$112 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 24, 2014 Check-out: Dec 26, 2014

Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center

3 stars
5250 Gulf Boulevard, St. Pete Beach, FL 33706
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
360 reviews
FUN AND RELAXING!

FRIENDLY AND ACCOMMODATING STAFF!!! COMFY ROOMS AND BEDS!BEAUTIFUL VIEW! See full review

  • Sad Suzie
  • Oct 3, 2014
Great!!!

The rooms are great, very clean and comfortable. Had plenty of room. The hotel staff was out every... See full review

  • MR4821
  • Aug 22, 2014
Fun and sun near St. Pete Beach, with a revolving restaurant up top

The Grand Plaza Beach resort is the tallest and closest hotel to the Gulf of Mexico on St. Pete Beach. Leisure or corporate travelers will find a sanctuary of more than five acres of lush beachfront gardens. Just outside the rooms, guests can step onto the cool, white sand of a private beach for a relaxing West Coast Florida getaway. Enjoy meals by the pool or head inside to dine while checking out the awe-inspiring panoramic views from the window of the slowly revolving bistro.

Highlights
  • Parking, fitness center and Wi-Fi are all complimentary
  • Professionally designed and lit beach volleyball courts
  • Fantastic views from private balconies
  • Rooftop revolving bistro
Location

The resort's ideal location is close to the city of St. Petersburg for fishing, golf, museums, parks and a short day-trip to Tampa's shopping and attractions.

Rooms

All renovated beach resort guest rooms include a furnished private balcony with unparalleled views of the coastline and Gulf of Mexico or the tranquil and soothing Boca Ciega Bay to the east.

Additional room amenities include a refrigerator; microwave; in-room safe; unlimited complimentary wireless Internet access; DVD, MP3 and CD players; iron and ironing board.

One-bedroom beachfront resort suites are available with two private balconies that open to the Gulf of Mexico. Each resort suite has one king bed and one double bed. The parlor to the suite includes a pull-out sleeper sofa and a dining table with seating for four.

Features

With three dining areas located on the property, The Grand Plaza offers restaurant experiences ranging from ground floor pool-side dining and buffets to the top floor's Spinners Rooftop Revolving Bistro. Every seat offers a great and ever-changing view. Guests can opt for dining waterside for breakfast in The Palm Room & Restaurant or head to the sand to try Bongo's Beach Bar and Grille, which takes great pride in its live weekend entertainment and more than 200 fresh frozen tropical drinks.

Transportation
  • Tampa International Airport (TPA) (30 minutes)
  • St. Petersburg/Clearwater International Airport (PIE) (30 minutes)
  • Free ride (car or golf-cart) from St. Pete Beach to other nearby beaches, including Madeira Beach, for shopping and sightseeing
  • Beach trolley runs every 30 minutes from St. Pete Beach to Clearwater Beach
  • Local taxi company across the street
Attractions
  • Tropicana Field
  • Salvador Dali Museum
  • Sunken Gardens
  • The Pier
Business

Grand Plaza Resort & Hotel on St Pete Beach provides facilities for conferences, corporate getaways, business meetings, trade shows, Florida beach weddings, reunions or parties. The staff specializes in "theme" parties and can set up casual barbecue beach parties and company picnics as well as black-tie affairs.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center Rooms

Direct Beachfront Guestroom with Private Furnished Balcony
All Direct Beachfront guestrooms include a private balcony with a view of the Gulf of Mexico and our sugar white soft sandy beach. Each guestroom has a king size bed with a Simmons Health Smart mattress and one double bed so you can one of the best night's sleep ever. Also provided is a sofa for casual relaxation, refrigerator, microwave oven, coffee maker with complimentary coffee, complimentary electronic safe, hairdryer, bathroom toiletries, AM/FM clock radio, ceiling fans, individual air conditioning system, 32 inch television with DVD, CD and MP3 players, free HBO & Disney channels, iron and ironing board, unlimited complimentary wireless internet access, and telephone with voice mail.
Bay & City View Guestroom with Private Furnished Balcony
All Bay & City View guestrooms include a private balcony with a side view of Boca Ciega Bay to the east or the city of St. Pete Beach. Each guestroom has a king size bed with a Simmons Health Smart mattress and one double bed so you can one of the best night's sleep ever. Also provided is a sofa for casual relaxation, refrigerator, microwave oven, coffee maker with complimentary coffee, complimentary electronic safe, hairdryer, bathroom toiletries, AM/FM clock radio, ceiling fans, individual air conditioning system, 32 inch television with DVD, CD and MP3 players, free HBO & Disney channels, iron and ironing board, unlimited complimentary wireless internet access, and telephone with voice mail.
Partial Coastal & Beach View Guestroom with Private Furnished Balcony
All Partial Ocean & Coastal View guestrooms include a private balcony with a side view of the Gulf of Mexico and our sugar white soft sandy beach. Each guestroom has a king size bed with a Simmons Health Smart mattress and one double bed so you can one of the best night's sleep ever. Also provided is a sofa for casual relaxation, refrigerator, microwave oven, coffee maker with complimentary coffee, complimentary electronic safe, hairdryer, bathroom toiletries, AM/FM clock radio, ceiling fans, individual air conditioning system, 32 inch television with DVD, CD and MP3 players, free HBO & Disney channels, iron and ironing board, unlimited complimentary wireless internet access, and telephone with voice mail.
SuperSaver
Each Super Saver guestroom has one king size bed, refrigerator, microwave oven, coffee maker with complimentary coffee, complimentary electronic safe, hairdryer, bathroom toiletries, AM/FM clock radio, individual air conditioning system, 32 inch television with DVD, CD and MP3 players, free HBO & Disney channels, iron and ironing board, unlimited complimentary wireless internet access, and telephone with voice mail.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Night club
Game room
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Wheel chair access
Handicapped parking
Wheelchair accessible elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Tropicana Field: 7.3 mi

