$87 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 31, 2015 Check-out: Jun 3, 2015

Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - St. Pete Beach FL

2 stars
View map of 6100 Gulf Blvd, St Pete Beach, FL 33706

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
56 reviews
Absolutely wonderful!

What a great, inexpensive place to stay on the beach! Nina at the front desk was THE BEST!! Within... See full review

  • Tonya and Jim
  • Jun 18, 2014
Great value for location on Beach

This hotel has a great location right next to some great bars and resorts and is a great... See full review

  • scuba steve 77
  • May 19, 2015

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - St. Pete Beach FL also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Heated pool
Game room
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
Security
FAX
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Microwave
Over sized rooms
Cribs available
Ironing board

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - St. Pete Beach FL

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
23 out of 56
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.7

70% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - St. Pete Beach FL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Robert R.
Business
N/A
Dec 29, 2014

Very enjoyable family vacation...

Hotel was good, hair dryer didn't work and staff were told numerous times but never did anything . We did Busch gardens, went to Raymond James stadium for the packer game. Lots of sight seeing, siesta keys, Clearwater, bradington.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - St. Pete Beach FL

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Yens
Business
Orlando, FL
Sep 2, 2014

Better than I expected

When I got there 3:30pm, I thought the room should be ready but the front desk said they change the check in time from 3:00 to 4:00 instead so I wasn't too happy about it but they managed to give me the room ten minute later. The room was clean and good size, perfect location, toast monkey has great food but a little nosie at night. So far so good! Will go back again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Best chicken wing, try the teriyaki favor! Two thumb up!

Review of Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - St. Pete Beach FL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JimmyDean18
Business
Trinity, Fl.
Jun 20, 2014

Ho Jo's

Excellent location, pool was great. Toasted Monkey staff were outstanding and the location was excellent (right by the pool). The hotel is older and outdated so the room was a bit disappointing. It wasn't really a big deal though because who spends a lot of time in the room when you're there to enjoy the beach! It just needs some updating with the furniture, lighting, tile and carpeting. Overall we were satisfied, especially because of the value and where it's located.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Great value for the location. Don't expect a 3-4 star hotel though. Overall, good enough.

Review of Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - St. Pete Beach FL

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tonya and Jim
Business
Lithia, Florida
Jun 18, 2014

Absolutely wonderful!

What a great, inexpensive place to stay on the beach! Nina at the front desk was THE BEST!! Within walking distance to the beach, restaurants and souvenir shops! Hotel restaurant was very good and so was the tiki bar on the beach! We will be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - St. Pete Beach FL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CaseyN
Business
Lakeland, FL
Jun 18, 2014

Fantastic Budget Friendly

My family had a wonderful two day "stay-cation" at this hotel. We arrived at 2:50pm approx 10 min prior to allowed check-in time. Although our room was not available right away due to the hotel being sold out the evening prior the staff was very friendly and encouraged us to take advantage of the pool and beach while our room was being prepared. Our room was available approximately 30 min later by 3:20pm. Despite the "dated" appearance the room was clean, had no weird smells, and contained the ammenities as described. I could not have asked for a better view from the balcony, proximity to the beach, available dining options etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - St. Pete Beach FL

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Cheena Bebe
Business
Tampa, FL
Jun 10, 2014

My stay at Howard Johnson

My stay at Howard Johnson basically was only good bc of the pool and toasted monkey! The staff was rude and impolite at the front desk. As well as unprofessional! Cleaning was late throughout the day. I'm very dissatisfied.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - St. Pete Beach FL

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mom and Son team
Business
St. Petes Beach, Florida
Apr 23, 2014

Mom and son spring break

The location at this hotel was great. We enjoyed the pool, shuffle board, beach volleyball. Really enjoyed the Toasted Monkey bar outside by the pool. The room overall was not good. We only had our room cleaned twice. I called the front desk several times and they apologized but nothing was done.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Crabby Bill's Great Crab Legs!!!

Review of Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - St. Pete Beach FL

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Michael Man dude
Business
Paisley fl
Nov 11, 2013

Beach trip

A relaxing week end. Nice beach and bar. Would come agsin

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - St. Pete Beach FL

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
HorribleHotel
Business
St. Pete, Florida
Sep 23, 2013

Never Again

My husband, three year old and I wanted to spend a weekend on the beach. Even though this was the cheapest place to stay on last minute's notice, I did not think it would be as bad as it was. There were ants crawling all over the walls, there were dark stains on the wall that looked like blood, the towels were filthy, the bathtub was not clean, the other guests could be heard through the walls and I'm pretty sure the bed had fleas. I had to dump baby powder all over the bed to make my feet stop itching. Yes it was that gross. I will never stay here again. The staff was not great either. The woman at the check in counter had a hole in her shirt. There were no available towels for the pool and when we asked, we were just told there were none and they did not offer to give us regular towels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - St. Pete Beach FL

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
carie3071
Business
lakeland, florida
Aug 15, 2013

we enjoyed our time

We enjoyed our 2 nights here....everyone was quite friendly and the location was fabulous...great music by the pool in the evening..had a very relaxing stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top