$112 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 22, 2014 Check-out: Oct 23, 2014

Plaza Beach Hotel Beachfront Resort

3 stars
4506 Gulf Blvd, St. Pete Beach, FL 33706
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
74 reviews
Great Beachfront Hotel

When we arrived early in the morning, we were a little worried that it was another... See full review

  • cdawn31
  • Oct 17, 2014
Great Price & Great Staff!

I was bummed that only 4 rooms were ocean view with balconies. But the staff, other guests, and... See full review

  • Niki C.
  • Sep 20, 2014
Plaza Beach Hotel Beachfront Resort is a Key West style resort on the tropical island of St Pete Beach. St Pete Beach is famous for its sugar white beaches and the Plaza Beach Resort is situated directly on the beach with a large beachside pool. Imagine yourself relaxing in the pool while watching a breathtaking orange/purple sunset melt into the Gulf of Mexico.

All rooms are spacious studio apartments with full kitchen; great for large families, couples or the business traveler who wants all the amenities of home. Best of all hotel has No Surprise Resort Fees, Enjoy everything the Plaza Beach Resort has to offer at no additional cost. Hotel really mean it: FREE Beach Cabanas, FREE Beach/Pool Towels, FREE Wireless Internet, FREE Shuffleboard, FREE 4-hole Mini-Golf, FREE Human-size Chess, FREE BBQ Area, FREE Business Center, FREE Fitness Room, FREE parking and FREE Fishing off of hotel private piers just across the street.

Resort is Family Owned and Operated, and has been since 1988. The family is still very active in the day to day operations, on property daily, with a great friendly staff ready to assist you with a genuine Florida vacation. Members of Superior Small Lodging Association and Approved by AAA for Quality and Standards, resort is one of only a handful of resorts in Florida that has received the Green Lodging seal from the State of Florida for hotel effort in conserving and recycling.

St Pete Beach is a 6-mile island and the Plaza Beach Resort is directly in the center of the island. Everything is in walking distance, the grocery store, restaurants and shopping are just across the street. As well as Deep Sea Fishing, Parasailing, Jet Skiing, Dolphin Cruises, Sunset Cruises and many different island cruises visiting the nearby islands. Best of all hotel is only 30 minutes from Busch Gardens and 90 minutes from Disney and all the Orlando Parks. Try us, and see for yourself why so many people return to the Plaza Beach Hotel Beachfront Resort.

Hotel Map

27.7206 -82.7398
Area served
Tampa Bay Beaches, Clearwater, St. Petersburg.
Nearby airports
Tampa International Airport
St. Pete/ Clearwater Airport
Supershuttle services the area.
Area description
Located in the heart of St. Pete Beach, the Plaza Beach Hotel Beachfront Resort is located directly on the beach and within walking distance to shopping, restaurants and area attractions.
The Plaza Beach Hotel Beachfront Resort is
10 minutes from downtown St. Pete and Tropicana Field
30 minutes from Clearwater
35 minutes from Raymond James Stadium
40 minutes from Busch Gardens
90 minutes from Disneyworld Theme Parks.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Plaza Beach Hotel Beachfront Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Plaza Beach Hotel Beachfront Resort Rooms

