$63 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 19, 2015 Check-out: May 22, 2015

Howard Johnson Inn - Historic St. Augustine FL

2 stars
View map of 137 San Marco Ave, I-95 Ex 318 & SR 16E, St Augustine, FL 32084

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
147 reviews
Great Hotel in Saint Augustine

We stayed at this hotel for the weekend, and its condition and location cannot be better. Highly... See full review

  • ARL
  • Apr 17, 2015
Wonderful, nostalgic stay

The Howard Johnson Motel brings back many memories of classic motor hotels from my youth. The motel... See full review

  • Babs
  • Feb 3, 2015
Budget St. Augustine lodging across from the historic Fountain of Youth
The Howard Johnson Inn - Historic St. Augustine FL hotel is in the heart of the St. Augustine downtown historic district. The sightseeing train and trolley cruise through the grounds to see the magnificent Old Senator, a 600-year-old oak tree. Purchase tickets in the lobby for the tours that stop outside. The Howard Johnson Inn - Historic St. Augustine FL hotel boasts newly-upgraded and renovated rooms, an outdoor swimming pool, free Wi-Fi and a free continental breakfast. Most historic St. Augustine sites are within one mile.
Highlights
  • Free continental breakfast
  • Outdoor pool
  • The Old Town Trolley and sightseeing trains stop on site
Rooms
Among the 73 upgraded guest rooms at the Howard Johnson Inn - Historic St. Augustine FL hotel, chose from standard rooms with one king, two queen or two double beds. Non-smoking rooms, Family-style suites with two separate sleeping rooms also are available. Every room at the Howard Johnson Inn - Historic St. Augustine FL hotel is on the first floor for easy access. All rooms feature a coffee maker, mini-fridge, microwave and hairdryer plus free high-speed wireless Internet access and a TV with HBO.
Features
The 600-year-old live oak tree on the grounds of the Howard Johnson Inn - Historic St. Augustine FL hotel stands as a remarkable testament to Ponce De Leon's discovery of La Florida in 1513. In addition to the downtown St. Augustine shops and restaurants that are within walking distance, historic attractions Mission of Nombre de Dios, The Old Jail and Florida Heritage Museum also are close by. Cool off in the swimming pool in the afternoon after a long day of activities. Parking, wireless Internet and weekday newspapers are complimentary.
Transportation
  • Jacksonville International Airport (51.9 mi/83.5 km)
  • Daytona Beach International Airport (57.3 mi/92.2 km)
  • St. Augustine sightseeing trolleys and trains stop on site

 

Attractions
  • Fountain of Youth archeological park (across the street)
  • Mission of Nombre de Dios (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Castillo de San Marcos (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Spanish Quarter Museum (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • St. Augustine Lighthouse & Museum (2.6 mi/4.2 km)
  • St. Augustine Alligator Farm (2.7 mi/ 4.3 km)
  • Vilano Beach (3.7 mi/ 5.9 km)
  • St. Augustine Premium Outlets (6.6 mi/10.6 km)
  • World Golf Village (14 mi/22.5 km)

 

Business
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access
  • 800 square feet of meeting/banquet space accommodating up to 60 people
  • Executive board room with conference table and high-back leather chairs accommodates up to eight people

 

Policies and fees
Pets are NOT allowed in this hotel. A cleaning fee of $100 USD will be charged automatically to your account if pet is taken in room. Service dogs are allowed with proper documentation or proof. Free parking. If you are in a non-smoking room, should you or your guest smoke in your room, a cleaning fee of $175 USD will be charged automatically to your account. Thank you for your cooperation.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Guest laundromat
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible parking
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Inn - Historic St. Augustine FL

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
147 out of 147
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.5

69% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Historic St. Augustine FL

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
VickeC
Business
Boise, Idaho
Jan 6, 2014

I would pass

The room was average but didn't feel clean. The bathroom was very small and there was no sink counter space. The bathroom did not look clean and everything was old. I was glad to leave. This was the worse hotel we stayed in during a 3 week road trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

If going to the Lighthouse or Castillo de San Marcos go when they first open to avoid the crowds.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Historic St. Augustine FL

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Teacher from Miami
Business
Miami, Florida
Jan 6, 2014

What a dump!!!!!!

