$122 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 7, 2014 Check-out: Aug 8, 2014

Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center

3 stars
5250 Gulf Boulevard, St. Pete Beach, FL 33706
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
558 reviews
Vowel renewel weekend

Hotel was great, food, room, staff ,beach, even the hotel next door, had great pool bar, I would... See full review

  • Chandra loves the beach
  • Jul 11, 2014
Best beach getaway

Love St. Pete Beach and love staying at the Grand Plaza Hotel! See full review

  • Mrs. Darr
  • Jul 5, 2014
Fun and sun near St. Pete Beach, with a revolving restaurant up top

The Grand Plaza Beach resort is the tallest and closest hotel to the Gulf of Mexico on St. Pete Beach. Leisure or corporate travelers will find a sanctuary of more than five acres of lush beachfront gardens. Just outside the rooms, guests can step onto the cool, white sand of a private beach for a relaxing West Coast Florida getaway. Enjoy meals by the pool or head inside to dine while checking out the awe-inspiring panoramic views from the window of the slowly revolving bistro.

Highlights
  • Parking, fitness center and Wi-Fi are all complimentary
  • Professionally designed and lit beach volleyball courts
  • Fantastic views from private balconies
  • Rooftop revolving bistro
Location

The resort's ideal location is close to the city of St. Petersburg for fishing, golf, museums, parks and a short day-trip to Tampa's shopping and attractions.

Rooms

All renovated beach resort guest rooms include a furnished private balcony with unparalleled views of the coastline and Gulf of Mexico or the tranquil and soothing Boca Ciega Bay to the east.

Additional room amenities include a refrigerator; microwave; in-room safe; unlimited complimentary wireless Internet access; DVD, MP3 and CD players; iron and ironing board.

One-bedroom beachfront resort suites are available with two private balconies that open to the Gulf of Mexico. Each resort suite has one king bed and one double bed. The parlor to the suite includes a pull-out sleeper sofa and a dining table with seating for four.

Features

With three dining areas located on the property, The Grand Plaza offers restaurant experiences ranging from ground floor pool-side dining and buffets to the top floor's Spinners Rooftop Revolving Bistro. Every seat offers a great and ever-changing view. Guests can opt for dining waterside for breakfast in The Palm Room & Restaurant or head to the sand to try Bongo's Beach Bar and Grille, which takes great pride in its live weekend entertainment and more than 200 fresh frozen tropical drinks.

Transportation
  • Tampa International Airport (TPA) (30 minutes)
  • St. Petersburg/Clearwater International Airport (PIE) (30 minutes)
  • Free ride (car or golf-cart) from St. Pete Beach to other nearby beaches, including Madeira Beach, for shopping and sightseeing
  • Beach trolley runs every 30 minutes from St. Pete Beach to Clearwater Beach
  • Local taxi company across the street
Attractions
  • Tropicana Field
  • Salvador Dali Museum
  • Sunken Gardens
  • The Pier
Business

Grand Plaza Resort & Hotel on St Pete Beach provides facilities for conferences, corporate getaways, business meetings, trade shows, Florida beach weddings, reunions or parties. The staff specializes in "theme" parties and can set up casual barbecue beach parties and company picnics as well as black-tie affairs.

Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center Rooms

Direct Beachfront Guestroom with Private Furnished Balcony
All Direct Beachfront guestrooms include a furnished private balcony with a view of the Gulf of Mexico and our sugar white soft sandy beach. Each guestroom has a king size bed with a Simmons Health Smart mattress and one double bed so you can one of the best night's sleep ever. Also provided is a sofa for casual relaxation, refrigerator, microwave oven, coffee maker with complimentary coffee, complimentary electronic safe, hairdryer, bathroom toiletries, AM/FM clock radio, ceiling fans, individual air conditioning system, 32 inch television with DVD, CD and MP3 players, free HBO & Disney channels, iron and ironing board, unlimited complimentary wireless internet access, and telephone with voice mail.
Partial Coastal & Beach View Guestroom with Private Furnished Balcony
All Partial Ocean & Coastal View guestrooms include a furnished private balcony with a side view of the Gulf of Mexico and our sugar white soft sandy beach. Each guestroom has a king size bed with a Simmons Health Smart mattress and one double bed so you can one of the best night's sleep ever. Also provided is a sofa for casual relaxation, refrigerator, microwave oven, coffee maker with complimentary coffee, complimentary electronic safe, hairdryer, bathroom toiletries, AM/FM clock radio, ceiling fans, individual air conditioning system, 32 inch television with DVD, CD and MP3 players, free HBO & Disney channels, iron and ironing board, unlimited complimentary wireless internet access, and telephone with voice mail.
Bay & City View Guestroom with Private Furnished Balcony
All Bay & City View guestrooms include a furnished private balcony with a side view of Boca Ciega Bay to the east or the city of St. Pete Beach. Each guestroom has a king size bed with a Simmons Health Smart mattress and one double bed so you can one of the best night's sleep ever. Also provided is a sofa for casual relaxation, refrigerator, microwave oven, coffee maker with complimentary coffee, complimentary electronic safe, hairdryer, bathroom toiletries, AM/FM clock radio, ceiling fans, individual air conditioning system, 32 inch television with DVD, CD and MP3 players, free HBO & Disney channels, iron and ironing board, unlimited complimentary wireless internet access, and telephone with voice mail.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Night club
Game room
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Wheel chair access
Handicapped parking
Wheelchair accessible elevators

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Hotel Map

27.7264 -82.7418
Area served
St. Pete Beach, St. Petersburg, Clearwater, Seminole, Gulfport, South Pasadena, Tampa, FL
Nearby airports
Tampa International Airport (TPA), St. Petersburg/Clearwater International Airport (PIE)
Area description
Located directly on the beach of the Gulf of Mexico, close to the city of St. Petersburg, Salvador Dali Museum, Tropicana Field, Fort Desoto Park

Nearby points of interest

  • Tropicana Field: 7.3 mi

Dining

Bongo's Beach Bar & Grille
Directly on the white powdery beach of the Gulf of Mexico the newly designed Bongo's Beach Bar & Grille with its unhurried casual atmosphere is the place to be just for the fun of it. Here there are no pressures or deadlines to meet. Whether kicking back under the sun and grooving to some of the best local live entertainment while savoring over frozen tropical libations or having a bite to eat with your feet in the sand, this is a pleasure lovers dream come true. Open every day Rain or Shine.
The Palm Room and Restaurant
The Palm Room and Restaurant located poolside and overlooking the beach is open daily from 7:00 AM to 11:30 AM serving a breakfast buffet that is sure to get your day off to the right start. Ala cart menu is also offered. Dining options are indoors in lush tropical decorative surroundings, or outdoors with a view of the beach and Gulf of Mexico.
Spinners Revolving Rooftop Bistro & Lounge
Take the glass elevator ride to Spinners Revolving Rooftop Bistro & Lounge for an unsurpassed, constantly revolving 360 degree view of St. Pete Beach and the Gulf of Mexico. Spinners is the only revolving rooftop restaurant on the Gulf Coast of Florida. Not only are the food and service fabulous the constantly changing views are captivating. Throughout the years it continues to be the place where engagements happen, anniversaries and birthdays are celebrated and memories of a lifetime are made.
The menu consists of both local and continental cuisine that will surely awaken all of your pleasure senses is prepared by award winning chefs and served by impeccable wait staff. Lunch and dinner are served daily from 11:00 AM to 10:00 PM.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
If you are looking for a place to getaway or hold a meeting, tradeshow, wedding or party in a casual, serene and upscale atmosphere then our Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort is just the answer you have been looking for. Whether the event is large, small, indoors, outdoors, casual or elegant we can accommodate your every need.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (558)

Ratings and reviews for Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
558 out of 558
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Pool Q
Northern Kentucky
Aug 18, 2013

Nothing special for the price

The hotel was very convenient to the beach and had a wonderful little bar outside. It was nice that they had free parking and Internet and no resort fees. Elevators inside were slow so we took the stairs everytime to the 4th floor. While I understand that it is on the beach, the tiled floors in our room still had sand and was kind of gross to walk barefoot. Pillows on the bed were a strange size, they were half the size of a standard pillow and very tall making it difficult to get comfortable. Showers were hard to operate; hot and cold were reversed therefore scalding my foot. Certainly wasn't a $150.00 (discount) a night experience

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Eric from Maryland
Salisbury, Maryland
Jul 26, 2013

Great Location! Great Staff!

