$122 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 7, 2014 Check-out: Aug 8, 2014

Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center

3 stars
5250 Gulf Boulevard, St. Pete Beach, FL 33706
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
556 reviews
Vowel renewel weekend

Hotel was great, food, room, staff ,beach, even the hotel next door, had great pool bar, I would... See full review

  • Chandra loves the beach
  • Jul 11, 2014
Best beach getaway

Love St. Pete Beach and love staying at the Grand Plaza Hotel! See full review

  • Mrs. Darr
  • Jul 5, 2014
Fun and sun near St. Pete Beach, with a revolving restaurant up top

The Grand Plaza Beach resort is the tallest and closest hotel to the Gulf of Mexico on St. Pete Beach. Leisure or corporate travelers will find a sanctuary of more than five acres of lush beachfront gardens. Just outside the rooms, guests can step onto the cool, white sand of a private beach for a relaxing West Coast Florida getaway. Enjoy meals by the pool or head inside to dine while checking out the awe-inspiring panoramic views from the window of the slowly revolving bistro.

Highlights
  • Parking, fitness center and Wi-Fi are all complimentary
  • Professionally designed and lit beach volleyball courts
  • Fantastic views from private balconies
  • Rooftop revolving bistro
Location

The resort's ideal location is close to the city of St. Petersburg for fishing, golf, museums, parks and a short day-trip to Tampa's shopping and attractions.

Rooms

All renovated beach resort guest rooms include a furnished private balcony with unparalleled views of the coastline and Gulf of Mexico or the tranquil and soothing Boca Ciega Bay to the east.

Additional room amenities include a refrigerator; microwave; in-room safe; unlimited complimentary wireless Internet access; DVD, MP3 and CD players; iron and ironing board.

One-bedroom beachfront resort suites are available with two private balconies that open to the Gulf of Mexico. Each resort suite has one king bed and one double bed. The parlor to the suite includes a pull-out sleeper sofa and a dining table with seating for four.

Features

With three dining areas located on the property, The Grand Plaza offers restaurant experiences ranging from ground floor pool-side dining and buffets to the top floor's Spinners Rooftop Revolving Bistro. Every seat offers a great and ever-changing view. Guests can opt for dining waterside for breakfast in The Palm Room & Restaurant or head to the sand to try Bongo's Beach Bar and Grille, which takes great pride in its live weekend entertainment and more than 200 fresh frozen tropical drinks.

Transportation
  • Tampa International Airport (TPA) (30 minutes)
  • St. Petersburg/Clearwater International Airport (PIE) (30 minutes)
  • Free ride (car or golf-cart) from St. Pete Beach to other nearby beaches, including Madeira Beach, for shopping and sightseeing
  • Beach trolley runs every 30 minutes from St. Pete Beach to Clearwater Beach
  • Local taxi company across the street
Attractions
  • Tropicana Field
  • Salvador Dali Museum
  • Sunken Gardens
  • The Pier
Business

Grand Plaza Resort & Hotel on St Pete Beach provides facilities for conferences, corporate getaways, business meetings, trade shows, Florida beach weddings, reunions or parties. The staff specializes in "theme" parties and can set up casual barbecue beach parties and company picnics as well as black-tie affairs.

Hotel Map

27.7264 -82.7418
Area served
St. Pete Beach, St. Petersburg, Clearwater, Seminole, Gulfport, South Pasadena, Tampa, FL
Nearby airports
Tampa International Airport (TPA), St. Petersburg/Clearwater International Airport (PIE)
Area description
Located directly on the beach of the Gulf of Mexico, close to the city of St. Petersburg, Salvador Dali Museum, Tropicana Field, Fort Desoto Park

