$122 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 7, 2014 Check-out: Aug 8, 2014

Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center

3 stars
5250 Gulf Boulevard, St. Pete Beach, FL 33706
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
556 reviews
Vowel renewel weekend

Hotel was great, food, room, staff ,beach, even the hotel next door, had great pool bar, I would... See full review

  • Chandra loves the beach
  • Jul 11, 2014
Best beach getaway

Love St. Pete Beach and love staying at the Grand Plaza Hotel! See full review

  • Mrs. Darr
  • Jul 5, 2014
Fun and sun near St. Pete Beach, with a revolving restaurant up top

The Grand Plaza Beach resort is the tallest and closest hotel to the Gulf of Mexico on St. Pete Beach. Leisure or corporate travelers will find a sanctuary of more than five acres of lush beachfront gardens. Just outside the rooms, guests can step onto the cool, white sand of a private beach for a relaxing West Coast Florida getaway. Enjoy meals by the pool or head inside to dine while checking out the awe-inspiring panoramic views from the window of the slowly revolving bistro.

Highlights
  • Parking, fitness center and Wi-Fi are all complimentary
  • Professionally designed and lit beach volleyball courts
  • Fantastic views from private balconies
  • Rooftop revolving bistro
Location

The resort's ideal location is close to the city of St. Petersburg for fishing, golf, museums, parks and a short day-trip to Tampa's shopping and attractions.

Rooms

All renovated beach resort guest rooms include a furnished private balcony with unparalleled views of the coastline and Gulf of Mexico or the tranquil and soothing Boca Ciega Bay to the east.

Additional room amenities include a refrigerator; microwave; in-room safe; unlimited complimentary wireless Internet access; DVD, MP3 and CD players; iron and ironing board.

One-bedroom beachfront resort suites are available with two private balconies that open to the Gulf of Mexico. Each resort suite has one king bed and one double bed. The parlor to the suite includes a pull-out sleeper sofa and a dining table with seating for four.

Features

With three dining areas located on the property, The Grand Plaza offers restaurant experiences ranging from ground floor pool-side dining and buffets to the top floor's Spinners Rooftop Revolving Bistro. Every seat offers a great and ever-changing view. Guests can opt for dining waterside for breakfast in The Palm Room & Restaurant or head to the sand to try Bongo's Beach Bar and Grille, which takes great pride in its live weekend entertainment and more than 200 fresh frozen tropical drinks.

Transportation
  • Tampa International Airport (TPA) (30 minutes)
  • St. Petersburg/Clearwater International Airport (PIE) (30 minutes)
  • Free ride (car or golf-cart) from St. Pete Beach to other nearby beaches, including Madeira Beach, for shopping and sightseeing
  • Beach trolley runs every 30 minutes from St. Pete Beach to Clearwater Beach
  • Local taxi company across the street
Attractions
  • Tropicana Field
  • Salvador Dali Museum
  • Sunken Gardens
  • The Pier
Business

Grand Plaza Resort & Hotel on St Pete Beach provides facilities for conferences, corporate getaways, business meetings, trade shows, Florida beach weddings, reunions or parties. The staff specializes in "theme" parties and can set up casual barbecue beach parties and company picnics as well as black-tie affairs.

Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center Rooms

Direct Beachfront Guestroom with Private Furnished Balcony
All Direct Beachfront guestrooms include a furnished private balcony with a view of the Gulf of Mexico and our sugar white soft sandy beach. Each guestroom has a king size bed with a Simmons Health Smart mattress and one double bed so you can one of the best night's sleep ever. Also provided is a sofa for casual relaxation, refrigerator, microwave oven, coffee maker with complimentary coffee, complimentary electronic safe, hairdryer, bathroom toiletries, AM/FM clock radio, ceiling fans, individual air conditioning system, 32 inch television with DVD, CD and MP3 players, free HBO & Disney channels, iron and ironing board, unlimited complimentary wireless internet access, and telephone with voice mail.
Partial Coastal & Beach View Guestroom with Private Furnished Balcony
All Partial Ocean & Coastal View guestrooms include a furnished private balcony with a side view of the Gulf of Mexico and our sugar white soft sandy beach. Each guestroom has a king size bed with a Simmons Health Smart mattress and one double bed so you can one of the best night's sleep ever. Also provided is a sofa for casual relaxation, refrigerator, microwave oven, coffee maker with complimentary coffee, complimentary electronic safe, hairdryer, bathroom toiletries, AM/FM clock radio, ceiling fans, individual air conditioning system, 32 inch television with DVD, CD and MP3 players, free HBO & Disney channels, iron and ironing board, unlimited complimentary wireless internet access, and telephone with voice mail.
Bay & City View Guestroom with Private Furnished Balcony
All Bay & City View guestrooms include a furnished private balcony with a side view of Boca Ciega Bay to the east or the city of St. Pete Beach. Each guestroom has a king size bed with a Simmons Health Smart mattress and one double bed so you can one of the best night's sleep ever. Also provided is a sofa for casual relaxation, refrigerator, microwave oven, coffee maker with complimentary coffee, complimentary electronic safe, hairdryer, bathroom toiletries, AM/FM clock radio, ceiling fans, individual air conditioning system, 32 inch television with DVD, CD and MP3 players, free HBO & Disney channels, iron and ironing board, unlimited complimentary wireless internet access, and telephone with voice mail.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Night club
Game room
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Wheel chair access
Handicapped parking
Wheelchair accessible elevators

