$63 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 14, 2014 Check-out: Oct 17, 2014

Howard Johnson Inn - Historic St. Augustine FL

2 stars
137 San Marco Ave, I-95 Ex 318 & SR 16E, St Augustine, FL 32084
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
142 reviews
Weekend in at Howard Johnsons

The weekend started out with my knees hurting at a number 10 level and also locking. The staff... See full review

  • SGT Keith
  • Sep 8, 2014
great place or an over night getaway

Room was clean and comfortable and auites me just fine See full review

  • georgiangel
  • Apr 14, 2014
Budget St. Augustine lodging across from the historic Fountain of Youth
The Howard Johnson Inn - Historic St. Augustine FL hotel is in the heart of the St. Augustine downtown historic district. The sightseeing train and trolley cruise through the grounds to see the magnificent Old Senator, a 600-year-old oak tree. Purchase tickets in the lobby for the tours that stop outside. The Howard Johnson Inn - Historic St. Augustine FL hotel boasts newly-upgraded and renovated rooms, an outdoor swimming pool, free Wi-Fi and a free continental breakfast. Most historic St. Augustine sites are within one mile.
Highlights
  • Free continental breakfast
  • Outdoor pool
  • The Old Town Trolley and sightseeing trains stop on site
Rooms
Among the 73 upgraded guest rooms at the Howard Johnson Inn - Historic St. Augustine FL hotel, chose from standard rooms with one king, two queen or two double beds. Non-smoking rooms, Family-style suites with two separate sleeping rooms also are available. Every room at the Howard Johnson Inn - Historic St. Augustine FL hotel is on the first floor for easy access. All rooms feature a coffee maker, mini-fridge, microwave and hairdryer plus free high-speed wireless Internet access and a TV with HBO.
Features
The 600-year-old live oak tree on the grounds of the Howard Johnson Inn - Historic St. Augustine FL hotel stands as a remarkable testament to Ponce De Leon's discovery of La Florida in 1513. In addition to the downtown St. Augustine shops and restaurants that are within walking distance, historic attractions Mission of Nombre de Dios, The Old Jail and Florida Heritage Museum also are close by. Cool off in the swimming pool in the afternoon after a long day of activities. Parking, wireless Internet and weekday newspapers are complimentary.
Transportation
  • Jacksonville International Airport (51.9 mi/83.5 km)
  • Daytona Beach International Airport (57.3 mi/92.2 km)
  • St. Augustine sightseeing trolleys and trains stop on site

 

Attractions
  • Fountain of Youth archeological park (across the street)
  • Mission of Nombre de Dios (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Castillo de San Marcos (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Spanish Quarter Museum (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • St. Augustine Lighthouse & Museum (2.6 mi/4.2 km)
  • St. Augustine Alligator Farm (2.7 mi/ 4.3 km)
  • Vilano Beach (3.7 mi/ 5.9 km)
  • St. Augustine Premium Outlets (6.6 mi/10.6 km)
  • World Golf Village (14 mi/22.5 km)

 

Business
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access
  • 800 square feet of meeting/banquet space accommodating up to 60 people
  • Executive board room with conference table and high-back leather chairs accommodates up to eight people

 

Policies and fees
Pets are NOT allowed in this hotel. A cleaning fee of $100 USD will be charged automatically to your account if pet is taken in room. Service dogs are allowed with proper documentation or proof. Free parking. If you are in a non-smoking room, should you or your guest smoke in your room, a cleaning fee of $175 USD will be charged automatically to your account. Thank you for your cooperation.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

29.9058 -81.3183
Area description
Downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Inn - Historic St. Augustine FL also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Guest laundromat
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible parking
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (142)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Inn - Historic St. Augustine FL

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
142 out of 142
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.5

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Historic St. Augustine FL

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
big Daddy shallow pockets
Huntsville,Al
Oct 26, 2012

very good

very nice and quiet. enjoyed the history around the motel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

take the train

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Historic St. Augustine FL

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SGT Keith
Humble, TX
Sep 8, 2014

