$179 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 21, 2014 Check-out: Dec 24, 2014

Loews Don CeSar Hotel

4 stars
3400 Gulf Blvd, Saint Pete Beach, FL 33706
Best In Stay
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
53 reviews
Ms

Loved the hotel. rooms a bit small but still nice. See full review

  • NC Duke Fan
  • Sep 15, 2014
What a Beautiful, One-Of-A-Kind Gem!

This was my husband's and my first vacation after our honeymoon, and we couldn't have chosen a... See full review

  • Stephanie from Sewickley
  • Jul 7, 2014
Known as Floridas *Pink Palace* the Loews Don CeSar Hotel facing the white sands of the Gulf of Mexico was built in 1928 to resemble a Mediterranean-style castle. Born in the Great Gatsby era as a playground for the rich and famous the iconic *Pink Palace* has been revitalized and refreshed within ensuring a future as rich and storied as its history. Enjoy newly redesigned 277 luxurious rooms including 36 suites many with spectacular views of the pristine Gulf beaches or Boca Ciega Bay. Relax and indulge at Spa Oceana featuring over 11000 square feet of spa facilities luxurious spa treatments full service salon and a stunning rooftop garden overlooking the azure waters of the Gulf of Mexico. All guest rooms feature Free Wi-Fi / bathrobe / Keurig coffee maker / 36 inch flat screen TV / Make-up mirror / hairdryer / ipod docking station

Loews Don CeSar Hotel Rooms

Deluxe
Deluxe room type come with 1 King, 1 Queen, or 2 Double beds. Views of the intercoastal waterway, Boca Ciega Bay, and the city. Complimentary WiFi
Luxury
Partial Gulf view with one king or two double beds. Complimentary Premium Wi-Fi.
Superior
Limited view opposite of the beach with one king size or two double beds. Complimentary Premium Wi-Fi.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
24 hour security
FEMA approved
Phone service
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Live entertainment
Sauna
Children's activities
Golf
Jogging track
Tennis
Outdoor tennis
Play ground
Racquetball courts
Tennis pro
Boating
Driving range
Picnic area/tables
Steam bath
Wind surfing
Scuba diving
Fishing
Dining
Continental breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
24 hour room service
Room service
Poolside snackbar
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Nursery for children
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Theater desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber shop
Boutiques
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
Doorman
FAX
Doctor on call
Video checkout
Gift shop
Copy service
News stand
Overhead projector
Audio visual equipment
Projector
Blackboard
White board
Drugstore
Florist
Conference suite
Internet
High-speed internet
Transportation
Courtesy car
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Ramp access to buildings
Brailled elevators
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Video game player
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
Turndown service
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Dining

The Maritana Grille
4 Diamond casual fine dining set in a vibrant Florida atmosphere featuring creative New American cuisine. Jackets not required. Please no shorts, jeans or tee shirts.
Sea Porch Restaurant
Serving breakfast, lunch and dinner in a contemporary style setting with al fresco dining available.
Lobby Bar
Lobby bar serves light appetizer menu and has nightly entertainment.
Sunsets Lounge
Full Sea Porch menu available as well as light appetizers. Food served until 11p. Entertainment includes pool tables, dart boards and live musical entertainment on weekends.
Beachcomber
Daily Poolside bar and grill serves mostly lighter sandwiches, salads and specialty drinks.
Uncle Andys Ice Cream Parlor
One can enjoy old fashioned ice creams, sundaes, banana splits, and Starbucks coffee. The Parlor also contains historical original photos and newspaper articles related to the hotel as well as artifacts and antiques.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (53)

Ratings and reviews for Loews Don CeSar Hotel

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
53 out of 53
Amenities:
4.6
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.9
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Loews Don CeSar Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
NC Duke Fan
Business
North Carolina
Sep 15, 2014

Ms

Loved the hotel. rooms a bit small but still nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Loews Don CeSar Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tina654
Business
Canton, Ohio
Sep 3, 2014

Best Bed EVER

This is a beautiful hotel though it is old. The rooms are small and the bathrooms are smaller and no exhaust fan. We chose a king bed and I have never slept in a more comfortable bed. The pools are nice and right on the ocean. Staff was very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Loews Don CeSar Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Stephanie from Sewickley
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Jul 7, 2014

What a Beautiful, One-Of-A-Kind Gem!

