$107 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 13, 2015 Check-out: Apr 16, 2015

Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - St. Pete Beach FL

2 stars
View map of 6100 Gulf Blvd, St Pete Beach, FL 33706

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - St. Pete Beach FL

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
53 out of 53
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.7

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - St. Pete Beach FL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
UncleB
Business
Tampa
May 13, 2014

Great hotel for the price

Staff was very freindly, room was clean. Great location with places to eat close by.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ricks Reef close by with good food

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - St. Pete Beach FL

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mom and Son team
Business
St. Petes Beach, Florida
Apr 23, 2014

Mom and son spring break

The location at this hotel was great. We enjoyed the pool, shuffle board, beach volleyball. Really enjoyed the Toasted Monkey bar outside by the pool. The room overall was not good. We only had our room cleaned twice. I called the front desk several times and they apologized but nothing was done.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Crabby Bill's Great Crab Legs!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - St. Pete Beach FL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ALEKAYE
Business
SCOTLAND
Apr 3, 2014

Great holiday experience

Very happy with hotel. Staff extremely welcoming and helpflul. Room spacious and comfortable. Location right on the beautiful beach. Great value for money. Could have more luxurios accommodation elsewhere but not at these prices. Great hoiday, would definately go again.Lots to do in the area to please all the family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Fantastic fish restaurants accross the road. Not to be missed.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - St. Pete Beach FL

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bdouglas
Business
Santa Fe
Mar 7, 2014

Beach Front rooms a real bargain

If you can get a beach front room its a great bargain. Parking anywhere near the beach is also a big plus. The hotel is a otherwise pretty average chain motel but the staff is very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Dockside Dave's is about 5-6 blocks and has the best Grouper sandwich in Florida.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - St. Pete Beach FL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
returner
Business
Tallahassee, Fl
Feb 22, 2014

OK for business

A reasonable hotel with nice attached beach restaurant, fine if you're not spending lots of the day in the room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - St. Pete Beach FL

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Michael Man dude
Business
Paisley fl
Nov 11, 2013

Beach trip

A relaxing week end. Nice beach and bar. Would come agsin

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - St. Pete Beach FL

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
HorribleHotel
Business
St. Pete, Florida
Sep 23, 2013

Never Again

My husband, three year old and I wanted to spend a weekend on the beach. Even though this was the cheapest place to stay on last minute's notice, I did not think it would be as bad as it was. There were ants crawling all over the walls, there were dark stains on the wall that looked like blood, the towels were filthy, the bathtub was not clean, the other guests could be heard through the walls and I'm pretty sure the bed had fleas. I had to dump baby powder all over the bed to make my feet stop itching. Yes it was that gross. I will never stay here again. The staff was not great either. The woman at the check in counter had a hole in her shirt. There were no available towels for the pool and when we asked, we were just told there were none and they did not offer to give us regular towels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - St. Pete Beach FL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Patronric
Business
Cleveland, Ohio
Aug 21, 2013

Good value, great location

This hotel is located right on the Gulf of Mexico. On a really beautiful beach. The rooms are OK. Comfortable beds. Considering what other hotels are charging on this beach. It's a good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Skidders Restaurant. Greek. The most delicious food. Great care goes into making each meal. You have to dine here.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - St. Pete Beach FL

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
carie3071
Business
lakeland, florida
Aug 15, 2013

we enjoyed our time

We enjoyed our 2 nights here....everyone was quite friendly and the location was fabulous...great music by the pool in the evening..had a very relaxing stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - St. Pete Beach FL

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RaysFans1
Business
Orlando, FL
Aug 9, 2013

Rays Ball Game

Wife and I stayed here for a short weekend so we could be close to Tropicana field and still have a mini beach vacation. Parking is odd, side lot (need gate access) for people staying but if you park in the front lot, you will get towed. There is a bar attached to the hotel and another beach bar closer to the beach behind the hotel by the pool. Front parking is public parking for the bar. Depending on what you are looking to have during your stay, this would make a difference. There were people not staying at the hotel walking through the hotel, one in particular came to our room when we we're bringing in our stuff. Said he was maintenance. Didn't look it at all and we didn't get notified for anything so we didn't let him in. Could be a beach bum from the bar. Rest of our stay was fine, busy time on the beach. Hotel staff was very nice and concerned. Would stay there again during the off season so there's less people.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top