$63 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 22, 2015 Check-out: Mar 25, 2015

Howard Johnson Inn - Historic St. Augustine FL

2 stars
View map of 137 San Marco Ave, I-95 Ex 318 & SR 16E, St Augustine, FL 32084

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
144 reviews
Wonderful, nostalgic stay

The Howard Johnson Motel brings back many memories of classic motor hotels from my youth. The motel... See full review

  • Babs
  • Feb 3, 2015
Weekend in at Howard Johnsons

The weekend started out with my knees hurting at a number 10 level and also locking. The staff... See full review

  • SGT Keith
  • Sep 8, 2014
Budget St. Augustine lodging across from the historic Fountain of Youth
The Howard Johnson Inn - Historic St. Augustine FL hotel is in the heart of the St. Augustine downtown historic district. The sightseeing train and trolley cruise through the grounds to see the magnificent Old Senator, a 600-year-old oak tree. Purchase tickets in the lobby for the tours that stop outside. The Howard Johnson Inn - Historic St. Augustine FL hotel boasts newly-upgraded and renovated rooms, an outdoor swimming pool, free Wi-Fi and a free continental breakfast. Most historic St. Augustine sites are within one mile.
Highlights
  • Free continental breakfast
  • Outdoor pool
  • The Old Town Trolley and sightseeing trains stop on site
Rooms
Among the 73 upgraded guest rooms at the Howard Johnson Inn - Historic St. Augustine FL hotel, chose from standard rooms with one king, two queen or two double beds. Non-smoking rooms, Family-style suites with two separate sleeping rooms also are available. Every room at the Howard Johnson Inn - Historic St. Augustine FL hotel is on the first floor for easy access. All rooms feature a coffee maker, mini-fridge, microwave and hairdryer plus free high-speed wireless Internet access and a TV with HBO.
Features
The 600-year-old live oak tree on the grounds of the Howard Johnson Inn - Historic St. Augustine FL hotel stands as a remarkable testament to Ponce De Leon's discovery of La Florida in 1513. In addition to the downtown St. Augustine shops and restaurants that are within walking distance, historic attractions Mission of Nombre de Dios, The Old Jail and Florida Heritage Museum also are close by. Cool off in the swimming pool in the afternoon after a long day of activities. Parking, wireless Internet and weekday newspapers are complimentary.
Transportation
  • Jacksonville International Airport (51.9 mi/83.5 km)
  • Daytona Beach International Airport (57.3 mi/92.2 km)
  • St. Augustine sightseeing trolleys and trains stop on site

 

Attractions
  • Fountain of Youth archeological park (across the street)
  • Mission of Nombre de Dios (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Castillo de San Marcos (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Spanish Quarter Museum (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • St. Augustine Lighthouse & Museum (2.6 mi/4.2 km)
  • St. Augustine Alligator Farm (2.7 mi/ 4.3 km)
  • Vilano Beach (3.7 mi/ 5.9 km)
  • St. Augustine Premium Outlets (6.6 mi/10.6 km)
  • World Golf Village (14 mi/22.5 km)

 

Business
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access
  • 800 square feet of meeting/banquet space accommodating up to 60 people
  • Executive board room with conference table and high-back leather chairs accommodates up to eight people

 

Policies and fees
Pets are NOT allowed in this hotel. A cleaning fee of $100 USD will be charged automatically to your account if pet is taken in room. Service dogs are allowed with proper documentation or proof. Free parking. If you are in a non-smoking room, should you or your guest smoke in your room, a cleaning fee of $175 USD will be charged automatically to your account. Thank you for your cooperation.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Guest laundromat
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible parking
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (144)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Inn - Historic St. Augustine FL

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
144 out of 144
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.5

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Historic St. Augustine FL

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orange City, Fl.
Aug 21, 2009

what title?

We paid for street train tickets, but neither the motel nor the train office knew what we were speaking about.WE had to repurchase!!! The airconditioning was insufficient for the room. Only the front part of the room near the window was cool. The rest of the room was warm. It was 92 degrees that day. A large Palmetto bug was lying on the bathroon floor. GOODBYE ORBITZ and Howard Johnson. We shall broadcast your merits ad finitum.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

St Augustine attractions

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Historic St. Augustine FL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cincinnatians
Business
Cincinnati OH
Aug 15, 2009

