$127 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 7, 2014 Check-out: Aug 8, 2014

Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center

3 stars
5250 Gulf Boulevard, St. Pete Beach, FL 33706
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
555 reviews
Best beach getaway

Love St. Pete Beach and love staying at the Grand Plaza Hotel! See full review

  • Mrs. Darr
  • Jul 5, 2014
Beautiful views and comfort

Loved it!! We have stayed here twice and hope to return again really soon!! I think that about says... See full review

  • KarenSE
  • Jun 29, 2014
Fun and sun near St. Pete Beach, with a revolving restaurant up top

The Grand Plaza Beach resort is the tallest and closest hotel to the Gulf of Mexico on St. Pete Beach. Leisure or corporate travelers will find a sanctuary of more than five acres of lush beachfront gardens. Just outside the rooms, guests can step onto the cool, white sand of a private beach for a relaxing West Coast Florida getaway. Enjoy meals by the pool or head inside to dine while checking out the awe-inspiring panoramic views from the window of the slowly revolving bistro.

Highlights
  • Parking, fitness center and Wi-Fi are all complimentary
  • Professionally designed and lit beach volleyball courts
  • Fantastic views from private balconies
  • Rooftop revolving bistro
Location

The resort's ideal location is close to the city of St. Petersburg for fishing, golf, museums, parks and a short day-trip to Tampa's shopping and attractions.

Rooms

All renovated beach resort guest rooms include a furnished private balcony with unparalleled views of the coastline and Gulf of Mexico or the tranquil and soothing Boca Ciega Bay to the east.

Additional room amenities include a refrigerator; microwave; in-room safe; unlimited complimentary wireless Internet access; DVD, MP3 and CD players; iron and ironing board.

One-bedroom beachfront resort suites are available with two private balconies that open to the Gulf of Mexico. Each resort suite has one king bed and one double bed. The parlor to the suite includes a pull-out sleeper sofa and a dining table with seating for four.

Features

With three dining areas located on the property, The Grand Plaza offers restaurant experiences ranging from ground floor pool-side dining and buffets to the top floor's Spinners Rooftop Revolving Bistro. Every seat offers a great and ever-changing view. Guests can opt for dining waterside for breakfast in The Palm Room & Restaurant or head to the sand to try Bongo's Beach Bar and Grille, which takes great pride in its live weekend entertainment and more than 200 fresh frozen tropical drinks.

Transportation
  • Tampa International Airport (TPA) (30 minutes)
  • St. Petersburg/Clearwater International Airport (PIE) (30 minutes)
  • Free ride (car or golf-cart) from St. Pete Beach to other nearby beaches, including Madeira Beach, for shopping and sightseeing
  • Beach trolley runs every 30 minutes from St. Pete Beach to Clearwater Beach
  • Local taxi company across the street
Attractions
  • Tropicana Field
  • Salvador Dali Museum
  • Sunken Gardens
  • The Pier
Business

Grand Plaza Resort & Hotel on St Pete Beach provides facilities for conferences, corporate getaways, business meetings, trade shows, Florida beach weddings, reunions or parties. The staff specializes in "theme" parties and can set up casual barbecue beach parties and company picnics as well as black-tie affairs.

Hotel Map

27.7264 -82.7418
Area served
St. Pete Beach, St. Petersburg, Clearwater, Seminole, Gulfport, South Pasadena, Tampa, FL
Nearby airports
Tampa International Airport (TPA), St. Petersburg/Clearwater International Airport (PIE)
Area description
Located directly on the beach of the Gulf of Mexico, close to the city of St. Petersburg, Salvador Dali Museum, Tropicana Field, Fort Desoto Park

