$152 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 27, 2014 Check-out: Apr 30, 2014

Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center

3 stars
5250 Gulf Boulevard, St. Pete Beach, FL 33706
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
322 reviews
Romantic getaway

It was amazing hotel very clean me and my boyfriend loved the restutant spinners amazig experianced See full review

  • Calles1992
  • Apr 2, 2014
Great get away , beautiful view , very clean room

Great , comfortable , clean & a beautiful view , central location See full review

  • DL Johnson
  • Mar 5, 2014
Fun and sun near St. Pete Beach, with a revolving restaurant up top

The Grand Plaza Beach resort is the tallest and closest hotel to the Gulf of Mexico on St. Pete Beach. Leisure or corporate travelers will find a sanctuary of more than five acres of lush beachfront gardens. Just outside the rooms, guests can step onto the cool, white sand of a private beach for a relaxing West Coast Florida getaway. Enjoy meals by the pool or head inside to dine while checking out the awe-inspiring panoramic views from the window of the slowly revolving bistro.

Highlights
  • Parking, fitness center and Wi-Fi are all complimentary
  • Professionally designed and lit beach volleyball courts
  • Fantastic views from private balconies
  • Rooftop revolving bistro
Location

The resort's ideal location is close to the city of St. Petersburg for fishing, golf, museums, parks and a short day-trip to Tampa's shopping and attractions.

Rooms

All renovated beach resort guest rooms include a furnished private balcony with unparalleled views of the coastline and Gulf of Mexico or the tranquil and soothing Boca Ciega Bay to the east.

Additional room amenities include a refrigerator; microwave; in-room safe; unlimited complimentary wireless Internet access; DVD, MP3 and CD players; iron and ironing board.

One-bedroom beachfront resort suites are available with two private balconies that open to the Gulf of Mexico. Each resort suite has one king bed and one double bed. The parlor to the suite includes a pull-out sleeper sofa and a dining table with seating for four.

Features

With three dining areas located on the property, The Grand Plaza offers restaurant experiences ranging from ground floor pool-side dining and buffets to the top floor's Spinners Rooftop Revolving Bistro. Every seat offers a great and ever-changing view. Guests can opt for dining waterside for breakfast in The Palm Room & Restaurant or head to the sand to try Bongo's Beach Bar and Grille, which takes great pride in its live weekend entertainment and more than 200 fresh frozen tropical drinks.

Transportation
  • Tampa International Airport (TPA) (30 minutes)
  • St. Petersburg/Clearwater International Airport (PIE) (30 minutes)
  • Free ride (car or golf-cart) from St. Pete Beach to other nearby beaches, including Madeira Beach, for shopping and sightseeing
  • Beach trolley runs every 30 minutes from St. Pete Beach to Clearwater Beach
  • Local taxi company across the street
Attractions
  • Tropicana Field
  • Salvador Dali Museum
  • Sunken Gardens
  • The Pier
Business

Grand Plaza Resort & Hotel on St Pete Beach provides facilities for conferences, corporate getaways, business meetings, trade shows, Florida beach weddings, reunions or parties. The staff specializes in "theme" parties and can set up casual barbecue beach parties and company picnics as well as black-tie affairs.

Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center Rooms

Direct Beachfront Guestroom with Private Furnished Balcony
All Direct Beachfront guestrooms include a spacious furnished private balcony with an unobstructed view of the Gulf of Mexico and our sugar white soft sandy beach. Each guestroom has a king size bed with a Simmons Health Smart mattress and one double bed so you can one of the best night's sleep ever. Also provided is a sofa for casual relaxation, refrigerator, microwave oven, coffee maker with complimentary coffee, complimentary electronic safe, hairdryer, bathroom toiletries, AM/FM clock radio, ceiling fans, individual air conditioning system, 32 inch television with DVD, CD and MP3 players, free HBO & Disney channels, iron and ironing board, unlimited complimentary wireless internet access, and telephone with voice mail.
Partial Coastal & Beach View Guestroom with Private Furnished Balcony
All Partial Ocean & Coastal View guestrooms include a spacious furnished private balcony with a side view of the Gulf of Mexico and our sugar white soft sandy beach. Each guestroom has a king size bed with a Simmons Health Smart mattress and one double bed so you can one of the best night's sleep ever. Also provided is a sofa for casual relaxation, refrigerator, microwave oven, coffee maker with complimentary coffee, complimentary electronic safe, hairdryer, bathroom toiletries, AM/FM clock radio, ceiling fans, individual air conditioning system, 32 inch television with DVD, CD and MP3 players, free HBO & Disney channels, iron and ironing board, unlimited complimentary wireless internet access, and telephone with voice mail.
Bay & City View Guestroom with Private Furnished Balcony
All Bay & City View guestrooms include a spacious furnished private balcony with a side view of Boca Ciega Bay to the east or the city of St. Pete Beach. Each guestroom has a king size bed with a Simmons Health Smart mattress and one double bed so you can one of the best night's sleep ever. Also provided is a sofa for casual relaxation, refrigerator, microwave oven, coffee maker with complimentary coffee, complimentary electronic safe, hairdryer, bathroom toiletries, AM/FM clock radio, ceiling fans, individual air conditioning system, 32 inch television with DVD, CD and MP3 players, free HBO & Disney channels, iron and ironing board, unlimited complimentary wireless internet access, and telephone with voice mail.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Night club
Game room
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Wheel chair access
Handicapped parking
Wheelchair accessible elevators