HoJo Inn in August

checkin was easy and efRficient Room was at the end along San Marco Ave but was still quiet. Room was comfortable but not luxorious; had a coffee maker, microwave and microfridge which worked well Bath was small but adequate. Towels were small and thin; No shampoo, conditioner, lotion or mouthwash was provided first two nights but did have bar soap. Carpet needed serious cleaning. Breakfast was adequate (Cereal, toast, bagels, juice, coffee, milk) with a toaster. Price was reasonable but not excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Hotel had adequate supply of maps, coupons, etc. and was on one of the stops for tour trains.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Historic St. Augustine FL

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Brandon Florida
Aug 10, 2009

Total Deception

there was something missing alright! the room in the advertisement - false propaganda. I was expecting what I saw online and got a regular old motel room. such deception!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Historic St. Augustine FL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
The Conquistadors
Business
Kissimmee, FL
Aug 9, 2009

Historic Hotel

The Old Senator Tree is located in the hotel. You can take the trolley in the hotel. Continental breakfast consist of cereal and bread. Walking distance from the Fountain of Youth, Old Jail, and some restaurants. But, in our room the safety chain lock doesn't work, the shower have some problems too, an open pool (no good in winter), is an old hotel. For the offer that we take is good. MIcrowave, refrigerator, blower, iron, and coffee maker available. You can found restaurants in the historic area, and fast foods in the Ponce de Leon Ave.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

You can walk to the Fountain of Youth and the Old Jail. The Castillo de San Marcos, the Old House, Ripley's Believe It or Not, Vilano Beach, and other historic places were short distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Historic St. Augustine FL

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
givemiykee
Business
Palm Bay Florida
Jul 26, 2009

???? About Orbitz

When I arrived at Howard Jonson I asked the front desk what was the best rate they had he said $69 and some change. I should have booked with them directly instead of with Orbitz I will think twice before I reserve with Orbitz other then that my stay at the HJ was good and convenient to the historic distric of ST Augustine, FL

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Trolly pick up station

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Historic St. Augustine FL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mom doing it on her own
Business
Lawrenceburg, IN
Jul 24, 2009

Great location at an affordable price

The hotel was located in a great area not far from the Ripley Museum. We had tickets to go through the museum, go on the ghost train and to go on the sight seeing train. The motel was on the train path. It was very convenient. It was very close to historic St. Augustine, but far enough away, not to be in the busy traffic and crowd.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Historic St. Augustine FL

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St. Petersburg, FL
Jul 23, 2009

Ho Jo's is real Florida

Great time had by all!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Buy the trolly tour pass. It stops at the hotel and is so convenient.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Historic St. Augustine FL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego, CA
Jul 18, 2009

Good hotel in convenient location

This is a good hotel located next to the Fountain of Youth and within walking distance of the Castillo and historic St. Augustine. Check-in was fast and easy. The hotel is picturesque with a very large and old live oak in the central courtyard. The room was large with just a few cosmetic flaws. I enjoyed the firmness of the bed, but it could be a turn-off for some people. If you're visiting in the summer, be prepared for walking in the Florida heat. Otherwise, I would think about staying here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Historic St. Augustine FL

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mivedaloca
Business
Hudson, FL
Jul 18, 2009

The good, the bad, and the really ugly

We did not get the room we reserved online. We had to go through a flooded dirty laundry room to get to our room. Had to go to the office to get hot water and a door card that worked. Not as conveniently located as advertised. Would not go back to Howard Johnsons.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Historic St. Augustine FL

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, GA
Jul 5, 2009

Will not stay here again

My sister and I visited St. Augustine for a girl's trip and chose this hotel because it seemed to have good reviews. We figured that since we were going to be in St. Augustine we wouldn't be in the room much anyways and that the hotel couldn't be that bad. However, we were very displeased with our hotel. We couldn't even walk on the floors because they turned our feet completely black. We layed the comforters of our beds down on the floor to keep from walking on it. I put on white socks to keep my feet clean, and my socks turned black. Before we put our comforters down on the floor, we were having to wash our feet frequently. The room was old and run down. The phone and hairdryer were broken. The lamp shades had tears all on them-the noise from the trolley going through every morning was also bothersome. When we told the manager about our phone and hairdryer not working, he said we would have to wait on maintenance to come the next day. When maintenance came, he fixed our phone and gave us a new hairdryer. He also shampooed the carpet for us!!!! Even though he shampooed it, it was so dirty it still made our feet a little dingy. We would never stay at this hotel again for the fact that it is so old and run down--maintenance would have a hard time fixing all of that. There are much, much better hotels to stay in. Oh the final thing that makes this hotel run down is that it is attached to a rundown liquor store too!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Do the St. Augustine lighthouse tour-it was amazing. We did the night tour on a Friday.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top