$88 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 22, 2015 Check-out: Apr 23, 2015

Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove

3 stars
View map of 6800 Sunshine Skyway Lane, St. Petersburg, FL 33711

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
54 reviews
Just one night

We were there for one night and they were out of regular rooms so they upgraded us to a townhouse.... See full review

  • Pollu
  • May 17, 2014
One night on business

I had one extra night to finish off a biz trip and decided to try the Magnuson. It's a well kept... See full review

  • Bob H.
  • Mar 10, 2015
Stay and play at the Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove! With an average of 360 days of sunshine a year, two pools and a private beach, this full service 18 acre tropical resort is located directly on Tampa Bay in St. Petersburg, Florida. The Magnuson Hotel - Marina Cove offers first class service and amenities and is convenient to nearby Gulf Beaches, attractions and all there is to do in St. Petersburg, Florida and the Tampa Bay area. The waterfront accommodations of the Magnuson Hotel - Marina Cove are ideal for both business and leisure travelers.
We offer FREE parking, FREE internet access and there are no resort fees

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove Rooms

COURTYARD - DOUBLE
Relax in a spacious 2 Double Bed room with a beautiful pool or garden view. Lifestyle amenities like high speed wireless internet, refrigerator, cable TV, air conditioning, ceiling fan, free local calls, coffeemaker, hairdryer, iron and ironing board, and in room safe.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Game room
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Tropicana Field: 5.2 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Host your next St. Petersburg, Florida conference, private party or special event at the Magnuson Hotel - Marina Cove. We offer over 5,000 square feet of indoor meeting and event space, as well as an outdoor pavilion that is perfect for networking events, social gatherings, and wedding receptions. Catering, audio/visual equipment, group rates and event planning assistance are available.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
21 out of 54
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
3.1
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3
Location:
3.1
Value:
3.1

43% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bob H.
Business
Troy
Mar 10, 2015

One night on business

I had one extra night to finish off a biz trip and decided to try the Magnuson. It's a well kept old vintage hotel/motel on the bay. Nice little beach area, a couple of pool choices, a bar on the beach... reasonable price. It is an old place so if your neighbors are noisy, you will hear it. But I would stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cristy Bowen
Business
Lakeland , Fl.
Jul 7, 2014

July4th vacation

The hotel is on the bay so the water is not something you would want to swim in. And it is smelly. If you do not have a boat it is not an ideal place to stay. The pool area is nice and the rooms were just okay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
JWH673
Business
Louisville Ky
Jun 17, 2014

Fire Ants & Fleas !!!

HORRIBLE off Hwy 275 . From the moment we walked in and asked about the private beach the staff kinda giggled and said the don't know why the website says that it is very small area covered with seaweed and garbage broken glass little boy cut foot there and for 6 days you could still see blood on seawall room was very outdated Ac OK at best from first day after walk by beach my ankles and calf's were bit about 100 times HORRIBLE and website says breakfast listed under amenities with surcharge next to it THATS A LIE pay for it just like lunch and dinner manager says surcharge means you pay he was a joke didn't see anything wrong with listing it under amenities stay clear of this place BAD DEAL

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Knox guy
Business
Knoxville, TN
May 3, 2014

Great price, but very aged

The price and privacy is great but the rooms are very old. The pools are nice but there is no beach at all despite being right on the bay. Property sits on a sea wall. Views are great, food is ok but you have to drive a good distance to get to decent restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
THE FIGLIO'S
Business
VIRGINIA
May 1, 2014

GREAT VALUE

GREAT VIEW REALLY NICE HOTEL.. YOU WILL NOT DISAPPOINTED.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
The vacation guider
Business
St. Louis
Jul 26, 2013

Nice 2 star hotel, but the smell is bad

The sea weed on the property next to the hotel is unbelievably bad. We checked in and had to move rooms with induce minutes of looking at our room. The front desk help was very understanding, and explained the smell. We checked out after staying only two nights after everyone was complaining. The rooms are dated but mostly clean. I would not stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Nothing is close by.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
fisherman francis
Business
stoughton, MA
Jun 17, 2013

fisherman frank

they should not be able to advertise that the hotel has a beach. It's small and not suitable to swim in. Staff was helpful, friendly; food was good and reasonable

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dianne and Dara
Business
Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
May 13, 2013

Great value for the price

The staff is very friendly and so were the room attendants. The location is perfect as it is close to the highway and easy access to St. Petes and Tampa. You would need a car if you stay at this location as there is not alot in walking distance, but it is a great price, so adding a car to your trip is pretty cheap. I would stay at that location again. It is a 3 star for sure, so dont expect a 5 star hotel. Pool is clean and well kept. A cute hotel for the price for sure. We went to a couple Tampa Bay Rays games and Tropicana Field is a quick direct drive from the hotel. Easy access for sure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Beaulls outlet is a close drive and great sales.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
avagrace
Business
lockport ny
Apr 1, 2013

not what I expected

The pool was the only good thing about this hotel. The room was nothing special. It needed to be updated. Old tv ! The beach smelled disgusting and there was seaweed and garbage. It was a small area and if there was a rake around I would have raked it myself. I would never stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
abcdefghijklmnopqrstuvwzy
Business
Hudson, Wisconsin
Feb 19, 2013

Basic Hotel

We arrived late in evening to room to find tv not working. The staff came up quickly but the first guy was very little help so had to wait on second guy who was able to assist us. The grounds were nicer than I expected after reading some previous reviews. Because of timing did not really get to use any facilities other than room. Room was super cold and couldn't figure out how to heat. After the help with tv didn't think to call again for heating assistance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top