This was my husband's and my first vacation after our honeymoon, and we couldn't have chosen a better place! The resort is truly a gem, from the luxury and service to the history and uniqueness, we will definitely be going back throughout our lives!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The Maritana Grille is phenomenal and a MUST when visiting the Don CeSar! Everything we ordered was delicious, and this was our favorite meal on our vacation by far.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Loews Don CeSar Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SheilaMD
Business
Dallas, Texas
Jun 7, 2014

Old school charmer; great location and staff

Overall very good and I would recommend this hotel. The pools and St Pete Beach location are excellent. Food is good and reasonably priced for a resort. Every staff member we encountered was friendly and v. helpful. We had a car but you can get around to explore other beaches on trolley and taxi without one. Our room was very clean, updated and bright and we had partial beach view. Only negative was small size room and bathroom. Everything you need was squeezed in there but it was small (probably reflecting property's history) .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

You won't pay less in Pass A Grille restaurants that look a lot less fancy.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Loews Don CeSar Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CFO Getaway
Business
Orlando Florida
Jun 1, 2014

Great getaway

My friend and I had a great time. The room was clean and I did not hear my neighbors.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Loews Don CeSar Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anthony Super man
Business
Sioux Falls, SD
May 27, 2014

Fantastic weekend at the beach.

Great weekend with the family- great beach and pool setup. Service was second to none!...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Loews Don CeSar Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Northfields
Business
London, UK
Nov 3, 2013

Excellent service and location

The best part of our stay was the service - truly outstanding from the initial welcome to the bartenders to the pool guys (you even get a little flag on the back of your sunbed to indicate when you'd like food or drink!) The location right on the beach is stunning (we saw dolphins swim by one day) - the only downside is if you want to go to downtown St Pete you'll need to get a taxi (30 USD plus tip) or drive - and there isn't much choice for restaurants at/near the hotel. (Having said that our most enjoyable meal was sitting outside at the hotel's Sea Porch restaurant - but it's not cheap for every night!) We didn't like having to pay the additional "resort tax" - why is this not included? - like for a budget airline. Also the sunbeds by the pool (and on the decking overlooking the beach) were included, but those on the beach carried an additional charge - what's that all about?! Rooms are fine - we decided not to pay the extra for the sea view so had an uninspiring view of the road and car park! Housekeeping was average - the room was clean but little details like clean glasses and finished toilet roll were missed. Wifi is included but is slow and coverage is patchy. The hotel is huge and there were 3 weddings on the Saturday when we were there - but somehow they manage everything so well you never feel crowded. Overall we would recommend the hotel and would stay again in future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Loews Don CeSar Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Chuckles82
Business
Glen Burnie, Maryland
Oct 30, 2013

Awesome

My wife and I stayed at this location for a wedding. Even though this hotel is pricy its worth every penny.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Loews Don CeSar Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sarahs' Mum
Business
Cheshire, England
Oct 9, 2013

not special anymore

Met by the fantastic Bell team, as always, Room was spotlessly clean and the view of the Gulf was amazing, as always, then the goodness went downhill. the room had been refurbished in a tasteful manner, but why did they still have Very uncomfortable beds and old-fashioned mattress protectors which ' bunch up' as soon as you sit on the bed?.no mattress toppers either so hard as rock. We went to bed on our 2nd night and couldn't sleep for the noise coming from the entertainment. when I complained, I was told it would go on till midnight and was 7 nights a week! We moved rooms the next day. To add insult to injury the cost cutting is ridiculous. supposedly a 5* hotel and not even a shower cap in the bathroom- when I complained I was told you could call down for one! How ridiculous, it was like a premier inn. Now you even have to pay to lie on the free beach. Loews have given the management of the beach beds to an outside company so you have to pay to lie on the same sunbeds and towels which are free at the pool. Obviously it was only taken up by the 'corporate clients' who were adding it to their company bills and a few of us who were desperate for some breeze. I did complain and got some 'complimentary' sunbeds , but I shouldn't have to, they should still be freely available. this hotel obviously now caters to the corporate market and us mere customers who have been visiting it for 17 years , don't count for much. This used to be an absolute favourite of ours, our 'home', one of our favourite hotels in the world, but not anymore- seems you now have to spend your holiday complaining. It completed spoilt ours having to constantly complain. Don't waste your hard earned cash!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Go elsewhere !!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Loews Don CeSar Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Fan of the Don
Business
Cincinnati, OH
Sep 3, 2013

None better

Needed to get away before Summer's end. Chose the Don CeSar based on a long ago visit. Everything was perfect! The hotel is simply beautiful, the staff could not be more friendly or helpful. The beach and pool accommodations were outstanding. The weather was incredible, which I'm sure the Don ordered for us! Big thanks to everyone there. Looking forward to my next visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Don't be afraid to go into downtown St. Petersburg, where there is a vibrant, exciting nightlife.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top