$135 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 24, 2015 Check-out: Jun 26, 2015

DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District

3 stars
View map of 116 San Marco Avenue, (A1A) San Marco & Old Mission, St Augustine, FL 32084

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
74 out of 74
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.6

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hudson, Florida
Oct 26, 2009

Fantastic place for the price!

Right downtown, within walking distance of everything. Very, very friendly people working there. Great sports bar, with very fair prices. Clean rooms, well equiped with everything you need. Spotless! I will stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Old town is right there, as is the fort. Shopping, and restaurants all within a very short walk.

Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Florida
Oct 18, 2009

hotel review

the location to historic st augustine downtown was excellent. The trolley picks us up at the hotel each morning for our tours of st. augustine. If a person is interested in history then this is a great place to visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
djk58
Business
dunkirk, md
Sep 24, 2009

Unbeatable loacation for the price

Hotel is a hotel and as normally above average performance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ti ti Mo
Business
Orlando, FL
Sep 9, 2009

Ramada Historic Downtown St. Augustine

The hotel is older and you can see this in the room. The room was not super clean but good enough. I liked the hot water and strong spray from the showerhead. That was nice. The room that we were in was right by the parking lot, so sleeping in was not that comfortable because of the loud motorcycles we could hear driving by in the morning. The bed was comfortable and the front staff was kind. It was inconvenient that they have one, old elevator for all 5 floors. But the greatest thing about staying at this hotel was the location and the price. It's not as close as the other hotels that are right next to St. George Street, but it's not that far of a walk at all. Plus, it's safe to walk because there are soo many tourists and tours running along San Marco Ave. Saving the money on the hotel stay gave us more money to spend on other things. I would recommend this hotel for someone who just plans on being in the hotel to sleep and shower for the next day - basically, if you're going to be spending most of your time enjoying the many activities to do in St. Augustine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

I would recommend A1A Alehouse for drinks and bands at night. Some of the food items on the menu are good but others not so much especially because their prices are a little high. The Florida Cracker Cafe was delicious but the service was not that good. The prices are reasonable. Pat O' Malley's on Anastasia Island was pretty good but a little pricey to have lunch and drinks. We wanted to hit the Conch House on Sunday for reggae, but we didn't know that the reggae is from 3 p.m. to 7 p.m. only and the restaurant closes at 9 p.m. We heard that the Conch House for reggae is really fun. The Milltop Tavern's food was not that good and the guy singing wasn't good. Tradewinds is a very roudy biker bar, so we didn't go.

Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Statesville, N.C.
Aug 27, 2009

Great Vacation

We were very satisfied with the service of this hotel. We had reserved a King Bed/Smoking but the key would not open the door. The front desk clerk tried, but the door required maintenence. The employee was very helpful and we received another room promptly. The beds were really comfortable, and the refrigerator, microwave were nice extras. We will definately stay here again. Thank you Ralph & Roxy Carr

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Tradewinds is great. You will here some great music.

Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rose's Mom
Business
Columbus, GA
Aug 6, 2009

St. Augustine

Wonderful location. Easy walk to historical downtown. The pool and pool side bar were fun. The room were nice; but needed some attention to details.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, Texas
Aug 3, 2009

Great location

Loved the location. Can't beat the price. Walking distance to everything. Such a great old style feeling. Not the best place if you want to spend a lot of your time at the hotel or in your room but other than that it is great. The staff are very nice and helpful if have any questions. Overall, satisfied with stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Pippy
Business
Gulfport Florida
Jul 26, 2009

Old but Great price

The first room we were in was very unclean.Especially the carpet. We called ahead and was told room would have fridge and micro and the carpet had just been shampooed. No fridge or micro and carpet was wet and was turing socks back. Also,smelled very bad .We asked to be moved and was immediatly with no problems. There was however a problem with a blond that worked desk.She was very rude to my family on many occasions and acted as if she had the power to refuse us the one hour late check out that everyone is giving if needed. She was rude about towels, and minutes before pool close she was nasty with my children who were not only being very quiet but she began screaming at them minutes before pool close...Parking was horrible and there was a pot hole in parking lot wider than our car and at least 1ft. deep we actually damaged our car trying to avoid it. Location was great, room was old and small but second room was clean. Besides blond, all other staff were great! ....Beds were shockingly very comfortable!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Pippy
Business
Gulfport Florida
Jul 26, 2009

Old but Great price

The first room we were in was very unclean.Especially the carpet. We called ahead and was told room would have fridge and micro and the carpet had just been shampooed. No fridge or micro and carpet was wet and was turing socks back. Also,smelled very bad .We asked to be moved and was immediatly with no problems. There was however a problem with a blond that worked desk.She was very rude to my family on many occasions and acted as if she had the power to refuse us the one hour late check out that everyone is giving if needed. She was rude about towels, and minutes before pool close she was nasty with my children who were not only being very quiet but she began screaming at them minutes before pool close...Parking was horrible and there was a pot hole in parking lot wider than our car and at least 1ft. deep we actually damaged our car trying to avoid it. Location was great, room was old and small but second room was clean. Besides blond, all other staff were great! ....Beds were shockingly very comfortable!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Corona, CA
Jun 26, 2009

Overpriced, Overrated, Dirty and Smelly

We originally booked based on the reviews posted on Orbitz. Obviouslly these reviews must be somehow manipulated because it should have been a "1" at best instead of a "3.5" as stated. The outside of the hotel is in descent shape with an o.k. location, not in the heart of downtown as specified. The room was dirty with a musky smell. The carpet felt so dirty that we did not remove our footware the entire time we were in the room, we even took showers with our sandals on, AC was extremly loud and beds were lumpy and uncofortable. The water in the pool was filty to the point that we were not able to see the bottom clearly. We had very little interaction with the staff but they were frienldy and helpful wenever we did.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The Fort and the Fountain of Youth are a must see for their historical value. Best pizza joint in town owned by Dominick...can't remember the name of the place but ask any local. Best place to relax and have a drink, "The Tiny Martini"

Back to menu Return to top