$112 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 24, 2014 Check-out: Dec 26, 2014

Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center

3 stars
5250 Gulf Boulevard, St. Pete Beach, FL 33706
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
360 reviews
FUN AND RELAXING!

FRIENDLY AND ACCOMMODATING STAFF!!! COMFY ROOMS AND BEDS!BEAUTIFUL VIEW! See full review

  • Sad Suzie
  • Oct 3, 2014
Great!!!

The rooms are great, very clean and comfortable. Had plenty of room. The hotel staff was out every... See full review

  • MR4821
  • Aug 22, 2014
Fun and sun near St. Pete Beach, with a revolving restaurant up top

The Grand Plaza Beach resort is the tallest and closest hotel to the Gulf of Mexico on St. Pete Beach. Leisure or corporate travelers will find a sanctuary of more than five acres of lush beachfront gardens. Just outside the rooms, guests can step onto the cool, white sand of a private beach for a relaxing West Coast Florida getaway. Enjoy meals by the pool or head inside to dine while checking out the awe-inspiring panoramic views from the window of the slowly revolving bistro.

Highlights
  • Parking, fitness center and Wi-Fi are all complimentary
  • Professionally designed and lit beach volleyball courts
  • Fantastic views from private balconies
  • Rooftop revolving bistro
Location

The resort's ideal location is close to the city of St. Petersburg for fishing, golf, museums, parks and a short day-trip to Tampa's shopping and attractions.

Rooms

All renovated beach resort guest rooms include a furnished private balcony with unparalleled views of the coastline and Gulf of Mexico or the tranquil and soothing Boca Ciega Bay to the east.

Additional room amenities include a refrigerator; microwave; in-room safe; unlimited complimentary wireless Internet access; DVD, MP3 and CD players; iron and ironing board.

One-bedroom beachfront resort suites are available with two private balconies that open to the Gulf of Mexico. Each resort suite has one king bed and one double bed. The parlor to the suite includes a pull-out sleeper sofa and a dining table with seating for four.

Features

With three dining areas located on the property, The Grand Plaza offers restaurant experiences ranging from ground floor pool-side dining and buffets to the top floor's Spinners Rooftop Revolving Bistro. Every seat offers a great and ever-changing view. Guests can opt for dining waterside for breakfast in The Palm Room & Restaurant or head to the sand to try Bongo's Beach Bar and Grille, which takes great pride in its live weekend entertainment and more than 200 fresh frozen tropical drinks.

Transportation
  • Tampa International Airport (TPA) (30 minutes)
  • St. Petersburg/Clearwater International Airport (PIE) (30 minutes)
  • Free ride (car or golf-cart) from St. Pete Beach to other nearby beaches, including Madeira Beach, for shopping and sightseeing
  • Beach trolley runs every 30 minutes from St. Pete Beach to Clearwater Beach
  • Local taxi company across the street
Attractions
  • Tropicana Field
  • Salvador Dali Museum
  • Sunken Gardens
  • The Pier
Business

Grand Plaza Resort & Hotel on St Pete Beach provides facilities for conferences, corporate getaways, business meetings, trade shows, Florida beach weddings, reunions or parties. The staff specializes in "theme" parties and can set up casual barbecue beach parties and company picnics as well as black-tie affairs.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center Rooms

