$107 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 11, 2014 Check-out: Dec 12, 2014

Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center

3 stars
5250 Gulf Boulevard, St. Pete Beach, FL 33706
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
359 reviews
FUN AND RELAXING!

FRIENDLY AND ACCOMMODATING STAFF!!! COMFY ROOMS AND BEDS!BEAUTIFUL VIEW! See full review

  • Sad Suzie
  • Oct 3, 2014
Great!!!

The rooms are great, very clean and comfortable. Had plenty of room. The hotel staff was out every... See full review

  • MR4821
  • Aug 22, 2014
Fun and sun near St. Pete Beach, with a revolving restaurant up top

The Grand Plaza Beach resort is the tallest and closest hotel to the Gulf of Mexico on St. Pete Beach. Leisure or corporate travelers will find a sanctuary of more than five acres of lush beachfront gardens. Just outside the rooms, guests can step onto the cool, white sand of a private beach for a relaxing West Coast Florida getaway. Enjoy meals by the pool or head inside to dine while checking out the awe-inspiring panoramic views from the window of the slowly revolving bistro.

Highlights
  • Parking, fitness center and Wi-Fi are all complimentary
  • Professionally designed and lit beach volleyball courts
  • Fantastic views from private balconies
  • Rooftop revolving bistro
Location

The resort's ideal location is close to the city of St. Petersburg for fishing, golf, museums, parks and a short day-trip to Tampa's shopping and attractions.

Rooms

All renovated beach resort guest rooms include a furnished private balcony with unparalleled views of the coastline and Gulf of Mexico or the tranquil and soothing Boca Ciega Bay to the east.

Additional room amenities include a refrigerator; microwave; in-room safe; unlimited complimentary wireless Internet access; DVD, MP3 and CD players; iron and ironing board.

One-bedroom beachfront resort suites are available with two private balconies that open to the Gulf of Mexico. Each resort suite has one king bed and one double bed. The parlor to the suite includes a pull-out sleeper sofa and a dining table with seating for four.

Features

With three dining areas located on the property, The Grand Plaza offers restaurant experiences ranging from ground floor pool-side dining and buffets to the top floor's Spinners Rooftop Revolving Bistro. Every seat offers a great and ever-changing view. Guests can opt for dining waterside for breakfast in The Palm Room & Restaurant or head to the sand to try Bongo's Beach Bar and Grille, which takes great pride in its live weekend entertainment and more than 200 fresh frozen tropical drinks.

Transportation
  • Tampa International Airport (TPA) (30 minutes)
  • St. Petersburg/Clearwater International Airport (PIE) (30 minutes)
  • Free ride (car or golf-cart) from St. Pete Beach to other nearby beaches, including Madeira Beach, for shopping and sightseeing
  • Beach trolley runs every 30 minutes from St. Pete Beach to Clearwater Beach
  • Local taxi company across the street
Attractions
  • Tropicana Field
  • Salvador Dali Museum
  • Sunken Gardens
  • The Pier
Business

Grand Plaza Resort & Hotel on St Pete Beach provides facilities for conferences, corporate getaways, business meetings, trade shows, Florida beach weddings, reunions or parties. The staff specializes in "theme" parties and can set up casual barbecue beach parties and company picnics as well as black-tie affairs.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center Rooms

Direct Beachfront Guestroom with Private Furnished Balcony
All Direct Beachfront guestrooms include a private balcony with a view of the Gulf of Mexico and our sugar white soft sandy beach. Each guestroom has a king size bed with a Simmons Health Smart mattress and one double bed so you can one of the best night's sleep ever. Also provided is a sofa for casual relaxation, refrigerator, microwave oven, coffee maker with complimentary coffee, complimentary electronic safe, hairdryer, bathroom toiletries, AM/FM clock radio, ceiling fans, individual air conditioning system, 32 inch television with DVD, CD and MP3 players, free HBO & Disney channels, iron and ironing board, unlimited complimentary wireless internet access, and telephone with voice mail.
Bay & City View Guestroom with Private Furnished Balcony
All Bay & City View guestrooms include a private balcony with a side view of Boca Ciega Bay to the east or the city of St. Pete Beach. Each guestroom has a king size bed with a Simmons Health Smart mattress and one double bed so you can one of the best night's sleep ever. Also provided is a sofa for casual relaxation, refrigerator, microwave oven, coffee maker with complimentary coffee, complimentary electronic safe, hairdryer, bathroom toiletries, AM/FM clock radio, ceiling fans, individual air conditioning system, 32 inch television with DVD, CD and MP3 players, free HBO & Disney channels, iron and ironing board, unlimited complimentary wireless internet access, and telephone with voice mail.
Partial Coastal & Beach View Guestroom with Private Furnished Balcony
All Partial Ocean & Coastal View guestrooms include a private balcony with a side view of the Gulf of Mexico and our sugar white soft sandy beach. Each guestroom has a king size bed with a Simmons Health Smart mattress and one double bed so you can one of the best night's sleep ever. Also provided is a sofa for casual relaxation, refrigerator, microwave oven, coffee maker with complimentary coffee, complimentary electronic safe, hairdryer, bathroom toiletries, AM/FM clock radio, ceiling fans, individual air conditioning system, 32 inch television with DVD, CD and MP3 players, free HBO & Disney channels, iron and ironing board, unlimited complimentary wireless internet access, and telephone with voice mail.
SuperSaver
Each Super Saver guestroom has one king size bed, refrigerator, microwave oven, coffee maker with complimentary coffee, complimentary electronic safe, hairdryer, bathroom toiletries, AM/FM clock radio, individual air conditioning system, 32 inch television with DVD, CD and MP3 players, free HBO & Disney channels, iron and ironing board, unlimited complimentary wireless internet access, and telephone with voice mail.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Night club
Game room
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Wheel chair access
Handicapped parking
Wheelchair accessible elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Tropicana Field: 7.3 mi

