$63 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 14, 2014 Check-out: Oct 17, 2014

Howard Johnson Inn - Historic St. Augustine FL

2 stars
137 San Marco Ave, I-95 Ex 318 & SR 16E, St Augustine, FL 32084
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
142 reviews
Weekend in at Howard Johnsons

The weekend started out with my knees hurting at a number 10 level and also locking. The staff... See full review

  • SGT Keith
  • Sep 8, 2014
great place or an over night getaway

Room was clean and comfortable and auites me just fine See full review

  • georgiangel
  • Apr 14, 2014
Budget St. Augustine lodging across from the historic Fountain of Youth
The Howard Johnson Inn - Historic St. Augustine FL hotel is in the heart of the St. Augustine downtown historic district. The sightseeing train and trolley cruise through the grounds to see the magnificent Old Senator, a 600-year-old oak tree. Purchase tickets in the lobby for the tours that stop outside. The Howard Johnson Inn - Historic St. Augustine FL hotel boasts newly-upgraded and renovated rooms, an outdoor swimming pool, free Wi-Fi and a free continental breakfast. Most historic St. Augustine sites are within one mile.
Highlights
  • Free continental breakfast
  • Outdoor pool
  • The Old Town Trolley and sightseeing trains stop on site
Rooms
Among the 73 upgraded guest rooms at the Howard Johnson Inn - Historic St. Augustine FL hotel, chose from standard rooms with one king, two queen or two double beds. Non-smoking rooms, Family-style suites with two separate sleeping rooms also are available. Every room at the Howard Johnson Inn - Historic St. Augustine FL hotel is on the first floor for easy access. All rooms feature a coffee maker, mini-fridge, microwave and hairdryer plus free high-speed wireless Internet access and a TV with HBO.
Features
The 600-year-old live oak tree on the grounds of the Howard Johnson Inn - Historic St. Augustine FL hotel stands as a remarkable testament to Ponce De Leon's discovery of La Florida in 1513. In addition to the downtown St. Augustine shops and restaurants that are within walking distance, historic attractions Mission of Nombre de Dios, The Old Jail and Florida Heritage Museum also are close by. Cool off in the swimming pool in the afternoon after a long day of activities. Parking, wireless Internet and weekday newspapers are complimentary.
Transportation
  • Jacksonville International Airport (51.9 mi/83.5 km)
  • Daytona Beach International Airport (57.3 mi/92.2 km)
  • St. Augustine sightseeing trolleys and trains stop on site

 

Attractions
  • Fountain of Youth archeological park (across the street)
  • Mission of Nombre de Dios (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Castillo de San Marcos (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Spanish Quarter Museum (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • St. Augustine Lighthouse & Museum (2.6 mi/4.2 km)
  • St. Augustine Alligator Farm (2.7 mi/ 4.3 km)
  • Vilano Beach (3.7 mi/ 5.9 km)
  • St. Augustine Premium Outlets (6.6 mi/10.6 km)
  • World Golf Village (14 mi/22.5 km)

 

Business
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access
  • 800 square feet of meeting/banquet space accommodating up to 60 people
  • Executive board room with conference table and high-back leather chairs accommodates up to eight people

 

Policies and fees
Pets are NOT allowed in this hotel. A cleaning fee of $100 USD will be charged automatically to your account if pet is taken in room. Service dogs are allowed with proper documentation or proof. Free parking. If you are in a non-smoking room, should you or your guest smoke in your room, a cleaning fee of $175 USD will be charged automatically to your account. Thank you for your cooperation.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

29.9058 -81.3183
Area description
Downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Inn - Historic St. Augustine FL also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Guest laundromat
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible parking
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (142)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Inn - Historic St. Augustine FL

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
142 out of 142
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.5

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Historic St. Augustine FL

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Mi
Dec 4, 2010

Beautiful oak trees

Went on Xmas tour of lights. Hotel is close to downtown. Older property but that is what makes it pretty and quiet

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Walking distance

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Historic St. Augustine FL

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Birmingham, AL
Nov 29, 2010

You Get What You Pay For

We started on our honeymoon there and went to many of the local attactions. St. Augustine is a great place to visit. However, I would not take my bride to this hotel again. It needs updating badly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Historic St. Augustine FL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Tampa, FL
Nov 15, 2010