I usually travel and use the search engine to research hotels; most of the time we are very very happy with the recommendations. This place was a dump. The rooms were nasty and the beds were too small. They were an oversized twin. At one point my husband had to sleep on a chair bc there was not enough room for him on the bed. The hotel has been refaced but not remodeled or updated. It was still the same old stuff with a fresh coat of paint. The bathtub was loosing the enamel and the toilet clogged in the middle of the night. There was breakfast the next day and we didn't even stay. Thank goodness it was for 1 night or we would have defintitely changed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Historic St. Augustine FL

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Lesson learned serniors
Business
Nashville, TN
May 6, 2014

Don't stay here

We booked room for 3 days and checked out next morning would not refund money! room was dirty, bath room was about the size of a closet including shower. Knees hit sink when sitting on toilet. Wanted to sleep in car. Found another HJ at 2535 state rd 16 was good and would recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk or drive but don't stay here!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Historic St. Augustine FL

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Dianis
Business
Lakeland, Fl
Jul 5, 2011

Awful hotel!!!!

I was suppposed to stay 2 nights and we left the next morning. The room had an awful smell at urine and smoke. Unable to have a good night sleep with such a strong smell. Don't stay at this hotel!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Historic St. Augustine FL

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
NC Travelers
Business
NC
Oct 30, 2011

Old, uncomfortable

The bed was extremely hard, the sheets didn't fit and we'd wake up half way through the night to remake the bed. Staff said the area we were stayinb in was built this past August 2011. Either they hired blind contracters with no arms or they were lying. The stucco walls were peeling off at the roof and on the walls. There was no bathroom vent; just a heat lamp that left half the cutout in the ceiling exposed. The tile in the bathroom looks to have just been tiled over the old tile or morter due to a lot of unevenness. Half way through the week the silicone around the tub/shower (that was starting to rust) peeled oFf into the shower. The shower head was so loose that we were scared to touch it to move it in case it broke oFf. There was about a quarter inch gap between the wall and tub spiget. If we walked on the carpet barefoot, the bottoms of our feet looked like we had walked around St. Augustine barefoot all day. Staff was nice; nothing special. Played dumb when we brought up the bed sheets not fitting, although at least they gave us different pillows that didn't feel like they had rocks in them. Overall, we love St. Augustine, but ended up leaving a day early, in part due to the overall room experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Columbia Restaurant, Casa Maya Restaurant, The Crucial Coffee Shop and The Gourmet Hut are awsome places for food/coffee!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Historic St. Augustine FL

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
cdjro
Business
Weston, FL, USA
Jan 30, 2012

Horrible!! Stay away!

Old motel, dirty room - far away from even 2 stars let alone 3 stars. The room smelled like mold and urine. The tub was stained and the fixtures full of rust. The microwave was old and rusty; the fridge very old and stained. Stay away!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Historic St. Augustine FL

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mari27
Business
Miami, FL, USA
Apr 6, 2012

friends trip

The room was not clean. There were little bugs flying all over the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Historic St. Augustine FL

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Family Reunion Planner
Business
Glendale, CA
Jul 31, 2012

Not the Howard Johnson's of my childhood

I traveled a lot as a child since my dad was in the Navy. I remember the bright, cheerful Ho Jo's we used to stay in so took a chance since the price was right. I can't imagine how this hotel could get a 3-star rating. It was so below expectation, old and dingy; instead of a restaurant they have a liquor store. The rooms were just sad. We had a huge group and had prepaid so could not check out and find something else. Thriftiness is good, but not when it detracts from the overall pleasure of your trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

The downtown area was a lot of fun to walk around and to dine; great restaurants and great music.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Historic St. Augustine FL

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Disgusted Customer!!
Business
Tampa Florida
Jul 5, 2011

DISGUSTING!!!!!!!

This was the most disgusting place we stayed in. The sheets were nasty, the place smelled of mold, and on top of it all the walls next the beds had so much water damage, that you can literally put your finger through it. My whole family could not even breath in the room. When we complained to the management,they sat there and tried to defend it. We were suppose to stay two nights but after the first night, we just could not stand it. We went someone where else and spent another $129 on room.I advise anyone to totally avoid this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Historic St. Augustine FL

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Brandon Florida
Aug 10, 2009

Total Deception

there was something missing alright! the room in the advertisement - false propaganda. I was expecting what I saw online and got a regular old motel room. such deception!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top