$152 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 27, 2014 Check-out: Apr 30, 2014

Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center

3 stars
5250 Gulf Boulevard, St. Pete Beach, FL 33706
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
321 reviews
Romantic getaway

It was amazing hotel very clean me and my boyfriend loved the restutant spinners amazig experianced See full review

  • Calles1992
  • Apr 2, 2014
Great get away , beautiful view , very clean room

Great , comfortable , clean & a beautiful view , central location See full review

  • DL Johnson
  • Mar 5, 2014
Fun and sun near St. Pete Beach, with a revolving restaurant up top

The Grand Plaza Beach resort is the tallest and closest hotel to the Gulf of Mexico on St. Pete Beach. Leisure or corporate travelers will find a sanctuary of more than five acres of lush beachfront gardens. Just outside the rooms, guests can step onto the cool, white sand of a private beach for a relaxing West Coast Florida getaway. Enjoy meals by the pool or head inside to dine while checking out the awe-inspiring panoramic views from the window of the slowly revolving bistro.

Highlights
  • Parking, fitness center and Wi-Fi are all complimentary
  • Professionally designed and lit beach volleyball courts
  • Fantastic views from private balconies
  • Rooftop revolving bistro
Location

The resort's ideal location is close to the city of St. Petersburg for fishing, golf, museums, parks and a short day-trip to Tampa's shopping and attractions.

Rooms

All renovated beach resort guest rooms include a furnished private balcony with unparalleled views of the coastline and Gulf of Mexico or the tranquil and soothing Boca Ciega Bay to the east.

Additional room amenities include a refrigerator; microwave; in-room safe; unlimited complimentary wireless Internet access; DVD, MP3 and CD players; iron and ironing board.

One-bedroom beachfront resort suites are available with two private balconies that open to the Gulf of Mexico. Each resort suite has one king bed and one double bed. The parlor to the suite includes a pull-out sleeper sofa and a dining table with seating for four.

Features

With three dining areas located on the property, The Grand Plaza offers restaurant experiences ranging from ground floor pool-side dining and buffets to the top floor's Spinners Rooftop Revolving Bistro. Every seat offers a great and ever-changing view. Guests can opt for dining waterside for breakfast in The Palm Room & Restaurant or head to the sand to try Bongo's Beach Bar and Grille, which takes great pride in its live weekend entertainment and more than 200 fresh frozen tropical drinks.

Transportation
  • Tampa International Airport (TPA) (30 minutes)
  • St. Petersburg/Clearwater International Airport (PIE) (30 minutes)
  • Free ride (car or golf-cart) from St. Pete Beach to other nearby beaches, including Madeira Beach, for shopping and sightseeing
  • Beach trolley runs every 30 minutes from St. Pete Beach to Clearwater Beach
  • Local taxi company across the street
Attractions
  • Tropicana Field
  • Salvador Dali Museum
  • Sunken Gardens
  • The Pier
Business

Grand Plaza Resort & Hotel on St Pete Beach provides facilities for conferences, corporate getaways, business meetings, trade shows, Florida beach weddings, reunions or parties. The staff specializes in "theme" parties and can set up casual barbecue beach parties and company picnics as well as black-tie affairs.

Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center Rooms

Direct Beachfront Guestroom with Private Furnished Balcony
All Direct Beachfront guestrooms include a spacious furnished private balcony with an unobstructed view of the Gulf of Mexico and our sugar white soft sandy beach. Each guestroom has a king size bed with a Simmons Health Smart mattress and one double bed so you can one of the best night's sleep ever. Also provided is a sofa for casual relaxation, refrigerator, microwave oven, coffee maker with complimentary coffee, complimentary electronic safe, hairdryer, bathroom toiletries, AM/FM clock radio, ceiling fans, individual air conditioning system, 32 inch television with DVD, CD and MP3 players, free HBO & Disney channels, iron and ironing board, unlimited complimentary wireless internet access, and telephone with voice mail.
Partial Coastal & Beach View Guestroom with Private Furnished Balcony
All Partial Ocean & Coastal View guestrooms include a spacious furnished private balcony with a side view of the Gulf of Mexico and our sugar white soft sandy beach. Each guestroom has a king size bed with a Simmons Health Smart mattress and one double bed so you can one of the best night's sleep ever. Also provided is a sofa for casual relaxation, refrigerator, microwave oven, coffee maker with complimentary coffee, complimentary electronic safe, hairdryer, bathroom toiletries, AM/FM clock radio, ceiling fans, individual air conditioning system, 32 inch television with DVD, CD and MP3 players, free HBO & Disney channels, iron and ironing board, unlimited complimentary wireless internet access, and telephone with voice mail.
Bay & City View Guestroom with Private Furnished Balcony
All Bay & City View guestrooms include a spacious furnished private balcony with a side view of Boca Ciega Bay to the east or the city of St. Pete Beach. Each guestroom has a king size bed with a Simmons Health Smart mattress and one double bed so you can one of the best night's sleep ever. Also provided is a sofa for casual relaxation, refrigerator, microwave oven, coffee maker with complimentary coffee, complimentary electronic safe, hairdryer, bathroom toiletries, AM/FM clock radio, ceiling fans, individual air conditioning system, 32 inch television with DVD, CD and MP3 players, free HBO & Disney channels, iron and ironing board, unlimited complimentary wireless internet access, and telephone with voice mail.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Night club
Game room
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Wheel chair access
Handicapped parking
Wheelchair accessible elevators

