$71 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 2, 2014 Check-out: Sep 5, 2014

Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - St. Pete Beach FL

2 stars
6100 Gulf Blvd, St Pete Beach, FL 33706
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
49 reviews
Absolutely wonderful!

What a great, inexpensive place to stay on the beach! Nina at the front desk was THE BEST!! Within... See full review

  • Tonya and Jim
  • Jun 18, 2014
we enjoyed our time

We enjoyed our 2 nights here....everyone was quite friendly and the location was fabulous...great... See full review

  • carie3071
  • Aug 15, 2013
Take the family to this beachfront Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - St. Pete Beach FL for an exciting vacation. To check into this property you must be 25 or older. Walk to Gulf of Mexico beaches and fish, snorkel, or go on a Dolphin Watch or Shelling Cruise. Watch the Tampa Bay Rays score a homerun at Tropicana Field 15 minutes away, or take a short drive to Busch Gardens Adventure Island for thrilling rides and animal exhibits. Enjoy all of your meals at The Toasted Monkey Sports Bar and Grill onsite, and relax at the Toasted Monkey Beach Bar onsite. Swim in the heated outdoor pool located directly on the beach. Energize your morning with a complimentary Rise and Dine continental breakfast with a complimentary newspaper. Use the complimentary wireless Internet access to plan your exciting day from the comfort of your guest room with excellent sunset views over the Gulf of Mexico. Rooms include balcony, refrigerator, microwave and coffee-maker. There is no charge for children 17 and under with an adult.

Hotel Map

27.7334 -82.7456
Area description
Entertainment district

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - St. Pete Beach FL also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Heated pool
Game room
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
Security
FAX
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Microwave
Over sized rooms
Cribs available
Ironing board

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (49)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - St. Pete Beach FL

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
49 out of 49
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.7

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - St. Pete Beach FL

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Weekend Travelers 2000
Chicago, IL
Nov 8, 2012

Long weekend on the beach

My husband and I stayed at the Howard Johnson for a long weekend away. Our room was just fine for the price--nothing too fancy but definitely clean and staff was attentive. We enjoyed the warm pool, the proximity to the beach, and the fun atmosphere. We weren't expecting to have access to live music and fun food/drinks each night, but we really appreciated the attached bar/grill and the bar near the beachfront. This hotel is within easy walking distance to other bars/grills on the beach, and an easy drive to other local attractions such as state parks or downtown tampa or st. petersburg. The beachfront was clean and beautiful. Would definitely stay again and recommend to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

The "Funky Monkey", which is attached to the hotel and also has an outside bar area near the beach has an awesome "happy hour" M-F during the day and good food/drink at great prices at other times/days.

Review of Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - St. Pete Beach FL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
scuba steve 77
Brookfield, Wisconsin
Jul 31, 2014

Great hotel for the price

This is a perfect place to stay. Right on the beach and next to toasted monkey bar. I recommend staying on 4th or 5th floor if you prefer nice beach view and updated rooms. We stayed on 2nd floor and the room and hallway was nice but was definitely outdated and felt from the 80's. Not as clean and updated as other hotels right next door.. BUT the room was much bigger than guy Harvey next door. I was happy since I only used the room to sleep and was large, but if you want modern apparel go to top floors.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Jimmy B's beach bar is the best spot. Live bands every night. Toasted monkey has the best food, right next door.

Review of Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - St. Pete Beach FL

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Julie at the Beach
Mohnton
Jul 25, 2014

Great Find!

I read so many reviews on Yelp and other places before finally choosing this hotel. Most of the issues had to do with the age and outdated features of the rooms and buildings. Personally, I look more for comfort, cleanliness, location to beach and restaurants and affordability. This hotel most certainly delivered on all of the above. The staff was incredibly welcoming, helpful and professional. Our room was spacious and very clean. The only thing I saw that bothered me was a small dark spot on the ceiling from a previous water leak. The bath enclosure was new, the bedding and floor was clean and fresh, and we walked to most everything the entire time we were there. They have restaurants on site and the surrounding hotels welcome everyone to their restaurants and bars. Saturday check-in was quite hectic for the staff and patrons but the place was blissful on Sunday afternoon after most of the weekenders checked out. All in all I would say that this place was a treasure for under $100 per night and I would absolutely go back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out Agave for the best margaritas and Mexican food around. The place gets packed and I know why...the food is amazing!

Review of Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - St. Pete Beach FL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JimmyDean18
Trinity, Fl.
Jun 20, 2014

Ho Jo's

Excellent location, pool was great. Toasted Monkey staff were outstanding and the location was excellent (right by the pool). The hotel is older and outdated so the room was a bit disappointing. It wasn't really a big deal though because who spends a lot of time in the room when you're there to enjoy the beach! It just needs some updating with the furniture, lighting, tile and carpeting. Overall we were satisfied, especially because of the value and where it's located.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Great value for the location. Don't expect a 3-4 star hotel though. Overall, good enough.

Review of Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - St. Pete Beach FL

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tonya and Jim
Lithia, Florida
Jun 18, 2014

Absolutely wonderful!

What a great, inexpensive place to stay on the beach! Nina at the front desk was THE BEST!! Within walking distance to the beach, restaurants and souvenir shops! Hotel restaurant was very good and so was the tiki bar on the beach! We will be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - St. Pete Beach FL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CaseyN
Lakeland, FL
Jun 18, 2014

Fantastic Budget Friendly

My family had a wonderful two day "stay-cation" at this hotel. We arrived at 2:50pm approx 10 min prior to allowed check-in time. Although our room was not available right away due to the hotel being sold out the evening prior the staff was very friendly and encouraged us to take advantage of the pool and beach while our room was being prepared. Our room was available approximately 30 min later by 3:20pm. Despite the "dated" appearance the room was clean, had no weird smells, and contained the ammenities as described. I could not have asked for a better view from the balcony, proximity to the beach, available dining options etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - St. Pete Beach FL

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Cheena Bebe
Tampa, FL
Jun 10, 2014

My stay at Howard Johnson

My stay at Howard Johnson basically was only good bc of the pool and toasted monkey! The staff was rude and impolite at the front desk. As well as unprofessional! Cleaning was late throughout the day. I'm very dissatisfied.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - St. Pete Beach FL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
UncleB
Tampa
May 13, 2014

Great hotel for the price

Staff was very freindly, room was clean. Great location with places to eat close by.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ricks Reef close by with good food

Review of Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - St. Pete Beach FL

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mom and Son team
St. Petes Beach, Florida
Apr 23, 2014

Mom and son spring break

The location at this hotel was great. We enjoyed the pool, shuffle board, beach volleyball. Really enjoyed the Toasted Monkey bar outside by the pool. The room overall was not good. We only had our room cleaned twice. I called the front desk several times and they apologized but nothing was done.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Crabby Bill's Great Crab Legs!!!

Review of Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - St. Pete Beach FL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ALEKAYE
SCOTLAND
Apr 3, 2014

Great holiday experience

Very happy with hotel. Staff extremely welcoming and helpflul. Room spacious and comfortable. Location right on the beautiful beach. Great value for money. Could have more luxurios accommodation elsewhere but not at these prices. Great hoiday, would definately go again.Lots to do in the area to please all the family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Fantastic fish restaurants accross the road. Not to be missed.

Review of Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - St. Pete Beach FL

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bdouglas
Santa Fe
Mar 7, 2014

Beach Front rooms a real bargain

If you can get a beach front room its a great bargain. Parking anywhere near the beach is also a big plus. The hotel is a otherwise pretty average chain motel but the staff is very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Dockside Dave's is about 5-6 blocks and has the best Grouper sandwich in Florida.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search