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center Rooms

Direct Beachfront Guestroom with Private Furnished Balcony
All Direct Beachfront guestrooms include a furnished private balcony with a view of the Gulf of Mexico and our sugar white soft sandy beach. Each guestroom has a king size bed with a Simmons Health Smart mattress and one double bed so you can one of the best night's sleep ever. Also provided is a sofa for casual relaxation, refrigerator, microwave oven, coffee maker with complimentary coffee, complimentary electronic safe, hairdryer, bathroom toiletries, AM/FM clock radio, ceiling fans, individual air conditioning system, 32 inch television with DVD, CD and MP3 players, free HBO & Disney channels, iron and ironing board, unlimited complimentary wireless internet access, and telephone with voice mail.
Partial Coastal & Beach View Guestroom with Private Furnished Balcony
All Partial Ocean & Coastal View guestrooms include a furnished private balcony with a side view of the Gulf of Mexico and our sugar white soft sandy beach. Each guestroom has a king size bed with a Simmons Health Smart mattress and one double bed so you can one of the best night's sleep ever. Also provided is a sofa for casual relaxation, refrigerator, microwave oven, coffee maker with complimentary coffee, complimentary electronic safe, hairdryer, bathroom toiletries, AM/FM clock radio, ceiling fans, individual air conditioning system, 32 inch television with DVD, CD and MP3 players, free HBO & Disney channels, iron and ironing board, unlimited complimentary wireless internet access, and telephone with voice mail.
Bay & City View Guestroom with Private Furnished Balcony
All Bay & City View guestrooms include a furnished private balcony with a side view of Boca Ciega Bay to the east or the city of St. Pete Beach. Each guestroom has a king size bed with a Simmons Health Smart mattress and one double bed so you can one of the best night's sleep ever. Also provided is a sofa for casual relaxation, refrigerator, microwave oven, coffee maker with complimentary coffee, complimentary electronic safe, hairdryer, bathroom toiletries, AM/FM clock radio, ceiling fans, individual air conditioning system, 32 inch television with DVD, CD and MP3 players, free HBO & Disney channels, iron and ironing board, unlimited complimentary wireless internet access, and telephone with voice mail.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Night club
Game room
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Wheel chair access
Handicapped parking
Wheelchair accessible elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Tropicana Field: 7.3 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
If you are looking for a place to getaway or hold a meeting, tradeshow, wedding or party in a casual, serene and upscale atmosphere then our Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort is just the answer you have been looking for. Whether the event is large, small, indoors, outdoors, casual or elegant we can accommodate your every need.

Dining

Bongo's Beach Bar & Grille
Directly on the white powdery beach of the Gulf of Mexico the newly designed Bongo's Beach Bar & Grille with its unhurried casual atmosphere is the place to be just for the fun of it. Here there are no pressures or deadlines to meet. Whether kicking back under the sun and grooving to some of the best local live entertainment while savoring over frozen tropical libations or having a bite to eat with your feet in the sand, this is a pleasure lovers dream come true. Open every day Rain or Shine.
The Palm Room and Restaurant
The Palm Room and Restaurant located poolside and overlooking the beach is open daily from 7:00 AM to 11:30 AM serving a breakfast buffet that is sure to get your day off to the right start. Ala cart menu is also offered. Dining options are indoors in lush tropical decorative surroundings, or outdoors with a view of the beach and Gulf of Mexico.
Spinners Revolving Rooftop Bistro & Lounge
Take the glass elevator ride to Spinners Revolving Rooftop Bistro & Lounge for an unsurpassed, constantly revolving 360 degree view of St. Pete Beach and the Gulf of Mexico. Spinners is the only revolving rooftop restaurant on the Gulf Coast of Florida. Not only are the food and service fabulous the constantly changing views are captivating. Throughout the years it continues to be the place where engagements happen, anniversaries and birthdays are celebrated and memories of a lifetime are made.
The menu consists of both local and continental cuisine that will surely awaken all of your pleasure senses is prepared by award winning chefs and served by impeccable wait staff. Lunch and dinner are served daily from 11:00 AM to 10:00 PM.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (555)

Ratings and reviews for Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
555 out of 555
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TacMan
Chicago
Jul 28, 2011

Grand Plaza Beachfront, St. Pete

The hotel was OK. It is a little dated and could use some upgrades. The elevators (only 2) are used by staff and guests alike-long waits at times. I wound up using the stairs severla times. The beach and pool were nice. The breakfast was very acceptable. They had music nightly at the beach bar and it was very nice. Not too wild. You could have a nice time having a drink, some food and music while the ocean is only a couple hundred feet away. The wide beach was nice-never crowded.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

A lot of activities right on the beach. Other things to do were within half an hours drive.

