$127 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 13, 2015 Check-out: Jan 16, 2015

Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center

3 stars
5250 Gulf Boulevard, St. Pete Beach, FL 33706
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
362 reviews
great hotel

the hotel is right on the beach with a great beach bar downstairs (bongos) close to the outdoor... See full review

  • Billy H.
  • Dec 20, 2014
FUN AND RELAXING!

FRIENDLY AND ACCOMMODATING STAFF!!! COMFY ROOMS AND BEDS!BEAUTIFUL VIEW! See full review

  • Sad Suzie
  • Oct 3, 2014
Fun and sun near St. Pete Beach, with a revolving restaurant up top

The Grand Plaza Beach resort is the tallest and closest hotel to the Gulf of Mexico on St. Pete Beach. Leisure or corporate travelers will find a sanctuary of more than five acres of lush beachfront gardens. Just outside the rooms, guests can step onto the cool, white sand of a private beach for a relaxing West Coast Florida getaway. Enjoy meals by the pool or head inside to dine while checking out the awe-inspiring panoramic views from the window of the slowly revolving bistro.

Highlights
  • Parking, fitness center and Wi-Fi are all complimentary
  • Professionally designed and lit beach volleyball courts
  • Fantastic views from private balconies
  • Rooftop revolving bistro
Location

The resort's ideal location is close to the city of St. Petersburg for fishing, golf, museums, parks and a short day-trip to Tampa's shopping and attractions.

Rooms

All renovated beach resort guest rooms include a furnished private balcony with unparalleled views of the coastline and Gulf of Mexico or the tranquil and soothing Boca Ciega Bay to the east.

Additional room amenities include a refrigerator; microwave; in-room safe; unlimited complimentary wireless Internet access; DVD, MP3 and CD players; iron and ironing board.

One-bedroom beachfront resort suites are available with two private balconies that open to the Gulf of Mexico. Each resort suite has one king bed and one double bed. The parlor to the suite includes a pull-out sleeper sofa and a dining table with seating for four.

Features

With three dining areas located on the property, The Grand Plaza offers restaurant experiences ranging from ground floor pool-side dining and buffets to the top floor's Spinners Rooftop Revolving Bistro. Every seat offers a great and ever-changing view. Guests can opt for dining waterside for breakfast in The Palm Room & Restaurant or head to the sand to try Bongo's Beach Bar and Grille, which takes great pride in its live weekend entertainment and more than 200 fresh frozen tropical drinks.

Transportation
  • Tampa International Airport (TPA) (30 minutes)
  • St. Petersburg/Clearwater International Airport (PIE) (30 minutes)
  • Free ride (car or golf-cart) from St. Pete Beach to other nearby beaches, including Madeira Beach, for shopping and sightseeing
  • Beach trolley runs every 30 minutes from St. Pete Beach to Clearwater Beach
  • Local taxi company across the street
Attractions
  • Tropicana Field
  • Salvador Dali Museum
  • Sunken Gardens
  • The Pier
Business

Grand Plaza Resort & Hotel on St Pete Beach provides facilities for conferences, corporate getaways, business meetings, trade shows, Florida beach weddings, reunions or parties. The staff specializes in "theme" parties and can set up casual barbecue beach parties and company picnics as well as black-tie affairs.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center Rooms

