Guy Harvey Outpost, a Tradewinds Beach Resort

3 stars
6000 Gulf Blvd., St. Pete Beach, FL 33706
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
178 reviews
2nd time here

We had a great time here in 2013 so chose to return this year. See full review

  • KCNM
  • Mar 18, 2014
Guy Harvey

Absolutely great , staff very courteous and grounds are very nice See full review

  • Stimpy69
  • May 6, 2013
Tropical Oasis on St. Pete Beach

Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort is nestled on the pristine shores of St. Pete Beach, where vacationing couples and holidaymakers can enjoy various water activities like fishing and diving. The intimate atmosphere at this tropical vacation spot offers opportunity for relaxation, but also family fun. The property is 30 minutes from Tampa International Airport. Services and amenities include a fully-equipped fitness center, two swimming pools, whirlpool, hammocks along the beach and the Guy Harvey Outfitter Shop. Guests have complete access to all restaurants, entertainment venues and amenities at neighboring TradeWinds Island Grand, including tennis, spa and children's activities.

Highlights
  • Two heated pools, courtyard and adults-only pool with whirlpool
  • Poolside bingo and card games
  • Stay at 1...Play at 2 - Paddleboats, tennis courts, giant waterslide, mini-golf, and more available at sister hotel next door
Rooms
Accommodations at Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort, include courtyard view suites with separate bedroom, two double beds, living area with sofa bed and kitchenette. Standard rooms have a wet bar with fridge, coffee maker, toaster, two double beds and views of Gulf Boulevard. Courtyard view rooms overlook the garden or courtyard and beachfront suites offer sparkling views of the Gulf of Mexico from the living area. All rooms are non-smoking and offer high-speed Internet access.
Features
Guests at Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort, enjoy many opportunities for recreation at the neighboring sister resort, TradeWinds Island Grand. Families staying at Guy Harvey Outpost can participate in activities like tennis, mini-golf, or check out Li’l Guys Activity Hut where guests can rent paddle boards or shop for snorkeling and diving gears. Enjoy an elegant meal at the Palm Court Italian Grill or visit Guy’s Gulfside Grill for casual, poolside meals.  For tropical drinks, head to the Sand Bar. The property's fitness center (for guests 18 and over or 16 when accompanied by an adult) includes treadmills, bikes and Nautilus circuit machines.  The Body Works Salon offers massages, skin and hair treatments. Island Outpost is an on-site shop for resort wear and sundries.
Transportation
  • Tampa International Airport and St. Petersburg/Clearwater Airport  (30 minutes)
  • Transfers are available to and from all local airports through on-site resort transportation services
  • Trolley service stops at Island Grand, allowing guests to explore nearby beach communities
Local Attractions
  • Tropicana Field
  • Salvador Dali Museum
  • Sunken Gardens
  • The Pier
Business
  • 56,000 total square feet of function space (30,000 square feet of air-conditioned space, 26,000 square feet of breezeways and open-air space)
Policies & Fees
  • The property chages a nightly resort fee of $35 (plus tax) for all types of rooms (multi-bedroom units and penthouses are not extra)
  • Resort fee includes: daily $15 parking fee, Wireless Internet Access, $1 each local, toll-free and operator-assisted phone calls, use of fitness centers, beach cabanas, unlimited High Tide Slide Rides, business center computers and printers, incoming and outgoing faxes, daily newspaper delivery and in-room safe
  • Must be 21 years old to check in
  • Pets are not allowed

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Guy Harvey Outpost, a Tradewinds Beach Resort Rooms

