La Quinta Inn Tampa Bay St Petersburg

3 stars
4999 34th St North, 4999 34th St North, Saint Petersburg, FL 33714
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
140 reviews
good place to relax

The staff was very friendly rooms very clean and comfortable See full review

  • jhonatan97
  • Oct 8, 2014
Clean room, friendly staff, good experience

We stayed one night, and the room was very clean, simple, just what we needed. Great price,... See full review

  • onika
  • Feb 21, 2014
Samsung Flat-panel TVs with 30 channels of HD programming. Easy-access Plug-and-Play feature makes it simple to connect electronics. You will notice the old world charm when you arrive at the La Quinta Inn St. Petersburg. Relax in courtyard while enjoying the fountain and tropical landscaping. Lounge on the sundeck around the heated outdoor swimming pool as palms wave overhead. Begin each day with a Free Bright Side Breakfast awaiting you in the lobby. Rooms are spacious, clean and filled with useful amenities such as free high-speed Internet access. Enjoy a workout in our well-equipped fitness center. The La Quinta Inn St. Petersburg is close to all popular attractions: Beautiful Gulf Beaches, Tropicana Field- Home of the Tampa Bay Rays, BayWalk Center and the St. Pete Pier, Mahaffey Theatre, Janis Landing, and Salvador Dali Museum. Raymond James Stadium, Busch Gardens and the St. Pete Times Forum are also nearby. Conveniently located between St. Petersburg and Clearwater, west of Interstate 275 (exit 26B). Meeting facilities are also available.

La Quinta Inn Tampa Bay St Petersburg Rooms

Deluxe
King Room Non-Smoking Relaxing and comfortable room with king bed, oversized work area and dataport phone with voice mail and free local calls, and 25-inch TV with expanded cable.
Standard
Two Full or Queen Beds Relaxing and comfortable room with two full or queen beds, oversized desk and dataport phone with voice mail and free local calls
Standard
Two Full Non Smoking Relaxing and comfortable room with two full beds, oversized desk and two dataport phones with voice mail and free local calls, 25-inch TV with expanded cable, movies and Nintendo

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
FEMA approved
Activities
Heated pool
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Sauna
Jogging track
Boating
Scuba diving
Fishing
Dining
Continental breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Meal plan - continental
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Laundry/Valet services
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Copy service
Audio visual equipment
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Bath tub

Hotel Map

27.8174 -82.6794
Nearby airports
Tampa Intl Airport, (TPA), 25.00, MI, NE; St. Pete/Clearwater Intl Airport, (PIE), 25.00, MI, NE;
Area description
Suburban

Nearby points of interest

  • Tropicana Field: 4.3 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (140)

Ratings and reviews for La Quinta Inn Tampa Bay St Petersburg

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
140 out of 140
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
3.4
Value:
3.7

70% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of La Quinta Inn Tampa Bay St Petersburg

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Richmond, VA
Jan 18, 2010

Decent Room at a good price

We were in St. Petersburg for a collector's show. This La Quinta Inn is older, but well maintained and clean. The free breakfast was very nice and way more than ample. The grounds were pleasant and clean. My only concern was some mold in the bathroom shower stall. Otherwise the room was very clean, but small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Lots of dining opportunities a short distance to the north of the motel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn Tampa Bay St Petersburg

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Michele who loves Florida
Business
western NY
Jan 4, 2010

Would not stay here for free!

I had to change hotels immediately. I would not have stayed here free of charge!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn Tampa Bay St Petersburg

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cat an Ali's dad
Business
WV
Oct 20, 2009

nice little place, seemed kinda old tho

I basically was just wanting a place to sleep while visiting friends. I stayed at La Quinta years ago and liked it, but this was not the same quality. Overall it was OK.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn Tampa Bay St Petersburg

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Pattie T
Business
Florida
Sep 20, 2009

Good for the price

We were only there for one night, not a bad stay for the price. The breakfast was good, the rooms clean. The outside could use a little cleaning but overall not bad.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn Tampa Bay St Petersburg

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Baltimore, MD
Aug 14, 2009

Horrible

Hotel did not have everything that the website says it has. We had to wait three days for a refrigerator and we never did get a microwave. Never found the heated pool. They never changed the sheets the whole week we were there. Not clean at all! Had to change rooms because the smell in the first room was horrible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn Tampa Bay St Petersburg

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Williamsport, PA
Jul 29, 2009

nice for the price

This motel is close to Tropicana Baseball Field, has a beautiful courtyard even though location is on major street in the city of St. Pete - nice pool and continental breakfast. Room had no towels or soap when we checked in and it took two phone calls and a trip to the front desk to obtain these. Low price, convenient location, and tropical foliage in courtyard make this a good choice for baseball game or downtown St. Pete activities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

North Beach in the state park is well worth the drive south on 275. Changing rooms, lifeguards and undisturbed natural beauty makes this one of the most attractive beaches. Parking is plentiful and except for tolls to get there, no charge for the beach!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn Tampa Bay St Petersburg

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bigfisch
Business
Palm Bay, FL
Jul 11, 2009