Direct Beachfront Guestroom with Private Furnished Balcony
All Direct Beachfront guestrooms include a private balcony with a view of the Gulf of Mexico and our sugar white soft sandy beach. Each guestroom has a king size bed with a Simmons Health Smart mattress and one double bed so you can one of the best night's sleep ever. Also provided is a sofa for casual relaxation, refrigerator, microwave oven, coffee maker with complimentary coffee, complimentary electronic safe, hairdryer, bathroom toiletries, AM/FM clock radio, ceiling fans, individual air conditioning system, 32 inch television with DVD, CD and MP3 players, free HBO & Disney channels, iron and ironing board, unlimited complimentary wireless internet access, and telephone with voice mail.
Bay & City View Guestroom with Private Furnished Balcony
All Bay & City View guestrooms include a private balcony with a side view of Boca Ciega Bay to the east or the city of St. Pete Beach. Each guestroom has a king size bed with a Simmons Health Smart mattress and one double bed so you can one of the best night's sleep ever. Also provided is a sofa for casual relaxation, refrigerator, microwave oven, coffee maker with complimentary coffee, complimentary electronic safe, hairdryer, bathroom toiletries, AM/FM clock radio, ceiling fans, individual air conditioning system, 32 inch television with DVD, CD and MP3 players, free HBO & Disney channels, iron and ironing board, unlimited complimentary wireless internet access, and telephone with voice mail.
Partial Coastal & Beach View Guestroom with Private Furnished Balcony
All Partial Ocean & Coastal View guestrooms include a private balcony with a side view of the Gulf of Mexico and our sugar white soft sandy beach. Each guestroom has a king size bed with a Simmons Health Smart mattress and one double bed so you can one of the best night's sleep ever. Also provided is a sofa for casual relaxation, refrigerator, microwave oven, coffee maker with complimentary coffee, complimentary electronic safe, hairdryer, bathroom toiletries, AM/FM clock radio, ceiling fans, individual air conditioning system, 32 inch television with DVD, CD and MP3 players, free HBO & Disney channels, iron and ironing board, unlimited complimentary wireless internet access, and telephone with voice mail.
SuperSaver
Each Super Saver guestroom has one king size bed, refrigerator, microwave oven, coffee maker with complimentary coffee, complimentary electronic safe, hairdryer, bathroom toiletries, AM/FM clock radio, individual air conditioning system, 32 inch television with DVD, CD and MP3 players, free HBO & Disney channels, iron and ironing board, unlimited complimentary wireless internet access, and telephone with voice mail.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Night club
Game room
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Wheel chair access
Handicapped parking
Wheelchair accessible elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Tropicana Field: 7.3 mi

Dining

Bongo's Beach Bar & Grille
Directly on the white powdery beach of the Gulf of Mexico the newly designed Bongo's Beach Bar & Grille with its unhurried casual atmosphere is the place to be just for the fun of it. Here there are no pressures or deadlines to meet. Whether kicking back under the sun and grooving to some of the best local live entertainment while savoring over frozen tropical libations or having a bite to eat with your feet in the sand, this is a pleasure lovers dream come true. Open every day Rain or Shine.
The Palm Room and Restaurant
The Palm Room and Restaurant located poolside and overlooking the beach is open daily from 7:00 AM to 11:30 AM serving a breakfast buffet that is sure to get your day off to the right start. Ala cart menu is also offered. Dining options are indoors in lush tropical decorative surroundings, or outdoors with a view of the beach and Gulf of Mexico.
Spinners Revolving Rooftop Bistro & Lounge
Take the glass elevator ride to Spinners Revolving Rooftop Bistro & Lounge for an unsurpassed, constantly revolving 360 degree view of St. Pete Beach and the Gulf of Mexico. Spinners is the only revolving rooftop restaurant on the Gulf Coast of Florida. Not only are the food and service fabulous the constantly changing views are captivating. Throughout the years it continues to be the place where engagements happen, anniversaries and birthdays are celebrated and memories of a lifetime are made.
The menu consists of both local and continental cuisine that will surely awaken all of your pleasure senses is prepared by award winning chefs and served by impeccable wait staff. Lunch and dinner are served daily from 11:00 AM to 10:00 PM.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
If you are looking for a place to getaway or hold a meeting, tradeshow, wedding or party in a casual, serene and upscale atmosphere then our Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort is just the answer you have been looking for. Whether the event is large, small, indoors, outdoors, casual or elegant we can accommodate your every need.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (362)

Ratings and reviews for Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
362 out of 362
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mpls Boy
Business
Mpls MN
Feb 3, 2013

pretty noisy

Checked in Saturday, that evening loud music from Bongo's bar into room until early hours. Told the wife we were moving to another hotel but she didn't want to pack everything again. We stayed and endured the week, turned the up in the evening, figured they wouldn't cut the music just for us. Everything else was fine, good staff and food. Third stay at the property but probably last

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Khris P
Business
Newark, De
Jan 28, 2013