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Hotel Map

27.7264 -82.7418
Area served
St. Pete Beach, St. Petersburg, Clearwater, Seminole, Gulfport, South Pasadena, Tampa, FL
Nearby airports
Tampa International Airport (TPA), St. Petersburg/Clearwater International Airport (PIE)
Area description
Located directly on the beach of the Gulf of Mexico, close to the city of St. Petersburg, Salvador Dali Museum, Tropicana Field, Fort Desoto Park

Nearby points of interest

  • Tropicana Field: 7.3 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
If you are looking for a place to getaway or hold a meeting, tradeshow, wedding or party in a casual, serene and upscale atmosphere then our Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort is just the answer you have been looking for. Whether the event is large, small, indoors, outdoors, casual or elegant we can accommodate your every need.

Dining

Bongo's Beach Bar & Grille
Directly on the white powdery beach of the Gulf of Mexico Bongo's Beach Bar & Grille with its unhurried casual atmosphere is the place to be just for the fun of it. Here there are no pressures or deadlines to meet. Whether kicking back under the sun and grooving to some of the best local live entertainment while savoring one of over 200 frozen tropical libations or having a bite to eat with your feet in the sand, this is a pleasure lovers dream come true. Open every day from 11 AM to 2 AM, Rain or Shine.
The Palm Room and Restaurant
The Palm Room and Restaurant located poolside and overlooking the beach is open daily from 7:00 AM to 11:30 AM serving a breakfast buffet that is sure to get your day off to the right start. Ala cart menu is also offered. Dining options are indoors in lush tropical decorative surroundings, or outdoors with a view of the beach and Gulf of Mexico.
Spinners Revolving Rooftop Bistro & Lounge
Take the glass elevator ride to Spinners Revolving Rooftop Bistro & Lounge for an unsurpassed, constantly revolving 360 degree view of St. Pete Beach and the Gulf of Mexico. Spinners is the only revolving rooftop restaurant on the Gulf Coast of Florida. Not only are the food and service fabulous the constantly changing views are captivating. Throughout the years it continues to be the place where engagements happen, anniversaries and birthdays are celebrated and memories of a lifetime are made.
The menu consists of both local and continental cuisine that will surely awaken all of your pleasure senses is prepared by award winning chefs and served by impeccable wait staff. Lunch and dinner are served daily from 11:00 AM to 10:00 PM.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (322)

Ratings and reviews for Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center

Overall score

3.8 / 5
322 out of 322
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

3
drdi
Business
PA
Oct 4, 2011

Location, Location, Location-Weddings

there were 5 weddings at this resort in 3 days!-if you are not in a wedding - this is a bit ackward but the location on the beach is great. the first room they gave me was awful- no water pressure and the toilet over flowed - the night shift clerk was not helpful -but during the day- they were nice and they moved me

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Mad Fish was best place that I ate

Review of Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

5
VT Couple
Essex Junction, VT, USA
Sep 30, 2011

Five out of five stars!!!!

I loved this place and we will definately be back! Every staff member that we encountered was so nice and helpful and genuine. My spouse and I came to the area to see the Rays and the Yankees at Tropicana field. The hotel is right on the beach with a pool and an outside beach bar, Bongos. We really really enjoyed everything about it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

PJ's Seafood Restaurant was recommended to us by the concierge. The BEST seafood I have ever had!!!!! We went there 2 nights in a row and had crab one night and blackened grouper the next. Both dishes were amazing!

Review of Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

5
Bells
Michigan, USA
Sep 8, 2011

A Dream Beach Wedding

We booked our wedding at the Grand Plaza Hotel. The wedding was fabulous! The hotel was clean, elegant and simply said wonderful! Our guests were comfortable, our guests were well taken care of, and the staff went above and beyond making our stay and our wedding exceptional!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Stay away from Sila's. It was a lousy experience and very overpriced!

Review of Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

5
Fugini
Washington, DC, USA
Sep 8, 2011

Visiting Relatives and my wife's College

We had a wonderful time right on the beach. Also, we didn't arrive until 1:30 am and we were able to relax at the bar by the beach with a cold one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Dine at the rooftop revolving restaurant and see the city at night.