Direct Beachfront Guestroom with Private Furnished Balcony
All Direct Beachfront guestrooms include a private balcony with a view of the Gulf of Mexico and our sugar white soft sandy beach. Each guestroom has a king size bed with a Simmons Health Smart mattress and one double bed so you can one of the best night's sleep ever. Also provided is a sofa for casual relaxation, refrigerator, microwave oven, coffee maker with complimentary coffee, complimentary electronic safe, hairdryer, bathroom toiletries, AM/FM clock radio, ceiling fans, individual air conditioning system, 32 inch television with DVD, CD and MP3 players, free HBO & Disney channels, iron and ironing board, unlimited complimentary wireless internet access, and telephone with voice mail.
Bay & City View Guestroom with Private Furnished Balcony
All Bay & City View guestrooms include a private balcony with a side view of Boca Ciega Bay to the east or the city of St. Pete Beach. Each guestroom has a king size bed with a Simmons Health Smart mattress and one double bed so you can one of the best night's sleep ever. Also provided is a sofa for casual relaxation, refrigerator, microwave oven, coffee maker with complimentary coffee, complimentary electronic safe, hairdryer, bathroom toiletries, AM/FM clock radio, ceiling fans, individual air conditioning system, 32 inch television with DVD, CD and MP3 players, free HBO & Disney channels, iron and ironing board, unlimited complimentary wireless internet access, and telephone with voice mail.
Partial Coastal & Beach View Guestroom with Private Furnished Balcony
All Partial Ocean & Coastal View guestrooms include a private balcony with a side view of the Gulf of Mexico and our sugar white soft sandy beach. Each guestroom has a king size bed with a Simmons Health Smart mattress and one double bed so you can one of the best night's sleep ever. Also provided is a sofa for casual relaxation, refrigerator, microwave oven, coffee maker with complimentary coffee, complimentary electronic safe, hairdryer, bathroom toiletries, AM/FM clock radio, ceiling fans, individual air conditioning system, 32 inch television with DVD, CD and MP3 players, free HBO & Disney channels, iron and ironing board, unlimited complimentary wireless internet access, and telephone with voice mail.
SuperSaver
Each Super Saver guestroom has one king size bed, refrigerator, microwave oven, coffee maker with complimentary coffee, complimentary electronic safe, hairdryer, bathroom toiletries, AM/FM clock radio, individual air conditioning system, 32 inch television with DVD, CD and MP3 players, free HBO & Disney channels, iron and ironing board, unlimited complimentary wireless internet access, and telephone with voice mail.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Night club
Game room
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Wheel chair access
Handicapped parking
Wheelchair accessible elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Tropicana Field: 7.3 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
If you are looking for a place to getaway or hold a meeting, tradeshow, wedding or party in a casual, serene and upscale atmosphere then our Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort is just the answer you have been looking for. Whether the event is large, small, indoors, outdoors, casual or elegant we can accommodate your every need.

Dining

Bongo's Beach Bar & Grille
Directly on the white powdery beach of the Gulf of Mexico the newly designed Bongo's Beach Bar & Grille with its unhurried casual atmosphere is the place to be just for the fun of it. Here there are no pressures or deadlines to meet. Whether kicking back under the sun and grooving to some of the best local live entertainment while savoring over frozen tropical libations or having a bite to eat with your feet in the sand, this is a pleasure lovers dream come true. Open every day Rain or Shine.
The Palm Room and Restaurant
The Palm Room and Restaurant located poolside and overlooking the beach is open daily from 7:00 AM to 11:30 AM serving a breakfast buffet that is sure to get your day off to the right start. Ala cart menu is also offered. Dining options are indoors in lush tropical decorative surroundings, or outdoors with a view of the beach and Gulf of Mexico.
Spinners Revolving Rooftop Bistro & Lounge
Take the glass elevator ride to Spinners Revolving Rooftop Bistro & Lounge for an unsurpassed, constantly revolving 360 degree view of St. Pete Beach and the Gulf of Mexico. Spinners is the only revolving rooftop restaurant on the Gulf Coast of Florida. Not only are the food and service fabulous the constantly changing views are captivating. Throughout the years it continues to be the place where engagements happen, anniversaries and birthdays are celebrated and memories of a lifetime are made.
The menu consists of both local and continental cuisine that will surely awaken all of your pleasure senses is prepared by award winning chefs and served by impeccable wait staff. Lunch and dinner are served daily from 11:00 AM to 10:00 PM.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (360)

Ratings and reviews for Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
360 out of 360
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
dblake1981[@]
Business
Odessa, Tx
Jun 24, 2009

Dont let the pictures fool you.

Room was very small. Noisy late all day long. Was not impressed at all. Couldn't wait to check out. The only staff member that was friendly was the MAID.. [...].Only two elevators for the entire hotel. During our stay, one of the two was broke!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Publix grocery down the street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Baltimore, Maryland
Sep 30, 2010

Satisfactory hotel

Hotel needs a facelift. Elevator was down for 4 days. Staff is friendly. I asked to stay 3 hours past check out time as I had a late flight. They wanted $70. No thanks. Beautiful beach. Several close restaurants. Madfish restaurant is highly recommended. I enjoyed my trip. I will not stay in this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Madfish restaurant is highly recommended. The food is outstanding. The service top knotch. The chef goes to each table asking about your meal.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Altamonte Springs, FL
Aug 4, 2008

Not what we expected

The staff was very friendly and accomodating it is an older facility which tried to update to make it feel more luxurious when it in fact is not at all. The dining facilities were not that great but the most redeeming quality of this hotel was its excellent location and proximity to other places to dine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Don Cesar and Tradewinds are good places and close by