Courtyard View Suite
Separate bedroom with 2 double beds plus a double-size sofa bed in the separate living area. Kitchen includes refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, toaster, dishware and mini-bar; WiFi and daily newspaper. View of the tranquil North Courtyard or Oasis Courtyard pool area. Non-smoking only.
Standard Hotel Room
Cozy room with an entrance and window off the walkway overlooking the parking area and Gulf Boulevard. Comes with 2 double beds and is complete with all your basic needs including a wet bar area with mini fridge, microwave, coffee maker, toaster, and mini-bar; WiFi and daily newspaper. Non-smoking only.
Courtyard View Hotel Room
Enjoy the refreshing Gulf breeze overlooking the tranquil pond of the North Courtyard or Oasis Courtyard. Includes 2 double beds with a wet bar area, mini fridge, microwave, coffee maker, toaster, and mini-bar; WiFi and daily newspaper. Non-smoking only.
Beachfront Suite
Enjoy breathtaking views of radiant sunsets and the sparkling Gulf of Mexico. Offers a separate bedroom with 2 double beds plus a double-size sofa bed in the separate living area. Kitchen includes refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, toaster, dishware and mini-bar; WiFi and daily newspaper. Non-smoking only.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Map

27.7331 -82.7454
Area served
St. Pete Beach, FL
Nearby airports
Tampa International Airport Clearwater/St. Petersburg Airport
Area description
Florida's largest west coast metropolitan area with a population of over 3 million, Tampa Bay has long been known for its cultural diversity, balmy climate, unique attractions and brilliant white sand beaches. TradeWinds Island Grand, on the Gulf of Mexico, is located directly on the white sand beaches of St. Pete Beach - voted the No. 1 beach destination in the U.S. by TripAdvisor's 2012 Travelers' Choice Award - and is certified as a Florida Green Lodge. Just 10 minutes from Fort DeSoto State Park and 30 minutes from Tampa International Airport.

Nearby points of interest

  • Tropicana Field: 7.3 mi

Dining

Guy's Gulfside Grill
Enjoy casual dining with outdoor seating beachfront for good morning breakfasts, right from the pool lunches, afternoon tropical coolers and snacks, and dinners with a sensational sunset view.
Perks Up
Coffee and Cocktails at Guy Harvey Outpost for fresh pastries and muffins, breakfast items and your Starbucks coffee fix. Later in the day, you can catch a few cocktails while waiting for friends in the lobby.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
2300

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (178)

Ratings and reviews for Guy Harvey Outpost, a Tradewinds Beach Resort

Overall score

3.9 / 5
178 out of 178
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Guy Harvey Outpost, a Tradewinds Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Coshocton, Ohio
May 3, 2010

A Fabulous Vacation Getaway

It was a perfect getaway for me and my spouse. We really enjoyed the private beach cabannas.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

You could stay right on the resort or could walk a little down the beach and you had everything right there if you didn't want to leave at all.

Review of Guy Harvey Outpost, a Tradewinds Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Central NY
Apr 25, 2010

Great getaway

Everything we needed was at the resort or within walking distance. It was a very relaxing 4 day getaway and I would definitely go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Good priced entertainment and food can be found along the beach at various locations.

Review of Guy Harvey Outpost, a Tradewinds Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
East Lansing, MI
Apr 25, 2010

Great location, great value, great time!

Very pleased! This was our first time to St. Pete Beach, so when I booked the hotel I wasn't sure about the location or hotel. Everything turned out great. The staff was very helpful, the room was clean and quiet, and the beach cabanas were awesome (and free!). We also loved the adult pool (nice and quiet, never packed) and there is great dining within walking distance. The property was very clean and had a friendly vibe. We didn't have a car, so at check-in they took $15 off the daily resort fee. We were very happy with our overall stay, and would definitely go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We enjoyed some great food! Snapper's was our favorite spot (right across the street), followed by a Mexican restaurant called Agave (very fresh, I'd recommend the fish tacos). Also good Cuban and Greek nearby, just ask the concierge. We were also impressed by the food at Piper's Patio (a casual restaurant in the hotel). The food was reasonably priced and quite good (I'd recommend the veggie wrap).

