$112 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 24, 2014 Check-out: Dec 26, 2014

Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center

3 stars
5250 Gulf Boulevard, St. Pete Beach, FL 33706
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
360 reviews
FUN AND RELAXING!

FRIENDLY AND ACCOMMODATING STAFF!!! COMFY ROOMS AND BEDS!BEAUTIFUL VIEW! See full review

  • Sad Suzie
  • Oct 3, 2014
Great!!!

The rooms are great, very clean and comfortable. Had plenty of room. The hotel staff was out every... See full review

  • MR4821
  • Aug 22, 2014
Fun and sun near St. Pete Beach, with a revolving restaurant up top

The Grand Plaza Beach resort is the tallest and closest hotel to the Gulf of Mexico on St. Pete Beach. Leisure or corporate travelers will find a sanctuary of more than five acres of lush beachfront gardens. Just outside the rooms, guests can step onto the cool, white sand of a private beach for a relaxing West Coast Florida getaway. Enjoy meals by the pool or head inside to dine while checking out the awe-inspiring panoramic views from the window of the slowly revolving bistro.

Highlights
  • Parking, fitness center and Wi-Fi are all complimentary
  • Professionally designed and lit beach volleyball courts
  • Fantastic views from private balconies
  • Rooftop revolving bistro
Location

The resort's ideal location is close to the city of St. Petersburg for fishing, golf, museums, parks and a short day-trip to Tampa's shopping and attractions.

Rooms

All renovated beach resort guest rooms include a furnished private balcony with unparalleled views of the coastline and Gulf of Mexico or the tranquil and soothing Boca Ciega Bay to the east.

Additional room amenities include a refrigerator; microwave; in-room safe; unlimited complimentary wireless Internet access; DVD, MP3 and CD players; iron and ironing board.

One-bedroom beachfront resort suites are available with two private balconies that open to the Gulf of Mexico. Each resort suite has one king bed and one double bed. The parlor to the suite includes a pull-out sleeper sofa and a dining table with seating for four.

Features

With three dining areas located on the property, The Grand Plaza offers restaurant experiences ranging from ground floor pool-side dining and buffets to the top floor's Spinners Rooftop Revolving Bistro. Every seat offers a great and ever-changing view. Guests can opt for dining waterside for breakfast in The Palm Room & Restaurant or head to the sand to try Bongo's Beach Bar and Grille, which takes great pride in its live weekend entertainment and more than 200 fresh frozen tropical drinks.

Transportation
  • Tampa International Airport (TPA) (30 minutes)
  • St. Petersburg/Clearwater International Airport (PIE) (30 minutes)
  • Free ride (car or golf-cart) from St. Pete Beach to other nearby beaches, including Madeira Beach, for shopping and sightseeing
  • Beach trolley runs every 30 minutes from St. Pete Beach to Clearwater Beach
  • Local taxi company across the street
Attractions
  • Tropicana Field
  • Salvador Dali Museum
  • Sunken Gardens
  • The Pier
Business

Grand Plaza Resort & Hotel on St Pete Beach provides facilities for conferences, corporate getaways, business meetings, trade shows, Florida beach weddings, reunions or parties. The staff specializes in "theme" parties and can set up casual barbecue beach parties and company picnics as well as black-tie affairs.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center Rooms

