$127 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 13, 2015 Check-out: Jan 16, 2015

Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center

3 stars
5250 Gulf Boulevard, St. Pete Beach, FL 33706
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
362 reviews
great hotel

the hotel is right on the beach with a great beach bar downstairs (bongos) close to the outdoor... See full review

  • Billy H.
  • Dec 20, 2014
FUN AND RELAXING!

FRIENDLY AND ACCOMMODATING STAFF!!! COMFY ROOMS AND BEDS!BEAUTIFUL VIEW! See full review

  • Sad Suzie
  • Oct 3, 2014
Fun and sun near St. Pete Beach, with a revolving restaurant up top

The Grand Plaza Beach resort is the tallest and closest hotel to the Gulf of Mexico on St. Pete Beach. Leisure or corporate travelers will find a sanctuary of more than five acres of lush beachfront gardens. Just outside the rooms, guests can step onto the cool, white sand of a private beach for a relaxing West Coast Florida getaway. Enjoy meals by the pool or head inside to dine while checking out the awe-inspiring panoramic views from the window of the slowly revolving bistro.

Highlights
  • Parking, fitness center and Wi-Fi are all complimentary
  • Professionally designed and lit beach volleyball courts
  • Fantastic views from private balconies
  • Rooftop revolving bistro
Location

The resort's ideal location is close to the city of St. Petersburg for fishing, golf, museums, parks and a short day-trip to Tampa's shopping and attractions.

Rooms

All renovated beach resort guest rooms include a furnished private balcony with unparalleled views of the coastline and Gulf of Mexico or the tranquil and soothing Boca Ciega Bay to the east.

Additional room amenities include a refrigerator; microwave; in-room safe; unlimited complimentary wireless Internet access; DVD, MP3 and CD players; iron and ironing board.

One-bedroom beachfront resort suites are available with two private balconies that open to the Gulf of Mexico. Each resort suite has one king bed and one double bed. The parlor to the suite includes a pull-out sleeper sofa and a dining table with seating for four.

Features

With three dining areas located on the property, The Grand Plaza offers restaurant experiences ranging from ground floor pool-side dining and buffets to the top floor's Spinners Rooftop Revolving Bistro. Every seat offers a great and ever-changing view. Guests can opt for dining waterside for breakfast in The Palm Room & Restaurant or head to the sand to try Bongo's Beach Bar and Grille, which takes great pride in its live weekend entertainment and more than 200 fresh frozen tropical drinks.

Transportation
  • Tampa International Airport (TPA) (30 minutes)
  • St. Petersburg/Clearwater International Airport (PIE) (30 minutes)
  • Free ride (car or golf-cart) from St. Pete Beach to other nearby beaches, including Madeira Beach, for shopping and sightseeing
  • Beach trolley runs every 30 minutes from St. Pete Beach to Clearwater Beach
  • Local taxi company across the street
Attractions
  • Tropicana Field
  • Salvador Dali Museum
  • Sunken Gardens
  • The Pier
Business

Grand Plaza Resort & Hotel on St Pete Beach provides facilities for conferences, corporate getaways, business meetings, trade shows, Florida beach weddings, reunions or parties. The staff specializes in "theme" parties and can set up casual barbecue beach parties and company picnics as well as black-tie affairs.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center Rooms

