$122 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 7, 2014 Check-out: Aug 8, 2014

Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center

3 stars
5250 Gulf Boulevard, St. Pete Beach, FL 33706
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
556 reviews
Vowel renewel weekend

Hotel was great, food, room, staff ,beach, even the hotel next door, had great pool bar, I would... See full review

  • Chandra loves the beach
  • Jul 11, 2014
Best beach getaway

Love St. Pete Beach and love staying at the Grand Plaza Hotel! See full review

  • Mrs. Darr
  • Jul 5, 2014
Fun and sun near St. Pete Beach, with a revolving restaurant up top

The Grand Plaza Beach resort is the tallest and closest hotel to the Gulf of Mexico on St. Pete Beach. Leisure or corporate travelers will find a sanctuary of more than five acres of lush beachfront gardens. Just outside the rooms, guests can step onto the cool, white sand of a private beach for a relaxing West Coast Florida getaway. Enjoy meals by the pool or head inside to dine while checking out the awe-inspiring panoramic views from the window of the slowly revolving bistro.

Highlights
  • Parking, fitness center and Wi-Fi are all complimentary
  • Professionally designed and lit beach volleyball courts
  • Fantastic views from private balconies
  • Rooftop revolving bistro
Location

The resort's ideal location is close to the city of St. Petersburg for fishing, golf, museums, parks and a short day-trip to Tampa's shopping and attractions.

Rooms

All renovated beach resort guest rooms include a furnished private balcony with unparalleled views of the coastline and Gulf of Mexico or the tranquil and soothing Boca Ciega Bay to the east.

Additional room amenities include a refrigerator; microwave; in-room safe; unlimited complimentary wireless Internet access; DVD, MP3 and CD players; iron and ironing board.

One-bedroom beachfront resort suites are available with two private balconies that open to the Gulf of Mexico. Each resort suite has one king bed and one double bed. The parlor to the suite includes a pull-out sleeper sofa and a dining table with seating for four.

Features

With three dining areas located on the property, The Grand Plaza offers restaurant experiences ranging from ground floor pool-side dining and buffets to the top floor's Spinners Rooftop Revolving Bistro. Every seat offers a great and ever-changing view. Guests can opt for dining waterside for breakfast in The Palm Room & Restaurant or head to the sand to try Bongo's Beach Bar and Grille, which takes great pride in its live weekend entertainment and more than 200 fresh frozen tropical drinks.

Transportation
  • Tampa International Airport (TPA) (30 minutes)
  • St. Petersburg/Clearwater International Airport (PIE) (30 minutes)
  • Free ride (car or golf-cart) from St. Pete Beach to other nearby beaches, including Madeira Beach, for shopping and sightseeing
  • Beach trolley runs every 30 minutes from St. Pete Beach to Clearwater Beach
  • Local taxi company across the street
Attractions
  • Tropicana Field
  • Salvador Dali Museum
  • Sunken Gardens
  • The Pier
Business

Grand Plaza Resort & Hotel on St Pete Beach provides facilities for conferences, corporate getaways, business meetings, trade shows, Florida beach weddings, reunions or parties. The staff specializes in "theme" parties and can set up casual barbecue beach parties and company picnics as well as black-tie affairs.

Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center Rooms

Direct Beachfront Guestroom with Private Furnished Balcony
All Direct Beachfront guestrooms include a furnished private balcony with a view of the Gulf of Mexico and our sugar white soft sandy beach. Each guestroom has a king size bed with a Simmons Health Smart mattress and one double bed so you can one of the best night's sleep ever. Also provided is a sofa for casual relaxation, refrigerator, microwave oven, coffee maker with complimentary coffee, complimentary electronic safe, hairdryer, bathroom toiletries, AM/FM clock radio, ceiling fans, individual air conditioning system, 32 inch television with DVD, CD and MP3 players, free HBO & Disney channels, iron and ironing board, unlimited complimentary wireless internet access, and telephone with voice mail.
Partial Coastal & Beach View Guestroom with Private Furnished Balcony
All Partial Ocean & Coastal View guestrooms include a furnished private balcony with a side view of the Gulf of Mexico and our sugar white soft sandy beach. Each guestroom has a king size bed with a Simmons Health Smart mattress and one double bed so you can one of the best night's sleep ever. Also provided is a sofa for casual relaxation, refrigerator, microwave oven, coffee maker with complimentary coffee, complimentary electronic safe, hairdryer, bathroom toiletries, AM/FM clock radio, ceiling fans, individual air conditioning system, 32 inch television with DVD, CD and MP3 players, free HBO & Disney channels, iron and ironing board, unlimited complimentary wireless internet access, and telephone with voice mail.
Bay & City View Guestroom with Private Furnished Balcony
All Bay & City View guestrooms include a furnished private balcony with a side view of Boca Ciega Bay to the east or the city of St. Pete Beach. Each guestroom has a king size bed with a Simmons Health Smart mattress and one double bed so you can one of the best night's sleep ever. Also provided is a sofa for casual relaxation, refrigerator, microwave oven, coffee maker with complimentary coffee, complimentary electronic safe, hairdryer, bathroom toiletries, AM/FM clock radio, ceiling fans, individual air conditioning system, 32 inch television with DVD, CD and MP3 players, free HBO & Disney channels, iron and ironing board, unlimited complimentary wireless internet access, and telephone with voice mail.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Night club
Game room
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Wheel chair access
Handicapped parking
Wheelchair accessible elevators