Dining

Bongo's Beach Bar & Grille
Directly on the white powdery beach of the Gulf of Mexico the newly designed Bongo's Beach Bar & Grille with its unhurried casual atmosphere is the place to be just for the fun of it. Here there are no pressures or deadlines to meet. Whether kicking back under the sun and grooving to some of the best local live entertainment while savoring over frozen tropical libations or having a bite to eat with your feet in the sand, this is a pleasure lovers dream come true. Open every day Rain or Shine.
The Palm Room and Restaurant
The Palm Room and Restaurant located poolside and overlooking the beach is open daily from 7:00 AM to 11:30 AM serving a breakfast buffet that is sure to get your day off to the right start. Ala cart menu is also offered. Dining options are indoors in lush tropical decorative surroundings, or outdoors with a view of the beach and Gulf of Mexico.
Spinners Revolving Rooftop Bistro & Lounge
Take the glass elevator ride to Spinners Revolving Rooftop Bistro & Lounge for an unsurpassed, constantly revolving 360 degree view of St. Pete Beach and the Gulf of Mexico. Spinners is the only revolving rooftop restaurant on the Gulf Coast of Florida. Not only are the food and service fabulous the constantly changing views are captivating. Throughout the years it continues to be the place where engagements happen, anniversaries and birthdays are celebrated and memories of a lifetime are made.
The menu consists of both local and continental cuisine that will surely awaken all of your pleasure senses is prepared by award winning chefs and served by impeccable wait staff. Lunch and dinner are served daily from 11:00 AM to 10:00 PM.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
If you are looking for a place to getaway or hold a meeting, tradeshow, wedding or party in a casual, serene and upscale atmosphere then our Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort is just the answer you have been looking for. Whether the event is large, small, indoors, outdoors, casual or elegant we can accommodate your every need.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (359)

Ratings and reviews for Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
359 out of 359
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Zionsville, In
Jun 19, 2009

Mother and son vacation on the beach

Experience was great..great service..friendly employees. Nice to have a band nightly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
canada
Jun 15, 2009

**** stars !!

We stayed in a two room suite that included a small kitchenette and room for up to 6 to sleep. Although there were only two of us, we thoroughly enjoyed the roomy accommodations. Would definitely stay in this hotel again, with our kids too!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

go and eat at the sea critters restaurant in pass a grille. it is not to be missed!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LauraBeth
Business
Waukesha, WI
Jun 5, 2009

Good Times

We stayed at this hotel for a wedding and had a hard time checking in early. However, because of the inconveinance we were upgraded and the staff was apologetic. The room was huge, the view was great, and there a great beach side bar. Overall...pretty good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
saint pete beach
May 26, 2009

Great hotel and view

Great hotel, great view, awesome beach just not as much night life for younger people than i would of liked. espcially if it rains like it did when i was there but as far as the hotel goes loved it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
cat fans
Business
KY
May 22, 2009

Needs upgrading, very loud at night

We booked a beachfront room weeks in advance but when we arrived, they had put us in a Bay view room (aka: parking lot view). Due to their mistake they did offer a penthouse room for the week if we wanted with no additional charge. We were so happy....at first. The penthouse is on the same floor as a ballroom. Since this hotel is popular for weddings and the wedding parties frequently book this ballroom for the reception as it has a view of the ocean, the penthouse is very loud. The reception scheduled for the night we checked in went until midnight. We could barely hear our TV for the extremely loud music with the pulsing bass. The hotel staff assured us the the party would be over at 11 pm... but it wasn't. After that we had to deal with the wait/kitchen staff cleaning up/doing dishes/etc for another hour. We were able to hear their conversations and frequent use of profanity from our bed. A call to the front desk resulted in "security" coming up to the penthouse and telling the staff that we (and used our specfic room number by the way) were complaining about the noise. We could not go to bed until after 2 am. So the next day we switched to a beachfront room. The rooms are small and the phone/fridge/room lights did not work throughout our stay. The first night the fridge started to sound like Darth Vader breathing...then all of our Diet Cokes exploded in it. The front desk assured us someone would come and fix it which they never did. On the 3rd complaint a manager did give us a $40 credit towards the hotel stay or room service if we wanted it, but at that point it was a lost cause. I am running out of characters so I'll just list the rest... -Be aware that beachfront rooms are also overlooking the beach bar and the pool. They are both very loud until about midnight -Room service was not good and was expensive. They tried to charge us $41 for a fruit plate and 2 drinks -The other bed listed in addition to the king is a pull down trundle-type bed. With both beds in the use moving around the room would be nearly impossible -Housekeeping started wheeling their carts around about 7am and they like to slam doors..alot. The latest we could sleep was 9am and that was pushing it

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

IHOP is right up the street within walking distance from the hotel. MUCH better food than the hotel's breakfast buffett for about the same price. Don't bother bring beach towels because the hotel provided them for free.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Zanesville, Oh
May 15, 2009

Family vacation.