Direct Beachfront Guestroom with Private Furnished Balcony
All Direct Beachfront guestrooms include a private balcony with a view of the Gulf of Mexico and our sugar white soft sandy beach. Each guestroom has a king size bed with a Simmons Health Smart mattress and one double bed so you can one of the best night's sleep ever. Also provided is a sofa for casual relaxation, refrigerator, microwave oven, coffee maker with complimentary coffee, complimentary electronic safe, hairdryer, bathroom toiletries, AM/FM clock radio, ceiling fans, individual air conditioning system, 32 inch television with DVD, CD and MP3 players, free HBO & Disney channels, iron and ironing board, unlimited complimentary wireless internet access, and telephone with voice mail.
Bay & City View Guestroom with Private Furnished Balcony
All Bay & City View guestrooms include a private balcony with a side view of Boca Ciega Bay to the east or the city of St. Pete Beach. Each guestroom has a king size bed with a Simmons Health Smart mattress and one double bed so you can one of the best night's sleep ever. Also provided is a sofa for casual relaxation, refrigerator, microwave oven, coffee maker with complimentary coffee, complimentary electronic safe, hairdryer, bathroom toiletries, AM/FM clock radio, ceiling fans, individual air conditioning system, 32 inch television with DVD, CD and MP3 players, free HBO & Disney channels, iron and ironing board, unlimited complimentary wireless internet access, and telephone with voice mail.
Partial Coastal & Beach View Guestroom with Private Furnished Balcony
All Partial Ocean & Coastal View guestrooms include a private balcony with a side view of the Gulf of Mexico and our sugar white soft sandy beach. Each guestroom has a king size bed with a Simmons Health Smart mattress and one double bed so you can one of the best night's sleep ever. Also provided is a sofa for casual relaxation, refrigerator, microwave oven, coffee maker with complimentary coffee, complimentary electronic safe, hairdryer, bathroom toiletries, AM/FM clock radio, ceiling fans, individual air conditioning system, 32 inch television with DVD, CD and MP3 players, free HBO & Disney channels, iron and ironing board, unlimited complimentary wireless internet access, and telephone with voice mail.
SuperSaver
Each Super Saver guestroom has one king size bed, refrigerator, microwave oven, coffee maker with complimentary coffee, complimentary electronic safe, hairdryer, bathroom toiletries, AM/FM clock radio, individual air conditioning system, 32 inch television with DVD, CD and MP3 players, free HBO & Disney channels, iron and ironing board, unlimited complimentary wireless internet access, and telephone with voice mail.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Night club
Game room
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Wheel chair access
Handicapped parking
Wheelchair accessible elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Tropicana Field: 7.3 mi

Dining

Bongo's Beach Bar & Grille
Directly on the white powdery beach of the Gulf of Mexico the newly designed Bongo's Beach Bar & Grille with its unhurried casual atmosphere is the place to be just for the fun of it. Here there are no pressures or deadlines to meet. Whether kicking back under the sun and grooving to some of the best local live entertainment while savoring over frozen tropical libations or having a bite to eat with your feet in the sand, this is a pleasure lovers dream come true. Open every day Rain or Shine.
The Palm Room and Restaurant
The Palm Room and Restaurant located poolside and overlooking the beach is open daily from 7:00 AM to 11:30 AM serving a breakfast buffet that is sure to get your day off to the right start. Ala cart menu is also offered. Dining options are indoors in lush tropical decorative surroundings, or outdoors with a view of the beach and Gulf of Mexico.
Spinners Revolving Rooftop Bistro & Lounge
Take the glass elevator ride to Spinners Revolving Rooftop Bistro & Lounge for an unsurpassed, constantly revolving 360 degree view of St. Pete Beach and the Gulf of Mexico. Spinners is the only revolving rooftop restaurant on the Gulf Coast of Florida. Not only are the food and service fabulous the constantly changing views are captivating. Throughout the years it continues to be the place where engagements happen, anniversaries and birthdays are celebrated and memories of a lifetime are made.
The menu consists of both local and continental cuisine that will surely awaken all of your pleasure senses is prepared by award winning chefs and served by impeccable wait staff. Lunch and dinner are served daily from 11:00 AM to 10:00 PM.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
If you are looking for a place to getaway or hold a meeting, tradeshow, wedding or party in a casual, serene and upscale atmosphere then our Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort is just the answer you have been looking for. Whether the event is large, small, indoors, outdoors, casual or elegant we can accommodate your every need.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (362)

Ratings and reviews for Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
362 out of 362
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St Louis, MO
Apr 18, 2008

very friendly staff

Our stay at the Grand Plaza Resort Hotel was very satisfying both with the staff's friendliness and anemities offered. We basically were there to rest and relax and this hotel was a perfect match for us. The beachfront was awesome and so close at hand. My one complaint, and it was no big deal, the bathroom we had was so small to accomodate 2 people getting ready to go out. Other than this, I would give the Grand Plaza an 8 on a scale of 10.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The location offered quite a selection of restaurants within walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Dec 3, 2007

back for more

This was my 2nd visit to this hotel in 3 months. I was upgraded to a partial gulf view, which was terrific. The room was large and spacious. Between the heated pool and the expansive beach, this is for sun-lovers. Crabby Bills is practically next door. Very delicious and very reasonable. I can't wait to return in 2008.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a Publix supermarket just down the road. Pick up all your basics there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
USA
Dec 23, 2008

