$108 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 22, 2015 Check-out: Jan 23, 2015

DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District

3 stars
116 San Marco Avenue, (A1A) San Marco & Old Mission, St Augustine, FL 32084
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
65 reviews
school reunion

it's perfect place to walk to old town, to our old school and nice next by social bar. we don't... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Oct 26, 2010
Ramada Downtown

Great hotel, and great location to all the attractions. If you don't like walking this is not the... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Jun 23, 2010
Historic downtown St. Augustine budget hotel with new beds, Jacuzzi
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District is across the street from Mission of Nombre de Dios, the founding site of St. Augustine. The hotel attracts tour groups ready to explore on foot, but also provides a shuttle to downtown historic district sightseeing. Guests relax in the Jacuzzi, watch sports poolside at the seasonal tike bar or visit the reasonably priced restaurant. Sleep tight on new Serta beds with new pillows and linens in every room.
Highlights
  • Free wireless Internet throughout the hotel
  • Large outdoor pool and Jacuzzi with sun deck
  • On-site restaurant and sports bar
  • Brand new Serta beds in every room
  • Free transportation to sightseeing tours

 

Rooms
The 100 rooms at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District have been recently updated and feature brand new Serta Emerald Plus beds with new pillows, linens and bedspreads. Close the doors on the blonde wood armoire to tuck away the TV that features premium channels including four HBO channels. Long dressers provide plenty of surface area on which to organize belongings plus drawer space below for easy storage. Even the showers boast improved showerheads, new curtains and curved shower rods. A night light adds a comforting touch. The majority of rooms at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District are non smoking. Call ahead for dog-friendly availability (fees apply).
Features
Sluggers Grill and Sluggers Sports Saloon at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District offer a place for guests to meet and eat before a downtown stroll. Nearby, see the city colonized way back in 1565 by train, trolley, horse-driven carriages or cruise boat. The hotel has plenty of free parking for motor coaches and single business travelers alike.
Transportation
  • Jacksonville International Airport (52 mi/83.7 km)
  • Daytona Beach International Airport (57 mi/91.7 km)
  • Free transportation to sightseeing tour trolleys or trains

 

Attractions
  • Mission of Nombre de Dios (across the street)
  • Fountain of Youth archeological park (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Ripley’s Believe It or Not (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Castillo de San Marcos (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Spanish Quarter Museum (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • St. Augustine Alligator Farm (2.7 mi/ 4.3 km)
  • Vila no Beach (3.7 mi/ 5.9 km)
  • St. Augustine Premium Outlets (6.7 mi/10.8 km)
  • World Golf Village (14 mi/22.5 km)
  • Marine land (18.6 mi/30 km)
Business
  • Free wireless Internet
Policies and fees
The hotel charges $10 USD per pet, per night plus tax. When making reservations, guests must notify the hotel they are traveling with a pet -- dogs only. Undisclosed pets are charged $50 USD. A bean bag tournament takes place every Wednesday from 7 to 10 p.m. outside Sluggers Bar -- $5 USD per person.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (65)

Ratings and reviews for DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
65 out of 65
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.5

72% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Statesville, N.C.
Aug 27, 2009

Great Vacation

We were very satisfied with the service of this hotel. We had reserved a King Bed/Smoking but the key would not open the door. The front desk clerk tried, but the door required maintenence. The employee was very helpful and we received another room promptly. The beds were really comfortable, and the refrigerator, microwave were nice extras. We will definately stay here again. Thank you Ralph & Roxy Carr

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Tradewinds is great. You will here some great music.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rose's Mom
Business
Columbus, GA
Aug 6, 2009

St. Augustine

Wonderful location. Easy walk to historical downtown. The pool and pool side bar were fun. The room were nice; but needed some attention to details.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, Texas
Aug 3, 2009

Great location

Loved the location. Can't beat the price. Walking distance to everything. Such a great old style feeling. Not the best place if you want to spend a lot of your time at the hotel or in your room but other than that it is great. The staff are very nice and helpful if have any questions. Overall, satisfied with stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Pippy
Business
Gulfport Florida
Jul 26, 2009

Old but Great price

The first room we were in was very unclean.Especially the carpet. We called ahead and was told room would have fridge and micro and the carpet had just been shampooed. No fridge or micro and carpet was wet and was turing socks back. Also,smelled very bad .We asked to be moved and was immediatly with no problems. There was however a problem with a blond that worked desk.She was very rude to my family on many occasions and acted as if she had the power to refuse us the one hour late check out that everyone is giving if needed. She was rude about towels, and minutes before pool close she was nasty with my children who were not only being very quiet but she began screaming at them minutes before pool close...Parking was horrible and there was a pot hole in parking lot wider than our car and at least 1ft. deep we actually damaged our car trying to avoid it. Location was great, room was old and small but second room was clean. Besides blond, all other staff were great! ....Beds were shockingly very comfortable!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Corona, CA
Jun 26, 2009

Overpriced, Overrated, Dirty and Smelly

We originally booked based on the reviews posted on Orbitz. Obviouslly these reviews must be somehow manipulated because it should have been a "1" at best instead of a "3.5" as stated. The outside of the hotel is in descent shape with an o.k. location, not in the heart of downtown as specified. The room was dirty with a musky smell. The carpet felt so dirty that we did not remove our footware the entire time we were in the room, we even took showers with our sandals on, AC was extremly loud and beds were lumpy and uncofortable. The water in the pool was filty to the point that we were not able to see the bottom clearly. We had very little interaction with the staff but they were frienldy and helpful wenever we did.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The Fort and the Fountain of Youth are a must see for their historical value. Best pizza joint in town owned by Dominick...can't remember the name of the place but ask any local. Best place to relax and have a drink, "The Tiny Martini"

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Happy to go to St. Augustine
Business
ft. pierce FL
May 25, 2009

unbeatable location for the price

We had a wonderful time,and the location made it very easy to get to all the attractions that we wished to see.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Old Mamma
Business
Ft Lauderdale, FL
May 12, 2009

Friendly

Did all the historic tourist things. Good location. Restaurant had good food especially for the price. Pool was nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
jax fla
May 10, 2009

it was ok

it was ok

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
tourist fan
Business
Manhattan, Kansas
May 4, 2009

Great Location...Fun Getaway!!!

This hotel was a great place to stay b/c of the location. We were able to walk to all the historical locations without any problems. Not to mention, they provide a shuttle service for three days for a resonable price. The only complaint was that we were there during spring break for college kids and it was pretty noisy at night b/c of that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

This hotel was perfect for the recreation attractions. Everything historic was within walking distance and if you couldn't walk, they provided a shuttle that picked you up at your hotel for 3 days for a resonable price.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Just John and family
Business
Tampa Florida
Apr 22, 2009

The good the bad and the band of drunks

We were woken at 2am by 120 drunken noisy youths who ran along the balcony and shoot the door loudly to our room and made a racket by rattling the railings. Front desk staff the next morning were VERY unhelpful as was the afternoon staff. Basically told us that we just had to put up with it. It took an e-mail to Ramada customer service to get an apology. We were booked for the following weekend, but cancelled this trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Downtown St Augustine is lovely. Stay somewhere else.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top