$119 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 12, 2014 Check-out: Aug 15, 2014

Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - St. Pete Beach FL

2 stars
6100 Gulf Blvd, St Pete Beach, FL 33706
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
51 reviews
Absolutely wonderful!

What a great, inexpensive place to stay on the beach! Nina at the front desk was THE BEST!! Within... See full review

  • Tonya and Jim
  • Jun 18, 2014
we enjoyed our time

We enjoyed our 2 nights here....everyone was quite friendly and the location was fabulous...great... See full review

  • carie3071
  • Aug 15, 2013
Take the family to this beachfront Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - St. Pete Beach FL for an exciting vacation. To check into this property you must be 25 or older. Walk to Gulf of Mexico beaches and fish, snorkel, or go on a Dolphin Watch or Shelling Cruise. Watch the Tampa Bay Rays score a homerun at Tropicana Field 15 minutes away, or take a short drive to Busch Gardens Adventure Island for thrilling rides and animal exhibits. Enjoy all of your meals at The Toasted Monkey Sports Bar and Grill onsite, and relax at the Toasted Monkey Beach Bar onsite. Swim in the heated outdoor pool located directly on the beach. Energize your morning with a complimentary Rise and Dine continental breakfast with a complimentary newspaper. Use the complimentary wireless Internet access to plan your exciting day from the comfort of your guest room with excellent sunset views over the Gulf of Mexico. Rooms include balcony, refrigerator, microwave and coffee-maker. There is no charge for children 17 and under with an adult.

Hotel Map

27.7334 -82.7456
Area description
Entertainment district

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - St. Pete Beach FL also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Heated pool
Game room
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
Security
FAX
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Microwave
Over sized rooms
Cribs available
Ironing board

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (51)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - St. Pete Beach FL

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
22 out of 51
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.6

64% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - St. Pete Beach FL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JimmyDean18
Trinity, Fl.
Jun 20, 2014

Ho Jo's

Excellent location, pool was great. Toasted Monkey staff were outstanding and the location was excellent (right by the pool). The hotel is older and outdated so the room was a bit disappointing. It wasn't really a big deal though because who spends a lot of time in the room when you're there to enjoy the beach! It just needs some updating with the furniture, lighting, tile and carpeting. Overall we were satisfied, especially because of the value and where it's located.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Great value for the location. Don't expect a 3-4 star hotel though. Overall, good enough.

Review of Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - St. Pete Beach FL

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tonya and Jim
Lithia, Florida
Jun 18, 2014

Absolutely wonderful!

What a great, inexpensive place to stay on the beach! Nina at the front desk was THE BEST!! Within walking distance to the beach, restaurants and souvenir shops! Hotel restaurant was very good and so was the tiki bar on the beach! We will be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - St. Pete Beach FL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CaseyN
Lakeland, FL
Jun 18, 2014

Fantastic Budget Friendly

My family had a wonderful two day "stay-cation" at this hotel. We arrived at 2:50pm approx 10 min prior to allowed check-in time. Although our room was not available right away due to the hotel being sold out the evening prior the staff was very friendly and encouraged us to take advantage of the pool and beach while our room was being prepared. Our room was available approximately 30 min later by 3:20pm. Despite the "dated" appearance the room was clean, had no weird smells, and contained the ammenities as described. I could not have asked for a better view from the balcony, proximity to the beach, available dining options etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - St. Pete Beach FL

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Cheena Bebe
Tampa, FL
Jun 10, 2014

My stay at Howard Johnson

My stay at Howard Johnson basically was only good bc of the pool and toasted monkey! The staff was rude and impolite at the front desk. As well as unprofessional! Cleaning was late throughout the day. I'm very dissatisfied.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - St. Pete Beach FL

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mom and Son team
St. Petes Beach, Florida
Apr 23, 2014

Mom and son spring break

The location at this hotel was great. We enjoyed the pool, shuffle board, beach volleyball. Really enjoyed the Toasted Monkey bar outside by the pool. The room overall was not good. We only had our room cleaned twice. I called the front desk several times and they apologized but nothing was done.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Crabby Bill's Great Crab Legs!!!

Review of Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - St. Pete Beach FL

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Michael Man dude
Paisley fl
Nov 11, 2013

Beach trip

A relaxing week end. Nice beach and bar. Would come agsin

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - St. Pete Beach FL

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
HorribleHotel
St. Pete, Florida
Sep 23, 2013

Never Again

My husband, three year old and I wanted to spend a weekend on the beach. Even though this was the cheapest place to stay on last minute's notice, I did not think it would be as bad as it was. There were ants crawling all over the walls, there were dark stains on the wall that looked like blood, the towels were filthy, the bathtub was not clean, the other guests could be heard through the walls and I'm pretty sure the bed had fleas. I had to dump baby powder all over the bed to make my feet stop itching. Yes it was that gross. I will never stay here again. The staff was not great either. The woman at the check in counter had a hole in her shirt. There were no available towels for the pool and when we asked, we were just told there were none and they did not offer to give us regular towels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - St. Pete Beach FL

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
carie3071
lakeland, florida
Aug 15, 2013

we enjoyed our time

We enjoyed our 2 nights here....everyone was quite friendly and the location was fabulous...great music by the pool in the evening..had a very relaxing stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - St. Pete Beach FL

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RaysFans1
Orlando, FL
Aug 9, 2013

Rays Ball Game

Wife and I stayed here for a short weekend so we could be close to Tropicana field and still have a mini beach vacation. Parking is odd, side lot (need gate access) for people staying but if you park in the front lot, you will get towed. There is a bar attached to the hotel and another beach bar closer to the beach behind the hotel by the pool. Front parking is public parking for the bar. Depending on what you are looking to have during your stay, this would make a difference. There were people not staying at the hotel walking through the hotel, one in particular came to our room when we we're bringing in our stuff. Said he was maintenance. Didn't look it at all and we didn't get notified for anything so we didn't let him in. Could be a beach bum from the bar. Rest of our stay was fine, busy time on the beach. Hotel staff was very nice and concerned. Would stay there again during the off season so there's less people.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - St. Pete Beach FL

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sass73
South Carolina
Jul 11, 2013

Howard Johnson

The staff at the hotel were very helpful but the room was not clean. The linen had stains and the shower had mold in it. The location was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top