Sleeps up to 2 - Deluxe Efficiency Suite
Deluxe Efficiency Suite Sleeps up to 2
One king bed or Two singles beds. Courtyard view or Garden view. Completely Renovated rooms offering Wireless high-speed Internet (complimentary), 37inch Plasma television, Cable television service. Premium television channels. DVD player (complimentary movie library). Direct-dial phones. Voicemail. Free local calls. Full Kitchen. Stovetop. Microwave. Full-sized refrigerator/freezer. Coffee/tea maker. Kitchen linens/place settings (dishtowels, sponges, etc) Individually controlled Air Conditioning, Non-Smoking Room. Exterior-corridor. Sitting area outside room.
Max occupancy in this room is 2 people, we are unable to accommodate more than 2 people in this room
Sleeps up to 4 - Deluxe Efficiency Suite
Deluxe Efficiency Suite Sleeps up to 4
Two queen beds. Courtyard view or Garden view. Completely Renovated rooms offering Wireless high-speed Internet (complimentary), 37inch Plasma television, Cable television service. Premium television channels. DVD player (complimentary movie library). Direct-dial phones. Voicemail. Free local calls. Full Kitchen. Stovetop. Microwave. Full-sized refrigerator/freezer. Coffee/tea maker. Kitchen linens/place settings (dishtowels, sponges, etc) Individually controlled Air Conditioning, Non-Smoking Room. Exterior-corridor. Sitting area outside room.
Max occupancy in this room is 4 people, we are unable to accommodate more than 4 people in this room
Sleeps up to 6 - Deluxe Efficiency Suite
Deluxe Efficiency Suite Sleeps up to 6
Two queen beds and one sofa bed. Courtyard view or Garden view. Completely Renovated rooms offering Wireless high-speed Internet (complimentary), 37inch Plasma television, Cable television service. Premium television channels. DVD player (complimentary movie library). Direct-dial phones. Voicemail. Free local calls. Full Kitchen. Stovetop. Microwave. Full-sized refrigerator/freezer. Coffee/tea maker. Kitchen linens/place settings (dishtowels, sponges, etc) Individually controlled Air Conditioning, Non-Smoking Room. Exterior-corridor. Sitting area outside room.
Max occupancy in this room is 6 people, we are unable to accommodate more than 6 people in this room
Sleeps up to 2 - Superior Gulf View Suite
Superior Gulf View Suite Sleeps up to 2
One king bed or Two singles beds. Gulf view alongside hotel. Completely Renovated rooms offering Wireless high-speed Internet (complimentary), 37inch Plasma television, Cable television service. Premium television channels. DVD player (complimentary movie library). Direct-dial phones. Voicemail. Free local calls. Full Kitchen. Stovetop. Microwave. Full-sized refrigerator/freezer. Coffee/tea maker. Kitchen linens/place settings (dishtowels, sponges, etc) Individually controlled Air Conditioning, Non-Smoking Room. Exterior-corridor. Sitting area outside room.
Max occupancy in this room is 2 people, we are unable to accommodate more than 2 people in this room
Sleeps up to 4 - Superior Gulf View Suite
Superior Gulf View Suite Sleeps up to 4
Two queen beds. Courtyard view or Garden view. Completely Renovated rooms offering Wireless high-speed Internet (complimentary), 37inch Plasma television, Cable television service. Premium television channels. DVD player (complimentary movie library). Direct-dial phones. Voicemail. Free local calls. Full Kitchen. Stovetop. Microwave. Full-sized refrigerator/freezer. Coffee/tea maker. Kitchen linens/place settings (dishtowels, sponges, etc) Individually controlled Air Conditioning, Non-Smoking Room. Exterior-corridor. Sitting area outside room.
Max occupancy in this room is 4 people, we are unable to accommodate more than 4 people in this room
Sleeps up to 6 - Superior Gulf View Suite
Superior Gulf View Suite Sleeps up to 6
Two queen beds and one sofa bed. Courtyard view or Garden view. Completely Renovated rooms offering Wireless high-speed Internet (complimentary), 37inch Plasma television, Cable television service. Premium television channels. DVD player (complimentary movie library). Direct-dial phones. Voicemail. Free local calls. Full Kitchen. Stovetop. Microwave. Full-sized refrigerator/freezer. Coffee/tea maker. Kitchen linens/place settings (dishtowels, sponges, etc) Individually controlled Air Conditioning, Non-Smoking Room. Exterior-corridor. Sitting area outside room.
Max occupancy in this room is 6 people, we are unable to accommodate more than 6 people in this room

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Room service
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Tropicana Field: 7.3 mi