Review of Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Lansing, Michigan
Jul 28, 2011

Nice Room

My wife and I went there for our honeymoon. The room was a partial ocean view and was very pleasant. The room itself was kept clean. The floors were tile, which we liked. The bathroom was a little small but it still worked out fine for us. The view on the private balcony was very relaxing. The DVD player was a nice addition since we went down the street to 7-Eleven and rented out of the red box. There are a few things to do on the beach. We rented jet skis from Rick's; he was helpful and friendly. But we had a terrible experience with Captain Mike's para-sailing and asked for a refund.Spinners restaurant was a phenomenal dining experience. Watching the sunset over the Gulf of Mexico while enjoying dinner was great. The manager and staff were friendly and efficient.We thoroughly enjoyed our experience at the hotel and the surrounding area. We will likely visit the hotel again. The only real complaints we had were the two elevators can be quite slow especially when there are a lot of people trying to use them. Also we heard trucks backing up with their beepers early in the morning. (Somewhere in the 7-9 am time frame it seemed like, but we weren't getting up yet, so I didn't check the time.) And the air conditioning can be loud too. But again we really enjoyed our time there and will likely return.As an added side note, Suncoast Cathedral in St. Petersburg was where we went to church. I've been there before, and we both loved the service on Sunday morning. We went back Sunday night to watch a Christian comedian that was visiting to minister.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Watching the sunset from the restaurant was great and worth the price of the food. Plus the food was good.

Review of Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Lansing, Michigan
Jul 28, 2011

Nice Room

My wife and I went there for our honeymoon. The room was a partial ocean view and was very pleasant. The room itself was kept clean. The floors were tile, which we liked. The bathroom was a little small but it still worked out fine for us. The view on the private balcony was very relaxing. The DVD player was a nice addition since we went down the street to 7-Eleven and rented out of the red box. There are a few things to do on the beach. We rented jet skis from Rick's; he was helpful and friendly. But we had a terrible experience with Captain Mike's para-sailing and asked for a refund.Spinners restaurant was a phenomenal dining experience. Watching the sunset over the Gulf of Mexico while enjoying dinner was great. The manager and staff were friendly and efficient.We thoroughly enjoyed our experience at the hotel and the surrounding area. We will likely visit the hotel again. The only real complaints we had were the two elevators can be quite slow especially when there are a lot of people trying to use them. Also we heard trucks backing up with their beepers early in the morning. (Somewhere in the 7-9 am time frame it seemed like, but we weren't getting up yet, so I didn't check the time.) And the air conditioning can be loud too. But again we really enjoyed our time there and will likely return.As an added side note, Suncoast Cathedral in St. Petersburg was where we went to church. I've been there before, and we both loved the service on Sunday morning. We went back Sunday night to watch a Christian comedian that was visiting to minister.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Watching the sunset from the restaurant was great and worth the price of the food. Plus the food was good.

Review of Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TacMan
Chicago
Jul 28, 2011

Grand Plaza Beachfront, St. Pete

The hotel was OK. It is a little dated and could use some upgrades. The elevators (only 2) are used by staff and guests alike-long waits at times. I wound up using the stairs severla times. The beach and pool were nice. The breakfast was very acceptable. They had music nightly at the beach bar and it was very nice. Not too wild. You could have a nice time having a drink, some food and music while the ocean is only a couple hundred feet away. The wide beach was nice-never crowded.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

A lot of activities right on the beach. Other things to do were within half an hours drive.

Review of Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Orlando
Jul 6, 2011

Great Views!!

Great location with awesome views from Spinners resturant overlooking Gulf & Bay. Food wasn't all that. Next time will just do Bar & Appetizer and maybe dinner down below somewhere close by. (Crab Billy's next door was great!!) Glad we were on first floor up and could take stairs as these high rise hotels always have backup wait times for elevators.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Took in Rays/Cards game @ Tropicanna Field which is always awesome!!! Downtown St Pete is also close by and a terrific place 2 spend a day!!

Review of Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Orlando
Jul 6, 2011

Great Views!!

Great location with awesome views from Spinners resturant overlooking Gulf & Bay. Food wasn't all that. Next time will just do Bar & Appetizer and maybe dinner down below somewhere close by. (Crab Billy's next door was great!!) Glad we were on first floor up and could take stairs as these high rise hotels always have backup wait times for elevators.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Took in Rays/Cards game @ Tropicanna Field which is always awesome!!! Downtown St Pete is also close by and a terrific place 2 spend a day!!

