DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District

3 stars
116 San Marco Avenue, (A1A) San Marco & Old Mission, St Augustine, FL 32084
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
66 reviews
Good quality for a great price

Got a bit confused because between the time I booked the hotel and when I rode up there the hotel... See full review

  • Shawn 382
  • Mar 18, 2013
school reunion

it's perfect place to walk to old town, to our old school and nice next by social bar. we don't... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Oct 26, 2010
Historic downtown St. Augustine budget hotel with new beds, Jacuzzi
The Ramada Historic Downtown St. Augustine hotel is across the street from Mission of Nombre de Dios, the founding site of St. Augustine. The hotel attracts tour groups ready to explore on foot, but also provides a shuttle to downtown historic district sightseeing. Guests relax in the Jacuzzi, watch sports poolside at the seasonal tike bar or visit the reasonably priced restaurant. Sleep tight on new Serta beds with new pillows and linens in every room.

 

Highlights
  • Free wireless Internet throughout the hotel
  • Large outdoor pool and Jacuzzi with sun deck
  • On-site restaurant and sports bar
  • Brand new Serta beds in every room
  • Free transportation to sightseeing tours

 

Rooms
The 100 rooms at the Ramada Historic Downtown St. Augustine hotel have been recently updated and feature brand new Serta Emerald Plus beds with new pillows, linens and bedspreads. Close the doors on the blonde wood armoire to tuck away the TV that features premium channels including four HBO channels. Long dressers provide plenty of surface area on which to organize belongings plus drawer space below for easy storage. Even the showers boast improved showerheads, new curtains and curved shower rods. A night light adds a comforting touch. The majority of rooms at the Ramada Historic Downtown St. Augustine hotel are non smoking. Call ahead for dog-friendly availability (fees apply).

 

Features
Sluggers Grill and Sluggers Sports Saloon at the Ramada Historic Downtown St. Augustine hotel offer a place for guests to meet and eat before a downtown stroll. Nearby, see the city colonized way back in 1565 by train, trolley, horse-driven carriages or cruise boat. The hotel has plenty of free parking for motor coaches and single business travelers alike.

 

Transportation
  • Jacksonville International Airport (52 mi/83.7 km)
  • Daytona Beach International Airport (57 mi/91.7 km)
  • Free transportation to sightseeing tour trolleys or trains

 

Attractions
  • Mission of Nombre de Dios (across the street)
  • Fountain of Youth archeological park (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Ripley’s Believe It or Not (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Castillo de San Marcos (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Spanish Quarter Museum (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • St. Augustine Alligator Farm (2.7 mi/ 4.3 km)
  • Vila no Beach (3.7 mi/ 5.9 km)
  • St. Augustine Premium Outlets (6.7 mi/10.8 km)
  • World Golf Village (14 mi/22.5 km)
  • Marine land (18.6 mi/30 km)
Business
  • Free wireless Internet
Policies and fees
The Ramada Historic Downtown St. Augustine hotel charges $10 USD per pet, per night plus tax. When making reservations, guests must notify the hotel they are traveling with a pet -- dogs only. Undisclosed pets are charged $50 USD. A bean bag tournament takes place every Wednesday from 7 to 10 p.m. outside Sluggers Bar -- $5 USD per person.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

29.9043 -81.3181
Nearby airports
Jacksonville Intl Airport, (JAX), 50.00, MI, SE; Daytona Beach Regional Airport, (DAB), 65.00, MI, NE; Orlando Intl Airport, (MCO), 131.00, MI, NE;

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (66)

Ratings and reviews for DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
66 out of 66
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.5

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Carlee
Kentucky
Jan 2, 2012

not what we expected

we were disappointed in the poor quality that we found. What we experienced is not what we read in the online hotel description.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
barney001
Jax,Fl
Apr 22, 2013

Staff was good

I thought highly of the staff. The area near hotel is priceless out front a huge Cross a hundred feet high. near all shops. I noticed after standing in water in the shower drain needs cleaning. As you close your door to your room the windows rattled and you can hear the doors adjacent rattle your windows. The owners are trying to up grade.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Dining tip: In Hotel

I thought staff at restaurant were ok . The biscuits doubled as hockey pucks.

Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Not here...ever
Palm Harbor, FL
Jun 10, 2013

Don't stay here!!!

Loud air conditioner woke us up all night, bed hard and lumpy, bathroom floor sticky, I would not take off shoes, I felt I needed to put a towel down on the tub floor before I would step in. Swimming pool, while people were in it, looked cloudy and dirty. But then the sign at the entrance should have said it all....pre-renovation. Trust me renovations should have been a few years back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Corona, CA
Jun 26, 2009

Overpriced, Overrated, Dirty and Smelly

We originally booked based on the reviews posted on Orbitz. Obviouslly these reviews must be somehow manipulated because it should have been a "1" at best instead of a "3.5" as stated. The outside of the hotel is in descent shape with an o.k. location, not in the heart of downtown as specified. The room was dirty with a musky smell. The carpet felt so dirty that we did not remove our footware the entire time we were in the room, we even took showers with our sandals on, AC was extremly loud and beds were lumpy and uncofortable. The water in the pool was filty to the point that we were not able to see the bottom clearly. We had very little interaction with the staff but they were frienldy and helpful wenever we did.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The Fort and the Fountain of Youth are a must see for their historical value. Best pizza joint in town owned by Dominick...can't remember the name of the place but ask any local. Best place to relax and have a drink, "The Tiny Martini"

Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Just John and family
Tampa Florida
Apr 22, 2009

The good the bad and the band of drunks

We were woken at 2am by 120 drunken noisy youths who ran along the balcony and shoot the door loudly to our room and made a racket by rattling the railings. Front desk staff the next morning were VERY unhelpful as was the afternoon staff. Basically told us that we just had to put up with it. It took an e-mail to Ramada customer service to get an apology. We were booked for the following weekend, but cancelled this trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Downtown St Augustine is lovely. Stay somewhere else.

Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York
Dec 28, 2008

My review of Ramada Historic Downtown St. Augustine

Ramada Historic Downtown St. Augustine, St Augustine, Florida was a disgusting dump. The room was dirty, the bathroom floor had mud marks on it, and one of the towels had make-up smeared on it and had obviously not been changed from the previous occupant. I complained and nothing was done about it. And as is customary in most motels in the U.S. these days I at least expected some sort of free buffet breakfast -- at least an apple, coffee and some kind of rolls -- but there was nothing. This was a truly vile experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
buffalo ny
Apr 28, 2010

ramada

disappointed - I thought Ramada was a well known reputable chain. The hotel is in desperate need of updating. Rugs in the room were filthy & torn in spots. There were rust marks on walls & ceiling where the paint had pealed. Toilets need a good scrubbing. Checking in was very easy thanks to [...] & staff was ok.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Northern Kentucky
Aug 23, 2010

Never again.

Where to begin? The rooms look NOTHING like the pictures that are used on the travel website. One of the chairs in the room had blood spatters on it. One of the pillow cases was stained with who knows what. The smell in the room was unbearable. Not sure if it was chlorine, a cleaning product, freon smell from the air conditioning, or a combination of the three. Even something as minor as the cable channels were horrible. I did like the maid staff but the front desk staff/management were not even remotely concerned about a chair with BLOOD STAINS on it. Oh yes and the internet connection, what little there was of it, was awful. This hotel should not even be an option on any travel websites. We were beyond disappointed and it really had a negative impact on the entire vacation. I didn't want to give it any stars, but I was forced to pick at least one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

No trip to St. Augustine is complete until you have eaten at Osteen's.

Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
lakeland, fl
May 9, 2010

needs alot of updating

noisy air conditioner - hotel is very outdated

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

columbia restaurant

Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Syracuse, NY
Jul 6, 2007

Keep looking

The Ramada was very dissapointing to say the least. The room they gave use was dirty, sheets were stained, and it had a musty smell. Arrived late at night and were to tired to complain until morning. Front desk moved us to another room that had been renovated, Much nicer than the first room. Location is at the North end of Historic St. Augustine. So expect a 10 - 15 min walk. The bar in the hotel had a back up problem and we had to go outside to have a drink. Will look for another place to stay next time..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top

Change search