DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District

3 stars
116 San Marco Avenue, (A1A) San Marco & Old Mission, St Augustine, FL 32084
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
66 reviews
Good quality for a great price

Got a bit confused because between the time I booked the hotel and when I rode up there the hotel... See full review

  • Shawn 382
  • Mar 18, 2013
school reunion

it's perfect place to walk to old town, to our old school and nice next by social bar. we don't... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Oct 26, 2010
Historic downtown St. Augustine budget hotel with new beds, Jacuzzi
The Ramada Historic Downtown St. Augustine hotel is across the street from Mission of Nombre de Dios, the founding site of St. Augustine. The hotel attracts tour groups ready to explore on foot, but also provides a shuttle to downtown historic district sightseeing. Guests relax in the Jacuzzi, watch sports poolside at the seasonal tike bar or visit the reasonably priced restaurant. Sleep tight on new Serta beds with new pillows and linens in every room.

 

Highlights
  • Free wireless Internet throughout the hotel
  • Large outdoor pool and Jacuzzi with sun deck
  • On-site restaurant and sports bar
  • Brand new Serta beds in every room
  • Free transportation to sightseeing tours

 

Rooms
The 100 rooms at the Ramada Historic Downtown St. Augustine hotel have been recently updated and feature brand new Serta Emerald Plus beds with new pillows, linens and bedspreads. Close the doors on the blonde wood armoire to tuck away the TV that features premium channels including four HBO channels. Long dressers provide plenty of surface area on which to organize belongings plus drawer space below for easy storage. Even the showers boast improved showerheads, new curtains and curved shower rods. A night light adds a comforting touch. The majority of rooms at the Ramada Historic Downtown St. Augustine hotel are non smoking. Call ahead for dog-friendly availability (fees apply).

 

Features
Sluggers Grill and Sluggers Sports Saloon at the Ramada Historic Downtown St. Augustine hotel offer a place for guests to meet and eat before a downtown stroll. Nearby, see the city colonized way back in 1565 by train, trolley, horse-driven carriages or cruise boat. The hotel has plenty of free parking for motor coaches and single business travelers alike.

 

Transportation
  • Jacksonville International Airport (52 mi/83.7 km)
  • Daytona Beach International Airport (57 mi/91.7 km)
  • Free transportation to sightseeing tour trolleys or trains

 

Attractions
  • Mission of Nombre de Dios (across the street)
  • Fountain of Youth archeological park (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Ripley’s Believe It or Not (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Castillo de San Marcos (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Spanish Quarter Museum (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • St. Augustine Alligator Farm (2.7 mi/ 4.3 km)
  • Vila no Beach (3.7 mi/ 5.9 km)
  • St. Augustine Premium Outlets (6.7 mi/10.8 km)
  • World Golf Village (14 mi/22.5 km)
  • Marine land (18.6 mi/30 km)
Business
  • Free wireless Internet
Policies and fees
The Ramada Historic Downtown St. Augustine hotel charges $10 USD per pet, per night plus tax. When making reservations, guests must notify the hotel they are traveling with a pet -- dogs only. Undisclosed pets are charged $50 USD. A bean bag tournament takes place every Wednesday from 7 to 10 p.m. outside Sluggers Bar -- $5 USD per person.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

29.9043 -81.3181
Nearby airports
Jacksonville Intl Airport, (JAX), 50.00, MI, SE; Daytona Beach Regional Airport, (DAB), 65.00, MI, NE; Orlando Intl Airport, (MCO), 131.00, MI, NE;

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (66)

Ratings and reviews for DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
26 out of 66
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.3

69% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
kllo125
Georgia
Apr 5, 2013

Great location

This was located within easy walking distance of all the historic sites. I do feel they need to hurry with the renovations they are planning because the hotel really needs it. For the price, a microwave and mini-fridge would've been a good amenity. I will stay again but only if they have completely renovated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Its a 10 minute walk to Ripley's, the Fort, and St. George street. It's a 5 minute walk to the old jail. Everything is located on the same street as the hotel.

Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
sserer
home
Aug 30, 2012

bad room

girl at front desk very rude. nothing at the hotel worked. bad choice

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rissa8080
Syracuse, NY
Apr 23, 2012

Pleasantly Surprised.

Even though this hotel has bad reviews, my family and I were pleasantly surprised. Our rooms were clean, no mold or bed bugs. The staff was amazing within the hotel and within the restaruant that is attached. They were always friendly, always willing to help us out of towners. It was a great weekend and I would and hopefully will be staying here again! Only negative is they should have fridges!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

This hotel is a few blocks from everything! We walked to and from all the shopping, eating places and entertainment. What a great spot!

Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Carlee
Kentucky
Jan 2, 2012

not what we expected

we were disappointed in the poor quality that we found. What we experienced is not what we read in the online hotel description.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Deerfield Beach, FL
Jan 3, 2011

Great Location! Good deal for the price!

Great Location! Good deal for the price!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Maryland
Nov 27, 2010

Thanksgiving Getaway

The location for this Ramada was excellent. We had great access to St. Augustine sites with the first landing of Ponce de Leon immediately across the street-what a beautiful walk! Many sites were in easy walking distance but tourist trolleys were also convenient. Staff was friendly and accomodating. The building is aging but nicely kept with a great pool and spa. Some rooms did have a musty smell. Overall, a wonderful,economical stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Numerous, delicious restaurants in the pedestrian mall area with every cuisine imaginable.

Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Northern Kentucky
Aug 23, 2010

Never again.

Where to begin? The rooms look NOTHING like the pictures that are used on the travel website. One of the chairs in the room had blood spatters on it. One of the pillow cases was stained with who knows what. The smell in the room was unbearable. Not sure if it was chlorine, a cleaning product, freon smell from the air conditioning, or a combination of the three. Even something as minor as the cable channels were horrible. I did like the maid staff but the front desk staff/management were not even remotely concerned about a chair with BLOOD STAINS on it. Oh yes and the internet connection, what little there was of it, was awful. This hotel should not even be an option on any travel websites. We were beyond disappointed and it really had a negative impact on the entire vacation. I didn't want to give it any stars, but I was forced to pick at least one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

No trip to St. Augustine is complete until you have eaten at Osteen's.

Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Bradenton, FL
Aug 21, 2010

Great location

When we first arrived, we checked out our room... the lights didn't work. Within 5-10 min. maintenance came up, checked it all out and they moved us to another room with no hassle at all. Everyone there was very friendly and made our stay inviting!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The restaurant in the hotel has very good food and the waitstaff was very nice! The downtown area isn't that far of a walk and is safe. Parking, if you don't park in the parking garage, make sure you bring change with you!!

Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Columbia, South Carolina
Jun 23, 2010

Ramada Downtown

Great hotel, and great location to all the attractions. If you don't like walking this is not the hotel for you. Had room facing pool and was noisy with people in the pool. However, did not spend that much time in the room. Room was clean, staff were great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Not Applicable

Check out the restaurants in the old town which are great. On weekends though, most restaurants on the main drag have live music which is great, but is the attraction and not in the background, meaning you won't be able to have a decent conversation.

Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Kennesaw, GA
Jun 20, 2010

Fun Family Vacation

We stayed for 6 nights. The first two nights we were on the first floor. They were doing some maintenance and the manager asked us if we would mind moving. We moved to the 5th floor which was a very nice room. After moving our stuff the manager came to our room and offered us free tickets to some of the attractions. The manager and staff were very nice- very helpful in finding restaurants and attractions. Would return to this hotel again. Great location!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top

Change search