$112 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 22, 2014 Check-out: Dec 25, 2014

DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District

3 stars
116 San Marco Avenue, (A1A) San Marco & Old Mission, St Augustine, FL 32084
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
65 reviews
school reunion

it's perfect place to walk to old town, to our old school and nice next by social bar. we don't... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Oct 26, 2010
Ramada Downtown

Great hotel, and great location to all the attractions. If you don't like walking this is not the... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Jun 23, 2010
Historic downtown St. Augustine budget hotel with new beds, Jacuzzi
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District is across the street from Mission of Nombre de Dios, the founding site of St. Augustine. The hotel attracts tour groups ready to explore on foot, but also provides a shuttle to downtown historic district sightseeing. Guests relax in the Jacuzzi, watch sports poolside at the seasonal tike bar or visit the reasonably priced restaurant. Sleep tight on new Serta beds with new pillows and linens in every room.
Highlights
  • Free wireless Internet throughout the hotel
  • Large outdoor pool and Jacuzzi with sun deck
  • On-site restaurant and sports bar
  • Brand new Serta beds in every room
  • Free transportation to sightseeing tours

 

Rooms
The 100 rooms at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District have been recently updated and feature brand new Serta Emerald Plus beds with new pillows, linens and bedspreads. Close the doors on the blonde wood armoire to tuck away the TV that features premium channels including four HBO channels. Long dressers provide plenty of surface area on which to organize belongings plus drawer space below for easy storage. Even the showers boast improved showerheads, new curtains and curved shower rods. A night light adds a comforting touch. The majority of rooms at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District are non smoking. Call ahead for dog-friendly availability (fees apply).
Features
Sluggers Grill and Sluggers Sports Saloon at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District offer a place for guests to meet and eat before a downtown stroll. Nearby, see the city colonized way back in 1565 by train, trolley, horse-driven carriages or cruise boat. The hotel has plenty of free parking for motor coaches and single business travelers alike.
Transportation
  • Jacksonville International Airport (52 mi/83.7 km)
  • Daytona Beach International Airport (57 mi/91.7 km)
  • Free transportation to sightseeing tour trolleys or trains

 

Attractions
  • Mission of Nombre de Dios (across the street)
  • Fountain of Youth archeological park (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Ripley’s Believe It or Not (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Castillo de San Marcos (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Spanish Quarter Museum (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • St. Augustine Alligator Farm (2.7 mi/ 4.3 km)
  • Vila no Beach (3.7 mi/ 5.9 km)
  • St. Augustine Premium Outlets (6.7 mi/10.8 km)
  • World Golf Village (14 mi/22.5 km)
  • Marine land (18.6 mi/30 km)
Business
  • Free wireless Internet
Policies and fees
The hotel charges $10 USD per pet, per night plus tax. When making reservations, guests must notify the hotel they are traveling with a pet -- dogs only. Undisclosed pets are charged $50 USD. A bean bag tournament takes place every Wednesday from 7 to 10 p.m. outside Sluggers Bar -- $5 USD per person.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

29.9043 -81.3181
Nearby airports
Jacksonville Intl Airport, (JAX), 50.00, MI, SE; Daytona Beach Regional Airport, (DAB), 65.00, MI, NE; Sagarai, (SGJ), 4.00, MI, N;

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (65)

Ratings and reviews for DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
65 out of 65
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.5

72% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Maryland
Nov 27, 2010

Thanksgiving Getaway

The location for this Ramada was excellent. We had great access to St. Augustine sites with the first landing of Ponce de Leon immediately across the street-what a beautiful walk! Many sites were in easy walking distance but tourist trolleys were also convenient. Staff was friendly and accomodating. The building is aging but nicely kept with a great pool and spa. Some rooms did have a musty smell. Overall, a wonderful,economical stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Numerous, delicious restaurants in the pedestrian mall area with every cuisine imaginable.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
seattle, wa
Oct 26, 2010

school reunion

it's perfect place to walk to old town, to our old school and nice next by social bar. we don't need use car to drive around. it's perfect for walk enjoyable!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

famous old st. augustine town.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Northern Kentucky
Aug 23, 2010

Never again.

