$152 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 8, 2015 Check-out: Jun 9, 2015

Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center

3 stars
View map of 5250 Gulf Boulevard, St. Pete Beach, FL 33706

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
406 reviews
Long weekend with lady friend!

The hotel was just what we were looking for great rooftop restaurant and right on beach. Beach Bar... See full review

  • Bill 17
  • May 15, 2015
Spring Break - Family

All in all we were very pleased with the Grand Plaza. The staff was excellent and they treated us... See full review

  • Jessica
  • Apr 8, 2015
Fun and sun near St. Pete Beach, with a revolving restaurant up top

The Grand Plaza Beach resort is the tallest and closest hotel to the Gulf of Mexico on St. Pete Beach. Leisure or corporate travelers will find a sanctuary of more than five acres of lush beachfront gardens. Just outside the rooms, guests can step onto the cool, white sand of a private beach for a relaxing West Coast Florida getaway. Enjoy meals by the pool or head inside to dine while checking out the awe-inspiring panoramic views from the window of the slowly revolving bistro.

Highlights
  • Parking, fitness center and Wi-Fi are all complimentary
  • Professionally designed and lit beach volleyball courts
  • Fantastic views from private balconies
  • Rooftop revolving bistro
Location

The resort's ideal location is close to the city of St. Petersburg for fishing, golf, museums, parks and a short day-trip to Tampa's shopping and attractions.

Rooms

All renovated beach resort guest rooms include a furnished private balcony with unparalleled views of the coastline and Gulf of Mexico or the tranquil and soothing Boca Ciega Bay to the east.

Additional room amenities include a refrigerator; microwave; in-room safe; unlimited complimentary wireless Internet access; DVD, MP3 and CD players; iron and ironing board.

One-bedroom beachfront resort suites are available with two private balconies that open to the Gulf of Mexico. Each resort suite has one king bed and one double bed. The parlor to the suite includes a pull-out sleeper sofa and a dining table with seating for four.

Features

With three dining areas located on the property, The Grand Plaza offers restaurant experiences ranging from ground floor pool-side dining and buffets to the top floor's Spinners Rooftop Revolving Bistro. Every seat offers a great and ever-changing view. Guests can opt for dining waterside for breakfast in The Palm Room & Restaurant or head to the sand to try Bongo's Beach Bar and Grille, which takes great pride in its live weekend entertainment and more than 200 fresh frozen tropical drinks.

Transportation
  • Tampa International Airport (TPA) (30 minutes)
  • St. Petersburg/Clearwater International Airport (PIE) (30 minutes)
  • Free ride (car or golf-cart) from St. Pete Beach to other nearby beaches, including Madeira Beach, for shopping and sightseeing
  • Beach trolley runs every 30 minutes from St. Pete Beach to Clearwater Beach
  • Local taxi company across the street
Attractions
  • Tropicana Field
  • Salvador Dali Museum
  • Sunken Gardens
  • The Pier
Business

Grand Plaza Resort & Hotel on St Pete Beach provides facilities for conferences, corporate getaways, business meetings, trade shows, Florida beach weddings, reunions or parties. The staff specializes in "theme" parties and can set up casual barbecue beach parties and company picnics as well as black-tie affairs.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center Rooms

Direct Beachfront Guestroom with Private Furnished Balcony
All Direct Beachfront guestrooms include a private balcony with a view of the Gulf of Mexico and our sugar white soft sandy beach. Each guestroom has a king size bed and one double bed, refrigerator, microwave oven, coffee maker with complimentary coffee, complimentary electronic safe, hairdryer, bathroom toiletries, AM/FM clock radio, ceiling fans, individual air conditioning system, 32 inch television with DVD, CD and MP3 players, free HBO & Disney channels, iron and ironing board, unlimited complimentary wireless internet access, and telephone with voice mail.
Bay & City View Guestroom with Private Furnished Balcony
All Bay & City View guestrooms include a private balcony with a side view of Boca Ciega Bay to the east or the city of St. Pete Beach. Each guestroom has a king size bed and one double bed, refrigerator, microwave oven, coffee maker with complimentary coffee, complimentary electronic safe, hairdryer, bathroom toiletries, AM/FM clock radio, ceiling fans, individual air conditioning system, 32 inch television with DVD, CD and MP3 players, free HBO & Disney channels, iron and ironing board, unlimited complimentary wireless internet access, and telephone with voice mail.
Partial Coastal & Beach View Guestroom with Private Furnished Balcony
All Partial Ocean & Coastal View guestrooms include a private balcony with a side view of the Gulf of Mexico and our sugar white soft sandy beach. Each guestroom has a king size bed and one double bed, refrigerator, microwave oven, coffee maker with complimentary coffee, complimentary electronic safe, hairdryer, bathroom toiletries, AM/FM clock radio, ceiling fans, individual air conditioning system, 32 inch television with DVD, CD and MP3 players, free HBO & Disney channels, iron and ironing board, unlimited complimentary wireless internet access, and telephone with voice mail.
SuperSaver
Each Super Saver guestroom has one king size bed, refrigerator, microwave oven, coffee maker with complimentary coffee, complimentary electronic safe, hairdryer, bathroom toiletries, AM/FM clock radio, individual air conditioning system, 32 inch television with DVD, CD and MP3 players, free HBO & Disney channels, iron and ironing board, unlimited complimentary wireless internet access, and telephone with voice mail.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Night club
Game room
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Wheel chair access
Handicapped parking
Wheelchair accessible elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Tropicana Field: 7.3 mi