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Hotel Map

27.7264 -82.7418
Area served
St. Pete Beach, St. Petersburg, Clearwater, Seminole, Gulfport, South Pasadena, Tampa, FL
Nearby airports
Tampa International Airport (TPA), St. Petersburg/Clearwater International Airport (PIE)
Area description
Located directly on the beach of the Gulf of Mexico, close to the city of St. Petersburg, Salvador Dali Museum, Tropicana Field, Fort Desoto Park

Nearby points of interest

  • Tropicana Field: 7.3 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
If you are looking for a place to getaway or hold a meeting, tradeshow, wedding or party in a casual, serene and upscale atmosphere then our Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort is just the answer you have been looking for. Whether the event is large, small, indoors, outdoors, casual or elegant we can accommodate your every need.

Dining

Bongo's Beach Bar & Grille
Directly on the white powdery beach of the Gulf of Mexico the newly designed Bongo's Beach Bar & Grille with its unhurried casual atmosphere is the place to be just for the fun of it. Here there are no pressures or deadlines to meet. Whether kicking back under the sun and grooving to some of the best local live entertainment while savoring over frozen tropical libations or having a bite to eat with your feet in the sand, this is a pleasure lovers dream come true. Open every day Rain or Shine.
The Palm Room and Restaurant
The Palm Room and Restaurant located poolside and overlooking the beach is open daily from 7:00 AM to 11:30 AM serving a breakfast buffet that is sure to get your day off to the right start. Ala cart menu is also offered. Dining options are indoors in lush tropical decorative surroundings, or outdoors with a view of the beach and Gulf of Mexico.
Spinners Revolving Rooftop Bistro & Lounge
Take the glass elevator ride to Spinners Revolving Rooftop Bistro & Lounge for an unsurpassed, constantly revolving 360 degree view of St. Pete Beach and the Gulf of Mexico. Spinners is the only revolving rooftop restaurant on the Gulf Coast of Florida. Not only are the food and service fabulous the constantly changing views are captivating. Throughout the years it continues to be the place where engagements happen, anniversaries and birthdays are celebrated and memories of a lifetime are made.
The menu consists of both local and continental cuisine that will surely awaken all of your pleasure senses is prepared by award winning chefs and served by impeccable wait staff. Lunch and dinner are served daily from 11:00 AM to 10:00 PM.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (556)

Ratings and reviews for Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
556 out of 556
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lazarai
Seminole, FL
Jan 25, 2010

Awesome location

We are local (live only a few miles from the Gulf beaches) and were looking for a one-night childless getaway AT the beach away from our teenagers (LOL). I booked online through Cheap Tickets which was offering an upgrade for travel between Date X and Date Y. So I booked the less expensive room, knowing we would be upgraded when we arrived to the second type of room, so from Bay view to Up-the-Beach view. When we arrived at check-in, a wonderfully sweet and nice desk person named [...] checked us in and acknowledged the upgrade. I don't know if we looked harried or what (we do have TWO teenagers, after all, LOL), but we must have walked in at the right time or something, because she handed us the keys to room PH1....which turned out to be an Up-the-Beach view PENTHOUSE SUITE!! It had a beautifully appointed bedroom with king bed, TV, DVD, etc., and a jetted tub. In the other room was a kitchen table and chairs, microwave, coffee-maker and fridge, then down a few stairs into the living room area with a huge flatscreen TV and DVR. The penthouse windows were floor-to-ceiling (with really high ceilings!!) and offered THE most gorgeous views up the beach and of the Gulf -- absolutely beautiful!! There was a wedding going on down below at the resort next door. Later in the evening, a fire ring was dug out in the sand and there was huge campfire on the beach that we could see from our room.Anyway, the penthouse upgrade made our night and allowed us to truly relax. All of the staff that we came across were nice and helpful (especially [...]!). The beach bar Bongo Bongos had good live music that afternoon. I only wish we had a week to stay, it was so much FUN there!!I would definitely go back and will recommend this place to friends and family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Desna
Orlando, FL
Sep 3, 2007

Great Location

The Grand Plaza Beach Resort Hotel is situated in a great location on St. Pete Beach. The rooms are very comfortable with ample space for any size family or group. There is also good dining options suited for any occasion.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Love St Pete Beach
Pittsburgh, PA
Jan 7, 2011

Awesome room and staff

Location of the hotel is perfect. We were given a room upgrade that was spectacular. The staff was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Durham/Raleigh, NC
May 24, 2007

great value

The Grand PLaza was a great choice for us. When we finally got to the hotel due to airlines, we were up graded to the penthouse suite from a bay view king size room. Great views, close to alot of eating places and two resturants in the hotel. good for the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

short walk to the beach and great dining on the beach

Review of Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Beachbum Tim
Louisville, KY
Oct 31, 2009

Fantastic Beach Get-away!