Direct Beachfront Guestroom with Private Furnished Balcony
All Direct Beachfront guestrooms include a private balcony with a view of the Gulf of Mexico and our sugar white soft sandy beach. Each guestroom has a king size bed with a Simmons Health Smart mattress and one double bed so you can one of the best night's sleep ever. Also provided is a sofa for casual relaxation, refrigerator, microwave oven, coffee maker with complimentary coffee, complimentary electronic safe, hairdryer, bathroom toiletries, AM/FM clock radio, ceiling fans, individual air conditioning system, 32 inch television with DVD, CD and MP3 players, free HBO & Disney channels, iron and ironing board, unlimited complimentary wireless internet access, and telephone with voice mail.
Bay & City View Guestroom with Private Furnished Balcony
All Bay & City View guestrooms include a private balcony with a side view of Boca Ciega Bay to the east or the city of St. Pete Beach. Each guestroom has a king size bed with a Simmons Health Smart mattress and one double bed so you can one of the best night's sleep ever. Also provided is a sofa for casual relaxation, refrigerator, microwave oven, coffee maker with complimentary coffee, complimentary electronic safe, hairdryer, bathroom toiletries, AM/FM clock radio, ceiling fans, individual air conditioning system, 32 inch television with DVD, CD and MP3 players, free HBO & Disney channels, iron and ironing board, unlimited complimentary wireless internet access, and telephone with voice mail.
Partial Coastal & Beach View Guestroom with Private Furnished Balcony
All Partial Ocean & Coastal View guestrooms include a private balcony with a side view of the Gulf of Mexico and our sugar white soft sandy beach. Each guestroom has a king size bed with a Simmons Health Smart mattress and one double bed so you can one of the best night's sleep ever. Also provided is a sofa for casual relaxation, refrigerator, microwave oven, coffee maker with complimentary coffee, complimentary electronic safe, hairdryer, bathroom toiletries, AM/FM clock radio, ceiling fans, individual air conditioning system, 32 inch television with DVD, CD and MP3 players, free HBO & Disney channels, iron and ironing board, unlimited complimentary wireless internet access, and telephone with voice mail.
SuperSaver
Each Super Saver guestroom has one king size bed, refrigerator, microwave oven, coffee maker with complimentary coffee, complimentary electronic safe, hairdryer, bathroom toiletries, AM/FM clock radio, individual air conditioning system, 32 inch television with DVD, CD and MP3 players, free HBO & Disney channels, iron and ironing board, unlimited complimentary wireless internet access, and telephone with voice mail.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Night club
Game room
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Wheel chair access
Handicapped parking
Wheelchair accessible elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Tropicana Field: 7.3 mi

Dining

Bongo's Beach Bar & Grille
Directly on the white powdery beach of the Gulf of Mexico the newly designed Bongo's Beach Bar & Grille with its unhurried casual atmosphere is the place to be just for the fun of it. Here there are no pressures or deadlines to meet. Whether kicking back under the sun and grooving to some of the best local live entertainment while savoring over frozen tropical libations or having a bite to eat with your feet in the sand, this is a pleasure lovers dream come true. Open every day Rain or Shine.
The Palm Room and Restaurant
The Palm Room and Restaurant located poolside and overlooking the beach is open daily from 7:00 AM to 11:30 AM serving a breakfast buffet that is sure to get your day off to the right start. Ala cart menu is also offered. Dining options are indoors in lush tropical decorative surroundings, or outdoors with a view of the beach and Gulf of Mexico.
Spinners Revolving Rooftop Bistro & Lounge
Take the glass elevator ride to Spinners Revolving Rooftop Bistro & Lounge for an unsurpassed, constantly revolving 360 degree view of St. Pete Beach and the Gulf of Mexico. Spinners is the only revolving rooftop restaurant on the Gulf Coast of Florida. Not only are the food and service fabulous the constantly changing views are captivating. Throughout the years it continues to be the place where engagements happen, anniversaries and birthdays are celebrated and memories of a lifetime are made.
The menu consists of both local and continental cuisine that will surely awaken all of your pleasure senses is prepared by award winning chefs and served by impeccable wait staff. Lunch and dinner are served daily from 11:00 AM to 10:00 PM.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
If you are looking for a place to getaway or hold a meeting, tradeshow, wedding or party in a casual, serene and upscale atmosphere then our Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort is just the answer you have been looking for. Whether the event is large, small, indoors, outdoors, casual or elegant we can accommodate your every need.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (360)

Ratings and reviews for Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
360 out of 360
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DebnTom
Business
Rotonda West,Florida
Jul 1, 2013

Room view

Very disappointed with our view in room 204. In the description of the rooms at this hotel each room would have a view of the beach,the bay ,or both. Our room had a view of the parking lot and a wall. On the positive side the roof top restaurant Spinners was an enjoyable experience. The food and service were very good with wonder view as we turned during dinner.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Spinners

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Satisfied Sarah
Business
New York, NY
Jul 1, 2013

Like a dream

I attended a conference at a neighboring hotel, and the Grand Plaza, when they found out that I had undergone a four hour flight delay, immediately upgraded my room to a PENTHOUSE! Beautiful, easy, comfortable, stunning...nothing better to say for this place. Stay here if you can (even if it does look like a space station from a 70s movie).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
EACork
Business
new york, new york
Jun 14, 2013

