$107 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 25, 2014 Check-out: Aug 26, 2014

Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center

3 stars
5250 Gulf Boulevard, St. Pete Beach, FL 33706
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
354 reviews
family getaway

The Hotel was excellent, staff extremely helpful and friendly....Bunker is an excellent and should... See full review

  • Ronald Kapis
  • Aug 5, 2014
Vowel renewel weekend

Hotel was great, food, room, staff ,beach, even the hotel next door, had great pool bar, I would... See full review

  • Chandra loves the beach
  • Jul 11, 2014
Fun and sun near St. Pete Beach, with a revolving restaurant up top

The Grand Plaza Beach resort is the tallest and closest hotel to the Gulf of Mexico on St. Pete Beach. Leisure or corporate travelers will find a sanctuary of more than five acres of lush beachfront gardens. Just outside the rooms, guests can step onto the cool, white sand of a private beach for a relaxing West Coast Florida getaway. Enjoy meals by the pool or head inside to dine while checking out the awe-inspiring panoramic views from the window of the slowly revolving bistro.

Highlights
  • Parking, fitness center and Wi-Fi are all complimentary
  • Professionally designed and lit beach volleyball courts
  • Fantastic views from private balconies
  • Rooftop revolving bistro
Location

The resort's ideal location is close to the city of St. Petersburg for fishing, golf, museums, parks and a short day-trip to Tampa's shopping and attractions.

Rooms

All renovated beach resort guest rooms include a furnished private balcony with unparalleled views of the coastline and Gulf of Mexico or the tranquil and soothing Boca Ciega Bay to the east.

Additional room amenities include a refrigerator; microwave; in-room safe; unlimited complimentary wireless Internet access; DVD, MP3 and CD players; iron and ironing board.

One-bedroom beachfront resort suites are available with two private balconies that open to the Gulf of Mexico. Each resort suite has one king bed and one double bed. The parlor to the suite includes a pull-out sleeper sofa and a dining table with seating for four.

Features

With three dining areas located on the property, The Grand Plaza offers restaurant experiences ranging from ground floor pool-side dining and buffets to the top floor's Spinners Rooftop Revolving Bistro. Every seat offers a great and ever-changing view. Guests can opt for dining waterside for breakfast in The Palm Room & Restaurant or head to the sand to try Bongo's Beach Bar and Grille, which takes great pride in its live weekend entertainment and more than 200 fresh frozen tropical drinks.

Transportation
  • Tampa International Airport (TPA) (30 minutes)
  • St. Petersburg/Clearwater International Airport (PIE) (30 minutes)
  • Free ride (car or golf-cart) from St. Pete Beach to other nearby beaches, including Madeira Beach, for shopping and sightseeing
  • Beach trolley runs every 30 minutes from St. Pete Beach to Clearwater Beach
  • Local taxi company across the street
Attractions
  • Tropicana Field
  • Salvador Dali Museum
  • Sunken Gardens
  • The Pier
Business

Grand Plaza Resort & Hotel on St Pete Beach provides facilities for conferences, corporate getaways, business meetings, trade shows, Florida beach weddings, reunions or parties. The staff specializes in "theme" parties and can set up casual barbecue beach parties and company picnics as well as black-tie affairs.

Hotel Map

27.7264 -82.7418
Area served
St. Pete Beach, St. Petersburg, Clearwater, Seminole, Gulfport, South Pasadena, Tampa, FL
Nearby airports
Tampa International Airport (TPA), St. Petersburg/Clearwater International Airport (PIE)
Area description
Located directly on the beach of the Gulf of Mexico, close to the city of St. Petersburg, Salvador Dali Museum, Tropicana Field, Fort Desoto Park

