

Great place to stay, the pool is nice. I really liked their outdoor chess set they had. In addition, the mini-kitchen we had in our room was a great addition to our vacation, as it allowed us to bring back leftovers and snacks and cook breakfast for ourselves every morning as well. I could definitely see staying there again, especially if we were there longer than a few days.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Ask the front desk what they like about the place you're staying at, whether it be food, entertainment or otherwise. They usually have some great resources!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Beach Hotel Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
superth
Business
Fargo, North Dakota
Feb 10, 2013

Great vacation place!

Our experience here could not have been better. The staff was friendly and helpful, the room was clean and the view was spectacular. For the price you can not do better!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Bon Aire next door has excellent hamburgers and cold drinks on the beach at a reasonable price.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Beach Hotel Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ripley2
Business
albany ny
Feb 8, 2013

go for the beach

Lovely quiet beach location, may not be for everyone (teens,young couples). Free happy hour chatting w/ others- many returning year after year- definitely a haven for retirees with a sense of humor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

View from Hurricanes top floor bar

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Beach Hotel Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Alice at Jackson
Business
Jackson, Michigan
Jan 15, 2013

relaxing location

Quiet and peaceful, the beach was beautiful and the pace was relaxing. The atmosphere was friendly, the social hour was alittle disappointing ran out of beer 2 of the 7 days but other then that it was perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Skidders about 2 miles north of the resort had quality food at decent prices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Beach Hotel Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
flipper9348039580
Business
wales UK
Nov 25, 2012

Great Beach front vacation

We unfortunatly only stayed 1 night due to our plans, in this time the staff were excellent with recomendations of where to eat etc. Great beachfront location with all the ameities required if you wish to self cater.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Take a right on the beach to the Revolving restaraunt hotel and watch the sunset either eating or having a drink at their Beach bar

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top