Weekend in at Howard Johnsons

The weekend started out with my knees hurting at a number 10 level and also locking. The staff helped me in everyway they could. The staff was friendly and polite. I stay in a non-smoking room about 80 % of the time. The TV had 39 channel and all of the channels that I like to watch. the History Channel and CNN are two of my favorites. The room was very clean and quite. The bed was comfortable. The staff placed me in a room closed to the office, so I would be very close to the free Continental Breakfast. the Continental Breakfast was very good. I also had free Wi-Fi. A positive stay and I good forward to my next stay at the Howard Johnson Inn-Historic St. Augustine 137 San Marco Ave. Thank you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Historic St. Augustine FL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
VLAClark
Lakeland, Florida
Jul 10, 2014

Average

It's in an ideal location with both of the St. Augustine tram companies having a stop at the hotel, well, really, motel. The staff was friendly, but I think the cleaning crew needs to be fired and they need to hire someone who actually dusts. Luckily, I only stayed one night so I didn't have to worry about getting in the shower. It looked clean enough, I guess, though. The walls looked nice enough, except for the paint splotches that didn't match because they were trying to cover up holes in the wall. It's an old structure so it's actually in good condition considering that. There is a free continental breakfast which consists of toast, bagels, cereal, hard-boiled eggs, and yogurt. Also, your choice of apple juice, orange juice, coffee, or the milk they have to put in the cereal. If you are looking for a good deal close to everything, this is your place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

I really suggest getting a deal from one of the tram companies. I used the Red Train because of the deals I wanted to get, but it depends on what you want to do while you are there, too. It beats walking or driving everywhere - plus you get an insider view to things you wouldn't get otherwise.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Historic St. Augustine FL

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Christi7109
St. Augustine Florida
Jul 1, 2014

Overall average but you get what you pay for

Our stay at the Howard Johnson in st. Augustine Florida was overall good. The carpet needed cleaning and I wish the bathroom was bigger but you got what you paid for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Down town was less than .3 miles. We walked around after the beach everyday and enjoyed looking into the various shops.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Historic St. Augustine FL

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
MimiK
Space Coast
Jun 21, 2014

Howard Johnson St. Augustine

Great location! Clean!...very clean! Friendly and helpful staff!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Barincle Bills...best seafood ever!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Historic St. Augustine FL

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Todd traveler007
Ft. Lauderdale, Florida
May 26, 2014

Great Hotel

I enjoyed my stay very much. Right in the heart of downtown St Augustine, it was near all the historic sights. In fact, one historic site was on the property, the "Old Senator" a 650 year old tree. The train tours pick up right by the tree so it is easy and convenient to get a tour. The staff were very friendly. The room was nice and clean with very comfortable beds and the Wi-Fi worked perfectly. The only one complaint I would make is that there was no place in the bathroom to spread out my toiletries. I had to put them on top of the toilet covering. Other than that, everything else was fine. Very comfortable beds. The best part was the continental breakfast with a nice selection of beverages and food. I would definitely stay here again. Great hotel in a great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The Castillo San Marco fort is not to be missed. It is the oldest fort and constructed building in the US.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Historic St. Augustine FL

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ChrisJax
Jacksonville, FL
May 25, 2014

Good value, clean, and good location

We were only staying for the night so decided to spend a little less on a hotel in the area than we normally do. The rooms were clean, beds were comfortable, AC worked great and the staff was friendly. They were also accomadating of the oversized truck (RV size) we were driving and let us take up several spaces in the front. The location is a little bit of a walk to the majority of the historic district but doable, took us about 15 minutes and were able to stop in some of the shops along the way you may not typically see if you stayed closer. All in all it was a great value and would recommend to others who want to stay in a clean safe hotel near the historic district but want to spend a little less than the other options in the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Historic St. Augustine FL

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Lesson learned serniors
Nashville, TN
May 6, 2014

Don't stay here

We booked room for 3 days and checked out next morning would not refund money! room was dirty, bath room was about the size of a closet including shower. Knees hit sink when sitting on toilet. Wanted to sleep in car. Found another HJ at 2535 state rd 16 was good and would recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk or drive but don't stay here!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Historic St. Augustine FL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
VICKY S.
BS. AS.
May 2, 2014

Great location

Great location...close to main restaurants and attractions. Hotel is not that great, but did not spend too much time in it. Too many great things to see and to do in the city...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Historic St. Augustine FL

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Maurem
Brasil
Apr 15, 2014

Good

Good location, good price and breakfest is good, has fruits and yougurt

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Historic St. Augustine FL

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
georgiangel
georgia
Apr 14, 2014

great place or an over night getaway

Room was clean and comfortable and auites me just fine

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search