Good location. Able to walk to eat, shop etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SexySosa
Business
Philadelphia, PA
May 13, 2009

A snore A bore

We went to this hotel in January. And like the other reviewers from this time period it was dead. Which I usually enjoy! However with a drive to go to Tampa were the nightlife is, its better to stay at Clearwater beach. The hotel was a Miami art-deco type on the inside, but when you reach your room you will not be disapointed! Every room has a balcony, with a view. The room was spotless, as was the beach and pool.They did have a pool bar, with food. All though it looks like the "event room" would be chaulk full of weddings in the on season, cutting down on the already limited space right out by the beach and pool. We stay in the Tampa area at least once a month, and I will not be returning to St. Pete. I would recomend St Pete Beach for the "older" or family crowd.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The best thing I can say was there was a liquor store right across the street!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Former Restaurant Manager
Business
New York City, NY
May 12, 2009

Appearances can be deceiving.

One of the major selling points of the Grand Plaza is supposed to be the unparalleled views. We had a view of the air conditioning vents. To say this was unsatisfactory is a major understatement. I had not been on a vacation in quite some time, and was severely disappointed when placed in a room with a view of a wall topped w/ AC vents. A 12oz. can of Coke from the vending machine on our floor was $1.50. As a former restaurant manager, I know how much soda costs and that is ridiculous. I live in NYC where everything is expensive and I'm telling you that is robbery on the part of the hotel, plain and simple. As for Spinners, the revolving restaurant, lounge and bistro on the roof, the view was magnificent. No view, however awe-inspiring, can make up for the terrible, god-awful food. I thought we were pretty safe ordering a NY strip steak and chicken parmesan. This proved to be a fallacy of the first order. I am a fairly accomplished cook myself, and can tell you that marinara sauce is actually one of the easiest things to make in the world. What was on the chicken parmesan was not marinara. I'm not certain what it was, in fact. I would rather lick the bottom of my shoe after tramping around Manhattan all day than ever eat another bite. As it was, my fiance was barely able to choke down less than a third of it. My NY strip was ordered rare. Now, as I understand it, rare means the middle should be red. I expected it to come out medium rare, as many restaurants dislike serving rare meat for fear of lawsuits. What I did not expect was for it to come out well-done. Any chef worth his salt will tell you anything more than medium ruins a steak, because it cooks off all of the blood and fat(where the flavor actually is). While our waitress was pleasant, she paid virtually no attention to us, and perhaps she sensed our displeasure, because she added an auto-gratuity of 18% to our check. Spinners has a policy of auto-grating any party of 6 or more. In my experience, servers tend to auto-grat young couples as they feel they will tip poorly, or not at all. As a former restaurant manager, I always tip at least 15% no matter the service or quality of the fare, because I understand that sometimes bad things happen, people have off days, etc. To charge me an 18% auto-gratuity based on my age or appearance(I am actually 30 years old, but have a baby-face, appearing approx. 5 years younger than I am) is discriminatory. The check with the auto-gratuity came to 80 dollars. It was the most expensive terrible meal I have ever had. I would have been more satisfied eating at Taco Bell. In my considered opinion, this entire hotel needs new management, and Spinners needs a new head chef. For how much this room cost for two nights, the breakfast buffet should be free. If Holiday Inn can manage that, a hotel with the delusionary title of GRAND PLAZA should be able to keep up. I will never stay at this hotel again, and will spend a good deal of energy telling everyone I know not to stay there. If I can spare anyone anywhere a terrible experience, the expenditure will have been worth it. Extremely over-priced.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rochester, NY
May 10, 2009

unbeatble location

The stay was grate.I,would recamend upgradeing your rm befor you get there.For all rm's do not have the same views.For example the rm we were to get had no view of anything exsept a block wall,and we had to wait a night to upgrade the rm.Because they were sold out.The beach is just out side the 1st floor back door.And kept very cleand by the hotle,other areas of the beach behind other hotles were not kept up as nice as the grand plazas.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

I,found the grand plaza hotle to be a grate location to be at,because it is a short distance to just about any were.Example bush gardens,down town tampa,tampa airport,beach front.ect

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
notepad
Business
Central Illinois
May 8, 2009

Great beach, not so great hotel

The beach was great! The hotel, however, was run down and small. The rooms are pie shaped as a result of the building shape. A small piece of pie. The hotel is rather old and the rooms show it. There was dry rot in the bathroom which gave the overall appearance of dirt and disrepair. The first night there our toilet broke. The staff fixed that issue very quickly though. The rooms have tile floors, which make sense because of the sand. There is a nice little bar out by the beach, which was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top