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Hotel Map

27.7264 -82.7418
Area served
St. Pete Beach, St. Petersburg, Clearwater, Seminole, Gulfport, South Pasadena, Tampa, FL
Nearby airports
Tampa International Airport (TPA), St. Petersburg/Clearwater International Airport (PIE)
Area description
Located directly on the beach of the Gulf of Mexico, close to the city of St. Petersburg, Salvador Dali Museum, Tropicana Field, Fort Desoto Park

Nearby points of interest

  • Tropicana Field: 7.3 mi

Dining

Bongo's Beach Bar & Grille
Directly on the white powdery beach of the Gulf of Mexico Bongo's Beach Bar & Grille with its unhurried casual atmosphere is the place to be just for the fun of it. Here there are no pressures or deadlines to meet. Whether kicking back under the sun and grooving to some of the best local live entertainment while savoring one of over 200 frozen tropical libations or having a bite to eat with your feet in the sand, this is a pleasure lovers dream come true. Open every day from 11 AM to 2 AM, Rain or Shine.
The Palm Room and Restaurant
The Palm Room and Restaurant located poolside and overlooking the beach is open daily from 7:00 AM to 11:30 AM serving a breakfast buffet that is sure to get your day off to the right start. Ala cart menu is also offered. Dining options are indoors in lush tropical decorative surroundings, or outdoors with a view of the beach and Gulf of Mexico.
Spinners Revolving Rooftop Bistro & Lounge
Take the glass elevator ride to Spinners Revolving Rooftop Bistro & Lounge for an unsurpassed, constantly revolving 360 degree view of St. Pete Beach and the Gulf of Mexico. Spinners is the only revolving rooftop restaurant on the Gulf Coast of Florida. Not only are the food and service fabulous the constantly changing views are captivating. Throughout the years it continues to be the place where engagements happen, anniversaries and birthdays are celebrated and memories of a lifetime are made.
The menu consists of both local and continental cuisine that will surely awaken all of your pleasure senses is prepared by award winning chefs and served by impeccable wait staff. Lunch and dinner are served daily from 11:00 AM to 10:00 PM.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
If you are looking for a place to getaway or hold a meeting, tradeshow, wedding or party in a casual, serene and upscale atmosphere then our Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort is just the answer you have been looking for. Whether the event is large, small, indoors, outdoors, casual or elegant we can accommodate your every need.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (321)

Ratings and reviews for Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center

Overall score

4.1 / 5
21 out of 321
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

4
Cincy Tom
Cincinnati,Ohio
Dec 20, 2013

always stay here

I have been going to St. Pete Beach for many yrs. The staff makes everything great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

5
crooner
manchester, nj
Dec 13, 2013

short vacation

everything was so very perfect, from the staff to the food,especially room service, people at front desk were just super pleasant and very quick at resolving any issues that may have come up, looking forward to another trip there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

spinners restaurant on 12th floor and oversees the whole city while you spin around very slowly.

Review of Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

4
Ben 42
Hoboken, NJ
Nov 24, 2012

Great place to just relax

I was looking for a nice n quiet place to stay in Florida...it hit the spot. Nice and quite just the right amount of entertainment(live band every night until10 pm). What impressed me the most was that the personnel was so attentive to every detail. Lovely hotel...also if you are on a budget and don't want to eat at the hotel..there are plenty of restaurants around...also a supermarket and a dollar store and even liquor stores, technically you can just go there without anything because there is everything there at the same prices at home.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The room has a coffe maker, a microwave and a fridge save on lunch and bfast and buy stuff from the supermarket.