St Augustine Howard Johnson

Older hotel, needed a little maintenance, walls kind of thin but location and price were perfect. Hotel staff was great. Just know that this hotel is part of the Old Towne Trolley Tour so trolleys will be frequent starting early. We were there for the pirate gathering of St Augustine so the location was pretty decent to where we could walk to Francis Field and downtown within 20 minutes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Historic St. Augustine FL

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Orlando, Florida
Oct 24, 2010

Nice stay

We went to the historic district, eating, shopping. The train came through the hotel drive several times a day which I thought was unusual. This was a good trip except for the hearing impaired guests who we thought would be quiet but apparently they didn't realize that other guests can hear. I would have appreciated it if the HoJo would have kept it a little quieter.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

St. George Street has always been a favorite of mine. Castillo de San Marcos is a must. A lot of history in the oldest city in the nation!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Historic St. Augustine FL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Indialantic, FL
Oct 13, 2010

Perfect for frugal travelers

I was returning to St. Augustine for a wedding and found this the perfect place to stay. My very affordable, clean, and comfortable room was great. The location was perfect, and if you were visiting St. Augustine for the first time, the trolley would be very convenient. Also, the motel's back entrance is Magnolia Ave, which is just gorgeous. I definitely recommend taking a stroll down this street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The Alligator Farm is definitely worth it!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Historic St. Augustine FL

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Georgia
Oct 11, 2010

Convient for us

It was convient for us to get on Train that was the main reason for picking this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Historic St. Augustine FL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Dade City, FL
Oct 11, 2010

Great Location and Price

The room was nothing to write home about but it got the job done. The hotel does need updates but we had that in our heads prior to the visit. Breakfast is cereal, toast, bagels coffee and juices. If your room is near the ice machine be prepared for the sounds of ice falling! We were satisfyed adn would stay again! The Trolly stop at the hotel was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Historic St. Augustine FL

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
FKA2
Brooksville, FL
Sep 20, 2010

Good time had by all.

Conveniently located and quiet. Good service from staff. Rooms were clean and cold ac. Breakfast was a little skimpy, but not bad for the room price. Hot tube made the day. I'd stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Historic St. Augustine FL

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Wauchula, Florida
Aug 22, 2010

Howard Johnson Inn-Historic St. Augustin

Our air conditioner in our 2 rooms was not working, and they moved us to different rooms so that we would be comfortable. The service was friendly, and the pool was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Historic St. Augustine FL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
P & S
Bushnell, FL
Aug 9, 2010

He says 3 Stars, That's Average

We rented a smoking room. These are the front single-story rooms. There are also two story rooms in back. The room appeared small when first entering, but that is because the bathroom is on the side and not the end of the room like most hotels I've stayed at. The linen, room, refrigerator and bathroom was clean. The beds were not too hard, not too soft and the sheets were acceptably clean. The hot-water was lacking the first morning, but we got up late after lots of people had left. It seemed the hot water heater could not keep up with the amount of baths. An hour later, the hot water was fine, as it was the second day. The A/C did not completely cool the room til the next day (course I sleep with my thermostat at 71 degrees). The only outside noise noticed was if someone slammed their door (car or motel room). The noise from traffic was minimal and we were close to the road. The only thing I was really adverse to was the carpet. It was seriously in need of cleaning. [...] If you're looking for a low price stay and don't expect high-class, this is a decent place. I have stayed at a whole lot worse for a lot more money! The hotels downtown are twice the price and if you want to stay two nights for the price of one, this should be one of your option. But be prepared, it is an older motel and you should not expect the Hilton.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Conch House Restaurant at Conch House Marina was suggested by a friend. The atmosphere and prices were great. The food was awesome. They have gazebos over the intercoastal and I highly recommend sitting here for the peaceful atmosphere. Watch the boats and fish jumping. Can see the lighthouse from the gazebo. Provides intimate atmosphere. Shrimp and Cheese Grits were great. So was the fried shrimp, gator TAIL, and steamed oysters.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search