$63 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 21, 2014 Check-out: Dec 24, 2014

Howard Johnson Inn - Historic St. Augustine FL

2 stars
137 San Marco Ave, I-95 Ex 318 & SR 16E, St Augustine, FL 32084
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
142 reviews
Weekend in at Howard Johnsons

The weekend started out with my knees hurting at a number 10 level and also locking. The staff... See full review

  • SGT Keith
  • Sep 8, 2014
great place or an over night getaway

Room was clean and comfortable and auites me just fine See full review

  • georgiangel
  • Apr 14, 2014
Budget St. Augustine lodging across from the historic Fountain of Youth
The Howard Johnson Inn - Historic St. Augustine FL hotel is in the heart of the St. Augustine downtown historic district. The sightseeing train and trolley cruise through the grounds to see the magnificent Old Senator, a 600-year-old oak tree. Purchase tickets in the lobby for the tours that stop outside. The Howard Johnson Inn - Historic St. Augustine FL hotel boasts newly-upgraded and renovated rooms, an outdoor swimming pool, free Wi-Fi and a free continental breakfast. Most historic St. Augustine sites are within one mile.
Highlights
  • Free continental breakfast
  • Outdoor pool
  • The Old Town Trolley and sightseeing trains stop on site
Rooms
Among the 73 upgraded guest rooms at the Howard Johnson Inn - Historic St. Augustine FL hotel, chose from standard rooms with one king, two queen or two double beds. Non-smoking rooms, Family-style suites with two separate sleeping rooms also are available. Every room at the Howard Johnson Inn - Historic St. Augustine FL hotel is on the first floor for easy access. All rooms feature a coffee maker, mini-fridge, microwave and hairdryer plus free high-speed wireless Internet access and a TV with HBO.
Features
The 600-year-old live oak tree on the grounds of the Howard Johnson Inn - Historic St. Augustine FL hotel stands as a remarkable testament to Ponce De Leon's discovery of La Florida in 1513. In addition to the downtown St. Augustine shops and restaurants that are within walking distance, historic attractions Mission of Nombre de Dios, The Old Jail and Florida Heritage Museum also are close by. Cool off in the swimming pool in the afternoon after a long day of activities. Parking, wireless Internet and weekday newspapers are complimentary.
Transportation
  • Jacksonville International Airport (51.9 mi/83.5 km)
  • Daytona Beach International Airport (57.3 mi/92.2 km)
  • St. Augustine sightseeing trolleys and trains stop on site

 

Attractions
  • Fountain of Youth archeological park (across the street)
  • Mission of Nombre de Dios (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Castillo de San Marcos (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Spanish Quarter Museum (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • St. Augustine Lighthouse & Museum (2.6 mi/4.2 km)
  • St. Augustine Alligator Farm (2.7 mi/ 4.3 km)
  • Vilano Beach (3.7 mi/ 5.9 km)
  • St. Augustine Premium Outlets (6.6 mi/10.6 km)
  • World Golf Village (14 mi/22.5 km)

 

Business
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access
  • 800 square feet of meeting/banquet space accommodating up to 60 people
  • Executive board room with conference table and high-back leather chairs accommodates up to eight people

 

Policies and fees
Pets are NOT allowed in this hotel. A cleaning fee of $100 USD will be charged automatically to your account if pet is taken in room. Service dogs are allowed with proper documentation or proof. Free parking. If you are in a non-smoking room, should you or your guest smoke in your room, a cleaning fee of $175 USD will be charged automatically to your account. Thank you for your cooperation.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Inn - Historic St. Augustine FL also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Guest laundromat
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible parking
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (142)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Inn - Historic St. Augustine FL

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
142 out of 142
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.5

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Historic St. Augustine FL

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Summerfield florida
Aug 3, 2010

st sugustine

This room wasn't really worth the money or the time the room wasn't what it was explained to be, the beds were uncomfortable, and the pillows the sheets were to small for the bed and kept coming off the bed, the light in the bathroom didn't work half the time, will not stay here again next time i come to st Augustine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Historic St. Augustine FL