Very friendly & enjoyable

My daughter (28yrs old) and I were down to visit my mother (94yr old) so we were in and out a lot. We had a free upgrade upon checking in. The sunsets are beautiful! The beach was clean--enjoyed walking and shelling-very enjoyable. We did not happen to use the pool but there were other guests that appeared to be enjoying it very much. All staff we had contact with were very friendly and helpful. Rooms were always cleaned and ready for us. Daughter enjoyed computer access as she could use her laptop and keep in touch with work etc. We enjoyed the sunset with dinner at Spinners one night and although a little expensive for us it was a wonderful experience and everyone should do it at least once. The view is wonderful all the way around, plus the sunset a bonus! We had a very enjoyable 5 day stay! We would definitely recommend and/or return ourselves. In fact we have already recommended it to several friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lazarai
Business
Seminole, FL
Jan 25, 2010

Awesome location

We are local (live only a few miles from the Gulf beaches) and were looking for a one-night childless getaway AT the beach away from our teenagers (LOL). I booked online through Cheap Tickets which was offering an upgrade for travel between Date X and Date Y. So I booked the less expensive room, knowing we would be upgraded when we arrived to the second type of room, so from Bay view to Up-the-Beach view. When we arrived at check-in, a wonderfully sweet and nice desk person named [...] checked us in and acknowledged the upgrade. I don't know if we looked harried or what (we do have TWO teenagers, after all, LOL), but we must have walked in at the right time or something, because she handed us the keys to room PH1....which turned out to be an Up-the-Beach view PENTHOUSE SUITE!! It had a beautifully appointed bedroom with king bed, TV, DVD, etc., and a jetted tub. In the other room was a kitchen table and chairs, microwave, coffee-maker and fridge, then down a few stairs into the living room area with a huge flatscreen TV and DVR. The penthouse windows were floor-to-ceiling (with really high ceilings!!) and offered THE most gorgeous views up the beach and of the Gulf -- absolutely beautiful!! There was a wedding going on down below at the resort next door. Later in the evening, a fire ring was dug out in the sand and there was huge campfire on the beach that we could see from our room.Anyway, the penthouse upgrade made our night and allowed us to truly relax. All of the staff that we came across were nice and helpful (especially [...]!). The beach bar Bongo Bongos had good live music that afternoon. I only wish we had a week to stay, it was so much FUN there!!I would definitely go back and will recommend this place to friends and family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Javajunkie3
Business
Boston, MA
Aug 7, 2011

Nice Beach and Room

Front desk staff was very nice, and concierge very helpful in finding a restaurant on a busy Saturday night. Called the free cab ride for us and made suggestions. Room was clean bed was comfortable and beach was awesome, with cabana's, jet skies etc to rent. Beach bar was nice with live music and you have to have a hurricane drink (made with a 2 stroke belender for when the power goes out).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to the Hurricane for grouper and rum runners (on passe grill a short drive) beautiful sunsets...this place used to be packed but is now a little more accessible, don't listen to the bad reviews, food is still good!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ALBERT AND NELLY
Business
Stow, OH, USA
Feb 4, 2012

PERFECT GETAWAY

WE HAD A GREAT TIME, CINTHIA, ANTONIO, NIKKY AND ALL THE STAFF WAS VERY FRIENDLY AND NICE

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Floridaluv
Business
Ky
Feb 4, 2012

Fantastic Getaway

We had a wonderful room and service, this was our first stay at Grand Plaza. Beach Front Views, Comfy and Clean Room, Free Parking and No Resort Fees, Wireless Internet. Every Single Staff was very kind and courteous. The Sunrise, Sunset on the Beach were just amazing. There was noise from the Bongos Resturant late nite, but also live music, and a lot of ppl coming and going,,but hey it's a hotel. We'll be back!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Batchellerman
Business
Upstate NY
Apr 2, 2012

Want to go Back

The Hotel is GREAT, one of the best we have ever stayed at.. Hotel was SPOTLESS Staff was COURTEOUS and the room was SPOTLESS. Would recomend to my friends and will definately go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Did not even need a rental car, everything is within walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Codeman3200
Business
Parkersburg, Indiana
Jul 28, 2012

Wonderful!

My wife and I had a wonderful stay here. The room was very clean and the staff was extremely friendly!!! We will definitely be going back there! Spinners and Bongos had great food and awesome drinks!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
April W
Business
Cincinnati Ohio
Aug 10, 2012

33 Birthday Getaway

My husband and I enjoyed this place it was clean, our room was ready on time, the staff were friendly and helpful, and It was a relaxing and fun trip. We loved that we could walk to everything and we will come back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top