Dining

Bongo's Beach Bar & Grille
Directly on the white powdery beach of the Gulf of Mexico the newly designed Bongo's Beach Bar & Grille with its unhurried casual atmosphere is the place to be just for the fun of it. Here there are no pressures or deadlines to meet. Whether kicking back under the sun and grooving to some of the best local live entertainment while savoring over frozen tropical libations or having a bite to eat with your feet in the sand, this is a pleasure lovers dream come true. Open every day Rain or Shine.
The Palm Room and Restaurant
The Palm Room and Restaurant located poolside and overlooking the beach is open daily from 7:00 AM to 11:30 AM serving a breakfast buffet that is sure to get your day off to the right start. Ala cart menu is also offered. Dining options are indoors in lush tropical decorative surroundings, or outdoors with a view of the beach and Gulf of Mexico.
Spinners Revolving Rooftop Bistro & Lounge
Take the glass elevator ride to Spinners Revolving Rooftop Bistro & Lounge for an unsurpassed, constantly revolving 360 degree view of St. Pete Beach and the Gulf of Mexico. Spinners is the only revolving rooftop restaurant on the Gulf Coast of Florida. Not only are the food and service fabulous the constantly changing views are captivating. Throughout the years it continues to be the place where engagements happen, anniversaries and birthdays are celebrated and memories of a lifetime are made.
The menu consists of both local and continental cuisine that will surely awaken all of your pleasure senses is prepared by award winning chefs and served by impeccable wait staff. Lunch and dinner are served daily from 11:00 AM to 10:00 PM.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
If you are looking for a place to getaway or hold a meeting, tradeshow, wedding or party in a casual, serene and upscale atmosphere then our Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort is just the answer you have been looking for. Whether the event is large, small, indoors, outdoors, casual or elegant we can accommodate your every need.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
77 out of 406
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.7

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mel Shaughnessy
Business
Avon
Apr 13, 2013

Didn't love it!

This hotel needs serious renovations and could use a scrub down with bleach. On our third night our daughter found a pair of ladies underwear that didn't belong to us in her pull-down murphy bed! We stayed on the 9th floor and at night it was extremely noisy from the wedding receptions. This is a big wedding destination hotel. The bathroom barely accommodates one person, extremely small! Overall, not a good value. Best part of the hotel is Bongos Beach bar. Suggest you stay elsewhere and walk to Bongos from the beach!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Small, great restaurant a short walking distance across the street called 1200 Chop House.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, GA
Apr 8, 2010

Beautiful Beach- hotel is falling apart!

I booked this hotel for Spring Break- and at 260 a night I expected so much more. Plumbing/ toilet bubbled up anytime someone flushed in other rooms. Super noisy- run down- lots of dry rot. The beach was beautiful but I wouldn't have paid $80 a night if I would have seen it first hand and not on the web.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Go to the Don Cesar instead!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Virginia Baseball Mom
Business
Southwest Virginia
Jul 19, 2009

Nothing to brag about!

Our family spent 3 nights here. Paid more for this hotel because it was ocean front, and supposedly renovated and a "luxury" hotel. The add should've read "If you like sleeping in noisy closet sized, dirty rooms that are completly out-of-date and over priced, stay here." The only thing that looked like it would've been new in 2006 was the ceiling fan. Floors, towels and tub had not been cleaned well. Constant slamming of doors in the hallways. Room was TINY, to say the least; second bed pulled out of wall, then no room to walk thru. TINY bathroom and closet. Palm trees scratching the window panes all night in the breeze, very annoying. Pool was descent size but extra crowded with not many chairs. Penthouse suites may be different; but we were greatly dissapointed. Had the room not been prepaid, we would've left on the first day. Oh yeah, the famous revolving restaurant on top of the hotel does not revolve. Even with do not disturb sign up housekeeping is knocking on your door every 30 minutes from 8 a.m. Very out of date, very over priced. Several nice places close by, shop around!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Passe A Grill was a nice area to drive through and visit, as was John's Pass and the Skyway bridge and pier. Downtown St. Petersburg good if you don't get in wrong section of town.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Charleston, SC
Jul 11, 2010