Dining

Gigi's Italian Restaurant
Famous Pizza
Since 1967, hotel has specialized in serving thin crispy brick oven pizza. Hotel secret is in hotel fresh dough, zesty sauce, blend of cheeses and the freshest of ingredients available.
Beach Buns and Burgers
Casual Dining with Hawaiian Surfer Dcor. Famous for large pound burgers served with homemade fries or tater tots. Beach Buns and Burgers also offers healthy choices such as vegetarian items, fresh salads, sandwiches, tasty seafood and even offers Homemade Polish Pierogi. Comfortable outdoor patio available to enjoy the beautiful Florida weather. If you have a hefty appetite take on the famous burgers challenges: Big Kahuna (21 ounces burger) Extreme Kahuna (32 ounces burger) and Island Monster (50 ounces burger). Finish any of the challenge burgers and get your picture up on the Hall of Fame wall. This is where locals hang out enjoying $2.00 pints of beer and wings with several unique seasonings. Located on Gulf Blvd, just across the street from the Tradewinds Sandpiper and Alden Beach Resort.
Blue Fugu
Their chefs will prepare your dinner right at the Teppan Yaku table to please both the eyes and the palate. The menu features sushi and other Japanese delights of meats and seafoods.
Silas' Steakhouse & Bayside Bar
Traditional Steakhouse.
Bella Habana
Cuban cuisine with fresh market seafood. Shredded pork, black beans and rice, chorizo, and sweet plantains.
Agave
Mexican Restaurant.
Beverly's La Croisette
Favorite local spot known for their breakfasts and lunch at the corner of Corey Avenue and Gulf Blvd. in St. Pete Beach.
Cafe Luna
Open seven days a week for dinner. Pizza, seafood, steak. Moderate casual. Beer & wine only. No entertainment.
Crabby Bill's Seafood
Feature local favorites like grouper and other favorites from around the country. If it's seafood hotel probably serve it. Casual dining over looking the Gulf of Mexico. Roof top Tiki Bar weather permitting. St Petersburg Beach favorite since 1993. Great sunsets , large parties are no problem. Happy hour until 6pm nightly. Located on the Beach between Tradewinds resort & The historic Don Cesar Hotel on St Petersburg Beach.
Dockside Dave's Grill
Batter Fried Grouper Sandwich along with Dave's red ripe "Maters" - It's what made hotel so famous!

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
500 square feet game room available.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (74)

Ratings and reviews for Plaza Beach Hotel Beachfront Resort

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
74 out of 74
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Plaza Beach Hotel Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
funguy9a
Iowa
Sep 25, 2012

Wonderful!

The Plaza Beach Hotel was a beautiful experience. The staff was always willing to help and very friendly. Quiet at night which made for a restful and relaxing vacation. The location is right within walking distances to restaurants and shopping. The resort itself was very well kept and attractive. I will definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Beach Hotel Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
cdawn31
Business
Wisconsin
Oct 17, 2014

Great Beachfront Hotel

When we arrived early in the morning, we were a little worried that it was another "hole-in-the-wall" motel due to the outside decor of the place. Boy were we wrong! For the low price that was offered, we had an amazing, clean room within a minute from the ocean shoreline. The room had a kitchenette, large flat screen TV, fridge, comfortable beds, couches, and a VIEW. It was everything you would need in a room for a longer duration of stay! Also, the staff was extremely nice and helpful. As I had mentioned, we arrived early in the morning. I had phoned in to see if we could check into our hotel early and the guy at the front desk said that we would be first priority as soon as they could get the room cleaned. This, by far, was one of the best rooms I have ever stayed in! Don't be fooled by the hole-in-the-wall look; it's amazing!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Beach Hotel Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Niki C.
Business
St Pete, Florida
Sep 20, 2014

Great Price & Great Staff!

I was bummed that only 4 rooms were ocean view with balconies. But the staff, other guests, and fact that you are literally steps away from the beach made this a great hotel!! I would book here again!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Beach Hotel Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
VERNON32
Business
Washington DC
Aug 26, 2014

Perfect location, right on the beach

Very clean, a good value, and worth every penny. Rooms are a bit cramped, and the hotel itself lacks some amenties in terms of beach furniture and cabanas, etc., but the pool is nice and the beach is perfect, as is the hotel's location right on St. Pete's beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cafe Soleil is an awesome French bakery just across the street, in the same mall as Publix...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Beach Hotel Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Debbietkd
Business
Ellicott City, Maryland
Aug 10, 2014