Great place to stay for a Rays Game

Great customer service, real well done continental breakfast and the pool was clean and enjoyable. It seems like La Quinta is really trying to please their customers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Right behind a Denny's, kids eat free on Tuesdays!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn Tampa Bay St Petersburg

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orlando, FL
Jul 5, 2009

Good Value for Family

Check in was quick and effort less. Our room had easy access. Location has plenty of restaurants/grocery stores nearby. To get to the beaches you head West and there are several about 15 to 20 minutes away to choose from. A lot of hotels advertise free internet on Orbitz, this one meant it. Breakfast is nice, waffles, cereal, bagels, toast, or muffins. If you like a different kind of breakfast then there's a Denny's about 50 yards from hotel property. Pool area was nice. There is also a water fountain with benches nearby you can relax on. Not enough towels, not enough pillows, and mattresses were shot. Mattress was like a marshmallow, so my wife and I didn't get much sleep; which is why we only stayed one night. We registered for 4 people and we had 4 pillows. Towels are small so you need two to dry off with. Check out took as long as driving to the beach! There were two guests in front of me; switching rooms. Also, they must have a special card for frequent flyers/discounts which they were registering for while people were trying to check out. With only one counter person; the rest of us had to wait while these guests straightened out their mess. To be fair to the hotel, by the time these guys were done with her, they asked how long before they could move from the rooms they were in to the updated rooms, as she tried to answer them; they reminded her their in the other rooms their moving out of, so she advised them to move when they were ready. What a stupid question! Solution for Hotel, maybe more than one person around and person behind counter can call for backup while their being held hostage by yo-yos; so the rest of us can hand in our keys, get going, and write good reviews. The General manager gave his cell phone # on a card with your keys; however, if he wanted me to take him serious, then he would have replaced the mattresses with medium quality ones and given at least two pillows per person. If unsure how many people, then extra pillows in closet; or at check in person could confirm how many people in party and offer extra pillows/towels then.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

From hotel you take I-275 South; get in Left lane and take exit 23 (I 375) to The Pier. The Pier has two restaurants, and a bunch of shops. There is parking (parking meters) close the building which is an inverted pyramid, a park with a beach area, fishing around the building and on the bridge driving to and from building. There are a lot of beaches about 15 to 20 minutes away. Make sure you have quarters for parking meters. Check around as there is beach parking charging 10 a day and you can drive looking for the parking meters and pay $1 or $2, leave to have some lunch/dinner and come back. We went to Maderia beach twice. There were showers to rinse off with. Bathrooms to change clothes in. I recommend if you are leaving to put your stuff in your vehicle and walk away as people will be hounding you for your spot when they come about 1pm or later. I had to advise one lady as she told my wife to keep her car moving, "Is it OK if I get in the car before my wife gets moving?" Such a nice lady, she gave me permission to get in my car before it drives off so they can park their vehicle.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn Tampa Bay St Petersburg

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tampa, FL
Jul 5, 2009

Not the Best, Not the Worst

We found a used piece of soap and used shampoo in the shower and a few small hairs on 2 or 3 counter tops so the room was not as clean as we would have expected. The sheets & comforters we're fresh, but at least one comforter had some past cigarette damage. The tub in our "non-smoking" room had a cigarette burn on it, but the room didn't smell like smoke. The TV remote didn't work so we changed channels manually at the TV, but the signal would go out & come back when changing channels. The beds were a little hard, but comfortable enough to sleep. The hot water was good, but the water pressure was somewhat low & adjusting the shower head to make it spray harder caused the spray pattern to become too wide to be useful. On the plus side the A/C worked well, and the continental breakfast was good and extensive (including make-your-own waffles with 2 waffle irons, boiled eggs, yogurt, fruit, cereal, toast, bagels, milk, apple juice, & orange juice). The 1st floor ice machine I used worked well; the 2nd story one I saw required use of the room key, but I didn't try it. The pool (hours 9 AM - 10 PM) looked nice, but didn't get a chance to swim in it. The central courtyard area and fountain were nice and well landscaped. Parking was good (well-lighted, in some areas) and had good shade for the morning sun on the East side of the motel (only 2 stories, no elevator seen). Vending machines were adjacent to some ice machines in the center hallways. The keys are a bit tricky - make sure you push them all the way in past the lip or else they won't work. The WiFi didn't really work in my room which was in the center but on the outside of the hotel. My laptop said I was connected to LaQuinta's Wifi, but I couldn't get any websites to pull up through their Wifi connection. It was OK for the relatively low price, but it was still somewhat less than I expected from other reviews I read. The cleanliness should have been better, the TV & remote should have worked correctly, and the Wifi should have worked. On the other hand the free continental breakfast was good and extensive and was re-stocked well by the attendant. The location wasn't good for us as we traveled back and forth to South St Pete Beach, but it was much less expensive than any place on the beach. I would recommend this motel for someone primarily looking for low cost and value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Take advantage of the free continental breakfast in the garden cafe, but it only runs from 7 AM to 9 AM or 7AM to 10AM on weekends. Check out time is 12 PM.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn Tampa Bay St Petersburg

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jo-Jo_FL
Business
Apopka, FL
Jun 28, 2009

Great Deal

Great price for a clean room near the beach and downtown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top