The internet picture are misleading

The hotel needs some TLC. The maids bring towels and throw the bed together but that's it. The floors were always sandy. The elevator was very slow and was always shared "crowed" with food service going to the top floor restuarant. I spend a lot of time in beach motels and understand the environment takes a great toll of the facilities but it needs to be cleaned with more maintanance. If they can not afford to keep it up then they should sell it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Call other hotels before you book. Don't book a hotel based on their website photos. Call the more expensive hotels and see what kind of deal they can make. We actually left this hotel and moved down the street to the world famous "The Don Cesar". It only cost $60 more per night and provided 5 Star accomodation conpared to the 1 Star maybe 2 that the Grand Plaza provided.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Durham/Raleigh, NC
Apr 13, 2007

Underwhelming

This hotel has great potential but they dont pay attention to the details. Rooms are new well kept and the general appearance of general guest areas was not clean and well kept. The view and beach are great. Parking was very convenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

nice area--plenty of restuarants, places to shop, etc.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dayton, OH
Jun 21, 2007

If I recommend, it depends

Overall, the hotel seems to have the qualifications of being a great place to stay. However, do not be fooled by a good deal. If you purchase a stay at a bargain price, you will definitely be given a bargain room! Our view was a 6' wall outside our balcony. We could not use the balcony at all because one banquet room or ballroom was downstairs next to our 6' wall, where we were the lucky recipients of smokey exhaust during every banquet function while we were there. Our cleaning crew was less than satisfactory, and the replacement coffee pack, for in-room coffe, was soaked all the way through making the coffe unusable. We ordered off the menu for breakfast (yogurt, fruit bowl, buscuits & gravy). All these items were actually on the breakfast buffet, but it took over an hour for us to be served, even though we are sure our waitress filled our order from the already prepared breakfast bar.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

St. Pete Beach is a wonderful area with great nearby shopping, both downtown and outlet mall, recreation and sightseeing. We loved visiting DeSoto Park! Anyone who visits the area should definitely take a day to walk through the Park. It offers a little bit of everything.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St Louis, *
Aug 5, 2008

not the best

The hotel staff was not very friendly upon arrival. We had two rooms we wanted together and they could not accomodate us, we even called ahead for this. Our room was right above the air conditioning unit, which was rather loud. We were upgraded to a partial ocean view room, which was definately partial. We had a better view of the parking lot and air conditioner. The pool was pretty nice and the beach area was nice. I'm kind of confused on the beach chairs. Our room was set up rather differently, you could only see the tv from the bed and if you pulled the sofa bed out, there was no room to walk. The furnishings were nice. The hallways and (only 2)elevators are not air conditioned. I probably would not stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

We did the pirate ship cruise at Mediera Beach. That was alot of fun and the shops there are neat also.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Kandice
Business
Buffalo, NY
Apr 29, 2007

Disappointment

The Grand Plaza Beachfront resort was a disappointment. The rooms were very small and not in good condition. Mold in the tube area, bathroom door was coming apart. The location was in an old neighborhood and while we were at the resort their were 7 weddings on the beach associated with the hotel which crowded the small bar and pool area with guests. This was not the relaxing vacation I was hoping for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Old area of St. Petersburg, restuarants in turn were old and not in good condition.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
dblake1981[@]
Business
Odessa, Tx
Jun 24, 2009

Dont let the pictures fool you.

Room was very small. Noisy late all day long. Was not impressed at all. Couldn't wait to check out. The only staff member that was friendly was the MAID.. [...].Only two elevators for the entire hotel. During our stay, one of the two was broke!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Publix grocery down the street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Babysad
Business
tampa,fl
Jan 2, 2014

Not the room

I have stayed in many different hotels and to be honest, this hotel offers too little for the money. The view of the ocean is awesome but I reserved a full view of the ocean and they gave me room 612 with partial view of the ocean. The floor was full of sand, the room is actually a hallway with two beds, two people cant walk side by side, the room was always warm, I kept setting the AC lower until it was on 60 and it was still warm. There is nothing in the room but coffee, not even a package of creamer. They don't offer breakfast, you have to pay for it For the price of one night at this hotel, is not worth the grief. The staff does the best they can, and they try to help even though the front desk told me there was no other rooms available, I could see from the beach, there were some dark rooms that look empty the whole time we were there. When I called to verify my reservation, they kept telling me that I had a full view of the ocean, but did asked if I was with your Company. Also being new years eve, we asked if the fireworks were visible from the area and they assure me we will see them, another disappointment. They were some so far, you could hardly see them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Rent a villa with full kitchen and full equipped even if you have to walk to see the ocean.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top