Bed bugs, old building, poor service

I recently stayed at Grand Plaza for a friend's wedding. The trip was not great, and ever since then we have had our apartment torn to pieces thanks to bed bugs. If you have ever had bed bugs, you know how stressful, expensive, and disgusting it is. Other than the bug infestation, most of the staff was rude. The building was old and out of date. The gym was gross. It was such a disappointment, as we were very much looking forward to a relaxing vacation and celebrating a wedding.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
3xer
Business
Georgetown, Indiana
Jun 12, 2013

Third time around

This was our third time staying here, but maybe our last. This is a good place for a first time visit. Beware that this is a destination wedding spot, so it can become somewhat rowdy at times. The best part is the beachfront location. Beautiful sunsets. The hotel provides cabana's (fee), but they are showing their age and need to be replaced. Plenty of activities (jet skis, parasailing) and shops in the area. Easy to get around by car, bike or bus. The room was clean, the bed was awful (worn mattress), the bathroom was tiny. Bongos beach bar was nice, the food was good, but a tad overpriced in my opinion. We love the St. Pete area, but all in all we will probably try somewhere else next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dealsearcher
Business
west chester, pa
Jun 2, 2013

Nice Vacation

Bay view hotel room but still nice views. Location is the best part. Liquor store and beach mart across from hotel and beach bar right next to it. Can walk to restaurant (crabby bills) also next to hotel. Private beach right off pool area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
concrete sup
Business
Bismarck, ND
May 27, 2013

great for middle age, not to old and not to young

It's an older hotel and the rooms are not great, but its where you sleep and shower. The staff was great, always seen trying to improve the stay. but not noticed. It's all about the beach and pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MR.Donster
Business
NC
May 22, 2013

Great vacation for husband and wife

Hotel was good except bathroom was too small. Front desk was very helpfull and nice. Robert was exceptional and went out of his way to accomadate. Would be nice if hotel had shuttle service to certain activities within a 20 to 30 mile radius. Mall, tropicana field,resturants, etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Get a room that has a larger bathroom

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Loves the viewsr
Business
State line. Illinois
Apr 16, 2013

Couple getaway

Great beach area. It was easier walking the beach with water shoes because of all the small shells. Good beach bar, loved the frozen banana split drink. Ate at the revolving restaurant very good. Had a room with partial beach front. We could watch the sunset from our room. We had a liquor store and beach shop across the street. Three blocks down was a grocery store. Several places to eat within walking distance. Loved the golf carts that you called and the took you places for a tip. We had perfect weather.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Mad Fish was very good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mel Shaughnessy
Business
Avon
Apr 13, 2013

Didn't love it!

This hotel needs serious renovations and could use a scrub down with bleach. On our third night our daughter found a pair of ladies underwear that didn't belong to us in her pull-down murphy bed! We stayed on the 9th floor and at night it was extremely noisy from the wedding receptions. This is a big wedding destination hotel. The bathroom barely accommodates one person, extremely small! Overall, not a good value. Best part of the hotel is Bongos Beach bar. Suggest you stay elsewhere and walk to Bongos from the beach!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Small, great restaurant a short walking distance across the street called 1200 Chop House.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TallSteve15
Business
Chicago, IL
Apr 11, 2013

Great, affordable beachfront resort

My girlfriend and I were visiting family in Tampa but decided to get a hotel for one night on the beach for her birthday. We chose the Grand Plaza because of its high ratings online, coupled with the affordability (this was early April so prices are higher for Spring Break). We were very pleased with our experience at the hotel. The front desk staff were the only employees we had contact with and they were very nice and helpful. The room was very big and clean, and every room features a balcony. We paid for a bay-view but were upgraded to one on the south end that had a view of both the Bay and the Gulf of Mexico. The beach behind the hotel is fantastic. We were hoping that we could get free umbrellas, but that was not the case. Nonetheless, it's a great place to hang out and close to all the action that St. Pete Beach has to offer. Our favorite part was Bongos for lunch. We went there two days in a row, got tables literally on the beach (on the sand) and had great service. From everything we heard, dinner at Spinners was not worth it because you could get the same exact food at Bongos or via room service, and you just pay for the rotating view. To be honest, the view from our balcony was just fine and we found dinner somewhere else. I have no real complaints about this place, and if we ever stay in St. Pete Beach again I would definitely go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Skip Spinners, try Bongos for lunch, dinner and drinks. Also at sunset, they pass out free Sunset Shooters. Not a fancy drink or anything... but FREE ALCOHOL? How can you pass that up?!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top