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center Rooms

Direct Beachfront Guestroom with Private Furnished Balcony
All Direct Beachfront guestrooms include a furnished private balcony with a view of the Gulf of Mexico and our sugar white soft sandy beach. Each guestroom has a king size bed with a Simmons Health Smart mattress and one double bed so you can one of the best night's sleep ever. Also provided is a sofa for casual relaxation, refrigerator, microwave oven, coffee maker with complimentary coffee, complimentary electronic safe, hairdryer, bathroom toiletries, AM/FM clock radio, ceiling fans, individual air conditioning system, 32 inch television with DVD, CD and MP3 players, free HBO & Disney channels, iron and ironing board, unlimited complimentary wireless internet access, and telephone with voice mail.
Partial Coastal & Beach View Guestroom with Private Furnished Balcony
All Partial Ocean & Coastal View guestrooms include a furnished private balcony with a side view of the Gulf of Mexico and our sugar white soft sandy beach. Each guestroom has a king size bed with a Simmons Health Smart mattress and one double bed so you can one of the best night's sleep ever. Also provided is a sofa for casual relaxation, refrigerator, microwave oven, coffee maker with complimentary coffee, complimentary electronic safe, hairdryer, bathroom toiletries, AM/FM clock radio, ceiling fans, individual air conditioning system, 32 inch television with DVD, CD and MP3 players, free HBO & Disney channels, iron and ironing board, unlimited complimentary wireless internet access, and telephone with voice mail.
Bay & City View Guestroom with Private Furnished Balcony
All Bay & City View guestrooms include a furnished private balcony with a side view of Boca Ciega Bay to the east or the city of St. Pete Beach. Each guestroom has a king size bed with a Simmons Health Smart mattress and one double bed so you can one of the best night's sleep ever. Also provided is a sofa for casual relaxation, refrigerator, microwave oven, coffee maker with complimentary coffee, complimentary electronic safe, hairdryer, bathroom toiletries, AM/FM clock radio, ceiling fans, individual air conditioning system, 32 inch television with DVD, CD and MP3 players, free HBO & Disney channels, iron and ironing board, unlimited complimentary wireless internet access, and telephone with voice mail.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Night club
Game room
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Wheel chair access
Handicapped parking
Wheelchair accessible elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Tropicana Field: 7.3 mi

Dining

Bongo's Beach Bar & Grille
Directly on the white powdery beach of the Gulf of Mexico the newly designed Bongo's Beach Bar & Grille with its unhurried casual atmosphere is the place to be just for the fun of it. Here there are no pressures or deadlines to meet. Whether kicking back under the sun and grooving to some of the best local live entertainment while savoring over frozen tropical libations or having a bite to eat with your feet in the sand, this is a pleasure lovers dream come true. Open every day Rain or Shine.
The Palm Room and Restaurant
The Palm Room and Restaurant located poolside and overlooking the beach is open daily from 7:00 AM to 11:30 AM serving a breakfast buffet that is sure to get your day off to the right start. Ala cart menu is also offered. Dining options are indoors in lush tropical decorative surroundings, or outdoors with a view of the beach and Gulf of Mexico.
Spinners Revolving Rooftop Bistro & Lounge
Take the glass elevator ride to Spinners Revolving Rooftop Bistro & Lounge for an unsurpassed, constantly revolving 360 degree view of St. Pete Beach and the Gulf of Mexico. Spinners is the only revolving rooftop restaurant on the Gulf Coast of Florida. Not only are the food and service fabulous the constantly changing views are captivating. Throughout the years it continues to be the place where engagements happen, anniversaries and birthdays are celebrated and memories of a lifetime are made.
The menu consists of both local and continental cuisine that will surely awaken all of your pleasure senses is prepared by award winning chefs and served by impeccable wait staff. Lunch and dinner are served daily from 11:00 AM to 10:00 PM.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
If you are looking for a place to getaway or hold a meeting, tradeshow, wedding or party in a casual, serene and upscale atmosphere then our Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort is just the answer you have been looking for. Whether the event is large, small, indoors, outdoors, casual or elegant we can accommodate your every need.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (556)

Ratings and reviews for Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
556 out of 556
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
cat fans
KY
May 22, 2009

Needs upgrading, very loud at night

We booked a beachfront room weeks in advance but when we arrived, they had put us in a Bay view room (aka: parking lot view). Due to their mistake they did offer a penthouse room for the week if we wanted with no additional charge. We were so happy....at first. The penthouse is on the same floor as a ballroom. Since this hotel is popular for weddings and the wedding parties frequently book this ballroom for the reception as it has a view of the ocean, the penthouse is very loud. The reception scheduled for the night we checked in went until midnight. We could barely hear our TV for the extremely loud music with the pulsing bass. The hotel staff assured us the the party would be over at 11 pm... but it wasn't. After that we had to deal with the wait/kitchen staff cleaning up/doing dishes/etc for another hour. We were able to hear their conversations and frequent use of profanity from our bed. A call to the front desk resulted in "security" coming up to the penthouse and telling the staff that we (and used our specfic room number by the way) were complaining about the noise. We could not go to bed until after 2 am. So the next day we switched to a beachfront room. The rooms are small and the phone/fridge/room lights did not work throughout our stay. The first night the fridge started to sound like Darth Vader breathing...then all of our Diet Cokes exploded in it. The front desk assured us someone would come and fix it which they never did. On the 3rd complaint a manager did give us a $40 credit towards the hotel stay or room service if we wanted it, but at that point it was a lost cause. I am running out of characters so I'll just list the rest... -Be aware that beachfront rooms are also overlooking the beach bar and the pool. They are both very loud until about midnight -Room service was not good and was expensive. They tried to charge us $41 for a fruit plate and 2 drinks -The other bed listed in addition to the king is a pull down trundle-type bed. With both beds in the use moving around the room would be nearly impossible -Housekeeping started wheeling their carts around about 7am and they like to slam doors..alot. The latest we could sleep was 9am and that was pushing it

