$87 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 1, 2015 Check-out: Jun 4, 2015

Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - St. Pete Beach FL

2 stars
View map of 6100 Gulf Blvd, St Pete Beach, FL 33706

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
56 reviews
Absolutely wonderful!

What a great, inexpensive place to stay on the beach! Nina at the front desk was THE BEST!! Within... See full review

  • Tonya and Jim
  • Jun 18, 2014
Great value for location on Beach

This hotel has a great location right next to some great bars and resorts and is a great... See full review

  • scuba steve 77
  • May 19, 2015
Take the family to this beachfront Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - St. Pete Beach FL for an exciting vacation. To check into this property you must be 25 or older. Walk to Gulf of Mexico beaches and fish, snorkel, or go on a Dolphin Watch or Shelling Cruise. Watch the Tampa Bay Rays score a homerun at Tropicana Field 15 minutes away, or take a short drive to Busch Gardens Adventure Island for thrilling rides and animal exhibits. Enjoy all of your meals at The Toasted Monkey Sports Bar and Grill onsite, and relax at the Toasted Monkey Beach Bar onsite. Swim in the heated outdoor pool located directly on the beach. Energize your morning with a complimentary Rise and Dine continental breakfast with a complimentary newspaper. Use the complimentary wireless Internet access to plan your exciting day from the comfort of your guest room with excellent sunset views over the Gulf of Mexico. Rooms include balcony, refrigerator, microwave and coffee-maker. There is no charge for children 17 and under with an adult.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - St. Pete Beach FL also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Heated pool
Game room
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
Security
FAX
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Microwave
Over sized rooms
Cribs available
Ironing board

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - St. Pete Beach FL

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
56 out of 56
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.8

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - St. Pete Beach FL

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Weekend Travelers 2000
Chicago, IL
Nov 8, 2012

Long weekend on the beach

My husband and I stayed at the Howard Johnson for a long weekend away. Our room was just fine for the price--nothing too fancy but definitely clean and staff was attentive. We enjoyed the warm pool, the proximity to the beach, and the fun atmosphere. We weren't expecting to have access to live music and fun food/drinks each night, but we really appreciated the attached bar/grill and the bar near the beachfront. This hotel is within easy walking distance to other bars/grills on the beach, and an easy drive to other local attractions such as state parks or downtown tampa or st. petersburg. The beachfront was clean and beautiful. Would definitely stay again and recommend to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

The "Funky Monkey", which is attached to the hotel and also has an outside bar area near the beach has an awesome "happy hour" M-F during the day and good food/drink at great prices at other times/days.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - St. Pete Beach FL

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
scuba steve 77
Business
Brookfield
May 19, 2015

Great value for location on Beach

This hotel has a great location right next to some great bars and resorts and is a great value. While some of the rooms on the lower levels are older, they are still kept clean and are fairly large compared to other larger resorts next door. Would stay here again as it saves me money and most of my time is spent on the beach anyways so I am not too concerned about a modern, fancy room at a large resort that charges resort fees

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - St. Pete Beach FL

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Oliver1966
Business
N/A
Mar 26, 2015

Very good value

Good value for the money. Great beach. Parking can be a challenge. Onsite beach bar and restaurant are good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - St. Pete Beach FL

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TrishMac
Business
Glenmoore
Feb 28, 2015

Lovely Visit

We enjoyed our stay and are coming back for another two nights next week! The staff were all very pleasant and greatly accommodating! Hope to enjoy the next two nights with them as well!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - St. Pete Beach FL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Robert R.
Business
N/A
Dec 29, 2014

Very enjoyable family vacation...

Hotel was good, hair dryer didn't work and staff were told numerous times but never did anything . We did Busch gardens, went to Raymond James stadium for the packer game. Lots of sight seeing, siesta keys, Clearwater, bradington.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - St. Pete Beach FL

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lori RN
Business
Kansas City Ks
Sep 30, 2014

Great weekend stay for the price!

Staff was very friendly and helpful. Room was a little run down but clean and tidy. For the price it was great!! I am not one to spend loads of money to sleep, however I do require clean and tidy, so this was perfect!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The Toasted Monkey was super for eating and then the beach bar part was a great hangout for the evening!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - St. Pete Beach FL

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Yens
Business
Orlando, FL
Sep 2, 2014

Better than I expected

When I got there 3:30pm, I thought the room should be ready but the front desk said they change the check in time from 3:00 to 4:00 instead so I wasn't too happy about it but they managed to give me the room ten minute later. The room was clean and good size, perfect location, toast monkey has great food but a little nosie at night. So far so good! Will go back again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Best chicken wing, try the teriyaki favor! Two thumb up!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - St. Pete Beach FL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
scuba steve 77
Business
Brookfield, Wisconsin
Jul 31, 2014

Great hotel for the price

This is a perfect place to stay. Right on the beach and next to toasted monkey bar. I recommend staying on 4th or 5th floor if you prefer nice beach view and updated rooms. We stayed on 2nd floor and the room and hallway was nice but was definitely outdated and felt from the 80's. Not as clean and updated as other hotels right next door.. BUT the room was much bigger than guy Harvey next door. I was happy since I only used the room to sleep and was large, but if you want modern apparel go to top floors.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Jimmy B's beach bar is the best spot. Live bands every night. Toasted monkey has the best food, right next door.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - St. Pete Beach FL

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Julie at the Beach
Business
Mohnton
Jul 25, 2014

Great Find!

I read so many reviews on Yelp and other places before finally choosing this hotel. Most of the issues had to do with the age and outdated features of the rooms and buildings. Personally, I look more for comfort, cleanliness, location to beach and restaurants and affordability. This hotel most certainly delivered on all of the above. The staff was incredibly welcoming, helpful and professional. Our room was spacious and very clean. The only thing I saw that bothered me was a small dark spot on the ceiling from a previous water leak. The bath enclosure was new, the bedding and floor was clean and fresh, and we walked to most everything the entire time we were there. They have restaurants on site and the surrounding hotels welcome everyone to their restaurants and bars. Saturday check-in was quite hectic for the staff and patrons but the place was blissful on Sunday afternoon after most of the weekenders checked out. All in all I would say that this place was a treasure for under $100 per night and I would absolutely go back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out Agave for the best margaritas and Mexican food around. The place gets packed and I know why...the food is amazing!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - St. Pete Beach FL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JimmyDean18
Business
Trinity, Fl.
Jun 20, 2014

Ho Jo's

Excellent location, pool was great. Toasted Monkey staff were outstanding and the location was excellent (right by the pool). The hotel is older and outdated so the room was a bit disappointing. It wasn't really a big deal though because who spends a lot of time in the room when you're there to enjoy the beach! It just needs some updating with the furniture, lighting, tile and carpeting. Overall we were satisfied, especially because of the value and where it's located.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Great value for the location. Don't expect a 3-4 star hotel though. Overall, good enough.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - St. Pete Beach FL

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tonya and Jim
Business
Lithia, Florida
Jun 18, 2014

Absolutely wonderful!

What a great, inexpensive place to stay on the beach! Nina at the front desk was THE BEST!! Within walking distance to the beach, restaurants and souvenir shops! Hotel restaurant was very good and so was the tiki bar on the beach! We will be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top