Great Little Place

Very clean first of all. They also have a green certification for those that are environmentally conscious. Rooms were very nice. Loved having a full kitchenette and being in walking distance to the grocery store. Nicely located on the beach. Suggestion: Ask for a room facing the court yard. Small, clean and friendly. Enjoy your stay - we did. :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Less than two miles away - Try Beverly's for breakfast and Snappers for dinner. :)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Beach Hotel Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Seville nurse
Business
Seville, OH
Jul 12, 2014

Great Beach

Need new mattresses. Can't take beach furniture to the waters edge. Pool area and patio has NO SHADE, very hot. Otherwise fantastic experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Beach Hotel Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MAH354
Business
Texas
Jun 2, 2014

Hotel stay

When we arrived we were asked to stay the first night at the Bay Palms property across the road on the bay side. The room at that roperty was actually nicer and much newer than the room we moved to at the Plaza beach hotel the next day. The best part of the Plaza property is the proximity to the beach. House keeping did the very minimum every day even leaving dishes in the sink for multiple days and re-folding towels we left on the floor. It would have been a nicer stay if the room was cleaner and more up-to-date.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Recommend Snappers for their early bird specials daily from 4pm to 5pm. Everything was less than $13 per dish and very good. The special included a small sample size piece of key lime pie.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Beach Hotel Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cristi's Mom
Business
Knoxville, TN
Jun 1, 2014

Close to ideal

The hotel location is perfect for a family looking to spend time on the beach and grab a boat cruise. Grocery, food, shops, and dolphin cruise are across the street. Hotel is on the beach. The facility is well maintained, neat and quiet. There are not many amenities other than a bar, small putt-putt course and chairs and some toys for preschoolers far inland on the beach. They do have a nice clean saltwater pool but call to see if they provide towels, it did not look like it. There is coffee in the main office but that is all, none is supplied in the room, no continental breakfast. Two washers and dryers are outside with one soda machine. The room had a kitchen and full bath but the ceiling in the bathroom was low so if you are tall (5' 10" ft or more) you will have a hard time getting your head wet in the shower. If you are on the second floor there is no elevator to use. The beach was outstanding - clear, warm water and soft white sand; stingrays swam among the people. Birds went about their business looking for food. The people on the beach were very respectful of the animals as well which made it that much more enjoyable. Shell Island was a great trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Minimize meal cost by purchasing your own food and keeping it in the room. There is a small kitchen with fridge, stove, microwave, pots, pans, toaster, plates, utensils, etc.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Beach Hotel Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travel for rest
Business
San Diego, California
May 18, 2014

Great View and Kindness

Location is perfect, and staffs are awesome! Happy hours are friendly!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Beach Hotel Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mileszs
Business
Indianapolis
Apr 29, 2014

Exactly What We Wanted

We wanted to get away to a beautiful beach for a few days. We wanted a hotel on the beach, with a pool, and that would otherwise sort of get out of our way, if you will. We loved Plaza Beach Hotel! The pool is actually on the beach (my wife hates sand, I love it, so this was perfect). The staff was extremely friendly and helpful when we had questions. We spent as little time as possible in the room, but it did boast a king-sized bed, refrigerator, range, and sink. (Importantly, there was a wine bottle opener and a wine glass, so my cab and I could enjoy the sunset. My wife came, too.) My wife was impressed -- I actually booked this vacation, which doesn't ever happen. She said she would like to stay here again. I hope we do so soon!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There's a little French bakery beside Publix called Café Soleil. It had only been open a week when we were there. Everyone working there speaks French (and sounds as if it is their first language), and also happens to be extremely kind. The pastries are fantastic, as is the coffee.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Beach Hotel Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BobLiz30
Business
Syracuse, NY
Mar 24, 2014

Great 30th anniversary vacation

The location was perfect, right on the gulf beach. The suite was complete with plenty of room, a kitchenette, cable TV, king bed, nice bathroom, plenty of dresser space & storage, many windows, & a sliding glass door to our furnished patio on the gulf beach front. The pool was warm & spacious. Our gulf beach front view was excellent. Free beer & wine at happy hour every day. This hotel had a sister hotel across the street where you could get a fishing pole & fish the bay, if you please. The front desk, maintenance, & house-cleaning were very friendly & excellent at their jobs. We were there for one week & it was worth every dollar. Great Vacation!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Plenty of fine dining at affordable prices nearby

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top