Perfect beach get-away. The pool deck with ready access to both the beautiful beach and fabulous beach bar/grill was where we spent most of our time. Wonderful place to bask in warm Florida sun and watch stunning sunsets. Bongos (the beach bar) was terrific -- with great frozen drinks served in the bar or by the pool. The daily entertainment in the bar was a nice surprise and the bluegrass combo that played on Sunday, October 25 was awesome. The staff at the hotel was very friendly -- from the front desk to the room cleaning staff to our favorite bar servers - [...] and [...]. Don't miss Spinners - the rooftop revolving restaurant with reasonable prices for a great meal and unique experience. Our fridge wasn't working when we arrived and within minutes we had a new fridge that was already cool! Also -- this place doesn't charge for extras like parking, resort fees, etc. It is all included in the room price. Will certainly go back when in St. Pete Beach!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Don't expect "glamorous" nightlife in St. Pete Beach -- but there are some great hangouts that attract locals and tourists (where everyone gets along!). We tried the Drunken Clam just off the strip and a short walk from the Hotel. There are some other nice beach bars along the beach.

Review of Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Jun 11, 2008

Above Average Hotel

After arriving very early in St. Pete Beach and spending some time at the nearby public access beach, I tried to check in early. My room was still dirty from the previous tenant so the desk took my cell phone number. I was back right at 4 even though I hadn't had a call and was told my room still wasn't ready. The clerk felt really bad and was sincere. She again told me she would call as soon as it was ready. Five minutes later I got a call that told me they were upgrading my room (sweet!) and when I got to the desk they also gave me a $25 meal coupon because of their mistake. The room I was upgraded to was a city view room. Room was very nice. Huge TV, Huge Bed, Very Clean. The pull down second bed seemed nice but since I was traveling alone I didnt use it, Primary bed was comfortable. One of the sheets wasnt in perfect condition, but it was clean so I was ok with it. Strong shower (which I like), plenty of hot water, and having the fridge and microwave in room was great (the grocery store was 8 blocks south on the main drive, and their definition of a block is about as short as they could make it). Never used their pool but the area surrounding it looked clean. Their stretch of beach is beautiful and the cabana rental on their beach is 20 dollars (which seemed reasonable for the area). Was actually one of the least busy areas on the beach - got busier north at Tradewinds near the giant waterslide and south closer to the public access beach. About the only things I can complain about are very slow elevators - and it wouldnt be so bad if the stairs were better marked. Their is a door to the right of the elevators that looks like a janitors closet on the main floor. The door to the stairs is to the back and turn right. Knowing this sooner would have saved me a lot of time. My other complaint would be the exterior doors to the porches. Mine was not sealed correctly and when a storm blew in from the east on the first day of my stay, water came in under the door. Nothing Noah and the Ark like, a towel mopped it up and blocked the rest of it from coming in. But when I mentioned it to the front desk guy at check out, he didnt seem to care. Lesson: if you see storms coming in from the direction your room faces, request extra towels in advance. Despite my very minor complaints, I really enjoyed this hotel. I plan on returning next year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Gulf Boulevard actually splits to the north side of town and then continues. If you're looking for addresses in the 10 thousands expect to encounter this split in the road.

Review of Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Fugini
Washington, DC, USA
Sep 8, 2011

Visiting Relatives and my wife's College

We had a wonderful time right on the beach. Also, we didn't arrive until 1:30 am and we were able to relax at the bar by the beach with a cold one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Dine at the rooftop revolving restaurant and see the city at night.

Review of Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Vermont Rocks Florida
Colchester, VT
May 27, 2014

Awesome Hotel

This place has everything you need you don't need to leave the hotel yet if you want to it is so close to everything you will enjoy your trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

2011 Chopstick house is the best place you could eat, outstanding and well worth the money.

Review of Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
st petersburg, fl
May 3, 2011

SPeCTACULAr views and Sunsets

i relaxed and enjoyed the views from both terraces in our suite... had dinner in spinners and the net morning at breakfast in the plaza room which was absolutely delicious and everything ordered..was cooked to perfection... i cant wait to stay there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

dinner at spinners was great with spectacular sunset views while dining... and breakfast was superb...

Review of Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Lakeville
Aug 10, 2008

great service

The Grand Plaza had very friendly staff...never asked a question they didn't do their best to answer. Gave us good ideas about dining and transportation in the area. While we were there the service elevator wasn't working so it seemed the elevators were always very crowded and hard to find. But overall, we had an excellent stay.If we ever visited St. Pete Beach again, we would have no problem booking again at this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The Beach Mart across the street has awesome souvenirs.

Back to menu Return to top