$130 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 10, 2015 Check-out: May 11, 2015

DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District

3 stars
View map of 116 San Marco Avenue, (A1A) San Marco & Old Mission, St Augustine, FL 32084

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
66 out of 66
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.5

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Deerfield Beach, FL
Jan 3, 2011

Great Location! Good deal for the price!

Great Location! Good deal for the price!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Maryland
Nov 27, 2010

Thanksgiving Getaway

The location for this Ramada was excellent. We had great access to St. Augustine sites with the first landing of Ponce de Leon immediately across the street-what a beautiful walk! Many sites were in easy walking distance but tourist trolleys were also convenient. Staff was friendly and accomodating. The building is aging but nicely kept with a great pool and spa. Some rooms did have a musty smell. Overall, a wonderful,economical stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Numerous, delicious restaurants in the pedestrian mall area with every cuisine imaginable.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
seattle, wa
Oct 26, 2010

school reunion

it's perfect place to walk to old town, to our old school and nice next by social bar. we don't need use car to drive around. it's perfect for walk enjoyable!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

famous old st. augustine town.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Northern Kentucky
Aug 23, 2010

Never again.

Where to begin? The rooms look NOTHING like the pictures that are used on the travel website. One of the chairs in the room had blood spatters on it. One of the pillow cases was stained with who knows what. The smell in the room was unbearable. Not sure if it was chlorine, a cleaning product, freon smell from the air conditioning, or a combination of the three. Even something as minor as the cable channels were horrible. I did like the maid staff but the front desk staff/management were not even remotely concerned about a chair with BLOOD STAINS on it. Oh yes and the internet connection, what little there was of it, was awful. This hotel should not even be an option on any travel websites. We were beyond disappointed and it really had a negative impact on the entire vacation. I didn't want to give it any stars, but I was forced to pick at least one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

No trip to St. Augustine is complete until you have eaten at Osteen's.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bradenton, FL
Aug 21, 2010

Great location

When we first arrived, we checked out our room... the lights didn't work. Within 5-10 min. maintenance came up, checked it all out and they moved us to another room with no hassle at all. Everyone there was very friendly and made our stay inviting!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The restaurant in the hotel has very good food and the waitstaff was very nice! The downtown area isn't that far of a walk and is safe. Parking, if you don't park in the parking garage, make sure you bring change with you!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tennessee
Aug 5, 2010

Just visiting

My friend and I went to St. Augustine for vacation and chose to stay at the Historic Ramada. They were very friendly and helped us get started with our vacation. The front desk attendant Silvie checked us into our room without a problem and informed us about the sight seeing tram and travel brochures. The next morning, we went down to purchase our tram tickets and the desk attendant phoned for a shuttle to take us to the tram depot. When we first entered into the hotel room, there was a slight musty smell. However, the room was clean and we never saw any bugs. The smell was not an issue as we were in the room a minimal amount of time and not overpowering. We only slept and prepared for the next day's adventure of our vacation. We did use the ice machines to keep drinks and snacks cold in our cooler. It worked well. We did not use any other facilities such as the pool or laundry equipment. Down stairs in the lobby, there was a pirate attraction outpost and, though not part of the hotel staff, were also helpful and friendly. The hotel was across the street from a tram stop and a short walk from resturaunts.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Purchase a sight seeing tram tour ticket! Not only does it inform you of points of interest, it is good for 3 days (perfect for my stay), you can get on/off at any stop as many times as you like, great way to get around, and a map can allow you to strategically plan your day's events around where you want to go or end up!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
King,NC
Jun 27, 2010

Fountain of Old

Hotel is close to the Fountain of Youth and the Old Jail attractions which we enjoyed very much. It is about 5 or 6 blocks from the Fort, Old School and the Oldest House attractions. The beach is a short drive across the bridge and has a lot to do but fortunately lacks the crowds of Daytona Beach. It was extremely difficult to find parking at the hotel as they had a Biker rally during our stay which, with their tent in the parking lot, took up a lot of spaces. The biker rally also brought a lot of noise as they had loud music playing in the tent. Overall a very good trip. We did not stay at the hotel much and so the biker rally did not really bother us and the rally entertainment ended at 11pm to allow for sleeping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Columbia, South Carolina
Jun 23, 2010

Ramada Downtown

Great hotel, and great location to all the attractions. If you don't like walking this is not the hotel for you. Had room facing pool and was noisy with people in the pool. However, did not spend that much time in the room. Room was clean, staff were great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Check out the restaurants in the old town which are great. On weekends though, most restaurants on the main drag have live music which is great, but is the attraction and not in the background, meaning you won't be able to have a decent conversation.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kennesaw, GA
Jun 20, 2010

Fun Family Vacation

We stayed for 6 nights. The first two nights we were on the first floor. They were doing some maintenance and the manager asked us if we would mind moving. We moved to the 5th floor which was a very nice room. After moving our stuff the manager came to our room and offered us free tickets to some of the attractions. The manager and staff were very nice- very helpful in finding restaurants and attractions. Would return to this hotel again. Great location!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DJ Eddie Lo
Business
Lakeland, FL
Jun 2, 2010

Excellent Location for Hotel

This hotel was in a great location to all of the points of interest in St. Augustine. I had a tough decision to make to either stay here or on the beach. Glad I chose to stay in the downtown area as there was so much more to do than the beach area. Can't go wrong with this location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top