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center Rooms

Direct Beachfront Guestroom with Private Furnished Balcony
All Direct Beachfront guestrooms include a furnished private balcony with a view of the Gulf of Mexico and our sugar white soft sandy beach. Each guestroom has a king size bed with a Simmons Health Smart mattress and one double bed so you can one of the best night's sleep ever. Also provided is a sofa for casual relaxation, refrigerator, microwave oven, coffee maker with complimentary coffee, complimentary electronic safe, hairdryer, bathroom toiletries, AM/FM clock radio, ceiling fans, individual air conditioning system, 32 inch television with DVD, CD and MP3 players, free HBO & Disney channels, iron and ironing board, unlimited complimentary wireless internet access, and telephone with voice mail.
Partial Coastal & Beach View Guestroom with Private Furnished Balcony
All Partial Ocean & Coastal View guestrooms include a furnished private balcony with a side view of the Gulf of Mexico and our sugar white soft sandy beach. Each guestroom has a king size bed with a Simmons Health Smart mattress and one double bed so you can one of the best night's sleep ever. Also provided is a sofa for casual relaxation, refrigerator, microwave oven, coffee maker with complimentary coffee, complimentary electronic safe, hairdryer, bathroom toiletries, AM/FM clock radio, ceiling fans, individual air conditioning system, 32 inch television with DVD, CD and MP3 players, free HBO & Disney channels, iron and ironing board, unlimited complimentary wireless internet access, and telephone with voice mail.
Bay & City View Guestroom with Private Furnished Balcony
All Bay & City View guestrooms include a furnished private balcony with a side view of Boca Ciega Bay to the east or the city of St. Pete Beach. Each guestroom has a king size bed with a Simmons Health Smart mattress and one double bed so you can one of the best night's sleep ever. Also provided is a sofa for casual relaxation, refrigerator, microwave oven, coffee maker with complimentary coffee, complimentary electronic safe, hairdryer, bathroom toiletries, AM/FM clock radio, ceiling fans, individual air conditioning system, 32 inch television with DVD, CD and MP3 players, free HBO & Disney channels, iron and ironing board, unlimited complimentary wireless internet access, and telephone with voice mail.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Night club
Game room
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Wheel chair access
Handicapped parking
Wheelchair accessible elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Tropicana Field: 7.3 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
If you are looking for a place to getaway or hold a meeting, tradeshow, wedding or party in a casual, serene and upscale atmosphere then our Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort is just the answer you have been looking for. Whether the event is large, small, indoors, outdoors, casual or elegant we can accommodate your every need.

Dining

Bongo's Beach Bar & Grille
Directly on the white powdery beach of the Gulf of Mexico the newly designed Bongo's Beach Bar & Grille with its unhurried casual atmosphere is the place to be just for the fun of it. Here there are no pressures or deadlines to meet. Whether kicking back under the sun and grooving to some of the best local live entertainment while savoring over frozen tropical libations or having a bite to eat with your feet in the sand, this is a pleasure lovers dream come true. Open every day Rain or Shine.
The Palm Room and Restaurant
The Palm Room and Restaurant located poolside and overlooking the beach is open daily from 7:00 AM to 11:30 AM serving a breakfast buffet that is sure to get your day off to the right start. Ala cart menu is also offered. Dining options are indoors in lush tropical decorative surroundings, or outdoors with a view of the beach and Gulf of Mexico.
Spinners Revolving Rooftop Bistro & Lounge
Take the glass elevator ride to Spinners Revolving Rooftop Bistro & Lounge for an unsurpassed, constantly revolving 360 degree view of St. Pete Beach and the Gulf of Mexico. Spinners is the only revolving rooftop restaurant on the Gulf Coast of Florida. Not only are the food and service fabulous the constantly changing views are captivating. Throughout the years it continues to be the place where engagements happen, anniversaries and birthdays are celebrated and memories of a lifetime are made.
The menu consists of both local and continental cuisine that will surely awaken all of your pleasure senses is prepared by award winning chefs and served by impeccable wait staff. Lunch and dinner are served daily from 11:00 AM to 10:00 PM.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (354)

Ratings and reviews for Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
354 out of 354
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Baltimore, Md
Dec 23, 2009

Needs new description

The hotel was supposed to be non smoking, and when we exited the elevator going to our room the whole floor smelled liked smoke. Our 1st room was a corner room, a little small for my taste. We went into the bathroom to check out its size when we noticed hair and mess all over the toilet. This room had not been cleaned yet. The staff put us in another room facing the ocean on another floor. We did not smell smoke on this floor, but our room still wasn't clean. There was hair and dirt inside the rooms coffee pot and glasses. The water in the hotel smelled like sulfur, bad. When you got out of the shower you felt & smelt worst. I tried to iron a nice white shirt for a wedding I was in, and the sulfur in the water caused the iron to stain the shirt as the steam came out. The management woulnd't move us or upgrade us, so we spent as little time as possible at the Hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Save your money, stay somewhere else.

Review of Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Atlanta, GA
Apr 8, 2010

Beautiful Beach- hotel is falling apart!

I booked this hotel for Spring Break- and at 260 a night I expected so much more. Plumbing/ toilet bubbled up anytime someone flushed in other rooms. Super noisy- run down- lots of dry rot. The beach was beautiful but I wouldn't have paid $80 a night if I would have seen it first hand and not on the web.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Go to the Don Cesar instead!!