Review of Guy Harvey Outpost, a Tradewinds Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
St. Paul, MN
Apr 24, 2010

Nice stay at the Sandpiper

We stayed in a Courtyard view standard room. This room was very small, but it was clean and serviceable with 2 queen beds, a small balcony, a small bathroom and kitchenette (minifridge, microwave, dishes). If booking a courtyard view room, I recommend requesting a 5th or 6th floor room, as then you may get a view of the ocean as well. The beach was lovely and the cabannas were convenient, though there is a mandatory resort fee per room per day that covers the cabannas as well as parking. The hotel is conveniently located a few blocks from a grocery store, and there are several restaurants and a nice beach store across the street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Guy Harvey Outpost, a Tradewinds Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
St Pete Beach Lover
Minneapolis, MN
Apr 22, 2010

Love the Sandpiper

Overall, we really enjoyed our time at the Sandpiper. The $25/night additional resort fee gives you access to great pool chairs, towels, and beach cabanas. You also have access to everything at the Trade Winds Island Grand, which had paddle boats for rent. The Island Grand seemed much more fun and I would definitely suggest that over the Sandpiper for a family. Overall, friendly staff and a great price for a quality hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk on the beach to Crabby Bill's for amazing seafood and a great atmosphere!!

Review of Guy Harvey Outpost, a Tradewinds Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
The Carlson's
Hayward, WI
Mar 31, 2010

Great place to stay!

My husband and I had a great time! The beaches are beautiful and clean. The staff was friendly and helpful. Great location, within walking distance to restaurants and such. Just a short drive to other attractions too. Must drive to Treasure Island and eat at Sloppy Joes! And Beach Burger and Buns was just across from the hotel. We ate there 3 times! Great food and we both ate for under $20!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

restaurants

Review of Guy Harvey Outpost, a Tradewinds Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
Weekend Get-a-Way-er
Boston, MA
Mar 30, 2010

Good Experience

Overall great experience. Ideal location on St. Pete Beach. Travelled on a romantic weekend. If you have kids or otherwise looking for a family retreat, I'd recommend staying at the Tradewinds Island Grand; if you're looking to escape or have a romantic weekend or vacation, this is the better location. Very friendly staff. The rooms could you a bit of an update / remodeling, as the sheets and towels were a bit rough. However, the room was adequate considering we didn't spend much time in it; the location of the hotel more than made up for the rooms. Overall, St. Pete Beach, especially this area, was pretty quiet. If you're looking for the bar scene, there are an adequate number of bars, but it's a bit more laid back than I expected. Considering we were there over the weekend, the bars all seemed pretty quiet. A great place to sit back and enjoy the beach with easy access to drinks at your leisure. This line of hotels at St. Pete Beach is the best location to stay at for the area given the central location to everything (walking distance to restaurants and bars) and of course it's on the beach!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Guy Harvey Outpost, a Tradewinds Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
Cape Cod
Mar 30, 2010

Tradewinds Sandpiper 3-24-10 to 3-29-10

Visited local restraunts and the beach areas

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Guy Harvey Outpost, a Tradewinds Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
Phila., PA
Mar 28, 2010

Spring Escape

Hotel was fine. Room a little small. Others in our party got a free upgrade to a larger room. We did not. Thought that was strange. Housekeeping was not the best.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Jp's bar next door.

Review of Guy Harvey Outpost, a Tradewinds Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
New York, NY
Mar 23, 2010

Some great, some not-so-great

The Sandpiper is a good hotel for the price. Some of the employees were amazingly nice and went above and beyond to ensure we had a great trip. Others though, were really slow and even though we were on vacation, we didn't appreciate waiting 10 minutes for service at the restaurant or front desk. The restaurant options at the Grand Island which is another Trade Winds resort were great -- particularly Bermuda's and the Palm Court. There's not much of a nightlife in St. Pete's so we hung out at the Sharktooth Tavern at the Grand Island which was probably the most lively place around. The crowd was fun and the entertainment was generally good. The Adults Only pool at the Sandpiper was probably the highlight. If you're going without kids this is the spot! There's no wind and it's way more quiet than any other area of the resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out Wildwood BBQ and Burger. The cornbread is amazing!

Back to menu Return to top