Dining

Bongo's Beach Bar & Grille
Directly on the white powdery beach of the Gulf of Mexico the newly designed Bongo's Beach Bar & Grille with its unhurried casual atmosphere is the place to be just for the fun of it. Here there are no pressures or deadlines to meet. Whether kicking back under the sun and grooving to some of the best local live entertainment while savoring over frozen tropical libations or having a bite to eat with your feet in the sand, this is a pleasure lovers dream come true. Open every day Rain or Shine.
The Palm Room and Restaurant
The Palm Room and Restaurant located poolside and overlooking the beach is open daily from 7:00 AM to 11:30 AM serving a breakfast buffet that is sure to get your day off to the right start. Ala cart menu is also offered. Dining options are indoors in lush tropical decorative surroundings, or outdoors with a view of the beach and Gulf of Mexico.
Spinners Revolving Rooftop Bistro & Lounge
Take the glass elevator ride to Spinners Revolving Rooftop Bistro & Lounge for an unsurpassed, constantly revolving 360 degree view of St. Pete Beach and the Gulf of Mexico. Spinners is the only revolving rooftop restaurant on the Gulf Coast of Florida. Not only are the food and service fabulous the constantly changing views are captivating. Throughout the years it continues to be the place where engagements happen, anniversaries and birthdays are celebrated and memories of a lifetime are made.
The menu consists of both local and continental cuisine that will surely awaken all of your pleasure senses is prepared by award winning chefs and served by impeccable wait staff. Lunch and dinner are served daily from 11:00 AM to 10:00 PM.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
If you are looking for a place to getaway or hold a meeting, tradeshow, wedding or party in a casual, serene and upscale atmosphere then our Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort is just the answer you have been looking for. Whether the event is large, small, indoors, outdoors, casual or elegant we can accommodate your every need.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (360)

Ratings and reviews for Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
360 out of 360
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wendy and Iz
Business
Ocala, FL
May 12, 2012

Great Beach Getaway

Great location, right on the beach, close to restaurants and shops (car remained in parking lot throughout the stay). The Spinners Restaurant on top of the hotel is a must experience - go at lunch when it is less crowded and the beach view is amazing. Skip breakfast buffet and walk a block down to IHOP, same price for better food. Dont skip Crabby Bills, next door - great seafood. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Will go back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Spinners!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Lyssah
Business
St Petersburg, FL, USA
Apr 18, 2012

Girls Trip 2012

I just returned from my trip to St.Pete beach, and would NOT recommend this hotel to anyone. We arrived on a Thursday afternoon, and were up at 2 am to catch our flight to Florida, when we got back to our room at 10 in the evening, we were greeted with loud music, and stomping on the dance floor. We could hear the music very clearly, singing along with the lyrics. When we were ready for bed an hour later, we noticed several large stains on the sheets. I decided to call the front desk to inquire about the time of the reception(they hold several weddings a day, and one of the reception halls is directly above the 9th floor) and tell them about our bedding. We were informed the receptions are over at 11, so we decided to wait it out. A few minutes later, a staff member brought up new bedding, and left it on the bed for us to make, while leaving the stained sheets behind. Once making and getting in the bed, we laid there in complete silence (no fan, and a silent AC) and listened to the cleaning and vacuuming, for the next 2 hours. They did move our room because we went back to the front desk the next morning, but in the SAME exact location, just on a different floor. This room did include a fan, and was much more quiet! Both of our rooms, were dirty, with sand and trash in a few locations.. This was my 3rd time to St. Pete beach just within the last year, and my LEAST favorite hotel. The best part about our visit was the bar, and bartenders, and the fun we made for ourselves.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Jimmy B's and Bongos!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PH3B
Business
Owego, NY, USA
Apr 15, 2012

