$63 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 9, 2015 Check-out: Jun 12, 2015

Howard Johnson Inn - Historic St. Augustine FL

2 stars
View map of 137 San Marco Ave, I-95 Ex 318 & SR 16E, St Augustine, FL 32084

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Inn - Historic St. Augustine FL

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
158 out of 158
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.5

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Historic St. Augustine FL

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Macon, Ga
Jul 31, 2010

Great Location

Great location, hotel was actually a Trolley Stop. Only 1 block from the Fountain of Youth and Old Jail and within walking distance of many other attractions. Staff was very friendly and room was clean when we arrived and kept clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Purchase tickets for the attraction at the Trolley Locations for discounts.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Historic St. Augustine FL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Safety Harbor, FL
Jul 28, 2010

GREAT PLACE FOR FAMILIES

Nice relaxing motel well worth the low price. USA TODAY daily also with the breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Historic St. Augustine FL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
angieinfla
Business
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Jul 25, 2010

Not to darn bad!

This motel was what I would call old Florida "mom and pop" style. All the rooms are one floor with windows in the bathroom. Rooms were small, bathrooms were smaller, but our family really enjoyed our time there. We are always up for an adventure. If you are interested in luxury, don't go here. The pool was very peaceful and a pretty location. The "Old Town Trolly" makes one of their stops in the parking lot to see "The Senator", an absolutely beautiful 600 to 700 year old Live Oak. You can lay in the pool and gaze up into the tree and imagine what it was like there that long ago. Amazing. It was a little farther north in town than I would have liked, but cool shops to look at during the walk south to the city gates. Great price for the location, and you can always jump on the trolly in the morning to take you into town. We bought the 3 day ticket to ride and it worked out great. You can always grab the trolly in town and take it home at the end of the day. The staff was very friedly, and the cold cereal and bagels were a good hold over until lunch, so we saved a couple of bucks on breakfast. We really enjoyed our time here, and would recommend it to friends. But please, if you are picky or fussy, this place isn't for you. We like to fly by the seat of our pants, and take things as they come so we really enjoyed our time here. P.S. the air could be really cold if you like it that way. Enjoy!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Historic St. Augustine FL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
angieinfla
Business
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Jul 25, 2010

Not to darn bad!

This motel was what I would call old Florida "mom and pop" style. All the rooms are one floor with windows in the bathroom. Rooms were small, bathrooms were smaller, but our family really enjoyed our time there. We are always up for an adventure. If you are interested in luxury, don't go here. The pool was very peaceful and a pretty location. The "Old Town Trolly" makes one of their stops in the parking lot to see "The Senator", an absolutely beautiful 600 to 700 year old Live Oak. You can lay in the pool and gaze up into the tree and imagine what it was like there that long ago. Amazing. It was a little farther north in town than I would have liked, but cool shops to look at during the walk south to the city gates. Great price for the location, and you can always jump on the trolly in the morning to take you into town. We bought the 3 day ticket to ride and it worked out great. You can always grab the trolly in town and take it home at the end of the day. The staff was very friedly, and the cold cereal and bagels were a good hold over until lunch, so we saved a couple of bucks on breakfast. We really enjoyed our time here, and would recommend it to friends. But please, if you are picky or fussy, this place isn't for you. We like to fly by the seat of our pants, and take things as they come so we really enjoyed our time here. P.S. the air could be really cold if you like it that way. Enjoy!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Historic St. Augustine FL

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Columbia, SC
Jul 17, 2010

Trip to Orlando

We stayed only for a night on our way to Orlando. While we were there we visited the historic sites. St. Augustine is a great place to see and I hate to say that the worst part of our visit was the hotel room. You are staying on a 1 maybe 2 star hotel but paying for a 3 star. Breakfast buffet was ok, but limited items.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Historic St. Augustine FL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jakem
Business
Atl
Jul 5, 2010

eh.

It was okay. Not super clean but not too dirty. 20 channels is all. Mostly the redeemer was the location which is superb.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Historic St. Augustine FL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
florida
Jul 4, 2010

Within walking distance to old town

Staff is good,very close to Old Town, Very dated rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Historic St. Augustine FL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Plymouth, MA
Jun 30, 2010

It was a MOTEL

was not crowded, therefore parking was easy

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Historic St. Augustine FL

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Indi
Business
Fort lauderdale
Jun 21, 2010

Just a place to rest your head

The hotel was located right on one of the trolley stops, so that was very convenvient, but it was nothing special, they did not clean the bathroom floor apparently, through-out our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Historic St. Augustine FL

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
disappointed bride
Business
florida
Jun 7, 2010

Horrible- Do not book!

Hotel was bad. Television and internet did not work. Room was very, very small. Room was expensive. If it had been cheap, it would have been worth what was paid. Covered walkways had cracks and leaked water on you as you walked.We called TWO 800 numbers the hotel had on business cards and front desk clerk said to use to complain and ask for refund... both were disconnected. Called front desk and started to explain situation and was cut off and told they would call back. Front desk attendant lied and said she couldn't reach a manager. By this point we had already packed our stuff back up to leave. Spoke with HoJo corporation and then property manager. [...] Only thing the hotel did good was agree to our refund. At least we only wasted a few hours rather than have our 10 year anniversary and wedding vow renewals be ruined.Gave one star because it wouldn't let me give NONE.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top