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Hotel Map

27.7264 -82.7418
Area served
St. Pete Beach, St. Petersburg, Clearwater, Seminole, Gulfport, South Pasadena, Tampa, FL
Nearby airports
Tampa International Airport (TPA), St. Petersburg/Clearwater International Airport (PIE)
Area description
Located directly on the beach of the Gulf of Mexico, close to the city of St. Petersburg, Salvador Dali Museum, Tropicana Field, Fort Desoto Park

Nearby points of interest

  • Tropicana Field: 7.3 mi

Dining

Bongo's Beach Bar & Grille
Directly on the white powdery beach of the Gulf of Mexico the newly designed Bongo's Beach Bar & Grille with its unhurried casual atmosphere is the place to be just for the fun of it. Here there are no pressures or deadlines to meet. Whether kicking back under the sun and grooving to some of the best local live entertainment while savoring over frozen tropical libations or having a bite to eat with your feet in the sand, this is a pleasure lovers dream come true. Open every day Rain or Shine.
The Palm Room and Restaurant
The Palm Room and Restaurant located poolside and overlooking the beach is open daily from 7:00 AM to 11:30 AM serving a breakfast buffet that is sure to get your day off to the right start. Ala cart menu is also offered. Dining options are indoors in lush tropical decorative surroundings, or outdoors with a view of the beach and Gulf of Mexico.
Spinners Revolving Rooftop Bistro & Lounge
Take the glass elevator ride to Spinners Revolving Rooftop Bistro & Lounge for an unsurpassed, constantly revolving 360 degree view of St. Pete Beach and the Gulf of Mexico. Spinners is the only revolving rooftop restaurant on the Gulf Coast of Florida. Not only are the food and service fabulous the constantly changing views are captivating. Throughout the years it continues to be the place where engagements happen, anniversaries and birthdays are celebrated and memories of a lifetime are made.
The menu consists of both local and continental cuisine that will surely awaken all of your pleasure senses is prepared by award winning chefs and served by impeccable wait staff. Lunch and dinner are served daily from 11:00 AM to 10:00 PM.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
If you are looking for a place to getaway or hold a meeting, tradeshow, wedding or party in a casual, serene and upscale atmosphere then our Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort is just the answer you have been looking for. Whether the event is large, small, indoors, outdoors, casual or elegant we can accommodate your every need.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (556)

Ratings and reviews for Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
556 out of 556
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mel Shaughnessy
Avon
Apr 13, 2013

Didn't love it!

This hotel needs serious renovations and could use a scrub down with bleach. On our third night our daughter found a pair of ladies underwear that didn't belong to us in her pull-down murphy bed! We stayed on the 9th floor and at night it was extremely noisy from the wedding receptions. This is a big wedding destination hotel. The bathroom barely accommodates one person, extremely small! Overall, not a good value. Best part of the hotel is Bongos Beach bar. Suggest you stay elsewhere and walk to Bongos from the beach!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Small, great restaurant a short walking distance across the street called 1200 Chop House.