Review of Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Hawthorne, NJ
Feb 14, 2011

A vacation I can easily forget

I have been to St Pete's Beach before and enjoyed it But this is the first time at this hotel The room was very poorly cleaned especially the bathroom that had hair all over the floor EVERY SINGLE DAY and was never properly cleaned. I had to call the desk to clean the soiled toilet bowl before I would put my luggage down!!The exhaust vent in the bathroom was so crusted with lint that I cleaned it myself with a Q tip. The tile floor in the room was always sticky and felt really disgusting.Although we had daily housekeeping (HA) we had to request bathroom paper twice. Picked this hotel for the nightly entertainment but we never had any!!!!(they said because it was rainy) When do you need entertainment more than when the weather is foul? People were NOT warm and fuzzy!Would NEVER, EVER stay here again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Do Not waste your time going to the Flea Markets around Dont have anything except dollar store items

Review of Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Virginia Baseball Mom
Southwest Virginia
Jul 19, 2009

Nothing to brag about!

Our family spent 3 nights here. Paid more for this hotel because it was ocean front, and supposedly renovated and a "luxury" hotel. The add should've read "If you like sleeping in noisy closet sized, dirty rooms that are completly out-of-date and over priced, stay here." The only thing that looked like it would've been new in 2006 was the ceiling fan. Floors, towels and tub had not been cleaned well. Constant slamming of doors in the hallways. Room was TINY, to say the least; second bed pulled out of wall, then no room to walk thru. TINY bathroom and closet. Palm trees scratching the window panes all night in the breeze, very annoying. Pool was descent size but extra crowded with not many chairs. Penthouse suites may be different; but we were greatly dissapointed. Had the room not been prepaid, we would've left on the first day. Oh yeah, the famous revolving restaurant on top of the hotel does not revolve. Even with do not disturb sign up housekeeping is knocking on your door every 30 minutes from 8 a.m. Very out of date, very over priced. Several nice places close by, shop around!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Passe A Grill was a nice area to drive through and visit, as was John's Pass and the Skyway bridge and pier. Downtown St. Petersburg good if you don't get in wrong section of town.

Review of Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jan 27, 2008

Room was smaller but had ...

Room was smaller but had an oceanview. and the hotel is not directly on the beach. you must walk through the pool and outside bar areato get to the beach, i was truly unhappy with this choice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

there is a revolving restaurant at the top of the hotel that was very nice and good food. activities and shopping close by car.

Review of Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Eggs98
Jacksonville, FL, USA
Nov 16, 2011

Loud and old

The walls are paper thin and the hotel in general is in need of a modern upgrade. Nothing exciting. The floors have to go.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Good cheap seafood. A local joint.

Review of Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Lyssah
St Petersburg, FL, USA
Apr 18, 2012

Girls Trip 2012

I just returned from my trip to St.Pete beach, and would NOT recommend this hotel to anyone. We arrived on a Thursday afternoon, and were up at 2 am to catch our flight to Florida, when we got back to our room at 10 in the evening, we were greeted with loud music, and stomping on the dance floor. We could hear the music very clearly, singing along with the lyrics. When we were ready for bed an hour later, we noticed several large stains on the sheets. I decided to call the front desk to inquire about the time of the reception(they hold several weddings a day, and one of the reception halls is directly above the 9th floor) and tell them about our bedding. We were informed the receptions are over at 11, so we decided to wait it out. A few minutes later, a staff member brought up new bedding, and left it on the bed for us to make, while leaving the stained sheets behind. Once making and getting in the bed, we laid there in complete silence (no fan, and a silent AC) and listened to the cleaning and vacuuming, for the next 2 hours. They did move our room because we went back to the front desk the next morning, but in the SAME exact location, just on a different floor. This room did include a fan, and was much more quiet! Both of our rooms, were dirty, with sand and trash in a few locations.. This was my 3rd time to St. Pete beach just within the last year, and my LEAST favorite hotel. The best part about our visit was the bar, and bartenders, and the fun we made for ourselves.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Jimmy B's and Bongos!

Review of Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
stroupem
Bronson, FL
Jul 23, 2012

Poor room layout

Hotel room was a horrible configueration and not comfortable at all. The AC not only performed erratically, it was so noisey that I did not sleep at all. I will not stay at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mpls Boy
Mpls MN
Feb 3, 2013

pretty noisy

Checked in Saturday, that evening loud music from Bongo's bar into room until early hours. Told the wife we were moving to another hotel but she didn't want to pack everything again. We stayed and endured the week, turned the up in the evening, figured they wouldn't cut the music just for us. Everything else was fine, good staff and food. Third stay at the property but probably last

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Altamonte Springs, FL
Aug 4, 2008

Not what we expected

The staff was very friendly and accomodating it is an older facility which tried to update to make it feel more luxurious when it in fact is not at all. The dining facilities were not that great but the most redeeming quality of this hotel was its excellent location and proximity to other places to dine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Don Cesar and Tradewinds are good places and close by

Back to menu Return to top

Change search