Review of Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago, IL
Jun 28, 2011

Smaller Resort with Big Resort Feel

First time in St. Pete Beach. Didn't know what to expect. LOVED the hotel!!! Free parking a big plus! We were always able to find a spot on top level even when there were events (weddings) happening at the hotel. Received a free upgrade to partial Gulf View room [...] Room and balcony size very nice. Beds were very comfortable. A/C was GREAT! Loved the tile floors (staff kept swept/mopped at all times). Bathroom a bit small but efficient. Who cares if it's smaller. YOU ARE AT THE BEACH! Mini Fridge and Microwave in room (convenient). Dined at all restaurants. Food was a total value and was very good (tasty). Views from Spinners restaurant - awesome during the day! Staff members were very pleasant and accommodating! Elevator waits were a bit lengthy at times, but it was due to multiple weddings happening at the hotel at that time. Weekdays, wait time for elevators was very short. Free coffee and tea at anytime during the day/night in the lobby. Great places for pictures on the beach (hotel has palms and nicely landscaped flowers set up for weddings that you can take excellent pictures by). I would recommend this hotel to everyone; couples, families. Located in the middle of the main strip of resorts. Nice location. Shopping and restaurants within walking distance. We can't wait to go back!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Hotel advised us that there was a golf cart/taxi service available. They provided you with a phone number (on a business card) to call at anytime and the "taxi's" would pick you up, no charge! Of course giving a tip is a nice gesture and suggested.... Made it very easy and convenient to have a designated driver if you wanted to go to a bar close by or have a drink or two with dinner! And it was cheaper than calling an actual cab!

Review of Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago, IL
Jun 28, 2011

Smaller Resort with Big Resort Feel

First time in St. Pete Beach. Didn't know what to expect. LOVED the hotel!!! Free parking a big plus! We were always able to find a spot on top level even when there were events (weddings) happening at the hotel. Received a free upgrade to partial Gulf View room [...] Room and balcony size very nice. Beds were very comfortable. A/C was GREAT! Loved the tile floors (staff kept swept/mopped at all times). Bathroom a bit small but efficient. Who cares if it's smaller. YOU ARE AT THE BEACH! Mini Fridge and Microwave in room (convenient). Dined at all restaurants. Food was a total value and was very good (tasty). Views from Spinners restaurant - awesome during the day! Staff members were very pleasant and accommodating! Elevator waits were a bit lengthy at times, but it was due to multiple weddings happening at the hotel at that time. Weekdays, wait time for elevators was very short. Free coffee and tea at anytime during the day/night in the lobby. Great places for pictures on the beach (hotel has palms and nicely landscaped flowers set up for weddings that you can take excellent pictures by). I would recommend this hotel to everyone; couples, families. Located in the middle of the main strip of resorts. Nice location. Shopping and restaurants within walking distance. We can't wait to go back!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Hotel advised us that there was a golf cart/taxi service available. They provided you with a phone number (on a business card) to call at anytime and the "taxi's" would pick you up, no charge! Of course giving a tip is a nice gesture and suggested.... Made it very easy and convenient to have a designated driver if you wanted to go to a bar close by or have a drink or two with dinner! And it was cheaper than calling an actual cab!

Review of Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Orlando, FL
Jun 27, 2011

Disgusting Rooms

We went to St. Pete for a wedding. Because we missed the window to book a hotel that the bride and groom arranged, we had to book next door at the Grand Plaza. For 1 night stay we paid $257. We were not happy with the rate, but didn't really have a choice. So for $250 we were expecting to at least have a nice hotel room. This hotel was disgusting. When we first checked in it smelled like someone had just used the bathroom. The floors were dirty, the bathroom counter had globs of sticky substance, the towels looked to have yellow stains and the bed had sand in it. Because it was just 1 night and the wedding was next door we just stuck it out. However, for the money we spent we expected A LOT MORE out of the hotel. Even for a lower fair, I can't say I would recommend this place if you're looking for cleanliness.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Fort Wayne, IN
Jun 27, 2011

Great!!!

The resort was wonderful. The staff was very cordial and helpful. The view from our room was fabulous....both bay and gulf. The underground parking was a plus. The view from the revolving restaurant was spectacular. The drinks in the beach-side bar were superb. I would definitely return in the future. It offerred the "best bang for the buck" on the bulf coast!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

It was a very short walk to the gulf. You could book snorkeling, trip to shell island, rent jet skis and para-sail.

Back to menu Return to top