$71 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 21, 2014 Check-out: Oct 24, 2014

Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - St. Pete Beach FL

2 stars
6100 Gulf Blvd, St Pete Beach, FL 33706
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
51 reviews
Absolutely wonderful!

What a great, inexpensive place to stay on the beach! Nina at the front desk was THE BEST!! Within... See full review

  • Tonya and Jim
  • Jun 18, 2014
we enjoyed our time

We enjoyed our 2 nights here....everyone was quite friendly and the location was fabulous...great... See full review

  • carie3071
  • Aug 15, 2013
Take the family to this beachfront Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - St. Pete Beach FL for an exciting vacation. To check into this property you must be 25 or older. Walk to Gulf of Mexico beaches and fish, snorkel, or go on a Dolphin Watch or Shelling Cruise. Watch the Tampa Bay Rays score a homerun at Tropicana Field 15 minutes away, or take a short drive to Busch Gardens Adventure Island for thrilling rides and animal exhibits. Enjoy all of your meals at The Toasted Monkey Sports Bar and Grill onsite, and relax at the Toasted Monkey Beach Bar onsite. Swim in the heated outdoor pool located directly on the beach. Energize your morning with a complimentary Rise and Dine continental breakfast with a complimentary newspaper. Use the complimentary wireless Internet access to plan your exciting day from the comfort of your guest room with excellent sunset views over the Gulf of Mexico. Rooms include balcony, refrigerator, microwave and coffee-maker. There is no charge for children 17 and under with an adult.

Hotel Map

27.7334 -82.7456
Area description
Entertainment district

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - St. Pete Beach FL also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Heated pool
Game room
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
Security
FAX
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Microwave
Over sized rooms
Cribs available
Ironing board

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (51)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - St. Pete Beach FL

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
51 out of 51
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.7

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - St. Pete Beach FL

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
HorribleHotel
Business
St. Pete, Florida
Sep 23, 2013

Never Again

My husband, three year old and I wanted to spend a weekend on the beach. Even though this was the cheapest place to stay on last minute's notice, I did not think it would be as bad as it was. There were ants crawling all over the walls, there were dark stains on the wall that looked like blood, the towels were filthy, the bathtub was not clean, the other guests could be heard through the walls and I'm pretty sure the bed had fleas. I had to dump baby powder all over the bed to make my feet stop itching. Yes it was that gross. I will never stay here again. The staff was not great either. The woman at the check in counter had a hole in her shirt. There were no available towels for the pool and when we asked, we were just told there were none and they did not offer to give us regular towels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - St. Pete Beach FL

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mom and Son team
Business
St. Petes Beach, Florida
Apr 23, 2014

Mom and son spring break

The location at this hotel was great. We enjoyed the pool, shuffle board, beach volleyball. Really enjoyed the Toasted Monkey bar outside by the pool. The room overall was not good. We only had our room cleaned twice. I called the front desk several times and they apologized but nothing was done.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Crabby Bill's Great Crab Legs!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - St. Pete Beach FL

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Embajador
Business
Florida, USA
Nov 17, 2011

Ok hotel

It was ok for the price i guess not to impress with the room and aperience it looks old and smell like mold

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - St. Pete Beach FL

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sherryk9210
Business
Louisville, Ky
Jul 16, 2012

No bar & no restaurant

Hotel is right on the beach, however it could have been cleaner on the trail walking to the beach. The hotel was very clean and the halls smelled very good. The room was clean and the beds were nice, with updated bedding. We booked this hotel because of the ad stating a tiki bar and restaurant on-site. There was no bar and no restaurant.. the front desk said we could go next door to the hotel next doors bar, but did not offer us a free drink coupon. It was funny, because we almosted booked with that same hotel. But because Howard johnsons is a chain we expected better that most. Not to be lied too. Howard Johnson has not called us back, as of today

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - St. Pete Beach FL

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Chicagoan 2
Business
Chicago
Nov 13, 2012

Needs help

Very dated. Coffee pot didn't work, bathroom smelled, door lock latches broken. Needs help.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - St. Pete Beach FL

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
A family with kids
Business
Orlando, Florida
Dec 8, 2012

An old hotel

This is an old hotel. Nothing special, not nice, just beds, ugly walls. Needs renovation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - St. Pete Beach FL

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
AdamY
Business
Gaithersburg, MD
May 21, 2013

Outdated, noisy hotel

The room was cheap but that doesn't excuse poor maintenance. The shower head was rusty, furniture was outdated but at least it was clean. Pool was decent but left because people were chain smoking right next to it. The beach bar was nice with good food but if you are traveling with kids, do not stay here. It is a party atmosphere with lots of drinking, loud music till at least 11pm, and people that are stumbling drunk. The staff was friendly though. Pay a little extra money and stay somewhere else. Also, bring your own beach towels, there's are paper thin.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Order the fish tacos, they are excellent.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - St. Pete Beach FL

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Family sad stay
Business
cleveland,ohio
Jun 23, 2013

Dirty and Loud

Dirty rooms they do not vac the rooms they sweep the carpet. There was stuff on the floor from the last guest. Tubs were black on the bottom always had to ask for more towels. Bugs and ants. The bar was loud and not good for taking your little ones to the pool for a dip toooo many people there that did not even belong to the hotel and parking was a night mare they gave you a pass but the gate was open most of the time so people on the weekend parked there anyway, Stuff was broke like the ice machine and dryer and the shower by the beach as you come in

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

PJ's great lobster tail we went there 2 times good food and price

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - St. Pete Beach FL

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sass73
Business
South Carolina
Jul 11, 2013

Howard Johnson

The staff at the hotel were very helpful but the room was not clean. The linen had stains and the shower had mold in it. The location was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - St. Pete Beach FL

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Cheena Bebe
Business
Tampa, FL
Jun 10, 2014

My stay at Howard Johnson

My stay at Howard Johnson basically was only good bc of the pool and toasted monkey! The staff was rude and impolite at the front desk. As well as unprofessional! Cleaning was late throughout the day. I'm very dissatisfied.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top