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

IHOP is right up the street within walking distance from the hotel. MUCH better food than the hotel's breakfast buffett for about the same price. Don't bother bring beach towels because the hotel provided them for free.

Review of Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mel Shaughnessy
Avon
Apr 13, 2013

Didn't love it!

This hotel needs serious renovations and could use a scrub down with bleach. On our third night our daughter found a pair of ladies underwear that didn't belong to us in her pull-down murphy bed! We stayed on the 9th floor and at night it was extremely noisy from the wedding receptions. This is a big wedding destination hotel. The bathroom barely accommodates one person, extremely small! Overall, not a good value. Best part of the hotel is Bongos Beach bar. Suggest you stay elsewhere and walk to Bongos from the beach!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Small, great restaurant a short walking distance across the street called 1200 Chop House.

Review of Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
indiana
Mar 29, 2011

bad price

Very unsatisfied, will not book with obitz or stay at this hotel agin, paid for the highest upgrade, stayed in the lowest grade room, because hotel said it was [...]fault, they had 3 grades of rooms listed, the street front (lowest), the side beeechveiw (middle), the beech front (highest), they gave me the room 607 on the corner of the street and side veiw, went and told them at the desk, the said its [...]fault, and i supposed to have a beechveiw, not beech front even though i paid for the highest, very unhappy,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Baltimore, Md
Dec 23, 2009

Needs new description

The hotel was supposed to be non smoking, and when we exited the elevator going to our room the whole floor smelled liked smoke. Our 1st room was a corner room, a little small for my taste. We went into the bathroom to check out its size when we noticed hair and mess all over the toilet. This room had not been cleaned yet. The staff put us in another room facing the ocean on another floor. We did not smell smoke on this floor, but our room still wasn't clean. There was hair and dirt inside the rooms coffee pot and glasses. The water in the hotel smelled like sulfur, bad. When you got out of the shower you felt & smelt worst. I tried to iron a nice white shirt for a wedding I was in, and the sulfur in the water caused the iron to stain the shirt as the steam came out. The management woulnd't move us or upgrade us, so we spent as little time as possible at the Hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Save your money, stay somewhere else.

Review of Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Former Restaurant Manager
New York City, NY
May 12, 2009

Appearances can be deceiving.

One of the major selling points of the Grand Plaza is supposed to be the unparalleled views. We had a view of the air conditioning vents. To say this was unsatisfactory is a major understatement. I had not been on a vacation in quite some time, and was severely disappointed when placed in a room with a view of a wall topped w/ AC vents. A 12oz. can of Coke from the vending machine on our floor was $1.50. As a former restaurant manager, I know how much soda costs and that is ridiculous. I live in NYC where everything is expensive and I'm telling you that is robbery on the part of the hotel, plain and simple. As for Spinners, the revolving restaurant, lounge and bistro on the roof, the view was magnificent. No view, however awe-inspiring, can make up for the terrible, god-awful food. I thought we were pretty safe ordering a NY strip steak and chicken parmesan. This proved to be a fallacy of the first order. I am a fairly accomplished cook myself, and can tell you that marinara sauce is actually one of the easiest things to make in the world. What was on the chicken parmesan was not marinara. I'm not certain what it was, in fact. I would rather lick the bottom of my shoe after tramping around Manhattan all day than ever eat another bite. As it was, my fiance was barely able to choke down less than a third of it. My NY strip was ordered rare. Now, as I understand it, rare means the middle should be red. I expected it to come out medium rare, as many restaurants dislike serving rare meat for fear of lawsuits. What I did not expect was for it to come out well-done. Any chef worth his salt will tell you anything more than medium ruins a steak, because it cooks off all of the blood and fat(where the flavor actually is). While our waitress was pleasant, she paid virtually no attention to us, and perhaps she sensed our displeasure, because she added an auto-gratuity of 18% to our check. Spinners has a policy of auto-grating any party of 6 or more. In my experience, servers tend to auto-grat young couples as they feel they will tip poorly, or not at all. As a former restaurant manager, I always tip at least 15% no matter the service or quality of the fare, because I understand that sometimes bad things happen, people have off days, etc. To charge me an 18% auto-gratuity based on my age or appearance(I am actually 30 years old, but have a baby-face, appearing approx. 5 years younger than I am) is discriminatory. The check with the auto-gratuity came to 80 dollars. It was the most expensive terrible meal I have ever had. I would have been more satisfied eating at Taco Bell. In my considered opinion, this entire hotel needs new management, and Spinners needs a new head chef. For how much this room cost for two nights, the breakfast buffet should be free. If Holiday Inn can manage that, a hotel with the delusionary title of GRAND PLAZA should be able to keep up. I will never stay at this hotel again, and will spend a good deal of energy telling everyone I know not to stay there. If I can spare anyone anywhere a terrible experience, the expenditure will have been worth it. Extremely over-priced.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Atlanta, GA
Apr 8, 2010