We stayed on the 9th floor Bayside and the view of the Bay at night is great! Great location right on the beach with outside bar/restaurant (Bongos) which was better than any other outside bar I have been to on the beach in this area. The food at Spinners & Bongos was Great! Must try the burger at Bongos and enjoy the rotating floor in Spinners. Staff was fantastic and always there when help or questions are needed. The bathroom in our room definitely in need of an upgrade. It's an older hotel, but has character. Would definitely stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Take a left out of the hotel...and travel to all the local beaches up the coast - all in a short distance drive.

Review of Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Queen of Skipbo
Central FL
Jul 24, 2013

Restaurant at the top of hotel

This is a cool restaurant with the fact that it revolves and is so awesome at sunset, however, the food was a very big disappointment. I think if someone really amped up the food quality, this could be an awesome place to eat. My daugher and I were there in 2011, my husband wanted me to take him and I asked him WHY? Nothing to go back for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Massachusetts family
Boston, Ma
Jul 13, 2013

Good hotel

This hotel was right on the beach and overall the atmosphere was good. The outside restaurant had music and the service was good especially since we had 7 kids with us. The only issue that we had was that they didn't changed the sheets on our bed so there was still sand on the sheets.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Satisfied Sarah
Business
New York, NY
Jul 1, 2013

Like a dream

I attended a conference at a neighboring hotel, and the Grand Plaza, when they found out that I had undergone a four hour flight delay, immediately upgraded my room to a PENTHOUSE! Beautiful, easy, comfortable, stunning...nothing better to say for this place. Stay here if you can (even if it does look like a space station from a 70s movie).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DebnTom
Rotonda West,Florida
Jul 1, 2013

Room view

Very disappointed with our view in room 204. In the description of the rooms at this hotel each room would have a view of the beach,the bay ,or both. Our room had a view of the parking lot and a wall. On the positive side the roof top restaurant Spinners was an enjoyable experience. The food and service were very good with wonder view as we turned during dinner.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: In Hotel

Spinners

Review of Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
EACork
new york, new york
Jun 14, 2013

Bed bugs, old building, poor service

I recently stayed at Grand Plaza for a friend's wedding. The trip was not great, and ever since then we have had our apartment torn to pieces thanks to bed bugs. If you have ever had bed bugs, you know how stressful, expensive, and disgusting it is. Other than the bug infestation, most of the staff was rude. The building was old and out of date. The gym was gross. It was such a disappointment, as we were very much looking forward to a relaxing vacation and celebrating a wedding.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
3xer
Georgetown, Indiana
Jun 12, 2013

Third time around

This was our third time staying here, but maybe our last. This is a good place for a first time visit. Beware that this is a destination wedding spot, so it can become somewhat rowdy at times. The best part is the beachfront location. Beautiful sunsets. The hotel provides cabana's (fee), but they are showing their age and need to be replaced. Plenty of activities (jet skis, parasailing) and shops in the area. Easy to get around by car, bike or bus. The room was clean, the bed was awful (worn mattress), the bathroom was tiny. Bongos beach bar was nice, the food was good, but a tad overpriced in my opinion. We love the St. Pete area, but all in all we will probably try somewhere else next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dealsearcher
west chester, pa
Jun 2, 2013

Nice Vacation

Bay view hotel room but still nice views. Location is the best part. Liquor store and beach mart across from hotel and beach bar right next to it. Can walk to restaurant (crabby bills) also next to hotel. Private beach right off pool area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
concrete sup
Bismarck, ND
May 27, 2013

great for middle age, not to old and not to young

It's an older hotel and the rooms are not great, but its where you sleep and shower. The staff was great, always seen trying to improve the stay. but not noticed. It's all about the beach and pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top