Review of Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TallSteve15
Chicago, IL
Apr 11, 2013

Great, affordable beachfront resort

My girlfriend and I were visiting family in Tampa but decided to get a hotel for one night on the beach for her birthday. We chose the Grand Plaza because of its high ratings online, coupled with the affordability (this was early April so prices are higher for Spring Break). We were very pleased with our experience at the hotel. The front desk staff were the only employees we had contact with and they were very nice and helpful. The room was very big and clean, and every room features a balcony. We paid for a bay-view but were upgraded to one on the south end that had a view of both the Bay and the Gulf of Mexico. The beach behind the hotel is fantastic. We were hoping that we could get free umbrellas, but that was not the case. Nonetheless, it's a great place to hang out and close to all the action that St. Pete Beach has to offer. Our favorite part was Bongos for lunch. We went there two days in a row, got tables literally on the beach (on the sand) and had great service. From everything we heard, dinner at Spinners was not worth it because you could get the same exact food at Bongos or via room service, and you just pay for the rotating view. To be honest, the view from our balcony was just fine and we found dinner somewhere else. I have no real complaints about this place, and if we ever stay in St. Pete Beach again I would definitely go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: In Hotel

Skip Spinners, try Bongos for lunch, dinner and drinks. Also at sunset, they pass out free Sunset Shooters. Not a fancy drink or anything... but FREE ALCOHOL? How can you pass that up?!

Review of Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
pizzadog
new lenox
Apr 5, 2013

SPRING BREAK 2013

If you like the beach & plan on not being in your room except to sleep,this hotel is a good choice. Great location & beach bar was great with food & entertainment. Rooms are small & older but bed & TV was good .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Great Lakes Gal
Windsor, Ontario
Apr 2, 2013

Awesome Deal

I really have no complaints about this hotel which is rare for me. When looking for a hotel I mainly care about two things; cleanliness and price! The hotel was clean and the price was appropriate. The staff was really kind which was a bonus. It was an overall good experience and I'm happy with my choice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Buy a day pass for $4.50 and ride the trolley looking bus from St. Pete's to Clearwater and everything in between. It's a nice way to see the area and go to different beaches, restaurants, and shopping.

Review of Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cabana Girls
St. Petersburg, FL
Mar 14, 2013

Mini Spring Break!!!

I took my 19 year old daugther for a "Mini Spring Break". The hotel was clean, staff was so helpful and the beach was beautiful. We especially liked the beach bar, Bongo's at the hotel. Great outdoor space on the hotel grounds, live music every night and fanastic food. I can't wait to go back!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Snappers Restaurant, best filet and seafood options.

Review of Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Doctor Sher
West Virginia
Mar 9, 2013

Nice Place at St. Pete Beach

We enjoyed our stay at Grand Plaza. It is centrally located at St. Pete Beach. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. Also, the staff was friendly and courteous. Bongo's (bar/grille) at the hotel was really good too. The only problem we encountered was the wireless internet was not working properly. The staff said they were working on upgrading it, but it didn't work during the week of our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are three restaurants in the hotel. Two of them are a little pricey, especially if you are bringing a whole family. However, Bongo's is reasonably priced (about $10-$12 for an entree) with a good location (sitting on the beach). There are also other restaurants (Chick Fil A, IHOP, and Skidders) within walking distance of the hotel.

Review of Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
egates
Wichita, Kansas
Mar 3, 2013

Leisure Experience

All staff were above average friendly and helpful, from front desk, valet, housekeeping. Spinners surprisingly good.j Enjoyed microwave for heating up leftovers from good dining. Balcony was wonderful. Rented Cabana for $20/ day. Well located to do all we wanted to do.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Used microwave / refrigerator. Went to Publix grocery and ate all lunches on the beach, etc using fruit, bread to picnic and saved a lot.

Review of Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mare Bear A
MN
Feb 26, 2013

Great beach and hotel.

No fees!! This hotel is a little older but very nice and clean. Staff was very courteous and helpful. It was a family vacation with Parents and brother and sisters. Michael, the hotel concierge, was very helpful in directing us to other restraunts and site to see in the area. The beach here is absolutely beautiful, one of the best beaches we have ever visited. So many bars and restaurants on this strip. Be sure to check out PJ's on 75th, probably less than a mile north of the hotel. They serve all kinds of seafood at very reasonable prices. We would definitely go back here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
20 years
Pa
Feb 15, 2013

Housekeeping

The housekeeping and room service was outstanding we had a good time and we would go back just to see them made us fill like we were at home

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: In Hotel

Go to the rooftop at sunset and get dinner

Review of Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Maurii
Seattle & Wash DC
Feb 14, 2013

Great for beach lovers

The location of this hotel is perfect if you love the beach. Good views, and good amenities. Bongos Bar right on the beach was fun and had decent food. But don't stay on the side of the hotel overlooking Bongos if you can't stand a little noise from the live music at night. The view from the revolving restaurant on the top floor was terrific. The bed was comfortable; the staff was nice. All in all, a great value for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top