Review of Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

2
Lyssah
St Petersburg, FL, USA
Apr 18, 2012

Girls Trip 2012

I just returned from my trip to St.Pete beach, and would NOT recommend this hotel to anyone. We arrived on a Thursday afternoon, and were up at 2 am to catch our flight to Florida, when we got back to our room at 10 in the evening, we were greeted with loud music, and stomping on the dance floor. We could hear the music very clearly, singing along with the lyrics. When we were ready for bed an hour later, we noticed several large stains on the sheets. I decided to call the front desk to inquire about the time of the reception(they hold several weddings a day, and one of the reception halls is directly above the 9th floor) and tell them about our bedding. We were informed the receptions are over at 11, so we decided to wait it out. A few minutes later, a staff member brought up new bedding, and left it on the bed for us to make, while leaving the stained sheets behind. Once making and getting in the bed, we laid there in complete silence (no fan, and a silent AC) and listened to the cleaning and vacuuming, for the next 2 hours. They did move our room because we went back to the front desk the next morning, but in the SAME exact location, just on a different floor. This room did include a fan, and was much more quiet! Both of our rooms, were dirty, with sand and trash in a few locations.. This was my 3rd time to St. Pete beach just within the last year, and my LEAST favorite hotel. The best part about our visit was the bar, and bartenders, and the fun we made for ourselves.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Jimmy B's and Bongos!

Review of Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

4
besttime1965
Bluffton, in
Jan 30, 2012

its all good

I arrived late from flight in to town. All went well. Good place have stayed there alot. Can't go wrong on the beach there

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

crabby bills great seafood

Review of Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
detroit michigan
Mar 30, 2011

a great place to stay

very relaxing

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

breakfast in the resort

Review of Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Massachusetts
Mar 23, 2011

Simply terrific!

This was my third stay at Grand Plaza and I'll be back again. The location is top notch for me. Right on a great stretch of beach. From the back pool and lounge area your first step is sand. The location on the beach and easy access to main roads and highways is close to perfect. The hotel itself is big enough to not feel crowded yet small enough so you feel you're not walking forever to locate the lounge, pool, or restaurants. The breakfast and lunch/dinner restaurants were both very good. Spinners has a good selection with reasonable prices. I always find the rooms clean and the staff helpful and friendly. Paying the little extra for at least a partial gulfside view is worth it. Sitting on your private balcony with a fantastic view of the beach is worth the extra bucks. Bottom line: for the location and the relatively reasonable price, this hotel is awesome.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Massachusetts
Dec 5, 2010

Excellent location/Excellent choice!

I loved this hotel. Mostly because of the location which is right on a great stretch of beach. Some hotels claim to "be on the beach" and are hundreds of steps away. Not this one. Your first step is sand. I had a "partial Gulf view" room which was great. I'll spring for the "full" view next time, because from left to right is all beach and water without any obstructions. Location, like most hotels there, are easily accessible to restaurants, stores, etc. Access to/from Grand Plaza to the main highway/airport is only minutes away. Inside and outside the hotel was very nice, cozy, and clean. I liked how it is not a huge hotel. Spinners restaurant--which revolves 360 degrees from atop the hotel, is a great viewing restaurant, and the lunch I had was very good. Staff & help was helpful & cordial. If you want a nice, relaxing, stay in a great location, at a relatively inexpensive hotel, you're in luck. I will go again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Baltimore, MD
Nov 19, 2010

Short vacation

It was a wonderful experience. The hotel is old but well kept. The room I had was beautiful - I felt very comfortable. I wish I could have stayed longer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

2
Anonymous
Baltimore, Maryland
Sep 30, 2010

Satisfactory hotel

Hotel needs a facelift. Elevator was down for 4 days. Staff is friendly. I asked to stay 3 hours past check out time as I had a late flight. They wanted $70. No thanks. Beautiful beach. Several close restaurants. Madfish restaurant is highly recommended. I enjoyed my trip. I will not stay in this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Madfish restaurant is highly recommended. The food is outstanding. The service top knotch. The chef goes to each table asking about your meal.

Back to menu Return to top