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Macon, Ga
Jul 31, 2010

Great Location

Great location, hotel was actually a Trolley Stop. Only 1 block from the Fountain of Youth and Old Jail and within walking distance of many other attractions. Staff was very friendly and room was clean when we arrived and kept clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Purchase tickets for the attraction at the Trolley Locations for discounts.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Historic St. Augustine FL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Safety Harbor, FL
Jul 28, 2010

GREAT PLACE FOR FAMILIES

Nice relaxing motel well worth the low price. USA TODAY daily also with the breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Historic St. Augustine FL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
angieinfla
Business
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Jul 25, 2010

Not to darn bad!

This motel was what I would call old Florida "mom and pop" style. All the rooms are one floor with windows in the bathroom. Rooms were small, bathrooms were smaller, but our family really enjoyed our time there. We are always up for an adventure. If you are interested in luxury, don't go here. The pool was very peaceful and a pretty location. The "Old Town Trolly" makes one of their stops in the parking lot to see "The Senator", an absolutely beautiful 600 to 700 year old Live Oak. You can lay in the pool and gaze up into the tree and imagine what it was like there that long ago. Amazing. It was a little farther north in town than I would have liked, but cool shops to look at during the walk south to the city gates. Great price for the location, and you can always jump on the trolly in the morning to take you into town. We bought the 3 day ticket to ride and it worked out great. You can always grab the trolly in town and take it home at the end of the day. The staff was very friedly, and the cold cereal and bagels were a good hold over until lunch, so we saved a couple of bucks on breakfast. We really enjoyed our time here, and would recommend it to friends. But please, if you are picky or fussy, this place isn't for you. We like to fly by the seat of our pants, and take things as they come so we really enjoyed our time here. P.S. the air could be really cold if you like it that way. Enjoy!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Historic St. Augustine FL

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Columbia, SC
Jul 17, 2010

Trip to Orlando

We stayed only for a night on our way to Orlando. While we were there we visited the historic sites. St. Augustine is a great place to see and I hate to say that the worst part of our visit was the hotel room. You are staying on a 1 maybe 2 star hotel but paying for a 3 star. Breakfast buffet was ok, but limited items.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Historic St. Augustine FL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jakem
Business
Atl
Jul 5, 2010

eh.

It was okay. Not super clean but not too dirty. 20 channels is all. Mostly the redeemer was the location which is superb.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Historic St. Augustine FL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
florida
Jul 4, 2010

Within walking distance to old town

Staff is good,very close to Old Town, Very dated rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Historic St. Augustine FL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Plymouth, MA
Jun 30, 2010

It was a MOTEL

was not crowded, therefore parking was easy

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Historic St. Augustine FL

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Indi
Business
Fort lauderdale
Jun 21, 2010

Just a place to rest your head

The hotel was located right on one of the trolley stops, so that was very convenvient, but it was nothing special, they did not clean the bathroom floor apparently, through-out our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Historic St. Augustine FL

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
disappointed bride
Business
florida
Jun 7, 2010

Horrible- Do not book!

Hotel was bad. Television and internet did not work. Room was very, very small. Room was expensive. If it had been cheap, it would have been worth what was paid. Covered walkways had cracks and leaked water on you as you walked.We called TWO 800 numbers the hotel had on business cards and front desk clerk said to use to complain and ask for refund... both were disconnected. Called front desk and started to explain situation and was cut off and told they would call back. Front desk attendant lied and said she couldn't reach a manager. By this point we had already packed our stuff back up to leave. Spoke with HoJo corporation and then property manager. [...] Only thing the hotel did good was agree to our refund. At least we only wasted a few hours rather than have our 10 year anniversary and wedding vow renewals be ruined.Gave one star because it wouldn't let me give NONE.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top