$63 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 19, 2015 Check-out: May 22, 2015

Howard Johnson Inn - Historic St. Augustine FL

2 stars
View map of 137 San Marco Ave, I-95 Ex 318 & SR 16E, St Augustine, FL 32084

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Inn - Historic St. Augustine FL

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
157 out of 157
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.5

69% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Historic St. Augustine FL

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
big Daddy shallow pockets
Business
Huntsville,Al
Oct 26, 2012

very good

very nice and quiet. enjoyed the history around the motel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

take the train

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Historic St. Augustine FL

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Family Reunion Planner
Business
Glendale, CA
Jul 31, 2012

Not the Howard Johnson's of my childhood

I traveled a lot as a child since my dad was in the Navy. I remember the bright, cheerful Ho Jo's we used to stay in so took a chance since the price was right. I can't imagine how this hotel could get a 3-star rating. It was so below expectation, old and dingy; instead of a restaurant they have a liquor store. The rooms were just sad. We had a huge group and had prepaid so could not check out and find something else. Thriftiness is good, but not when it detracts from the overall pleasure of your trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

The downtown area was a lot of fun to walk around and to dine; great restaurants and great music.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Historic St. Augustine FL

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
pdf Orlando
Business
Orlando, Fl
Jul 29, 2012

Wonderful location

We enjoyed our stay immensely. The staff was friendly and helpful. Rooms were clean and fresh. Pool and jacuzzi in good clean condition. Very close to two specific attractions and the trolley stops right in the hotel's parking area to take you to all other attraction areas. Close to Villano Beach by car. We highly recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk out back entrance and turn left. Down the block is the entrance to the Fountain of Youth Archeological Park.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Historic St. Augustine FL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
yolindasoy
Business
Queens NY.
Jul 9, 2012

GOOD FAMILY GETAWAY

VERY NICE PLACE FOR TOURISTS, QUIET AND CLEAN PLACE.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Historic St. Augustine FL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
kathylm
Business
merritt island Fl
Jun 10, 2012

Motorcycling Florida

The Hotel is a little run down. The Beds were very comfortable. It was a long walk to Historic area, and transportation was quite expensive if your only staying one day or have multiple people you have to pay for. The staff was very nice. If you plan on visiting the historic sites take alot of money, everything cost to enter.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Historic St. Augustine FL

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Eagle10
Business
Palm Beach
May 29, 2012

Beautifull seattings around the historic oaktree.

Everyone was pleasent , kind and healpful . Parking was convenient. Peace and quiet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the trolley.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Historic St. Augustine FL

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lake Wales, FL, USA
Apr 22, 2012

Room clean and well kepted

We had a very nice stay, rooms were clean and staff was very pleasant and helpful. The motel was a short distance to the edge of town one way and a block away from other well know attractions in the other direction. One of the trolleys picked us up in driveway. Breakfast was a wide variety of cereals, bagels,toast,English muffins,hard boiled eggs,muffins and fresh fruits. With coffee, tea, milk and orange and apple juice. The staff was not all over us, but they were there when needed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Three day trolley pass was convenient and they also offered money saving discounts to attractions and museums.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Historic St. Augustine FL

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mari27
Business
Miami, FL, USA
Apr 6, 2012

friends trip

The room was not clean. There were little bugs flying all over the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Historic St. Augustine FL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Birthday Traveler
Business
Brunswick, GA, USA
Mar 25, 2012

Convenient & good price

Room was clean & quite! Only problem was the cleaning staff opened door twice before departure time. Good thing we had the chain on door.....Front Desk needs to communicate with cleaning service time of departure!!!! We had a schedule noon check-out!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Historic St. Augustine FL

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Choose me a nickname
Business
Bluffton, SC
Mar 12, 2012

Great location, but needs updating

This should not have been rated as a three star motel. It was very historic, yet the rooms needed major updating. It was very sporadically fixed up. The breakfast room was very small, and the selection very ordinary. Does not compare to other three stars that we have obtained on line.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top