$152 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 8, 2015 Check-out: Jun 9, 2015

Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center

3 stars
View map of 5250 Gulf Boulevard, St. Pete Beach, FL 33706

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
407 out of 407
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.9

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Massachusetts family
Business
Boston, Ma
Jul 13, 2013

Good hotel

This hotel was right on the beach and overall the atmosphere was good. The outside restaurant had music and the service was good especially since we had 7 kids with us. The only issue that we had was that they didn't changed the sheets on our bed so there was still sand on the sheets.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
3xer
Business
Georgetown, Indiana
Jun 12, 2013

Third time around

This was our third time staying here, but maybe our last. This is a good place for a first time visit. Beware that this is a destination wedding spot, so it can become somewhat rowdy at times. The best part is the beachfront location. Beautiful sunsets. The hotel provides cabana's (fee), but they are showing their age and need to be replaced. Plenty of activities (jet skis, parasailing) and shops in the area. Easy to get around by car, bike or bus. The room was clean, the bed was awful (worn mattress), the bathroom was tiny. Bongos beach bar was nice, the food was good, but a tad overpriced in my opinion. We love the St. Pete area, but all in all we will probably try somewhere else next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Queen of Skipbo
Business
Central FL
Jul 24, 2013

Restaurant at the top of hotel

This is a cool restaurant with the fact that it revolves and is so awesome at sunset, however, the food was a very big disappointment. I think if someone really amped up the food quality, this could be an awesome place to eat. My daugher and I were there in 2011, my husband wanted me to take him and I asked him WHY? Nothing to go back for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Pool Q
Business
Northern Kentucky
Aug 18, 2013

Nothing special for the price

The hotel was very convenient to the beach and had a wonderful little bar outside. It was nice that they had free parking and Internet and no resort fees. Elevators inside were slow so we took the stairs everytime to the 4th floor. While I understand that it is on the beach, the tiled floors in our room still had sand and was kind of gross to walk barefoot. Pillows on the bed were a strange size, they were half the size of a standard pillow and very tall making it difficult to get comfortable. Showers were hard to operate; hot and cold were reversed therefore scalding my foot. Certainly wasn't a $150.00 (discount) a night experience

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jimbomac7
Business
Florida
Sep 9, 2013

Nice getaway

It was clean & close to the beach. Restaurants were a little pricey.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Several restaurants close by

Review of Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Adam 222
Business
Temple TX
Jun 3, 2014

need to fix few things

The bathroom all the time smile awful and get worse when the fan on, poor lightening, too dark at the ironing board cabin and the bathtub . they offer a free wireless, however it useless because too slow and keep disconnection . Location great, friendly staff, good view and great food at the Spinners

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Honeymoon Island

Review of Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
3xer
Business
Georgetown, Indiana
May 26, 2014

five time guest

Fifth time staying here, they have made some minor upgrades to the bathroom and guest furniture. Nothing special as it is getting a little dated. This is a wedding destination so expect a lot of partying going on, especially at Bongos beach bar. Though not directly owned by the hotel, the beach cabanas are in disrepair, and could use replacing. Will probably return again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to Pass-A-Grill, two miles south and visit Hurricanes for dinner and sunset.

Review of Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia, Pa
Jun 16, 2011

Pretty Nice

The beach was beautiful. The rooms in the hotel were just ok but the bed was very comfortable. I wish we had a better view when we stayed but for the money we paid the view was ok. I would not eat at the resturant upstairs again the food was not very good and it was very unafforable. The beach bar was great and had better food then spinner (the resturant on the roof). I am not sure if I would stay here again. I would probably try somewhere eles on the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Albany, NY
Jul 19, 2007

Last stay

I was very dissatisfied with the room; the bed was very uncomfortable,linens weretoo small for the bed and very poor quality. The pillows were practically nonexistent. Our room was left opened by cleaning staff on one occasion. Every evening our bathroom had a very strong cigarette smoke odor, so much so that we had to keep the door closed. The solution by the front desk was to send staff up to spray the room with air freshenerinstead of investigating the problem since this was a non-smoking hotel. Lack of elevators. There are only 2 small ones in the entire hotel and their rooftop restaurant, Spinners draws alot of non-hotel traffic. Wait time for the elevator was too long!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

There are many beautiful beaches, parks,boat trips within a short distance from the hotel.

Review of Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Becka8908
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Aug 2, 2010

Nice hotel, nice location, old building

I loved the location of this hotel. It made my experience very enjoyable. I had a room facing the sunset, which was awesome. The balcony was nice, but often felt hot because the AC unit blew hot air onto the balcony. The AC unit in the room was very noisy. The room was clean, but needed a major overhaul. The couch and desk chair had a ton of stains on them. When I first got into the bed, I felt sand on the sheets, and then requested the sheets be changed. My room was directly off the elevator, but that wasn't a huge problem. The noise was only bad when someone was screaming or talking loudly. The food at Bongo's was good, although I personally think the food is the same at all the restaurents at this hotel. $5 charge to use the internet, even just to get boarding passes. They do give complimentary beach towels. Overall, I loved my time at this hotel, primarily because it was so peaceful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

There isn't really nightlife in the area. The beach bar was opened until about 1am, but the bar next door closed at 11. Very quiet area.

Back to menu Return to top