Great vacation

We had a great week at this hotel. The back of the hotel is on the Gulf of Mexico and the front is across from Tampa Bay. The sand is beautiful and water clear. We had breakfast at the buffet every morning which was nice to not have to go anywhere. Spinners restaurant that actually spins during dinner to see both the Gulf and the Bay was beautiful-good food and great service. Room was clean and nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Madeira Beach boardwalk was awesome--10 min drive from St Pete Beach. Great restaurants and shops!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GIGI227
Business
FLORIDA
Apr 12, 2012

QUICK GETAWAY

ROOM WAS LOVELY, STAFF VERY NICE. I HAD A SHORT STAY. BEACHES ARE BEAUTIFUL.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Batchellerman
Business
Upstate NY
Apr 2, 2012

Want to go Back

The Hotel is GREAT, one of the best we have ever stayed at.. Hotel was SPOTLESS Staff was COURTEOUS and the room was SPOTLESS. Would recomend to my friends and will definately go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Did not even need a rental car, everything is within walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Georgie R
Business
Minnesota
Mar 18, 2012

St Pete

Overall, the room was very comfortable. The bathroom was very small and the toilets are VERY loud. The pool was nice but not enough chairs. It was convenient having a restaurant on the beach but too many rules about not sharing meals. If you don't want people to share meals, you need to make the helpings much smaller because when you are in the sun all day, you don't want that big of a meal. Our in room air conditioner seemed to get louder as our stay went on. Front desk is VERY friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The restaurant called the Middle Ground in Indian Rocks was fabulous and is only a short ride from the hotel!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
strwbrykg
Business
Tampa, FL
Mar 15, 2012

Worst Customer Service

This was the worst experience I've had at a hotel. It wasn't as nice as their website shows (our room was tiny and felt like a closet). Upon check out, I noticed a charge for $420 that should not have been there. When we asked them to correct it, they said they did. I checked my account to discover that not only did they charge me $420, but their "correction" was a second charge of $420! When I asked them to fix this, they said they couldn't do anything other than call my bank to let them know it was an error. Of course, it's already been pushed through so it's been almost a week and those 2 charges are STILL on my account. This has meant that other bills have bounced, and I don't have access to my account while I wait for these charges to go away. When I asked them what they would be doing to make up for the MAJOR inconvenience that THEIR two errors have caused me, they said there's nothing they would do. The man even explained to me, "Ma'am, this is how room reservations work. They pre-authorize first." I explained to HIM that I know how reservations work. However, I should NEVER be charged for things I did not use or expenses I am not responsible for, and I should certainly NEVER be charged TWICE for it. When I booked the room, I was assured that I would ONLY be charged a $50 hold fee. I even asked about pre-authorization for entire room charge, and was promised that would not be an issue since we had certificates. I have never in my life been out nearly $1000 for a mistake someone else made (TWICE) -- and I am now having to pay fees to try and prevent any further charges to my account. This has been the worst customer service I've ever encountered. Save yourself the trouble for a hotel that is actually nice inside, with people who know how to press the right button on their computers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jenn223
Business
Boston, MA, USA
Mar 9, 2012

Great Beach Hotel

We stayed for 4 nights at the Grand Plaza. Excellent access to the beach. All staff were very friendly and helpful from the front desk, to the concierge, to the cleaning crew (we were impressed by all the people constantly washing windows, mopping up sand, etc.) and the waitstaff in the various restaurants. We had a room on the bay/city side. We overlooked the parking lot, but didn't mind because with the balcony door shut, there wasn't much street noise and the view of the bay was great. It was worth saving the extra $20 a night. The hotel room was clean and the maid service was excellent. The only complaint was noise at night (we had some spring breakers next to us), but what can you do when you go to Florida in March? Overall, great place to stay. Excellent drinks at Bongo's and great view from Spinners (revolving restaurant on top of the hotel). Would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Definitely would check out Crabby Bill's right next door. We ate dinner there and had excellent crab legs. The waitress was very helpful and made excellent recommendations. It was so good, we went back a second night to try out more of the menu and were not disappointed. Would highly recommend!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MollyMoo
Business
Florida, USA
Feb 19, 2012

It was short get away

I went to the hotel and was surprised when I got a penthouse room. You can tell the hotel is older because there are literally mirrors every where. Very 1980's. The room was beautiful looked out to the water. The shower was a hot tub with a "shower head" but it was more of a rinser..tricky to use. The beds were comfortable and I had a it screen tv and a DVD player. The restaurant outside on the beach was awesome. Their coconut chicken skewers were delicious. Unfortunately I had to leave a day earlier then expected due to a family emergency and they wouldn't refund my unused night. Don't think I'd be visiting the hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There's a plaza full of shops.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Joey Z.
Business
Long Island, New York, USA
Feb 6, 2012

2nd Time @ Grand Plaza

My wife and I adore this hotel. It's right on the beach and has everything beach related right outside the door. Plenty of restaraunts and night life. We are definetly booking another trip at this resort real soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Just bring your carry-on. Anything you might need like soap, shampoo, suntan lotion etc. etc. you can purchase at the dollar store right down the street. No need to bring all that extra stuff that makes you have to check your bag at the airport.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top