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Charleston, SC
Jul 11, 2010

The internet picture are misleading

The hotel needs some TLC. The maids bring towels and throw the bed together but that's it. The floors were always sandy. The elevator was very slow and was always shared "crowed" with food service going to the top floor restuarant. I spend a lot of time in beach motels and understand the environment takes a great toll of the facilities but it needs to be cleaned with more maintanance. If they can not afford to keep it up then they should sell it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Call other hotels before you book. Don't book a hotel based on their website photos. Call the more expensive hotels and see what kind of deal they can make. We actually left this hotel and moved down the street to the world famous "The Don Cesar". It only cost $60 more per night and provided 5 Star accomodation conpared to the 1 Star maybe 2 that the Grand Plaza provided.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Durham/Raleigh, NC
Apr 13, 2007

Underwhelming

This hotel has great potential but they dont pay attention to the details. Rooms are new well kept and the general appearance of general guest areas was not clean and well kept. The view and beach are great. Parking was very convenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

nice area--plenty of restuarants, places to shop, etc.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cleveland, OH
Mar 14, 2008

Decent stay for the price

The Grand plaza beach resort was a decent hotel for what we paid for it. We were expecting a spectacular view of the hotel at night because it looked like the whole outside of the hotel lit up at night, but only a few palm trees had green rope lights on it. The hallways were a bit small and dated. I envisioned a wide open area when you walked in, but everything was crammed together. As for the bahamma mamma's beach bar, well it wasnt really a beach bar, just an attatchment to the hotel that was on the edge of the sand. The first night we were there they had a wedding and that night the bridesmaid and her boyfriend got into a hilacious fight next to our adjoining room, and it took the hotel staff a long time to get it under control after numerous complaints. All in all its not worth the rate for a weeks stay. Plus there was hair and dust bunnies all threw our room when we got there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Just a bunch of resorts crammed together and little surf shops that are all the same chain. A liquor store was right across the street which was nice. NO good food places

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
nothappyguest
Business
orlando, fl
Jun 1, 2010

over priced for quality of room

The room looked clean and had a great view of the beach and city, however, got up in the middle of the night and found roaches in the bathroom.For the price I paid I was not expecting that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dayton, OH
Jun 21, 2007

If I recommend, it depends

Overall, the hotel seems to have the qualifications of being a great place to stay. However, do not be fooled by a good deal. If you purchase a stay at a bargain price, you will definitely be given a bargain room! Our view was a 6' wall outside our balcony. We could not use the balcony at all because one banquet room or ballroom was downstairs next to our 6' wall, where we were the lucky recipients of smokey exhaust during every banquet function while we were there. Our cleaning crew was less than satisfactory, and the replacement coffee pack, for in-room coffe, was soaked all the way through making the coffe unusable. We ordered off the menu for breakfast (yogurt, fruit bowl, buscuits & gravy). All these items were actually on the breakfast buffet, but it took over an hour for us to be served, even though we are sure our waitress filled our order from the already prepared breakfast bar.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

St. Pete Beach is a wonderful area with great nearby shopping, both downtown and outlet mall, recreation and sightseeing. We loved visiting DeSoto Park! Anyone who visits the area should definitely take a day to walk through the Park. It offers a little bit of everything.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St Louis, *
Aug 5, 2008

not the best

The hotel staff was not very friendly upon arrival. We had two rooms we wanted together and they could not accomodate us, we even called ahead for this. Our room was right above the air conditioning unit, which was rather loud. We were upgraded to a partial ocean view room, which was definately partial. We had a better view of the parking lot and air conditioner. The pool was pretty nice and the beach area was nice. I'm kind of confused on the beach chairs. Our room was set up rather differently, you could only see the tv from the bed and if you pulled the sofa bed out, there was no room to walk. The furnishings were nice. The hallways and (only 2)elevators are not air conditioned. I probably would not stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

We did the pirate ship cruise at Mediera Beach. That was alot of fun and the shops there are neat also.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
oldsmar fl
Jun 3, 2011

Over priced for what you get

I went alone for business and met with friends later in the evening and the following day to get some sun. There was no jacuzzi to relax in after work and long drive and the pool was not heated as it stated and there were unsupervised children everywhere jumping in the pool. I walked to the lovely beach only to find out that you must pay 20$ just to get a hotel chair to sit on per person... That's very bad service considering part of the reason you are there I to enjoy the beach at a hotel. The bathroom had alot of little bugs and room service food was inadequate. The hotel was outdated but had pretty elements. The gym equipment was out of order and the elevators were not working one evening... Seems like they could use some revamping. I would probably not choose this place again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Postcard inn had great crowd

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top