Beautiful Beach- hotel is falling apart!

I booked this hotel for Spring Break- and at 260 a night I expected so much more. Plumbing/ toilet bubbled up anytime someone flushed in other rooms. Super noisy- run down- lots of dry rot. The beach was beautiful but I wouldn't have paid $80 a night if I would have seen it first hand and not on the web.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Go to the Don Cesar instead!!

Review of Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Hawthorne, NJ
Feb 14, 2011

A vacation I can easily forget

I have been to St Pete's Beach before and enjoyed it But this is the first time at this hotel The room was very poorly cleaned especially the bathroom that had hair all over the floor EVERY SINGLE DAY and was never properly cleaned. I had to call the desk to clean the soiled toilet bowl before I would put my luggage down!!The exhaust vent in the bathroom was so crusted with lint that I cleaned it myself with a Q tip. The tile floor in the room was always sticky and felt really disgusting.Although we had daily housekeeping (HA) we had to request bathroom paper twice. Picked this hotel for the nightly entertainment but we never had any!!!!(they said because it was rainy) When do you need entertainment more than when the weather is foul? People were NOT warm and fuzzy!Would NEVER, EVER stay here again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Do Not waste your time going to the Flea Markets around Dont have anything except dollar store items

Review of Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
EACork
new york, new york
Jun 14, 2013

Bed bugs, old building, poor service

I recently stayed at Grand Plaza for a friend's wedding. The trip was not great, and ever since then we have had our apartment torn to pieces thanks to bed bugs. If you have ever had bed bugs, you know how stressful, expensive, and disgusting it is. Other than the bug infestation, most of the staff was rude. The building was old and out of date. The gym was gross. It was such a disappointment, as we were very much looking forward to a relaxing vacation and celebrating a wedding.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Annie V
Ormond Beach, Fl
Jul 17, 2012

Disappointed

Our 2nd floor balcony room with a "gulf view" was of a 6 foot wall. I guess if I were 7 feet tall the view would have been lovely. I expected more for the price of the room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
strwbrykg
Tampa, FL
Mar 15, 2012

Worst Customer Service

This was the worst experience I've had at a hotel. It wasn't as nice as their website shows (our room was tiny and felt like a closet). Upon check out, I noticed a charge for $420 that should not have been there. When we asked them to correct it, they said they did. I checked my account to discover that not only did they charge me $420, but their "correction" was a second charge of $420! When I asked them to fix this, they said they couldn't do anything other than call my bank to let them know it was an error. Of course, it's already been pushed through so it's been almost a week and those 2 charges are STILL on my account. This has meant that other bills have bounced, and I don't have access to my account while I wait for these charges to go away. When I asked them what they would be doing to make up for the MAJOR inconvenience that THEIR two errors have caused me, they said there's nothing they would do. The man even explained to me, "Ma'am, this is how room reservations work. They pre-authorize first." I explained to HIM that I know how reservations work. However, I should NEVER be charged for things I did not use or expenses I am not responsible for, and I should certainly NEVER be charged TWICE for it. When I booked the room, I was assured that I would ONLY be charged a $50 hold fee. I even asked about pre-authorization for entire room charge, and was promised that would not be an issue since we had certificates. I have never in my life been out nearly $1000 for a mistake someone else made (TWICE) -- and I am now having to pay fees to try and prevent any further charges to my account. This has been the worst customer service I've ever encountered. Save yourself the trouble for a hotel that is actually nice inside, with people who know how to press the right button on their computers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Back to menu Return to top