$93 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 25, 2015 Check-out: Apr 26, 2015

Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove

3 stars
View map of 6800 Sunshine Skyway Lane, St. Petersburg, FL 33711

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
56 out of 56
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
3.6
Value:
3.5

70% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
The vacation guider
Business
St. Louis
Jul 26, 2013

Nice 2 star hotel, but the smell is bad

The sea weed on the property next to the hotel is unbelievably bad. We checked in and had to move rooms with induce minutes of looking at our room. The front desk help was very understanding, and explained the smell. We checked out after staying only two nights after everyone was complaining. The rooms are dated but mostly clean. I would not stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Nothing is close by.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
fisherman francis
Business
stoughton, MA
Jun 17, 2013

fisherman frank

they should not be able to advertise that the hotel has a beach. It's small and not suitable to swim in. Staff was helpful, friendly; food was good and reasonable

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dianne and Dara
Business
Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
May 13, 2013

Great value for the price

The staff is very friendly and so were the room attendants. The location is perfect as it is close to the highway and easy access to St. Petes and Tampa. You would need a car if you stay at this location as there is not alot in walking distance, but it is a great price, so adding a car to your trip is pretty cheap. I would stay at that location again. It is a 3 star for sure, so dont expect a 5 star hotel. Pool is clean and well kept. A cute hotel for the price for sure. We went to a couple Tampa Bay Rays games and Tropicana Field is a quick direct drive from the hotel. Easy access for sure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Beaulls outlet is a close drive and great sales.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jayf1
Business
Madison, FL
May 2, 2013

Laid back great atmosphere

Laid back great atmosphere. Great place to relax!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
1971John G
Business
Stuart Fl
Apr 26, 2013

A great getaway

This was a really nice hotel, great layout, had that mini resort feel. We stayed in a room listed with a parking lot view but in all actuality the back sliding glass doors looked out over the pools and you could see the water from our room. The staff was friendly and attentive and apparently the owners of this hotel have had it for over 30 years. Had that resort feel without being overly commercialized. Bicycle rentals were available as well and security was excellent. Would definitely stay there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

great location, easy to get on highway to go to all attractions in the area

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
avagrace
Business
lockport ny
Apr 1, 2013

not what I expected

The pool was the only good thing about this hotel. The room was nothing special. It needed to be updated. Old tv ! The beach smelled disgusting and there was seaweed and garbage. It was a small area and if there was a rake around I would have raked it myself. I would never stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sunshine217
Business
massachusetts
Feb 27, 2013

convenient location

My friends and I really enjoyed staying at this hotel. The room was clean and the pools and beach were very nice. The view from the tiki bar was beautiful! The staff was friendly and the food was good. We would definitely go back again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dfb51
Business
NYC
Feb 22, 2013

Exceeded expectations

Lovely setting and facities. Especially at the price. Staff was great. Dated and could be cleaner looking but will stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

See the Dali Museum and drive out to Ft. Desoto beach.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ease
Business
Iowa
Feb 20, 2013

Great location on the bay.

It was rather cool so we were not able to us the out door pools or beach. The small tiki bar was a fun experience. We had a problem with water supply. The management gladly made things better by supplying a gift certificate for breakfast. The dining area was charming. The bed was comfortable. The price was reasonable. This is for those who are not too fussy and looking for a laid back experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
abcdefghijklmnopqrstuvwzy
Business
Hudson, Wisconsin
Feb 19, 2013

Basic Hotel

We arrived late in evening to room to find tv not working. The staff came up quickly but the first guy was very little help so had to wait on second guy who was able to assist us. The grounds were nicer than I expected after reading some previous reviews. Because of timing did not really get to use any facilities other than room. Room was super cold and couldn't figure out how to heat. After the help with tv didn't think to call again for heating assistance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top