Review of Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

5
Javajunkie3
Boston, MA
Aug 7, 2011

Nice Beach and Room

Front desk staff was very nice, and concierge very helpful in finding a restaurant on a busy Saturday night. Called the free cab ride for us and made suggestions. Room was clean bed was comfortable and beach was awesome, with cabana's, jet skies etc to rent. Beach bar was nice with live music and you have to have a hurricane drink (made with a 2 stroke belender for when the power goes out).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to the Hurricane for grouper and rum runners (on passe grill a short drive) beautiful sunsets...this place used to be packed but is now a little more accessible, don't listen to the bad reviews, food is still good!

Review of Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
St. Petersburg Florida
Jul 31, 2011

Honeymoon

The hotel was In a great location the staff was great and the rooms were clean each day! We had our on Bar & grill located right behind the hotel Witch was open till 2:30am and had live music all day!' we were there for out honey moon soo we did slot of laying out by the beach, but a great place too see is The Pier lots to see great food snd lot if shopping stores!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bongos bar and grill located right behind the hotel had live music all day and it's open till 2:30am!!!

Review of Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Lansing, Michigan
Jul 28, 2011

Nice Room

My wife and I went there for our honeymoon. The room was a partial ocean view and was very pleasant. The room itself was kept clean. The floors were tile, which we liked. The bathroom was a little small but it still worked out fine for us. The view on the private balcony was very relaxing. The DVD player was a nice addition since we went down the street to 7-Eleven and rented out of the red box. There are a few things to do on the beach. We rented jet skis from Rick's; he was helpful and friendly. But we had a terrible experience with Captain Mike's para-sailing and asked for a refund.Spinners restaurant was a phenomenal dining experience. Watching the sunset over the Gulf of Mexico while enjoying dinner was great. The manager and staff were friendly and efficient.We thoroughly enjoyed our experience at the hotel and the surrounding area. We will likely visit the hotel again. The only real complaints we had were the two elevators can be quite slow especially when there are a lot of people trying to use them. Also we heard trucks backing up with their beepers early in the morning. (Somewhere in the 7-9 am time frame it seemed like, but we weren't getting up yet, so I didn't check the time.) And the air conditioning can be loud too. But again we really enjoyed our time there and will likely return.As an added side note, Suncoast Cathedral in St. Petersburg was where we went to church. I've been there before, and we both loved the service on Sunday morning. We went back Sunday night to watch a Christian comedian that was visiting to minister.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Watching the sunset from the restaurant was great and worth the price of the food. Plus the food was good.

Review of Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

3
TacMan
Chicago
Jul 28, 2011

Grand Plaza Beachfront, St. Pete

The hotel was OK. It is a little dated and could use some upgrades. The elevators (only 2) are used by staff and guests alike-long waits at times. I wound up using the stairs severla times. The beach and pool were nice. The breakfast was very acceptable. They had music nightly at the beach bar and it was very nice. Not too wild. You could have a nice time having a drink, some food and music while the ocean is only a couple hundred feet away. The wide beach was nice-never crowded.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

A lot of activities right on the beach. Other things to do were within half an hours drive.

Review of Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Orlando
Jul 6, 2011

Great Views!!

Great location with awesome views from Spinners resturant overlooking Gulf & Bay. Food wasn't all that. Next time will just do Bar & Appetizer and maybe dinner down below somewhere close by. (Crab Billy's next door was great!!) Glad we were on first floor up and could take stairs as these high rise hotels always have backup wait times for elevators.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Took in Rays/Cards game @ Tropicanna Field which is always awesome!!! Downtown St Pete is also close by and a terrific place 2 spend a day!!

Review of Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Chicago, IL
Jun 28, 2011

Smaller Resort with Big Resort Feel

First time in St. Pete Beach. Didn't know what to expect. LOVED the hotel!!! Free parking a big plus! We were always able to find a spot on top level even when there were events (weddings) happening at the hotel. Received a free upgrade to partial Gulf View room [...] Room and balcony size very nice. Beds were very comfortable. A/C was GREAT! Loved the tile floors (staff kept swept/mopped at all times). Bathroom a bit small but efficient. Who cares if it's smaller. YOU ARE AT THE BEACH! Mini Fridge and Microwave in room (convenient). Dined at all restaurants. Food was a total value and was very good (tasty). Views from Spinners restaurant - awesome during the day! Staff members were very pleasant and accommodating! Elevator waits were a bit lengthy at times, but it was due to multiple weddings happening at the hotel at that time. Weekdays, wait time for elevators was very short. Free coffee and tea at anytime during the day/night in the lobby. Great places for pictures on the beach (hotel has palms and nicely landscaped flowers set up for weddings that you can take excellent pictures by). I would recommend this hotel to everyone; couples, families. Located in the middle of the main strip of resorts. Nice location. Shopping and restaurants within walking distance. We can't wait to go back!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Hotel advised us that there was a golf cart/taxi service available. They provided you with a phone number (on a business card) to call at anytime and the "taxi's" would pick you up, no charge! Of course giving a tip is a nice gesture and suggested.... Made it very easy and convenient to have a designated driver if you wanted to go to a bar close by or have a drink or two with dinner! And it was cheaper than calling an actual cab!

Back to menu Return to top