Just Returned

We just returned from a week in St. Pete, staying in this hotel, and decided to post this review of our experience. Hotel in General: While I will agree with most people who say that the rooms are in need in renovation, we found it acceptable for the rates. The front desk staff is extremely friendly, especially Julie. She was incredibly helpful to us and I wish to express our sincerest thanks to her! The lobby of the hotel is very nice and the outside of the hotel is very clean. The pool deck area is beautiful and is a great place to catch a tan (yes, in January) and have a few cocktails. The room we stayed in had a balcony overlooking St. Pete (not the Gulf side), but the view was very nice. Spinners Restaurant: While looking a little outdated, it is very nice and clean. We had dinner there twice and had one of the best steaks I've ever had. The service here was great (thanks Carla!), even offering to box up our leftovers and send us to the room with the rest of our dinner, plus silverware and extra bread sticks. Talk about a great midnight snack! Bongos Bar: My wife and I spent quite a bit of time here. The bar stools are a touch short for the height of the bar, but food there is great! Mixed/frozen drinks there are a touch expensive also, on the order of $8.00 each, but the beer prices are what I would consider normal. As for the staff, well, what can I say? They are all great! Our last day at the hotel we spent with Jason, Suzie, and George. Let me tell you, get these any 2 or 3 of these guys together behind the bar and you'll have a great time! I cannot express enough how fun, entertaining, and attentive they are!! Truly an asset to this hotel. Overall, we had a great time during our stay here and would highly recommend it. No hotel is perfect, but for the price, the Grand Plaza was well worth it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
crescog
Business
iowa
Jan 24, 2013

a great week

comfy bed,clean, great location. great food at restaurants. good well trained staff, good parking, nice pool 8 ft deep

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kindy413
Business
Madison, WI
Jan 22, 2013

Overall great experience

Hotel is outdated. Room was pretty good, but bathrooms need lots of work! Bongo's Beach Bar and Grill has the best atmosphere of any place I have ever been. Staff was very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

GO TO BONGO'S!!! You will want to go back everyday.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lady Goldfinch
Business
Wisconsin
Jan 19, 2013

Classic St. Pete Beach Experience

We were happy overall with this hotel. It offers the classic St. Pete Beach experience: great beach access, nice beach restaurant/bar, and, most importantly, 24/7 tropical Musak in the lobby. Know that it gets very busy on weekends due to the weddings that happen on site. The music from the beach restaurant/bar plays later into the night on the weekend and you can hear it on the 8th floor. The housekeeping staff went above and beyond expectations, but all staff members were polite and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Try Nori Thai Restaurant.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AnetaK
Business
Algonquin. Il
Jan 15, 2013

Very happy

I love this place. Hotel is old but well maintained. Place and beach is beautiful, crew is very nice and helpful. Room was clean with a nice view . Spinning restaurant is worth a try. The view is breathtaking. I have enjoyed my stay. I would definitely recommend this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Love thy vacation
Business
Chicago, IL
Dec 11, 2012

Good Vacation!

Overall, this is a good hotel for people who are looking to relax on the beach and don't want to spend too much money. Just about everything you need is there (restaurant, bar(s), pool, ocean, store(s), etc), but nothing is extra ordinary. We did enjoy the stay overall and would like to recommend this hotel for the view, friendly service and the overall atmosphere. Two things to mention - 1) - the room we stayed in did have too much furniture that got in the way of one another and - 2) - one night (at 2AM) the fire alarm went off because the cleaning crew used too much bleach to clean the lobby... Other than that, nothing else to report.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
rivo
Business
Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Dec 5, 2012

Relaxing beach vacation

The staff was very friendly and eager to please. We spent most of our time relaxing on the beach and at the pool. The beach bar has good food and entertainment. The only negative is how hectic tthe pace at the hotel becomes over the weekend (9 weddings!). However, the staff tries to accommodate those not involved in the weddings. We enjoyed our stay and plan to return for a fourth time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

If you are a sports fan, the sports bar, Players is a few blocks down the road. The hotel has coupons for this establishment.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ben 42
Business
Hoboken, NJ
Nov 24, 2012

Great place to just relax

I was looking for a nice n quiet place to stay in Florida...it hit the spot. Nice and quite just the right amount of entertainment(live band every night until10 pm). What impressed me the most was that the personnel was so attentive to every detail. Lovely hotel...also if you are on a budget and don't want to eat at the hotel..there are plenty of restaurants around...also a supermarket and a dollar store and even liquor stores, technically you can just go there without anything because there is everything there at the same prices at home.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The room has a coffe maker, a microwave and a fridge save on lunch and bfast and buy stuff from the supermarket.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
traveller with a toddler
Business
Kentucky
Nov 6, 2012

Long weekend getaway

Generally was fairly nice stay, staff were helpful in getting us an early checkin with our tired toddler. The beach is nice, and the pool and beach bar bongos is nice too. The hotel is a little dated and poorly renovated, but overall it was not too bad. The staff were very accommodating, especially with our toddler. I would recommend it if you can get a good deal on price. Random comments: The shower was really good; bed was comfortable; decorating was dated; good sound proofing, except for the doors (hallway noise).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top