$129 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 17, 2014 Check-out: Aug 18, 2014

Castillo Real, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

3 stars
530 A1A Beach Blvd., Saint Augustine, FL 32080
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
115 reviews
Great

staff and amenities were all you need. The stay for two nights was perfect. And since it was first... See full review

  • BG No. 1
  • May 12, 2014
A quick weekend getaway

A friend and I were looking for sun and she suggested St. Augustine. I found this hotel and I don't... See full review

  • Steve360
  • Mar 3, 2014
Mediterranean design at St. Augustine hotel just steps from the beach
The Castillo Real, an Ascend Collection hotel welcomes guests to unwind just 200 steps from the ocean. Mediterranean design and eclectic décor take cues from Florida history, with Spanish, Moorish, Romanesque and Gothic flourishes. Past the three-story lobby with marble floor, find a restaurant and 24-hour business center. Fountains and tropical landscape surround the pool and Jacuzzi. Romantic yet family-friendly, the Castillo Real, an Ascend Collection hotel delivers a beach escape with personal attention near St. Augustine.

 

Highlights
  • Outdoor swimming pool
  • Dramatic Mediterranean décor with three-story atrium lobby
  • Short drive to downtown historic St. Augustine
  • Rooms include make-up vanity and beautiful views
  • Fitness center with sauna and steam room

 

Rooms
The Mediterranean scheme continues in 60 beautifully-appointed rooms and suites at Castillo Real, an Ascend Collection hotel. Some look out to the ocean, while others offers views of the swimming pool or landscaped grounds. Admire marble and granite accents in the entry and bath along with custom faux finishing, solid wood furnishings and impressionist artwork. Choose one king or two queen beds and take in an enchanting color scheme of warm rust, purple and gold. Pillow-top mattresses, terry cloth robes, duvet covers, five shower heads and a make-up vanity add luxurious touches. Enjoy TVs with cable and a DVD player, free high-speed wired and wireless Internet access, a mini-fridge and microwave.

 

Features
In addition to relaxation on the beach and by the pool, guests of the Castillo Real, an Ascend Collection hotel work out in the fitness center that includes a treadmill, stair stepper and stationary bike plus soothing sauna and steam room. Order breakfast from on-site La Cocina Restaurant, which also serves steaks, seafood and pasta during lunch and dinner. Nearby, explore historic St. Augustine, the country's oldest permanently settled city. The area also is home to World Golf Village and TPC Sawgrass, antique stores and malls, ghost tours, water sports, art museums and galleries.

 

Transportation
  • Daytona Beach International Airport (56 mi/90.1 km)
  • Jacksonville International Airport (57.7 mi/92.8 km)

 

Attractions
  • Beach (across the street)
  • St. Augustine Alligator Farm (3.4 mi/5.5 km)
  • St. Augustine Lighthouse & Museum (3.5 mi/5.6 km)
  • Lightner Museum (5.1 mi/8.2 km)
  • Fountain of Youth archeological park (6.4 mi/10.3 km)
  • St. Augustine Premium Outlets (12.5 mi/20.1 km)
  • Marineland (13.3 mi/21.4 km)
  • World Golf Village (19.8 mi/31.9 km)
  • TPC Sawgrass (29.5 mi/47.5 km)

 

Business
  • Complimentary high-speed wired and wireless Internet access throughout hotel
  • 24-hour business center

Hotel Map

29.8506 -81.2673
Nearby airports
Jacksonville Int'l Airport, (JAX), 65.00, MI, N; Daytona Beach Reg. Arpt., (DAB), 55.00, MI, N; Orlando Int'l Airport, (MCO), 130.00, MI, N;
Area description
Airport, 4.5 Old city

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Castillo Real, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Exercise gym
Sauna
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
FAX
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Ramp access to buildings
Brailled elevators
Room
DVD player
Television with cable
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Turndown service
In room movies
Iron

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (115)

Ratings and reviews for Castillo Real, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
32 out of 115
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.8

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Castillo Real, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KenRN
Pittsburgh Pa
Jun 6, 2013

Super Relaxing

Staff very courteous, we arrived at 1130 well ahead of check in time , they gave us a card for pool access and a parking pass to park on lot , took our cell phone number , called me from the beach when room was ready ( was in room at 1 pm ) very happy !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat at the Sunset Grill !

Review of Castillo Real, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Health Inspector
Talladega, AL
May 15, 2013

Best surprise on my vacation!

This is an older hotel which has been remodeled. The pics were not updated when I selected the hotel as a stop over our vacation down to disney. I was very surprised!!! The staff was great and the rooms were very nice and clean. I expected a 2 or 3 star place from their web entry, but was surprised to find at least a 4 star. Their restaurant was top line and the location cannot be beat!! Right next on the beach!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Castillo Real, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Debi Birthday Mom.
St. Augustine , Florida
Mar 27, 2013

Great Time

Great. Real nice hotel. Large rooms. Clean with nice views.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Castillo Real, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Crazy Grammy
Gainesville, FL
Jun 19, 2012

Family getaway

Enjoyed the hotel and pool. Close walking distance to beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Castillo Real, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Litnin'
Annandale, VA, USA
Feb 8, 2012

Castillo Real

Excellent hotel. Pleasant staff, great restaurant, clean rooms. A very comfortable place to stay. Only a short one block walk to a beautiful beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Sunset Grille has the best coconut shrimp and clam chowder I've ever had.

Review of Castillo Real, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Maryland couple.
Waldorf, MD
Jul 23, 2011

Very nice hotel

Arrived a little early and had to wait for room. Hotel has a 4pm check-in time. Our room was not ready when we returned so they gave us a free upgrade to a room with a jacuzzi tub. Hotel is very nice. A small pool and only one hot-tub but you are two minutes froom the beach, so if that's not important to you, you'll like it. A restaurant is on premises so noe free breakfast. A bit pricey but not too bad. great stay overall. Would reccomend to friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Castillo Real, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Maryland couple.
Waldorf, MD
Jul 23, 2011

Very nice hotel

Arrived a little early and had to wait for room. Hotel has a 4pm check-in time. Our room was not ready when we returned so they gave us a free upgrade to a room with a jacuzzi tub. Hotel is very nice. A small pool and only one hot-tub but you are two minutes froom the beach, so if that's not important to you, you'll like it. A restaurant is on premises so noe free breakfast. A bit pricey but not too bad. great stay overall. Would reccomend to friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Castillo Real, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Virginia
Feb 23, 2011

Great Hotel!

The hotel was clean, beautifully decorated and the staff was more than pleasant. I would have liked to have the pool heated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Sunset Grille was a fabulous place to eat!

Review of Castillo Real, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Virginia
Feb 23, 2011

Great Hotel!

The hotel was clean, beautifully decorated and the staff was more than pleasant. I would have liked to have the pool heated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Sunset Grille was a fabulous place to eat!

Review of Castillo Real, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Buffalo, NY
Aug 3, 2010

Absolutely loved it!

We stayed here because of a friend's recommendation. We visited St. Augustine and did all the tourist things then my girls swam with the dolphins at Marineland. We thought that the location was fabulous. We absolutely loved the beach and the pool. Would stay again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Must swim with the dolphins!

Back to menu Return to top