Where to begin? The rooms look NOTHING like the pictures that are used on the travel website. One of the chairs in the room had blood spatters on it. One of the pillow cases was stained with who knows what. The smell in the room was unbearable. Not sure if it was chlorine, a cleaning product, freon smell from the air conditioning, or a combination of the three. Even something as minor as the cable channels were horrible. I did like the maid staff but the front desk staff/management were not even remotely concerned about a chair with BLOOD STAINS on it. Oh yes and the internet connection, what little there was of it, was awful. This hotel should not even be an option on any travel websites. We were beyond disappointed and it really had a negative impact on the entire vacation. I didn't want to give it any stars, but I was forced to pick at least one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

No trip to St. Augustine is complete until you have eaten at Osteen's.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bradenton, FL
Aug 21, 2010

Great location

When we first arrived, we checked out our room... the lights didn't work. Within 5-10 min. maintenance came up, checked it all out and they moved us to another room with no hassle at all. Everyone there was very friendly and made our stay inviting!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The restaurant in the hotel has very good food and the waitstaff was very nice! The downtown area isn't that far of a walk and is safe. Parking, if you don't park in the parking garage, make sure you bring change with you!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tennessee
Aug 5, 2010

Just visiting

My friend and I went to St. Augustine for vacation and chose to stay at the Historic Ramada. They were very friendly and helped us get started with our vacation. The front desk attendant Silvie checked us into our room without a problem and informed us about the sight seeing tram and travel brochures. The next morning, we went down to purchase our tram tickets and the desk attendant phoned for a shuttle to take us to the tram depot. When we first entered into the hotel room, there was a slight musty smell. However, the room was clean and we never saw any bugs. The smell was not an issue as we were in the room a minimal amount of time and not overpowering. We only slept and prepared for the next day's adventure of our vacation. We did use the ice machines to keep drinks and snacks cold in our cooler. It worked well. We did not use any other facilities such as the pool or laundry equipment. Down stairs in the lobby, there was a pirate attraction outpost and, though not part of the hotel staff, were also helpful and friendly. The hotel was across the street from a tram stop and a short walk from resturaunts.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Purchase a sight seeing tram tour ticket! Not only does it inform you of points of interest, it is good for 3 days (perfect for my stay), you can get on/off at any stop as many times as you like, great way to get around, and a map can allow you to strategically plan your day's events around where you want to go or end up!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
King,NC
Jun 27, 2010

Fountain of Old

Hotel is close to the Fountain of Youth and the Old Jail attractions which we enjoyed very much. It is about 5 or 6 blocks from the Fort, Old School and the Oldest House attractions. The beach is a short drive across the bridge and has a lot to do but fortunately lacks the crowds of Daytona Beach. It was extremely difficult to find parking at the hotel as they had a Biker rally during our stay which, with their tent in the parking lot, took up a lot of spaces. The biker rally also brought a lot of noise as they had loud music playing in the tent. Overall a very good trip. We did not stay at the hotel much and so the biker rally did not really bother us and the rally entertainment ended at 11pm to allow for sleeping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Columbia, South Carolina
Jun 23, 2010

Ramada Downtown

Great hotel, and great location to all the attractions. If you don't like walking this is not the hotel for you. Had room facing pool and was noisy with people in the pool. However, did not spend that much time in the room. Room was clean, staff were great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Check out the restaurants in the old town which are great. On weekends though, most restaurants on the main drag have live music which is great, but is the attraction and not in the background, meaning you won't be able to have a decent conversation.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kennesaw, GA
Jun 20, 2010

Fun Family Vacation

We stayed for 6 nights. The first two nights we were on the first floor. They were doing some maintenance and the manager asked us if we would mind moving. We moved to the 5th floor which was a very nice room. After moving our stuff the manager came to our room and offered us free tickets to some of the attractions. The manager and staff were very nice- very helpful in finding restaurants and attractions. Would return to this hotel again. Great location!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DJ Eddie Lo
Business
Lakeland, FL
Jun 2, 2010

Excellent Location for Hotel

This hotel was in a great location to all of the points of interest in St. Augustine. I had a tough decision to make to either stay here or on the beach. Glad I chose to stay in the downtown area as there was so much more to do than the beach area. Can't go wrong with this location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orlando, FL.
May 11, 2010

All staff courteous and RESPECTFUL!

We were there to view some historic sites. We walked to and in all the shops at St. George St. We walked to and visited the Lightner Museum and drove to the Lighthouse. [...], from the front desk was so kind when I booked and he was on duty when we checked in. He called to make sure everything was fine. The restaurant in the hotel also had excellent service and reasonable prices. The bed was so comfortable! I would recommend this hotel to anyone. Thanks for the nice visit to St. Augustine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

TRY IT! GREAT Burgers, and they were running a prime rib dinner special for Mother's Day

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top